ULFA Leader Arrested

I will speak as I see fit (within forum rule), no indian can dictate what I should or should not say. Nor do I even give hoot on what bothers indians.

And those Assames who chanted "ULFA Zindabad" has more proof and credibity of Assames voice than you can produce, period.

There was a similar voice in other part of India ..."Khalistan zindabad" but where is it now....all dead and buried.....dont worry your friends ULFA will have a similar fate....

What you see is a phase that signifies the end of the stupid ULFA.. I shows that they are frustrated...so they are coming out....and soon they will be Killed and the ULFA will be dead....so there will be no one to shout ULFA Zindabad .......

By the way here something for you to read:

ULFA began with 6 leaders; 30 yrs on, only Barua roams free

uwahati, Dec 7 (PTI) The United Liberation Front of Asom (ULFA), which has been carrying out terror activities in the North eastern state for the last 30 years, has its genesis in the gathering of five rebellious youths with their ideologue advocating a 'sovereign, socialist Assam' in 1979.

Days before the Rongali Bihu (harvest festival) in the spring of '79, the six men met at Rang Ghar in Assam's Sibsagar district and sowed the seeds of 'Sangjukta Mukti Bahini Asom' (United Liberation Front of Asom) for an armed revolt.

On that eventful day of April 7, ULFA's future course of subversive activities was unfolded by Rajib Rajknowar or Arabinda Rajkhowa, Paresh Barua, Samiran Gogoi alias Pradip Gogoi, Golap Baruah alias Anup Chetia and Bhadreswar Gohain along with their 'mama' Bhimkanta Buragohain.

While Rajkhowa became the 'chairman' of the outfit, Barua was given the responsibility of heading its armed wing.

http://www.ptinews.com/news/411154_ULFA-began-with-6-leaders--30-yrs-on--only-Barua-roams-free

Point is why are your soldiers molesting women in Assam? The situation where the Assamese population is against the state arises from these type of actions.

Asim no army can filter the personals joining the Army ..Even in a society there are people with different charactersitics..One week before there was a news about a muslim boy was raped and killed by a lunatic in the mosque ,Is that mean all muslims are like him and attacks are done only in mosques???There are incidents of rape attempt and molestations all over the world.Are you sure that there was no Molestors in your Army??some guys are like that ..It doesnt mean that the army in Assam region are raping the entire assamese women..

This is a discussion forum and you have to face difficult comments as I see them. If you have any problems with it, try and refute them but you can't ask me to not make the comments.

Alright. My apologies if that was inappropriate. It was not a one-liner though. I did try to refute it.

BTW do you agree with me that the title of the thread is inappropriate. Follow my post---
http://www.defence.pk/forums/india-...n-courts-militants-appeared-9.html#post574043

So if you agree to it and have the authority please change the thread title. It's misleading.

EDIT--Title changed. Thank you taimikhan.

Well close, but I simply meant that when the Assamese say we're a different nation than the Indians they really have some basis to it!

Well even if any state in india says we are a different nation there will be a basis on logic for it, coz each state in india is different from other have its own unique culture and customs. But the question is what is the percentage of acceptability of that claim, i mean how many endorse that claim..!!!! In my opinion a very few..!!!

I will speak as I see fit (within forum rule), no indian can dictate what I should or should not say. Nor do I even give hoot on what bothers indians.

No one is dictating you. It was simply an answer to your question

You asked "Refrain form what?"
My answer--"Refrain form imprecise generalization".

And those Assames who chanted "ULFA Zindabad" has more proof and credibity of Assames voice than you can produce, period.

You are nobody to decide that, period.

Rajkhowa was nabbed, govt admits officially

NEW DELHI: The government has formally given a burial to its theory that Ulfa chairman Arabinda Rajkhowa surrendered before Indian authorities to
facilitate a peace talk.

In the papers filed by the prosecution before the chief judicial magistrate, while demanding Rajkhowa’s police custody, said that the Ulfa leader and his associates were arrested in Bangladesh and handed over to the Indian side as an “illegal migrant”.

ET had on Saturday reported that Rajkhowa, Ulfa’s deputy commander in chief Raju Baruah, along with their families were picked by RAW from Cox’s Bazaar in Chittaagong on last Wednesday while trying to cross over to Myanmar for escaping the crackdown on insurgent groups by Bangladesh. The charges pressed against Rajkhowa by the prosecution was one relating to a 1998 extortion case and some provisions of the stringent Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act, for which the CJM has remanded him to police custody for 12 days.

Ulfa’s self-claimed foreign and finance secretaries - Sasha Chaudhary and Chitraban Hazarika, were similarly picked by Bangladesh authorities from Uttara area of Dhaka and handed over to BSF at Gakul Nagar in Tripura along Indo-Bangladesh border.

