Turkey untroubled by conflict with Egypt, UAE in Libya

dBSPL

Turkey
Ankara believes a large-scale Egyptian ground operation is highly unlikely in Libya, considering the likely dynamics of power struggles in the skies of Sirte and al-Jufra, between tribes in southern Libya and on air and naval logistical routes between Libya and Turkey.

GettyImages-1061843456-870.jpg

Egyptian tanks take part in the Arab Shield joint military exercises at Mohamed Naguib military base in El-Hamam near the Mediterranean coast, northwest of the capital Cairo on Nov. 15, 2018. Photo by KHALED DESOUKI/AFP via Getty Images.

Metin Gurcan

Jul 27, 2020

Armed with parliamentary approval for cross-border military action, Egyptian President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi has full authority to intervene in neighboring Libya, a prospect that could lead to a conventional military confrontation between regional rivals Egypt and Turkey, which back opposing sides in Libya's proxy war.

Strategic planning in Ankara focuses on a three factors: Egypt’s ground, air, naval and proxy capabilities, its actual willingness for intervention and the international context.

Ankara believes Egypt’s land forces are too weak for a large-scale ground operation and security sources interviewed by Al-Monitor unanimously dismiss the prospect. Egypt’s shortcomings in the fight against the Islamic State in the Sinai Peninsula, Ankara reckons, show that its land forces lack much capacity in low-intensity conflicts as well. Another prevailing view is that the Egyptian army is haunted by a “strategic trauma” around foreign ventures after its failed intervention in Yemen in the 1960s, often referred to as “Egypt’s Vietnam.” In sum, Ankara seems to confidently rule out a comprehensive ground operation by Egypt in Libya.

The lessons from the Arab-Israeli wars in 1967 and 1973 and military trends since the 1990-1991 Gulf War show that any large-scale military operation in a terrain with vast deserts like Libya would need a certain degree of air superiority and close air support. Hence, Ankara is preoccupied with whether Egypt will receive open or covert air support from the United Arab Emirates, its chief ally in Libya, and Russia.

Security problems in Sinai and rows with neighbors may be weighing on Cairo, but a limited Egyptian-Emirati air campaign is possible to stop the Turkish-backed Tripoli forces from taking the strategically crucial coastal city of Sirte and Libya’s largest air base, al-Jufra.

The attack on the Turkish-controlled al-Watiya airbase in early July was arguably a prelude to a struggle for airspace dominance in Libya.

Turkish air operations in an offensive to seize Sirte and al-Jufra, which Ankara and its allies have declared as their next targets, could theoretically unfold on three main legs. The first would be the deployment of warplanes in Libya or in a third country such as Malta, from which the jets could reach Libya without air refueling, to provide close air support to ground forces. The second would be the use of air defense systems, including surface-to-air missiles, and electronic warfare means to prevent opposing forces from accessing the route of the offensive. The third would focus on securing aerial and naval logistical corridors between Turkey and Libya. Likewise, those three areas would be the main targets of Egyptian and Emirati air forces.

Judging by the attack on al-Watiya, Ankara sees a strong likelihood that Emirati jets would try to prevent an offensive on Sirte, backed by Egyptian logistical support and Russian airspace control.

Military databases indicate that the UAE has about 160 fighter jets and multi-role warplanes, mainly US-made F-16Es and F16F Block-60s, but also French-made Mirage jets. According to open-source intelligence, the UAE has stationed Mirage jets at Egypt’s Sidi Barrani base, not far from the Libyan border, and reinforced the al-Khadim base in eastern Libya with hangars and infrastructure suitable for sophisticated jets. Less advanced aircraft such as AT-802 light attack planes and Chinese-made Wing Loong drones have been deployed at the base so far, probably because of operational risks and the lesser harm to bear if they are shot down, both financially and in terms of media impact.

The use of al-Khadim and Egyptian bases would provide a significant sortie advantage to Emirati aircraft even if Egypt’s air force is not actively involved in combat. Such an advantage could turn up pressure on the Turkish-backed Tripoli forces and facilitate deep-strike attacks on Tripoli, which apparently lacks a proper air defense. Of note, the Emirati air force possesses the smart, long-range ammunition required for such missions.

Likewise, Egyptian and Emirati forces might try to disrupt the aerial and naval logistical routes between Turkey and Libya, which are 2,300 kilometers (1,430 miles) apart. Continued supplies, troop transfers and evacuations would be a tough logistical task for Turkey on such a long route.

In short, the air power dimension is the most challenging for Ankara.

How willing Egypt is for a military intervention? Ankara believes that Cairo’s posturing is mostly for domestic consumption, intended to divert attention from its failure to deter Ethiopia in a water dispute on the Nile and poor handling of the COVID-19 pandemic. According to Ankara’s assessment, an Egypt struggling to cope with a few terrorist groups in the Sinai could hardly take a major risk in Libya and even if it does, its likely defeat could precipitate the end of the Sisi regime.

