PDF THINK TANK: CONSULTANT
December 27, 2007

What Happens Now in Pakistan?

Killing Bhutto

by OMER SUBHANI

1. I have to start off with my recent perceptions of her. She was a corrupt politician who was more interested in her political legacy than in the welfare of her nation and people. President Bush said today that Bhutto was someone who fought against terrorism. She did so, conveniently, post 9-11. During the mid 1990s she was openly pro-Taliban as the Pakistani government was one of the few nations in the world that recognized that neo-Khawarij regime.

2. Her death could cause major problems for Pakistan, but I think Musharraf will be smart about this and will likely move to some sort of martial law system in order to curb violence and unrest. He needs to postpone elections only briefly because otherwise his opponents will claim he is attempting to block the political process.

3. I was surprised somewhat by the coverage of Bhutto in the US press this morning. CNN changed her picture three times this morning around 8:45 AM. Every picture tried to portray her as some sort of fallen angel. Again, this is a woman who sold out her people in order to increase her bank account as well as killing her political opponents.

4. Pakistan and Democracy: what happens now? Nawaz Sharif is a nobody. Musharraf is on thin ice. Who will lead Pakistan? It’s a very grim situation there, but one thing is for certain: most Pakistanis are moderate people who are inclined to Western values of democracy and freedom in their truest sense. They are progressive and liberal in many facets. Extremism does not have a great hold in Pakistan, but what should be rightfully feared is that someone in the military who is pro-Taliban & al-Qaeda will take over as Musharraf did. I don’t think that’s a likely possibility, but it is a possibility nonetheless. Pakistanis need to regroup and really rally for democracy.

5. I am disgusted with the US media. Their coverage of Bhutto as some sort of martyr is despicable and inappropriate. Man, she really did a good job of portraying herself as some sort of beacon of hope for Pakistan. This woman was liable to be arrested at any moment by Interpol because of all the money laundering she and her husband were involved in with 3 to 4 different countries. She was a crook, plain and simple, yet our wonderful press is making her out to be the next Mother Teresa. This is like if Michael Vick was trying to run for Senator of Georgia ten years from now and then he was murdered and all anyone was talking about was how great a football player he was without any mention of his dog fighting crimes. This is so Orwellian.

6. Bhutto’s legacy: The impression she has left is one of a woman standing up for democracy and fighting against extremism. This is how she will likely be seen until Armageddon. Dissidents and progressives who actually know something about her history will know better. She fought for democracy when convenient for her, but when she was in power assassinations of opponents and corruption were the way of life for her. She was a crook and while she did not deserve such a horrible ending to her life we should all remember that this is a person who cared only for herself and her bank account.

7. My research at Harvard led me to believe that Bhutto would not last long in Pakistan. Unfortunately for her my research proved correct. Musharraf barely made it out alive on two major assassinations attempts a few years ago, while he has had many others. Musharraf’s security was arranged by the Pakistani Army and the attempts on his life demonstrated that the Army had been infiltrated by Taliban and al-Qaeda sympathizers. So if he had the best security around and was almost killed then how could Bhutto possibly stay alive? She didn’t as we unfortunately see today.

OMER SUBHANI is a candidate for a Ph. D. in History at Boston University. He can be reached at: OS21@aol.com

December 27, 2007

Killing Bhutto

by OMER SUBHANI

1. I have to start off with my recent perceptions of her. She was a corrupt politician who was more interested in her political legacy than in the welfare of her nation and people. President Bush said today that Bhutto was someone who fought against terrorism. She did so, conveniently, post 9-11. During the mid 1990s she was openly pro-Taliban as the Pakistani government was one of the few nations in the world that recognized that neo-Khawarij regime.

2. Her death could cause major problems for Pakistan, but I think Musharraf will be smart about this and will likely move to some sort of martial law system in order to curb violence and unrest. He needs to postpone elections only briefly because otherwise his opponents will claim he is attempting to block the political process.

3. I was surprised somewhat by the coverage of Bhutto in the US press this morning. CNN changed her picture three times this morning around 8:45 AM. Every picture tried to portray her as some sort of fallen angel. Again, this is a woman who sold out her people in order to increase her bank account as well as killing her political opponents.

4. Pakistan and Democracy: what happens now? Nawaz Sharif is a nobody. Musharraf is on thin ice. Who will lead Pakistan? It’s a very grim situation there, but one thing is for certain: most Pakistanis are moderate people who are inclined to Western values of democracy and freedom in their truest sense. They are progressive and liberal in many facets. Extremism does not have a great hold in Pakistan, but what should be rightfully feared is that someone in the military who is pro-Taliban & al-Qaeda will take over as Musharraf did. I don’t think that’s a likely possibility, but it is a possibility nonetheless. Pakistanis need to regroup and really rally for democracy.

5. I am disgusted with the US media. Their coverage of Bhutto as some sort of martyr is despicable and inappropriate. Man, she really did a good job of portraying herself as some sort of beacon of hope for Pakistan. This woman was liable to be arrested at any moment by Interpol because of all the money laundering she and her husband were involved in with 3 to 4 different countries. She was a crook, plain and simple, yet our wonderful press is making her out to be the next Mother Teresa. This is like if Michael Vick was trying to run for Senator of Georgia ten years from now and then he was murdered and all anyone was talking about was how great a football player he was without any mention of his dog fighting crimes. This is so Orwellian.