One of the founder members of Ulfa and its general secretary Anup Chetia aka Golap Baruah could not be handed over to India despite the present regime promising not to allow its territory be used by militants inimical to India. Chetia was arrested in 1997 in Dhaka under Foreigners Act and Passport Act, both indicating that he was treated as an illegal migrant. Since, he was convicted under these two Acts and sentenced to imprisonment, he could not be handed over to India and continues to be in prison there despite his appeal to United National High Commission on Refugees for grant of political asylum in Bangladesh.

Rajkhowa was under RAW surveillance for over 3 months. It had trailed him from Dhaka before intercepting him at Cox’s Bazaar. In all ten were picked up and 3 of them were of Ulfa.

Rajkhowa was nabbed, govt admits officially- Politics/Nation-News-The Economic Times

I will go on record to say changing title of the thread was wrong even on factual basis. Officially ULFA leaders never arrested inside Bangladesh but was done in India. ULFA leaders was trapped and more like abducted only to shown arrest inside india. So on what basis title of the thread changed? Perhaps MOD would provide an answer and take right action.

Did the government bungle on ULFA peace talks?
Sun, Dec 6 02:30 PM

Guwahati, Dec 6 (IANS) The surrender drama in Assam seems to have boomeranged. The chairman of the outlawed United Liberation Front of Asom (ULFA) Arabinda Rajkhowa was able to generate sympathy instead of anger after the government apparently bungled on the drama they tried to enact.

Dec 2: Reports of Arabinda Rajkhowa and few more ULFA leaders arrested in Bangladesh and handed over to Indian authorities in Tripura. There was no official confirmation from either Dhaka or New Delhi, leaving the stage open for wild speculation.

On the same day, Union Home Minister P. Chidambaram made a statement in the Rajya Sabha that the ULFA is in disarray and there would be a political statement from the ULFA in the next few days.

Dec 3: Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi announced a 'breakthrough was made' and that the whereabouts of Rajkhowa would be known in a matter of days or hours. The chief minister said the government was ready to provide safe passage to Rajkhowa for peace talks if required.

Dec 4: The plot gets thicker. Border Security Force (BSF) officials make a dramatic statement that Rajkhowa, along with nine more, including the deputy commander-in-chief of the ULFA Raju Baruah, have surrendered.

Media reported that there was a vertical split in the ULFA soon after the surrender story flashed. Elusive ULFA's commander-in-chief Paresh Baruah hits out at Rajkhowa in an email saying the chairman should clarify his stand on peace talks.

Everything was going according to the government script - they were able to divide the ULFA. Rajkhowa and Raju Baruah were arrested and would be produced in court, the police said.

Dec 5: There was speculation that Rajkhowa would not be brought to court like a terrorist but be accorded the status of a political prisoner as the government might try and use him for peace talks. The whole day passed and just after sundown, Rajkhowa, Raju Baruah and the chairman's personal bodyguard Raja Bora were brought to court under heavy security - in handcuffs.

Rajkhowa stepped out of the bus and gave a sensational sound byte.

'There cannot be any peace talks with the government under handcuffs as prisoners cannot negotiate. I have not surrendered and would never surrender before the government and sovereignty cannot be compromised,' the ULFA chairman said.

There were slogans of 'Rajkhowa Zindabad' (Long Live Rajkhowa) by the crowds as the ULFA leader and the other two militants were taken out of the court - clearly reflecting that the anger of the people had mellowed and a hint that the government's game plan had boomeranged.

Where did the government go wrong?

'If the government was at all serious in utilising the services of Arabinda Rajkhowa for peace talks, then what was the need for bringing them to the court handcuffed,' said Lachit Borodoloi, a rights leader.

'First the government said they surrendered, then you talk of safe passage, and then they are arrested and brought in handcuffs - all this is very confusing and immature handling on the part of the government,' said Dhirendranath Chakravarty, a veteran journalist and a bitter critic of the ULFA.

'Today the slogans supporting ULFA that one heard in the court was clearly people's anger against the mishandling on the part of the government.'

'The ULFA has once again got a new lease of life after this episode and now holding peace talks by convincing Rajkhowa would be next to impossible,' said Nakibur Zaman, a senior lawyer.

'The entire surrender drama is a major setback for the government,' Chakravarty said.

