The most beautiful Urdu word....

Garami means name in Urdu? Then what does naam mean in Urdu? Are you sure you talking sense here?
It is not hard to imagine that you can have multiple words for the same meaning?

Expert, skilled, adept
Big, large, tall?

What is your name? = aapka naam kya hai

Your good name please? Aap ka ism e garami? ... / kya hai?

It is not hard to imagine that you can have multiple words for the same meaning?

Expert, skilled, adept
Big, large, tall?

ohhhh I realised today that what does Girami mean :D

Hyderabadi urdu for you.. rofl WTF!

I cant understand it.. but its FUNNY AF
Hahahahahaahahhaaha

Paanon pay paana , phenkon pay phanka, holay sholay baatan kar rahay hain hahaa :rofl: didnt laugh so hard since few days.

Also i have seen majority indians from up, bihar use word "ich" at the end of words like we saw in this video. Word aisay was said as Aisay-ich , they even say apun-ich.

But hahaha was funny Panon pay paana
Lol paranoia is setting in. Okay I’m Tamil Tiger from the jungles of Tamil Nadu I swing around like a monkey n eat raw liver with mango chutney. You watched jungle book? He was my uncle, we live like family here, i Nash to nara Nara under the Tamil jungle. Happy?

Good ,confessions should not be suppressed.

• Nihari and Tandoori Roti as always made me smile with anticipation and also
  • تنخواہ Tankhuwa
  • :smitten:چھٹی کا دن
  • بارش کا موسم

There are two type of Urdu , the Anwar Maqsood Urdu , a prominent writer for TV and then their is Urdu that general people speak

Expert, skilled, adept
Big, large, tall?

Not that I have any issue with that. But I have not heard any pakistani here in US ever say Tabassum or ever say ism e garami as relations to conversational Urdu. You can write it in books that’s fine, but the local conversations between pakistanies are not “classical” Urdu they are conversational urdu. It’s like same with Arab countries, each one of them have Arabic dialects n they don’t speak “classical” Arabic but it’s mostley retained for religious purpose.

In every language there is a Spoken language and literature/written/conventional language

You have spoken English and the Shakespear's poetry from 16th century containing countless obsolete English terms.

But it doesn't mean the words that we don't speak in spoken language are no longer part of the language.

Read the poem of Allama Iqbal and you will hardly grasp the idea of what he is saying but it doesn't mean it is not written in urdu?

Kyoun ziya kaar banu sood faramosh rahon
Fiqr e farda na karon mahv e gham e dosh rahon

Nalay bulbul ke suno aur hama tun gosh rahon
Hum nava main bhi koi gul hon ke ghamosh rahon?

The word Gul for example means Flower... but you can say doesn't flower means phool in urdu?

The more grasp of language you have the better it is... spoken language tend to be easy but you don't write books in spoken language, you are meant to use advanced vocabulary where sometimes 'phool' can be changed with 'gul' and smile/muskurahat can be changed with tabassum

In every language there is a Spoken language and literature/written/conventional language

You have spoken English and the Shakespear's poetry from 16th century containing countless obsolete English terms.

But it doesn't mean the words that we don't speak in spoken language are no longer part of the language.

Read the poem of Allama Iqbal and you will hardly grasp the idea of what he is saying but it doesn't mean it is not written in urdu?

Kyoun ziya kaar banu sood faramosh rahon
Fiqr e farda na karon mahv e gham e dosh rahon

Nalay bulbul ke suno aur hama tun gosh rahon
Hum nava main bhi koi gul hon ke ghamosh rahon?

The word Gul for example means Flower... but you can say doesn't flower means phool in urdu?

The more grasp of language you have the better it is... spoken language tend to be easy but you don't write books in spoken language, you are meant to use advanced vocabulary where sometimes 'phool' can be changed with 'gul' and smile/muskurahat can be changed with tabassum
So your telling me that Chemistry\Math\Science books all are written in “classical” Urdu or that newspapers in pakistan write in “classical” Urdu? No where in America does any newspaper write in Shakespeare. I get it that’s in “classical” the reason why I didn’t understand it cause “classical” Urdu written in books have highl pollution of foreign words from Persian n Arabic aswell as Turkish.

Urdu has respect for elders because it has differnt words for elders and youngers
APP is "you" used for elder
Tum/Tu is again"you" used for younger

Beautiful words " Nafees" " Dilnasheen" Mehboob" " shareek e hayat " etc

So your telling me that Chemistry\Math\Science books all are written in “classical” Urdu or that newspapers in pakistan write in “classical” Urdu? No where in America does any newspaper write in Shakespeare. I get it that’s in “classical” the reason why I didn’t understand it cause “classical” Urdu written in books have highl pollution of foreign words from Persian n Arabic aswell as Turkish.
No all I am trying to say is... with humble respect your Urdu is weak and thats all

The words used in this thread are very easy for most Pakistanis to understand and trust me 95 out of 100 average urdu speaking people would answer them correctly

It is not my fault that you have not heard of such phrases but the idea is, most of us understands them even if they dont use these terms on daily life. The reason why we understands means we must have heard it from somewhere from time to time so we do know the meaning of it

Also some words in vocabulary are used in specific moments so for example tabassum may not be 100% alternative to muskurahat but there are phrases where this word can be fit and muskurahat may sound less appropriate

Tabassum is also very common name in Pakistan and the first instinct that comes to our mind after hearing this name is that it means Smile

No all I am trying to say is... with humble respect your Urdu is weak and thats all

The words used in this thread are very easy for most Pakistanis to understand and trust me 95 out of 100 average urdu speaking people would answer them correctly

It is not my fault that you have not heard of such phrases but the idea is, most of us understands them even if they dont use these terms on daily life. The reason why we understands means we must have heard it from somewhere from time to time so we do know the meaning of it

Also some words in vocabulary are used in specific moments so for example tabassum may not be 100% alternative to muskurahat but there are phrases where this word can be fit and muskurahat may sound less appropriate

Tabassum is also very common name in Pakistan and the first instinct that comes to our mind after hearing this name is that it means Smile
Well thanks for mentioning that it’s not used on daily life which was the point. We living in US speak mostly English so the Urdu that we do retain are the core Urdu conversational words from Lahore not from “classical” Urdu books or from forigner injected words into the language. So your Urdu maybe highly influenced by the educated class(which borrow many foreign words) versus let’s say a Urdu speaking person from some gow who’s never been to school and speak Urdu and doesn’t understand the vocabulary you use. The point is Urdu me not knowing some of these words doesn’t mean I don’t speak “urdu” it means I speak core Urdu without the pollution of foreign vocabulary. Take fore example: Isme Garami. What does Isme mean and what does Garami mean? Where did these words come from? Isme in Arabic means “my name is” n Garami I have no idea. But if they are pure Urdu words then we can easily break them apart n make sense of them in Urdu. Gar a mi? Garmi? Gara mi? If you break up these words can you make sense of them? Words In other languages can be broken apart and can be made sense of in their own languages. The only sense I can make from Garami is Garam which is warm. You get what I’m saying?

Kaash....I wish
Saraab... Illusion/mirage
Talash... To find
Gumshuda... Kost
Yaqeen.. faith
Koshish... To try
Junoon.. enthusiasm
Zindagi... Life