This too was Pakistan (1947-71): A response to Nadeem Paracha’s “Also *****

Point 2 - Conceded ! Though it is mentioned by the cleric himself in his book and a civil servant's books whilst quoting letters by Jinnah himself and the cleric exchanged, though because it tends to have an air of too much nascent recording of it with respect to some of the earlier records I'd agree ! Having said that the line of argument (if a one-liner can be called that !) taken by the author is equally if not more unsubstantiated for there is nothing to suggest from the earlier records that such was the case; whether its Ms.Jinnah's biography of the Quaid, or Hector Bolitho's biography of the Quaid (the first ever written I think !), the one written by the Quaid's ADC or any of the work that have gone before my eyes whether its the works of Zaidi or of Akbar Ahmed, remotely point towards a conspiracy by the State to make Sunni Islam as the dominant dogma in '48. If anything these things have popped up in the last few years and are based on eye-witness accounts that cannot be cross-verified !

Point 1 - This is what 'GlobalSecurity' mentions about the Azad Kashmir Regiment : When the Pakistan Army tried to capture Jammu & Kashmir (J&K) in 1947-48, it first sent into the state a large number of Mehsuds, Wazirs and other tribes recruited by it in the Federally-Administered Tribal Areas (FATA) and trained and armed by it.

Either way whether it were the Mehsuds, the Wazirs, the Uthmakhels, the Yousafzais or the Khattaks, its immaterial - they were Pakistani Tribals ! It is insulting to suggest that they were hired mercenaries when this isn't substantiated by any record from that time nor through common sense that a bankrupt Pakistani government would be able to give them anything ! Nor is the aspersion that Liaquat Ali Khan was killed by the same Pakistani Tribals who we hired as mercenaries substantiated ! If anything the facts that have gone before my eyes suggest that he was killed by Saad Akbar Babrak - an Afghan assassin ! I don't think his Zardan Tribe played any part in the war either or are present in large numbers on our side of the Durand Line !

1. There never were large number of Mehsuds (they still number under 100,000), and certainly were never part of any incursion into Kashmir. Mehsuds are one of the most disloyal race of 'quasi' Pathans that you'll ever come across - no Pathan with proper lineage considers them to of real bloodline.

2. Khattak tribe also had a VERY limited role. (I don't want to comment further on them)

3. The Kashmir onslaught was spearheaded by Wazir tribe and a sub-category of Aka-Khel tribe, known as 'Salman-Khel' (they are citizens of Pakistan, and central and South Eastern Afghanistan).

4. No one paid anything to anyone. Yes there was pillaging done by these tribes after conquering, however, they truly thought that it is fair to get 'mal-e-ghanimat'. :D

I seriously don't know who killed Liaquat-Ali-Khan, but neither does anyone else. Do you know what happened to the LAK inquisition report? BTW, Saad Akbar Babrak was a Hazarite, not a Pathan! (Northern Alliance ring a bell?) - This whole **** is too twisted to be judged, let's not go into the specifics.

Oh come on the Mehsuds aren't a disloyal bunch !

Khair...from what I've heard he belonged to the Zardan Tribe and they're not Hazara they're Pukhtoons !

And I've heard some horrifying stories of rapes, murder and arson that some of the Tribals subjected the people of Baramullah to ! I can only pray that they're only stories !

When did you last interact with Mehsud? :D

Never...! :oops:

But surely yaar one can't call an entire race or tribe of people as traitors or as back-stabbers ?

On a separate note : I'm going through a Pashtun Forum. They've called you guys who love Pakistan everything from Dal-Khor to Brain Washed Punjabi Slaves ! I'll continue to believe you wrror but things like this strain it to the breaking point !

P.S For some reasons the link shows as a 'xxxxxxx' and doesn't open up no matter how many times I try posting it and however differently ! If your interested google in 'Pashtunforum' and it'll take you there !

we will wait till all the well researched articles on india make any effect, only then we might take these kind of article positively. Just out of curiosity whatever is in that article, why does it interest Indians, it has nothing to do with India.

Indian think just condemning everything makes it alright, we think condemnation is only done by wussies.