Did the government bungle on ULFA peace talks? - Yahoo! India News

Ahh by Chinese look Asim clearly means the people from Manipur who hates India and the Indians from other parts hates these Manipur people and call them Chinkies

Yes, some Indians termed them as Chinkies but surly don't hate them :cheers: Though I hate all those people who want to defame India :tongue:

Did the government bungle on ULFA peace talks?
Sun, Dec 6 02:30 PM

Guwahati, Dec 6 (IANS) The surrender drama in Assam seems to have boomeranged. The chairman of the outlawed United Liberation Front of Asom (ULFA) Arabinda Rajkhowa was able to generate sympathy instead of anger after the government apparently bungled on the drama they tried to enact.

Dec 2: Reports of Arabinda Rajkhowa and few more ULFA leaders arrested in Bangladesh and handed over to Indian authorities in Tripura. There was no official confirmation from either Dhaka or New Delhi, leaving the stage open for wild speculation.

On the same day, Union Home Minister P. Chidambaram made a statement in the Rajya Sabha that the ULFA is in disarray and there would be a political statement from the ULFA in the next few days.

Dec 3: Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi announced a 'breakthrough was made' and that the whereabouts of Rajkhowa would be known in a matter of days or hours. The chief minister said the government was ready to provide safe passage to Rajkhowa for peace talks if required.

Dec 4: The plot gets thicker. Border Security Force (BSF) officials make a dramatic statement that Rajkhowa, along with nine more, including the deputy commander-in-chief of the ULFA Raju Baruah, have surrendered.

Media reported that there was a vertical split in the ULFA soon after the surrender story flashed. Elusive ULFA's commander-in-chief Paresh Baruah hits out at Rajkhowa in an email saying the chairman should clarify his stand on peace talks.

Everything was going according to the government script - they were able to divide the ULFA. Rajkhowa and Raju Baruah were arrested and would be produced in court, the police said.

Dec 5: There was speculation that Rajkhowa would not be brought to court like a terrorist but be accorded the status of a political prisoner as the government might try and use him for peace talks. The whole day passed and just after sundown, Rajkhowa, Raju Baruah and the chairman's personal bodyguard Raja Bora were brought to court under heavy security - in handcuffs.

Rajkhowa stepped out of the bus and gave a sensational sound byte.

'There cannot be any peace talks with the government under handcuffs as prisoners cannot negotiate. I have not surrendered and would never surrender before the government and sovereignty cannot be compromised,' the ULFA chairman said.

There were slogans of 'Rajkhowa Zindabad' (Long Live Rajkhowa) by the crowds as the ULFA leader and the other two militants were taken out of the court - clearly reflecting that the anger of the people had mellowed and a hint that the government's game plan had boomeranged.

Where did the government go wrong?

'If the government was at all serious in utilising the services of Arabinda Rajkhowa for peace talks, then what was the need for bringing them to the court handcuffed,' said Lachit Borodoloi, a rights leader.

'First the government said they surrendered, then you talk of safe passage, and then they are arrested and brought in handcuffs - all this is very confusing and immature handling on the part of the government,' said Dhirendranath Chakravarty, a veteran journalist and a bitter critic of the ULFA.

'Today the slogans supporting ULFA that one heard in the court was clearly people's anger against the mishandling on the part of the government.'

'The ULFA has once again got a new lease of life after this episode and now holding peace talks by convincing Rajkhowa would be next to impossible,' said Nakibur Zaman, a senior lawyer.

'The entire surrender drama is a major setback for the government,' Chakravarty said.

Did the government bungle on ULFA peace talks? - Yahoo! India News

Gov't didn't go wrong. Gov't wants to crack the militants in BD but it also doesn't want to turn the ULFA against BD. The govt doesnt want the ULFA problem to be solved in long term. The reason being, if ULFA problem is solved which is not an impossible thing, then there will be peace in Assam and the next immediate thing that the locals will fight for is to drive the 9 million Illegal bangladeshis out of Assam. Which is next to impossible thing and is a nightmare for the congress in terms of its vote bank. 500 Rs bribe to BSF is enough for the migrants to cross the border. Do you think BSF would dare to get such bribes if there is monitoring from the top? 200 Rs bribe is enough for the Congress gove to issue a Ration card to the immigrant. Ever wondered why all the hightech border monitoring equipments goes to india-pakistan border but not to india-Bangladesh border very recently?

So congress will never solve the ULFA problem. If there were little signs of the positiveness, then the CM would have flown to Delhi and started some priliminary talks. But instead they handcuffed and manhandled the Chairman so that he turns in the opposite direction of talks. Thats exactly what happened. If congress would have wanted the ULFA problem to be solved it would have started in the direction of how the NAGA millitants were negotiated etc.

Congress has betrayed the entire people of assam and the whole india by contributing to the creation of ULFA and inviting the unwanted Bangladeshis and creating a cultural threat in assam and a security threat to the entire nation. The coward(Maiki) CM of assam, will learn a lesson some day for betraying his people.