6. Bhutto’s legacy: The impression she has left is one of a woman standing up for democracy and fighting against extremism. This is how she will likely be seen until Armageddon. Dissidents and progressives who actually know something about her history will know better. She fought for democracy when convenient for her, but when she was in power assassinations of opponents and corruption were the way of life for her. She was a crook and while she did not deserve such a horrible ending to her life we should all remember that this is a person who cared only for herself and her bank account.

7. My research at Harvard led me to believe that Bhutto would not last long in Pakistan. Unfortunately for her my research proved correct. Musharraf barely made it out alive on two major assassinations attempts a few years ago, while he has had many others. Musharraf’s security was arranged by the Pakistani Army and the attempts on his life demonstrated that the Army had been infiltrated by Taliban and al-Qaeda sympathizers. So if he had the best security around and was almost killed then how could Bhutto possibly stay alive? She didn’t as we unfortunately see today.

OMER SUBHANI is a candidate for a Ph. D. in History at Boston University. He can be reached at: OS21@aol.com

Really , A nice, Neutral and Very much accurate research .

politics is a dirty business overall.....its a career....people enter politics to enjoy power,police squads,sound of sirens and light of blinkers at night fascinate them....when they go to their ancestral villages with police escort they feel proud..local patwari and thanaydar is at their service..they think that the local patwari respects them but in his heart the patwari is abusing them cause he still has some shame left while the politican has zero shame left....this is their sorry life.......they loot the country...secure loans from banks and default,,,,,,,,buy CNG licenses,,,,import fancy cars from the haram ka maal they have made all their life......they join parties and then quit the party when denied tickets....they have no principles and ideology to stand by.....money is their anything....they will do anything for money......

how much money are you planning to take with yourself to the grave?.......how many pockets are you planning on your caffan?...........there are no banks on the other side.....you will just take your deeds with you.

OMER SUBHANI is a candidate for a Ph. D. in History

this guy better be a judge at some taliban camp, he threw verdicts, typical of these military mouth piece bhonkay kuuttay...

as long as one does not threaten western interests a lot can be forgiven and overlooked....

Her father however did some good things...

this guy better be a judge at some taliban camp, he threw verdicts, typical of these military mouth piece bhonkay kuuttay...

OK! Then lets hear your version of events and your viewpoint and then we can talk.
Araz

What was that!! If you think that he sanctioned the nukes then his only vision was kudoos for himself. I think he should be tried for dismembering the country

OK! Then lets hear your version of events and your viewpoint and then we can talk.
Araz

What was that!! If you think that he sanctioned the nukes then his only vision was kudoos for himself. I think he should be tried for dismembering the country

I dont have time for history debate here, but surely if you know as student of history, his only attempt seems to be to get a job at some defence related institution. this is how pathetic it is..

even factual inaccuracies to fit his or army's point of view... khuda ka khof karo yar...

Monkey see monkey doo as in the case of Bhutto.~

December 27, 2007

Killing Bhutto

by OMER SUBHANI

don't let the media fool you Mr no one here root for liberal and secular democrazy ye west ko mubarik.few media persons and ngos doesn't represent Pakistani people so don't dream of ism
islami filahi riast by democracy

Anybody seeing those PPP ads on TV? Still banking on Bhutto legacy foe the votes!

Only ZAB, BB and Bilawal shown in the ad, kal bhi bhutto zinda tha and thats it, no mention of anybody else, people who will actually run the government/party are nowhere to be seen.

Atleast PML has gotten the Rahat Fateh Ali song and a new and up to date video! (Complete copy of PTI)...

For how long will PPP keep on getting votes on the name of Bhutto? This election will tell us...people will still fall for the trick or they will wake up to reality that ZAB and BB aren't running the country anymore! (Not that they did any miracles)

ZAB and BB are cult figures, their shrines in Larkana needs to be demolished and their skeletons reduced to ashes and dumped at sea to end this cult. Until such drastic measures are taken they will continue to bank on the legacy of dead!

Democracy is the biggest revenge.

Followers of democracy are indirectly working for those, who wish revenge from Pakistan.

I dont have time for history debate here, but surely if you know as student of history, his only attempt seems to be to get a job at some defence related institution. this is how pathetic it is..

even factual inaccuracies to fit his or army's point of view... khuda ka khof karo yar...

Marey bhai.
You call someone a bumbling idiot, then lets hear your viewpoint, I am not asking for something difficult. As to Khuda ka khauf, I have a lot of that Alhamdolillah.
Araz

Anybody seeing those PPP ads on TV? Still banking on Bhutto legacy foe the votes!

Only ZAB, BB and Bilawal shown in the ad, kal bhi bhutto zinda tha and thats it, no mention of anybody else, people who will actually run the government/party are nowhere to be seen.

Atleast PML has gotten the Rahat Fateh Ali song and a new and up to date video! (Complete copy of PTI)...

Yeah, I never understood this.
Why are ZAB and BB thought of so highly?
One broke up the country and then started the decline of Pakistan and the other did absolutely nothing for Pakistan and her only qualifications was that she was the daughter of her father.
Because people in Pakistan love these two clowns so much that some times I just lose hope in Pakistan.
What future is there when people vote for dead mediocre people?

This is exactly the problem with people these days they tend to forget and ignore past.......some air time on media to hack people emotionally is all that is required to conceal years of jobbery and create "HERO'S" out of real villians. I remeber the day when Fozia wahab died and the admin of defence.pk was all in her praise.........completely ignored the reality of that woman, who once tried to justify the killings of innocent Pakistanis, killed at the hands of a fake American diplomatic staffer......i know this doesn't mean much, but it is just a small example of how "our people" never learn.