Also, unlike Yemen and Syria, Libya remains the focus of global attention and Turkey’s ally, the Government of National Accord, enjoys international legitimacy, boosted by a series of recent military victories that, in Ankara’s thinking, virtually preclude a Sisi-backed intervention with potentially extensive bloodshed.

Furthermore, Ankara believes, Sisi’s willingness alone is not enough. Sisi may be eager for an intervention, hoping to boost his popularity in the Arab world and sustain the UAE’s financial backing, but Ankara doubts the Egyptian military shares his eagerness. According to Turkish assessments, Egypt’s military would be reluctant to engage in a cross-border campaign with ambiguous military goals and risk losses that might damage its credibility and fuel internal rifts.

In short, Ankara largely sees Sisi as bluffing.

In the international context, Ankara is well aware that it needs European political backing, especially from Italy, Germany, Britain and Spain, and logistical support from Malta and Maghreb countries to move on Sirte as well as US support to balance Russia in Libya. It has stepped up diplomatic efforts, seeking to capitalize on discords among EU countries on Libya and the US military’s concerns over Russian presence in the country.

In Ankara’s view, Libyans would perceive an Egyptian intervention as an invasion. Neighboring countries such as Algeria and Tunisia, which have stayed out of the conflict thus far, would also be averse to an Egyptian intervention due to the security risks and the prospect of migration waves.

Above all, however, Ankara believes that Egypt cannot intervene without a nod from Washington — something it sees as a distant possibility due to Egypt’s alignment with Russia.

In terms of proxy warfare, Egypt appears to be quite active. Since early June, it has reportedly stepped up efforts to arm Libyan tribes. This activity speaks of a plan to organize armed resistance on a local level to impede the advance of the Tripoli forces should they attempt to march on Sirte and al-Jufra.

It is not hard to guess that an Egyptian military intervention would rely on Emirati financing. Yet Cairo might face other downsides in terms of capacity. The distance between Egypt and Libya, the duration, endurance and continuity of the intervention and the need to win public and international support all have to be factored in. Sisi’s efforts to bolster Egypt’s military capabilities have relied on foreign purchases, an important downside. Any sanctions by Western countries or Russia could impair the endurance and continuity of the intervention.

All in all, Ankara believes an Egyptian intervention would be an irrational endeavor, given Cairo’s handicaps and international conditions, although the Egyptian military has the capacity for such a move. If Sisi is determined to go ahead, he would be undertaking a venture with a fragile military rationale and unforeseeable consequences for both Libya and Egypt.

Read more: https://www.al-monitor.com/pulse/or...-over-sirte-jufra-unlikely.html#ixzz6TQykH3H2

Red lines since 6/june ( Egyptian initiative ) ,so please believe that shitty article and cross the line:haha::sarcastic:
Dont worry preparation are being made. Turkey and gna needs to consolidate what they conquered so far at exceptional speed from sissi backed forces. This article misses few important points such as what will happen of turkey comes with full force? what will happen with sissi air force and their navy? He is not even contemplating these scenarios since its clear what will happen

Someone remind Egypt / UAE, they are not NATO members.
Indeed, economically, politically and militarily main problem for Turkey is France and Russia. It is also necessary to touch on the subject of France; because Macron began to use Turkey's Med policies as a tool for its idea of an EU army. On the other hand, there are sensitive balances between Russia and Turkey that extend to Syria, even to the Black Sea. I have not yet seen any emphasis on Egypt in any television program or newspaper corner. It is treated as if it were almost absent.

So the article is trying to explain this situation. More precisely, it addresses the attitude in the security bureaucracy for its reasons.

Edrfq13WoAAjfIr

Indeed, talk is cheap, definitely so cheap for Erdogan and his mouth pieces.

Facts represented in the form of quality and quantity of Egyptian land force reveal that it is superior than that of Turkey; not to mention Egyptian air defense branch which is in no way or form comparable to that of Turkey. As for air force, Egyptian air force outnumber the Turkish one and it possesses more diverse equipment. Navy force can be put on parallel with the Turkish one, nonetheless.

What is stated above is interpreted by Turkish inability to carry out its threats to cross the Egyptian red line Sirte-Jufra. Moreover, Turkey chose not to respond to the destruction of its air defense system in Alwatya air base.

Indeed, talk is cheap, definitely so cheap for Erdogan and his mouth pieces.

Facts represented in the form of quality and quantity of Egyptian land force reveal that it is superior than that of Turkey.

What military success has this mighty army in the last 50 years? Ethiopia, Libya or Israel really act in line with this deterrence?

When we follow the statements of the foreign affairs officials of these countries, we get the idea that almost nobody gives s*it to Egypt. For some reason, everyone sees the junta in Egypt as a passive structure in pursuing independent policies, and the Turkish public seems to be affected by this general view. To change this general opinion, we must first see the Egyptian tanks in the Libyan territory. Of course with the Egyptian flag.

Why don't you call you aunty.. you are certainly talking about your dirty mouth.. let them see it and ban you from here..
@waz @Major Sam @BHarwana @Foxtrot Alpha

I have never insulted you. But, there is a reporting button on the left for every message if you see any wrong according to forum rules.