I didn't know Indians use phrases like "Zindabad". India has captured the boss militant but not won the hearts and minds of the state's population. The way they are saddened by his loss it seems like a foreign invader captured their country.

u should never believe wholeheartedly wat u hear or read.ULFA is dying and a slow death at that.there was a time when the people of Assam respected and supported the ULFA. I even had a teacher who once was an informal member of ULFA providing them logistical support and the reason why the people supported the ULFA was because it was against anti social elements.Thieves used to be punished by the ulfa drunkards were publicly humiliated and dishonest businessment were threatened.moreover the ULFA was against illegal Bangladeshi immigration in its initial days.But the attacks by the ULFA on innocent civilians like the Dhemaji serial blast really turned public opinion against them.There is a town called Boko not very far from my village where there was a blast 3-4 yrs ago.It was triggered by a boy who was two classes senior to me.We were in the same school.U know y he did the bombing???for a mere 5000 rupees.people here don't care about the ULFA's ideology.anyway after the bombing there was a mass protest against the ULFA and people belonging to all tribes like the Garos,Rabhas,Assamese,Muslims,Gorkhas,Bodos participated in it.I can cite u numeros personal experiences.

Gov't didn't go wrong. Gov't wants to crack the militants in BD but it also doesn't want to turn the ULFA against BD. The govt doesnt want the ULFA problem to be solved in long term. The reason being, if ULFA problem is solved which is not an impossible thing, then there will be peace in Assam and the next immediate thing that the locals will fight for is to drive the 9 million Illegal bangladeshis out of Assam. Which is next to impossible thing and is a nightmare for the congress in terms of its vote bank. 500 Rs bribe to BSF is enough for the migrants to cross the border. Do you think BSF would dare to get such bribes if there is monitoring from the top? 200 Rs bribe is enough for the Congress gove to issue a Ration card to the immigrant. Ever wondered why all the hightech border monitoring equipments goes to india-pakistan border but not to india-Bangladesh border very recently?

So congress will never solve the ULFA problem. If there were little signs of the positiveness, then the CM would have flown to Delhi and started some priliminary talks. But instead they handcuffed and manhandled the Chairman so that he turns in the opposite direction of talks. Thats exactly what happened. If congress would have wanted the ULFA problem to be solved it would have started in the direction of how the NAGA millitants were negotiated etc.

Congress has betrayed the entire people of assam and the whole india by contributing to the creation of ULFA and inviting the unwanted Bangladeshis and creating a cultural threat in assam and a security threat to the entire nation. The coward(Maiki) CM of assam, will learn a lesson some day for betraying his people.

u know I once saw a slogan which read
CONGRESSER HAATH,BANGLADESHIR BHAAT which if translated reads like
Congress party's HAND,Bangladeshi's rice
HAND is the election symbol of the Congress
don't know who wrote the slogan the Congress supporters or their rivals

Please refrain from posting such comment when you know nothing about the situation.

I am originally from Assam and let me assure you that ULFA has completely lost the public support of the people of Assam. They had a good public support when they started in 1979 and even in the late 80's. But when they started killing innocent people including many Assamese, extortion and many other crimes the public started to dislike them and now the situation is such that most of the people in Assam despise ULFA. One more reason for this is the surrendered ULFA (SULFA) cadres. These people are the biggest scums of the society.

One or two ULFA enthusiast shouting "ULFA zindabad" does not represent the common sentiment of people. I can also post videos of Balochis burning Pak flag and but I know that the act of a person or two do not represent all. So stop going to such low level.

daangoria kor pora he aapuni???

Or is it that the slogan Jai is lower than the Zindabad thats why ULFA went for Zindabad instead of goin lower to use Jai ULFA ;)

I suppose Pakistan doesn't have the copyright for Zindabad.It is used everywhere in India.I suppose this will help u a little about the orgins of the word zindabad.

He coined the Indian freedom struggle’s most resonant slogan: ‘inquilab zindabad’, which roughly translates to ‘long live the revolution”.

Indeed, Maulana Hasrat Mohani’s call to arms against colonial occupation resonates through the Indian subcontinent even today though some would say it is beginning to resemble the Cheshire cat’s slowly fading grin, the only discernible feature of what was once a free-spirited beast.

Not surprisingly, as often happens when betrayal gets even with hope, the maulana’s heart-tugging slogan was co-opted by a host of pretenders who claimed his legacy en route to a different kind of social order than the one he had dreamt of. Yet it also echoes through some of the subcontinent’s most furious and unabating popular struggles.

