UK restaurant boss asks fellow businessmen to sell Pakistani cuisine with pride

I am not aware of many Pakistani restaurants proudly naming themselves as Indian restaurant in UK but I guess it is true outside London, Birmingham, Manchester and few other major cities.

The only name comes to my mind which openly claims to be Indian restaurant is Royal Nawaab

Legends Tayyabs London;
:p:
Wait so the gent came in 2004 and spotted a trend that none of third generation guys have never ever come across? :rofl:

Dear Mr Raza I'd like to commend you on your work and I'm sorry you have come across some self-hating folks but hundreds of Pakistani restaurants proudly proclaim themselves Pakistani and have been selling authentic Pakistani cuisine for decades before you came.
In fact some of the biggest names in South Asian cooking full stop have always been known to all as Pakistani
;

Here are some;

TKC Southall

front-of-the-restaurant.jpg
They have their own Pakistani bus;
img_20121011_1603501.jpg

Giftos Lahore Karahi;

P1300473.JPG

Legends Tayyabs London;

tayaabs-61-1428928560.jpg

Mumtaz Bradford;
filename-imag0038-jpg.jpg

Lahore Kebab House Whitechapel;

front-entrance.jpg

Great article on this chain;

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2011/jan/16/jay-rayner-lahore-kebab-house

Safire in Manchester;

safire-restaurant-manchester.jpg

Man I could go on and on and on, but I have to wake up for fasting. I have eaten in hundreds of Pakistani establishments, not one has ever called itself Indian.
@Indus Pakistan here claims not 1 Pakistani restaurant would write they sell Pakistani...usually they write they sell indian food....We had a few lengthy debates with him asking me to produce just 1...You did that for me ;)

:azn:

I am not aware of many Pakistani restaurants proudly naming themselves as Indian restaurant in UK but I guess it is true outside London, Birmingham, Manchester and few other major cities.
Yaar where were you guys?! :pissed: when @Indus Pakistan was going on and on about how Pakistani restaurant owners arent proud of their Pakistaniyaat?! Even restaurant owner in OP states so :(

The only name comes to my mind which openly claims to be Indian restaurant is Royal Nawaab

Boycott Nawab I do lol. Their food is horrid.
Oh we also ate at a 100% Pakistani place during the meet-up hahaha.

I read about this somewhere...didnt really think much about it!

But honestly speaking....I would avoid Indian restaurant - just due to the spice mix they use...I cant digest it well keep burping like crazy...I eat at such a place as last resort but even then I am like...errr ...

Yea they also lose coz people dont realize what they are eating is Pakistani and end up going to india as a tourist and not finding the same thing!
I will avoid Indian restaurant because their nation is violently anti-Pakistan. No other reason. I don't care how the food tastes - but Indian food in UK is craps anyway. The quality "Indian" food in UK is pk or bd in origin.

:p:

@Indus Pakistan here claims not 1 Pakistani restaurant would write they sell Pakistani...usually they write they sell indian food....We had a few lengthy debates with him asking me to produce just 1...You did that for me ;)

:azn:

Yaar where were you guys?! :pissed: when @Indus Pakistan was going on and on about how Pakistani restaurant owners arent proud of their Pakistaniyaat?! Even restaurant owner in OP states so :(

I've been to Indian places, yes ones that sell halal meat for clients and boy they can't cook meat to save their lives. The veggie stuff is ok, but me being me I need lion size portions, that's an issue to lol.

here claims not 1 Pakistani restaurant would write they sell Pakistani...usually they write they sell indian food....We had a few lengthy debates with him asking me to produce just 1...You did that for me
I stand by what I said. I did not mean literally but the point I made was Pakistani owned restaurents brand themselves as 'Indian, Desi, Asian etc' and very rarely asa 'Pakistani'. And god forbid if they do they will prefix it or suffix it with "Indian".

They can't stand on their own feet as a 'Pakistani'. But I guess slowly things are changing .... and about time I think.

me being me I need lion size portions, that's an issue to lol.
lolz I think I have witnessed a small side of that :angel:

I've been to Indian places, yes ones that sell halal meat for clients and boy they can't cook meat to save their lives. The veggie stuff is ok
Their spice mix is weird...It makes me burp the yucky taste and it isnt pleasant!

we also ate at a 100% Pakistani place during the meet-up hahaha.
Tayyabs :D

Whitechapal (I like to call the poor place White Chappal :D

Lol oh yes. Those keema parathas went down like a treat. I ate 4. :agree:
lolz...Well you are giant sized :agree: SO I guess you need lion sized portions hahahaha

Wait so the gent came in 2004 and spotted a trend that none of third generation guys have never ever come across? :rofl:

Dear Mr Raza I'd like to commend you on your work and I'm sorry you have come across some self-hating folks but hundreds of Pakistani restaurants proudly proclaim themselves Pakistani and have been selling authentic Pakistani cuisine for decades before you came.
In fact some of the biggest names in South Asian cooking full stop have always been known to all as Pakistani
;

Here are some;

TKC Southall

front-of-the-restaurant.jpg
They have their own Pakistani bus;
img_20121011_1603501.jpg

Giftos Lahore Karahi;

P1300473.JPG

Legends Tayyabs London;

tayaabs-61-1428928560.jpg

Mumtaz Bradford;
filename-imag0038-jpg.jpg

Lahore Kebab House Whitechapel;

front-entrance.jpg

Great article on this chain;

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2011/jan/16/jay-rayner-lahore-kebab-house

Safire in Manchester;

safire-restaurant-manchester.jpg

Man I could go on and on and on, but I have to wake up for fasting. I have eaten in hundreds of Pakistani establishments, not one has ever called itself Indian.
You are being overoptimistic and somewhat miss the point in your assessment. Unless it categorically states Lahore or Karachi etc, it is always assumed to be Indian and English natives simply refer to our restaurants as "Indian". They even frequently call the Lahore/Karachi ones "Indian"!!! This is a longstanding error of our own. We have failed totally to market our culture, our cuisine.

lolz...Well you are giant sized :agree: SO I guess you need lion sized portions hahahaha

Haha you should see my household, when my dad and brother go at it as well. My mum is tiny and used to run around cooking for us all day bless her.
But anyway giant size is the way to go.

You are being overoptimistic and somewhat miss the point in your assessment. Unless it categorically states Lahore or Karachi etc, it is always assumed to be Indian and English natives simply refer to our restaurants as "Indian". They even frequently call the Lahore/Karachi ones "Indian"!!! This is a longstanding error of our own. We have failed totally to market our culture, our cuisine.

Then there assumption is wrong, however having grown up in a town that is 97% white British many did know the difference, and guess what it is, the meat.
There is some work to do I agree but to be honest it's not a problem and Pakistani cuisine is well known in the UK. Many native folk now associate Indian with veg. It's the Bengali places which still use the term Indian widely.

Why pakistani restaurants would use indian label? our cuisine are just as good as anything else in the world.