Here, you openly trolling this topic as you did in any other; along with insult the personalities of the forum members and their nation identities.

Please respect the forum rules.

PDF Philosophy and vision:

PDF wishes to be a platform for ideas to be discussed openly and in a cordial productive manner. The reason for IDs where you can have a relatively high degree of anonymity is for you to do away with your person and be your ideas. However, that does not mean that the person behind the keyboard ceases to exist and therefore; we have these rules to enforce that environment where ideas can be exchanged, challenged and projected freely.

Ethnic / political / nationalistic hate

Needless to say, PDF wishes to be a productive exchange of ideas and not a place of spreading communal, national, political or religiously motivated hatred. Members found involved in such activities would be severely penalized.

Special Section: using social issues for inciting ethnic / nationalistic / political hatred

Social issues such as sexual harassment, rape, child molestation or abuse are not to be used to incite ethnic / nationalistic / race inspired hatred nor political point scoring. PDF management would severely penalize any such threads / posts. If you are a good human being, kindly, be an ally of victims and do not abuse victims for your gains.

Racism

PDF is not a platform for spreading racism nor do we condone it. Any such threads / posts / materials would lead to heavy penalization.

Individual Harassment

Kindly do not ruin PDF for other members; such behavior includes following a member around PDF and replying their posts with harassing content such as thinly veiled threats or passive aggressive behavior or making the member feel as if they are being harassed. Such accusations would be investigated and would result in a ban. Moreover, kindly, do not share personal information about any member on PDF. We are a public forum, nor attempt to garner such information using PDF

Trolling

Any content or response given with the intent of simply antagonizing people (such as a particular group e.g. Pakistanis, Muslims, Christians, Women, Hindus, Indians, Africans etc.) or a particular individual in order to garner a negative emotional response is considered trolling. More generally, essentially trolling is bullying online where by either a person is subjected to denial of opportunity to speak or making them feel very bad or inflaming them to be upset only. It is understood that during dialogues on sensitive issues there would be some words considered offensive but as long as it is not generalized to justify discrimination or packaged as a personal attack then that is acceptable because the spirit of the exchange is reflection or sharing of an opinion. Responding to trolling is deemed as ‘feeding the trolls’ and would be considered trolling too. It is not justifiable to respond to trolling with trolling and would also be addressed.

Trolling is a widespread problem and user’s postage history would be taken into account. Repeated offenders may face a permanent ban and trolling is taken seriously at PDF. Kindly, it does not help anyone and causes a ruining of the decorum therefore, would be dealt with appropriately.

Flaming / baiting

A special form of trolling whereby, threads or posts aimed at inciting an individual or group of people to be emotionally charged and incite fighting are not allowed. PDF is especially against using such posts or threads to incite hatred against politically belligerent nations or group of people e.g. Indians, Pakistanis or Saudis, Iranians etc. This would only add fuel to the flames. That’s not what PDF stands for.

Personal attacks

Do not attack any individual nor use any abusive language towards their ethnic / national / religious identity for any purpose.

Profanity

Please, try to be courteous as you would be in public. This is a public forum and there are real people behind the keyboard. Therefore, kindly refrain from using curse words or offensive words to a particular group such as, Youthia or Gangu or Noora along with racially charged slurs as well. This would result in penalization. This is for the general decorum of the forum.

Off-Topic Posts

Anything that does not add value to the discussion being had or does not say anything about the thread may be liable for deletion and repeated violations may result in penalization. Please, do know that going into tangents is encouraged (something related to the thread, such as discussing a conflict economically rather than militarily) but off-topic derailment is not encouraged (bringing in social issues in order to derail a thread about geopolitics, for instance).

Red lines since 6/june ( Egyptian initiative ) ,so please believe that shitty article and cross the line:haha::sarcastic:
you already got banned from another turkish thread... now you started trolling in this thread... want to get banned again, like I told you last time and you made fun? :)

I bet that is a message you got from Mods so many times that you know it by heart now..
I can proudly say that I have no warnings or penalties in PDF. You can confirm my situation from any mod member you want.As I said, you can use report button in any time. But first of all you will learn how to speak in accordance with the rules, in this forum. If it happens with your consent, it will be easier for you.

Now, If you have nothing else to say about this topic, please stop writing off-topic posts.

okay what to do about you people. Look at your ages & they way you people fight. :disagree: Seriously grow up guys.
I did not insult anyone, why did you delete my message also? he clearly trolling the title, trying to make not speakable by flame baiting. He quoted my message and insulted me for no reason. Is this your understanding of justice? Isn't your job to enforce forum rules? If someone here insulted you or your national identity as despicable insects, would you react the same?

I do not accept your warning, because the aim is to ensure that your intervention is mutual. Not trolls, but your double standards against us, ruining PDF's image for at least 50 active members and may be for tens of thousands turkish viewers.

It is enough! After that, I will behave exactly as it should. PDF=WAFF