Not sure you will get this but any person should try to read as much as possible and on as diverse topics as possible.
Rest of your post is as always best left ignored..

Just for you..Have a go...http://dawn.com/2012/08/14/the-two-muslim-theory/

Oh come on ..
jaise ki Indian aur pakistan thanks se ajtr ki roji -roti chalti hai(As if AjTR earns her living by accumulation of Indo-Pak thanks):disagree:

I think you should ask Mr.Ajtr about the 'hired mercenary' Pukhtoons or half of the things said in this article about Pakistan ! I'd love to see his reaction, Bhabhi Jaan !

Nice to see the savior of pakistan and champion of democracy with a dictator as his minister.

Same as Nawaz Sharif, the harbinger of democracy who was grown up by a dictator.

Same as the Champion of democracy Gilani who served as Railway minister under a certain guy who is blamed for all ills of pakistan today.

Nice to see the hypocrisy!

We cannot move forward until we reconcile with our past. For a progressive, pluralist and secular Pakistan, we cannot be selective of our either our history or our genesis. By perpetuating a selective and concocted version of history, we are doomed to repeat our follies.

Source: http://www.defence.pk/forums/nation...onse-nadeem-paracha-s-also.html#ixzz23WiMnrxK

What exactly does this generation of Pakistanis need to reconcile with? Sure Pakistan can move forward without reconciling x,y,z focusing too much on the past can be troublesome. Pakistan just needs to maintain positive economic growth for several years and decades and many problems associated with poverty and lack of funds will sort themselves out. Hopefully the next government of Pakistan will take the country on the right path.

Really articles like these are interesting, but will do little to change things.

When did you last interact with Mehsud? :D

Armstrong: I don't know anything!

Lol

Never...! :oops:

But surely yaar one can't call an entire race or tribe of people as traitors or as back-stabbers ?

On a separate note : I'm going through a Pashtun Forum. They've called you guys who love Pakistan everything from Dal-Khor to Brain Washed Punjabi Slaves ! I'll continue to believe you wrror but things like this strain it to the breaking point !

P.S For some reasons the link shows as a 'xxxxxxx' and doesn't open up no matter how many times I try posting it and however differently ! If your interested google in 'Pashtunforum' and it'll take you there !

1. I can.
2. Third Tier Races: They are not pathan.
3. Are you kidding with me? Who could it be? Oh, I don't know. Maybe..... someone else?... Oh yeah, after all, it is the internet!

Mah-Sud in Pushto means, ONE WITHOUT FATHER / THE ONE WITHOUT ELDER / NO CARETAKER (Famed abductors and family-women peddlers, and a whole lot more!)
Khat-TAK: The one who digs holes. (Famed Robbers)

Anything else?

1. I can.
2. Third Tier Races: They are not pathan.

Mah-Sud in Pushto means, ONE WITHOUT FATHER / THE ONE WITHOUT ELDER / NO CARETAKER (Famed abductors and family-women peddlers, and a whole lot more!)
Khat-TAK: The one who digs holes. (Famed Robbers)

Anything else?

The else was supposed to be in the second portion of my question and I do want an answer ! :D

So its Khushal Khan 'the One who digs holes' Khattak ! :P Beggars belief...!

The else was supposed to be in the second portion of my question and I do want an answer ! :D

So its Khushal Khan 'the One who digs holes' Khattak ! :P Beggars belief...!
What can I say, we're a racist bunch! Our class system is built RIGHT INTO our names :D

BTW, who said "hole diggers" can't be articulate. That's an assumption on your part. I was just commenting on genetics :drag:

What can I say, we're a racist bunch! Our class system is built RIGHT INTO our names :D

When you've beaten 'Buttt' I'd consider some parity otherwise...walk on Khan Sahib ! :rofl:

So no..answer; so its going to be like that ! Chalooo koi nahin...I'll ask around when I finally pay KP a visit ! :P

When you've beaten 'Buttt' I'd consider some parity otherwise...walk on Khan Sahib ! :rofl:

So no..answer; so its going to be like that ! Chalooo koi nahin...I'll ask around when I finally pay KP a visit ! :P

Hmm... I wouldn't advise that.... We have heard lots of stories about Buttttts.... :D