Looking at his life and struggles objectively Maulana Hasrat Mohani can be easily mistaken for an angry Maoist rebel fighting for his rights in a central Indian forest heartland. And though he was a devout Muslim, he used his eclectic religiosity to spread the message of socialism in India.

His friend and guru Bal Gangadhar Tilak would be in the same league, and, in all probability if they were around, both would earn the wrath of India’s prime-minister-and-home-minister duo who have embarked on a mission to suppress the creed that the two freedom-fighters had openly embraced to fight colonialism — armed revolt.

It was Hasrat Mohani’s 60th death anniversary last week and I spoke to Syed Mohammed Mehdi, writer and former communist activist, about his few memorable interactions with the mercurial, witty and pious maulana. As a student at Aligarh university, the hermit-like sage became famous for his crumpled kurta-pyjama attire. He would often carry an umbrella in one hand and a paandaan in the other, which earned him the sobriquet of ‘khalajaan’ (aunt) among his fawning fellow students.

However, his unflinching advocacy of armed revolt to throw out British imperialism was as gritty as his confrontation with stalwarts like Gandhi and Mohammed Ali Jinnah. When the uncompromising Congress hard-liner Tilak, who advocated complete independence from British rule as his birthright walked out of the party in 1907, the maulana left with him.

When Tilak died, the grieving Hasrat Mohani wrote a moving poem to celebrate his friend and comrade.

Maatam ho na kyun Bhaarat mein bapa, duniya se sidhaare aaj Tilak
Balwant Tilak, Maharaaj Tilak aazaadon ke sartaaj Tilak
Jab tak wo rahe duniya mein raha hum sab ke dilon par zor unka
Ab reh ke behisht mein nizde Khuda rooho’n par karenge raaj Tilak.

With his clumsy beard and sloppy demeanour Hasrat Mohani was a perfect foil to the nattily dressed Jinnah. Their divergent wardrobes may hold a clue to their different worldview. On the other hand, his faith in a violent campaign against colonialism made him an arch critic of Gandhi.

On Nov 26, 1949, when the Indian constituent assembly proposed to create an independent, sovereign, democratic republic of India, assuring its citizens justice, equality and liberty, only one member of the assembly raised his voice of dissent. Prime Minister Nehru rushed to his desk and asked: “Maulana, what you are doing? Your only vote against the proposed constitution will become a part of history.” The maulana replied politely but clearly: “That is why I raised my voice to make sure that at least one voice of dissent was made against the proposed Indian constitution which has not done justice with Indian masses.”

Hasrat Mohani flirted with almost all the major political parties of the freedom struggle. After his departure from the Congress he became a leading member of the Muslim League and yet he also would be the founder leader of the Communist Party of India. His contrary nature stretched to his religion. A regular visitor to Haj, he laid equal stress on going to Mathura and Barsana, sacred to Hindus.

Some of his Urdu poems represent an open adulation of Krishna. The following abbreviated lines capture his love of Krishna who he describes as a fountainhead of wisdom who had a magical control over his mesmeric flute.

Mathura ke nagar hai aashiqi ka
Dam bharti hai aarzoo usi ka
Paighaam e hayaat e jaawidaa’n tha
Har naghma e Krishna baansuri ka
Barsana Nandgaaon mein’ bhi
Dekh aae hai’n hum jalwa kisi ka
Wo noor e siyaah tha ke Hasrat
Sar chashma e farogh e aagahi ka

The maulana was in and out of prison on several occasions. In 1908, he published an article in his magazine Urdu-e-Mu-alla and criticised the policies of the British rulers of Egypt. The British government prosecuted him and jailed him for two years for not disclosing the name of the author of the subversive article.

Hasrat Mohani believed Islam was very close to Soviet communism. He even maintained that the word ‘Soviet’ was from Arabic ‘saviyyat’ which meant equality. Islam’s fundamental principle was equality and communism also stood for equality, he would claim.

The maulana was very particular about personal probity. He would charge the exact amount he needed to undertake a journey to a conference that would care to invite him. Mehdi Sahib recalled how on one occasion Hasrat Mohani took a rupee to travel to Lucknow from Kanpur. He sat on the ekka by the driver’s side, which was cheaper by half anna than the side seats on the horse carriage. The train ticket cost 13 annas.

He was dropped to the venue in Lucknow by Chaudhury Khaliq uz Zaman in his car. The return journey was paid for by the students and his approach to the Lucknow station was facilitated by a young communist activist Munish Narain Saxena who happily carried him on his bicycle. After returning home from the station on the ekka in Kanpur, the maulana had one anna left, which he returned to the organisers. He was from among a different breed of Indian patriots.