tanzila-khan.gif

ab ye kon ha?

tanzilakhan_1338015253_7.jpg

Tanzila Khan from Lahore.....

“wheelchair wali bachi to an author and a trainer…the journey continues…”

Tanzila Khan is a story of struggles and accomplishments that has redefined her identity and given her life a new perspective. At 16 she launched herself with her first novelette, "A story of Mexico".

Be it completion of a manuscript or a social charity drive, everything holds a significant place in her life. Keeping her restricted mobility to a side, she has achieved much for any individual of her age and desires to go on. Other than painting and writing books, she likes to work for education and disability rights in Pakistan. Her projects include "I wish Knowledge" affiliated with Global Change-makers (British Council) and The Ramp Movement. She has to help provide a platform to those who hold interests just like hers, she inaugurated her production company, 'Creative Alley', which is purely an effort to cater to those individuals who face problems in making their creations accessible to the world.

After representing Pakistan on National and International Forums, she turns her direction right into the training industry introducing herself as a fresh young trainer affiliated with School of Leadership and the journey continues.

tanzilakhan_1338015253_7.jpg

Tanzila Khan from Lahore.....

“wheelchair wali bachi to an author and a trainer…the journey continues…”

Tanzila Khan is a story of struggles and accomplishments that has redefined her identity and given her life a new perspective. At 16 she launched herself with her first novelette, "A story of Mexico".

Be it completion of a manuscript or a social charity drive, everything holds a significant place in her life. Keeping her restricted mobility to a side, she has achieved much for any individual of her age and desires to go on. Other than painting and writing books, she likes to work for education and disability rights in Pakistan. Her projects include "I wish Knowledge" affiliated with Global Change-makers (British Council) and The Ramp Movement. She has to help provide a platform to those who hold interests just like hers, she inaugurated her production company, 'Creative Alley', which is purely an effort to cater to those individuals who face problems in making their creations accessible to the world.

After representing Pakistan on National and International Forums, she turns her direction right into the training industry introducing herself as a fresh young trainer affiliated with School of Leadership and the journey continues.

And what is she doing in India knowing that is not a safe place for Pakistanis.

paata nahi............. ye dekho.........

Armed with a conference invitation and visa but no money for the airfare, Tanzila Khan raised the money she needed in just two days

What do you do when you are a young Pakistani woman who gets an Indian visa just four days before the conference you’ve been invited to attend – but you now realise you are unable to afford the traveling cost?

The visa, which you never thought you’d get, is in your hands, just four days before the conference starts on May 29 in Bangalore, India. The conference organisers have offered you a full scholarship, waiving the fees. But you need money for two air tickets from Lahore to Bangalore and back – two, because you are in a wheelchair and you need your mother to accompany you as an attendant.

If you are Tanzila Khan, you reach out to people to help you reach your goal, without wasting any time.

“I need your help,” she wrote in an introductory note. “As I have to raise Rs. 1,35,000 in just two days. I pitched myself as a worker. I told my peers that I will do one task for them and in return charge them. All my life I have worked very hard and have believed in myself. I just have two days to make the unbelievable happen for me. I’d appreciate if you let me do a task for you and then pay me for it.”

Not for nothing does she call herself an “Optimism Expert.

“Once upon a time there was a girl on the wheelchair who spent her time eating pizza and reading Sydney Sheldon until one day she realized that there was a lot to be done for the world, hope to be distributed, laughter to be shared and smiles to be given away,” reads her introductory profile.

That is Tanzila Khan, who at age 16 published her first novelette, “A story of Mexico” that she sold to benefit earthquake and flood victims. Her fund-raising for those causes included door-to-door campaigns and attending camps to give her contribution to the affected people. The experience, she says, taught her “the art of selling and communication at a young age”.

Her focus areas now include motivation, public speaking, confidence building, entrepreneurship, project management, conflict resolution and team building. She has represented Pakistan at several international and national platforms.

“Life is not just about being extremely enthusiastic and sitting on your sofa but getting out there and exploring this amazing playground called, World. You can’t expect to come in as A and leave as B, but you can expect to leave as A+,” she says.

What Tanzila offers through her expertise is “a set of skills, a motivation inhaler, a perspective, a thinking cap, a box of ideas and a pack of laughter.”

And she shows how, with determination and sincerity, you can make things happen. In just two days, she had met her goal, raising the money through article writing, book editing, a motivational session, baking brownies and a photography assignment.

“I really believe that if I am educated I should be able to support myself and stand on my feet. My father pays for my education and that’s more than enough,” says Tanzila Khan

Optimism expert from Lahore

Tanzilla Khan from Pakistan found an innovative way to buy her ticket to Bangalore. Having come here, she does not want the experience to end, says Vasanthi Hariprakash

Her status message on facebook reads: Gobi Manchurian. Followed by a ‘heart’ sign. Clearly, a sign of ‘love at first bite’ for a 22-year-old who tasted the deep fried delight for the first time in her life, on her first visit to Bangalore four days back.

“Back in my hometown in Lahore, Pakistan, they make prawn manchurian, chicken manchurian but... with gobi? Never,” says Tanzilla Khan. “It’s so delicious! This is what you call innovation. I mean, no hard and fast rules, just get creative with whatever you have.”

Trust Tanzilla to see innovation even in cauliflower dipped in corn flour. The communications expert from across the border is in Bangalore all this week as part of an international leadership seminar called Relead, being held at the Indian Institute of Management, where this writer was a speaker and a panelist.

