Textile City to provide 80,000 jobs: Shaikh

ameer219

Textile City to provide 80,000 jobs: Shaikh – The Express Tribune

Textile City, being built in the eastern area of Port Qasim in Karachi, will provide jobs to about 80,000 people, said Federal Minister for Finance Hafeez Shaikh on Saturday.

“It is one of the mega projects of the country which is being built with public-private collaboration at an estimated initial cost of Rs1.5 billion for infrastructure facility. It will be spread over a covered area of 1,250 acres,” he said while talking to journalists after presiding over a meeting with project stakeholders.

“The project is very important for the country to enhance its textile exports,” he added. Shaikh further said that the Textile City will have 800 plots covering all ancillary units of the textile industry. He said that the Textile City will have a 250MW electric supply and will have 20 million gallon of water supply per day.

“The ECNEC (Executive Committee of National Economic Council) will hopefully give its approval next week regarding the water supply,” he added. The minister said that all efforts were being made to provide all the facilities for the establishment of a modernised textile city.

Textile City CEO Zaheer Khan said that the vision was to operate a world class industrial zone dedicated to value added textiles and to project Pakistan as a textile hub.

Moreover, he said that the City will be established by next year around summers which will be managed by a highly professional team. The city will have one window operation, utility supply, treatment plant and other facilities, Khan added.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 24th, 2011.

Bangladesh should learn from PK. This is a great project and we should have thought about it first. We don't even have 1/10th of the problems Pakistan suffers from. But Nooooo, BDGov must always dance around, "la la la we are not Pakistan, we are peaceful tolerant moderate Muslims, not like those animal Pakis lalala, we support women la la la, we will drop Bismillah from the constitution and the clause about improving relations with the Muslim world, La La La".

I heard it but seriously I am not impressed

Faisalabad is already a very large Textile city but they are not providing her electricity and gas and damaging this lone sector of Pakistan. Now they want to create second textile city in Karachi

first fulfil the demands for Faisalabad which is already established before promising few new textile city which is just on the paper so far.

Jo hai uski demands poori nahi kar rahay aur jo nahi hai uske khawab dekha rahay hain

Bangladesh should learn from PK. This is a great project and we should have thought about it first. We don't even have 1/10th of the problems Pakistan suffers from. But Nooooo, BDGov must always dance around, "la la la we are not Pakistan, we are peaceful tolerant moderate Muslims, not like those animal Pakis lalala, we support women la la la, we will drop Bismillah from the constitution and the clause about improving relations with the Muslim world, La La La".

lolzzzzzz.. :ROFL: you sound hillarious man.. don't worry this project may be announced first but you guys would build it before us//.. i sure am.. many projects announced in Pakistan are just on papers.. like i heard south Korea got the blue print of Pakistan's five years plan in Ayoob Khan's era and built their industry on that.. look now where they stand and where we are.. likewise Pakistan Metro Rail was planned in Nawaz Shareef's first regime and is still on the papers. same goes to SUPARCO vs ISRO. India started its space program in 1963 when our space program was two years older than that of Indians (Suparco was established in 1961). Look where ISRO stands and SUPRACO still needs chinese freakin assistanace to launch a small remote sensing sattellite. list goes on.. so stop getting tense dude.. :)

Where is the electricity gonna come for this city? Karachi is under worst grip of load shedding

Improve upon already existing infrastructure otherwise you'll be destroying more jobs than you create. Plus what happened to diversifying the Pakistani economy?

lolzzzzzz.. :ROFL: you sound hillarious man.. don't worry this project may be announced first but you guys would build it before us//.. i sure am.. many projects announced in Pakistan are just on papers.. like i heard south Korea got the blue print of Pakistan's five years plan in Ayoob Khan's era and built their industry on that.. look now where they stand and where we are.. likewise Pakistan Metro Rail was planned in Nawaz Shareef's first regime and is still on the papers. same goes to SUPARCO vs ISRO. India started its space program in 1963 when our space program was two years older than that of Indians (Suparco was established in 1961). Look where ISRO stands and SUPRACO still needs chinese freakin assistanace to launch a small remote sensing sattellite. list goes on.. so stop getting tense dude.. :)

Pakistan makes a lot of stuff but due to inadequate exposure our own country men dont know what we make.
And dont forget ISRO recieved massive contributions from soviet space programs who were the best of this field back in 60's while Pakistan recieved limited contribution from NASA then total embargo.

If you compare vis a vis and limited resources of Pakistan as well political constraions, we have come a long way and most of actual develop was planned by ganja shariff but upheld due to lack of financing and american embargoes.

Good news, but it will never happen, current govt already cancelled projects & developments started by last govt & instead they brought gangwars in big cities.

It will be a great opportunity for those who want to get these jobs. By the way what qualification are required for these jobs?

Textile City to provide 80,000 jobs: Shaikh – The Express Tribune

Textile City, being built in the eastern area of Port Qasim in Karachi, will provide jobs to about 80,000 people, said Federal Minister for Finance Hafeez Shaikh on Saturday.

“It is one of the mega projects of the country which is being built with public-private collaboration at an estimated initial cost of Rs1.5 billion for infrastructure facility. It will be spread over a covered area of 1,250 acres,” he said while talking to journalists after presiding over a meeting with project stakeholders.

“The project is very important for the country to enhance its textile exports,” he added. Shaikh further said that the Textile City will have 800 plots covering all ancillary units of the textile industry. He said that the Textile City will have a 250MW electric supply and will have 20 million gallon of water supply per day.

“The ECNEC (Executive Committee of National Economic Council) will hopefully give its approval next week regarding the water supply,” he added. The minister said that all efforts were being made to provide all the facilities for the establishment of a modernised textile city.

Textile City CEO Zaheer Khan said that the vision was to operate a world class industrial zone dedicated to value added textiles and to project Pakistan as a textile hub.

Moreover, he said that the City will be established by next year around summers which will be managed by a highly professional team. The city will have one window operation, utility supply, treatment plant and other facilities, Khan added.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 24th, 2011.

I think its better for them to welcome local companies like HUBCO to make a 323MW or similar plant in the middle of this Textile City and more over make some more similar or greater size plants at SITE and Korangi Industrial area for providing NON STOP electricity to the industry. The most important point in that is it should be COAL powered from imported or local coal that can be extracted with some investment.

Where is the electricity gonna come for this city? Karachi is under worst grip of load shedding
Two Nuclear power Plants Are planed in Karachi near the Existing one Each 2000 MW!!

Textile City
master-plan-t.jpg

Port Qasim is unique in character by having 12200 acres of land above high water mark for development of industries / commercial complexes. Out of 12200 acres of land 8700.5 acres was available for allotment. Almost all land has been allotted to various entrepreneur and a reasonable number of them have set up projects in the Industrial Zone, attracting huge investment in local and foreign exchange estimated to the tune of around 3.0 billion USD. So far 140 various Industrial and commercial units are operational while 248 are in construction phase.
To enhance production and export of value added textile products, GOP plans setting up a “Textile City” on 1250 acres in the Eastern Industrial Zone of PQA. PQA has handed over possession of 1250 acres of land. 5% leveling/Grading work completed - Combined Effluent Treatment Plant-Consultant appointed . Road/water Work to be commenced in June 09. LOI for establishment of 250WM power Plant in June 09. Environment Impact Assessment approved. Booking of Plots shortly.This would not only facilitate vendors and suppliers of raw material and emergence of downstream and support industries but would also create immense employment opportunities as a result, during construction and operation phases besides earning valuable foreign exchange for the country.

Thats the info i found on this city, Hope it will be usefull!