Under CPEC: Railways ML-I’s PC-I worth $9.23 billion sent for approval: Rashid

Kabira

Pakistan Railways submitted the PC-1 of Main Line (ML-1) Railways project, worth around $9.23 billion, under the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) framework to the Planning Ministry for approval. This was announced by Railways Minister Sheikh Rashid Ahmed in a video message on Thursday.

Rashid said that a meeting was held on Thursday with Prime Minister Imran Khan and he apprised the Prime Minister of the achievement regarding the submission of PC-1 to the Planning Ministry. He said that the Prime Minster has directed to complete the track as soon as possible.

The minister said that it is a huge achievement in Pakistan's history that PC-1 of 1,800 kilometers long track at a cost of $9.2 billion has been submitted for approval.

Rashid has already invited the Prime Minister and transport minister of China to witness the historic project initiation of ML-1 under which 1,800 kilometers track would be upgraded. After getting approval from the ECNEC, tender of the project would be issued and work on the project is expected to be initiated in March 2020.

The project for up-gradation of ML-1 has been declared a strategic commercial project with loan on favorable terms as it presents a perfect business plan covering 75 percent traffic/population and 65 percent industrial areas.

With the up-gradation of ML-1, train speed will increase from the current 65-105 km to 120-160 km, line capacity from 34 to 171 trains each way per day, freight volumes from 6 million tons to 35 million tons per annum by 2025, and railway share of freight transport volume would increase from less than 4 percent to 20 percent. The project would create around 0.1 million jobs for the young people.
https://www.brecorder.com/2019/10/2...i-worth-923-billion-sent-for-approval-rashid/

Something for all Pakistani's to think, reflect and learn.

• the first major rail transport network was built by the British after 1880s and over 100 years later Pakistan is still using the same British network. We did not add even 5 miles extra.

• the second major overhaul of the rail network 140 years after the British laid the tracks is about to be carried out by Chinese.

• most of the road network again was laid by the British. Since then the national motorway project is bringing dawn of new age but again this is mostly being done by Chinese under CPEC.

What are we good for? Teaching and singing virtues of Islam and bragging about our desi culture while crying out it is under threat?

@beijingwalker @VCheng @OsmanAli98 @Nilgiri

Something for all Pakistani's to think, reflect and learn.

• the first major rail transport network was built by the British after 1880s and over 100 years later Pakistan is still using the same British network. We did not add even 5 miles extra.

• the second major overhaul of the rail network 140 years after the British laid the tracks is about to be carried out by Chinese.

• most of the road network again was laid by the British. Since then the national motorway project is bringing dawn of new age but again this is mostly being done by Chinese under CPEC.

What are we good for? Teaching and singing virtues of Islam and bragging about our desi culture while crying out it is under threat?

@beijingwalker @VCheng @OsmanAli98 @Nilgiri
Exactly, I could not agree more with you! We don't have any original ideas, but what's even more shameful is the fact that we are incapable of improving already built systems and infrastructures which should be much easier to do. What are we good for, and what have we to contribute to this ever growing internationally connected world?

What are we good for
Touting our superior morals and crying about our desi culture under threat.

what have we to contribute to this ever growing internationally connected world?
Mmmm

• terrorists
  • migrants
  • migrant diaspora who then bit*ches about their hosts while singing raises of Islamic utopia.

You know how everybody accusses of British of plundering our wealth. Bollocks. They never did. However they plundered something far more vital and damaged us in way that it still haunts us. British colonialism and the experiance of being slaves made our societies introverted and averse to modernism because we began to associate modernism with british.

Today the rabid reactions you hear of "gora" or "westoxified" or "slave liberal of west" etc are symptoms of this complex from the colonial era. That is why as a society we waste some much energy on this desi fetish we have. We insist on wearing clothes to make a statemet, we refute ideas and concepts as "gora culture" even when they might help to develop our societies.

If you look at Turks they have no history of being invaded and enslaved. They have no hangups about adopting ideas or items of clothing as long as they are funcdtional or help them to pregress in the modern world.

Project cost increased by $1b? We need more details about this project. Railways should upload PDF of contract once approved.

That is what it is doing. Concentrating on health/education. But that does not mean ignoring transport sector. It's about listing your priorties.

Energy and transport projects have always taken priority over Health and Education for the PML-N Governments, not PTI (as promised).

I do clearly remember PM Khan standing on the containers for 126-days and screaming against transport projects when the public did not have enough to eat.

Therefore, can you enlighten us which $9.23 billion health or education project PTI has actually prioritised now that it's in Government?

Energy and transport projects have always taken priority over Health and Education for the PML-N Governments, not PTI (as promised).

I do clearly remember PM Khan standing on the containers for 126-days and screaming against transport projects when the public did not have enough to eat.

Therefore, can you enlighten us which $9.23 billion health or education project PTI has actually prioritised now that it's in Government?

Insaaf card in KP too.
Jitni Narendar league ny Economy ki maa behn aik kee thee . Govt spending ko to kuch bachaa he nahi. CAD , Circular debt ko pata ni kaha pnchaya aur exports ko breaks laga dein, Imports ko 52 Billion USD per layy kar gayy .
SHERR EKK VAARI FERRR. Dichoon Dichoon Dichoon

Insaaf card in KP too.
Jitni Narendar league ny Economy ki maa behn aik kee thee . Govt spending ko to kuch bachaa he nahi. CAD , Circular debt ko pata ni kaha pnchaya aur exports ko breaks laga dein, Imports ko 52 Billion USD per layy kar gayy .
SHERR EKK VAARI FERRR. Dichoon Dichoon Dichoon

What is the value of the projects you're quoting, $9.23 billion?

. . . . .