Tanzilla exudes an energy that is hard to miss. She is wheel-chair bound, but the contraption confines her only physically; there is no stopping her free spirit. The young woman almost didn’t make it to India, this despite the organiser, Blue Ribbon Movement, waiving off her fees for the programme and week-long accommodation. Having got her visa two days before the scheduled travel date, Tanzilla was still short of money. She needed 1,35,000 PKR ( 67,500 Indian Rupees) for the Lahore-Bangalore return journey. She decided to raise the amount on her own.

“I sent a sms to everyone in my contact book on the phone. It read: Hi, I am Tanzilla. I can sing, Ï can dance. I can make you laugh. You can make me do anything, wash, clean, bake you brownies.. but you need to pay me for whatever I do. For I need money to travel to India for a programme.”

Later that night, a friend called and said: “Come on Tanzilla, tell me a good joke. And I can pay you.” Another one followed - ”You just have to hold up a banner of my Rehan school where you go in India. And that is 36000 PKR from my side.”

“Vasanthi, will you take a picture holding that banner?” she asks. The writer obliged gladly, hoping the donor would sponsor even more for her next trip to India.

“Yeah, it did become a joke among friends,” laughs Tanzilla, “but you know it also opened a lot of doors for me.” So when she goes back to Pakistan next week, she has a lot of chores to finish: A motivational workshop at a university college in Lahore; researching two travel pieces based in South America; an article on Venture Capitalism (“I don’t know anything about it,“ she says.) for a freelance journalist friend. But Tanzilla is glad to do it all, because people made it possible for her to be in Bangalore.

Back home in Lahore, Tanzilla is known as an ‘Optimism Expert’. The kind that doesn’t see the clouds because she is walking on them. “I want to do a project around laughter,” she says. “Try to create situations, make people realise life is beautiful.”

Tanzilla was born with deformed limbs. “When my father went around giving laddoos to celebrate my birth, my own naani (maternal grandmother) told him: ‘Celebration? Why would you want to do that? First of all a girl, that too born with a disability?” To which my father said: “Don’t even mention that. All I want from you is this: When she grows up, I want you to tell her what happened today’.” And they named her Tanzilla –meaning Sent from God.

She holds no grudges against her grandmother who, she says, later pampered her the most. “That’s how things were in my country then;
that’s how they used to look at the girl child, till 15-20 years back.” And now? “Oh Pakistani women are very talented, capable and more educated than the men. That’s the reason why it is so tough to find the right guy to get married to!”

Does she then see herself single for long? “No, I believe in taking things as they come. The moment I find the right man, I will decide in an instant. I will hold him by collar, get him into the mosque and do the nikaah!”

For now, Tanzilla has no time for romance, she is too occupied by love for humankind. On the anvil is launching her own jewellery line, “not the usual jewellery. I want to build a brand that is about feminism. Like a wrist band that says Stand up, speak up. Maybe even ear rings that carry a message, that make women feel empowered.” However, education is her passion. “It is a huge bumpy ride to education. Pakistan’s current literacy rate is under 50%, I would like to see that going up to at least 90.”

Tanzilla is quite a Bollywood buff . “Bollywood, and television channels bind India and Pakistan,” she says. “But no matter what news anchors say on either side, I will not get swayed. Of course, the first time when I was travelling to India for a British Council Youth programme that was held in Gurgaon, people at home did say, ‘Kahin koi masla toh nahi ho jaayega?‘ (Hope there won’t be any problem anywhere?)“

But from the moment she landed in Delhi she was overwhelmed. “There was so much love. What Pakistan and India share is something so unique, there is nothing quite like it anywhere in the world.”

Tanzilla was no stranger to Indian hospitality, even if it’s the NRI version. When she was eight years old, her landlord-armyman father had taken her to New Jersey in the United States where they stayed for a year to get artificial prosthesis. “There, my nurses were Indian. Mostly, Hindus. They never saw me as a Muslim, as a Pakistani. They were beyond all that. Our neighbours were Indians too; they were strictly vegetarians. Yet, ‘that uncle’ would go to the market, buy meat and cook it just so I could eat it.That was so overwhelming. Even at that age, I learnt that we human beings have a bonding irrespective of religion.“

Here in Bangalore, Tanzilla is beset with joy. “It’s getting so amazing every minute. I don’t want this to end,” she says, about her Bangalore experience. “You know, Lahore is a food hub. If you come there, we have our own version of Italian and Chinese...yet, after coming to Bangalore I am surprised to discover that vegetarian food can be this great.”

Tanzilla and another young Pakistani delegate, Shelina, had to spend a long time at the Foreigners Regional Registration Office due to paperwork. About it, she says: “I would certainly like to question the system, but at the same time, I would respect the rules of the country. I only wish there was a simpler way for Indians and Pakistanis to experience each other’s countries. I understand we need procedures, but Kasab didn’t come in through the visa channel, did he?”

201306012013060120384988736b5db96_20130601203513309ab1b4b0c_pic_original.jpg

201306012013060120384988736b5db96_2013060120352810612c76890_pic_original.jpg

Tanzilla Khan with other delegates and the writer (in yellow saree) at the leadership workshop at the Indian Institute of Management

Optimism expert from Lahore, Sunday Read - Special - Bangalore Mirror,Bangalore Mirror

Banglore is no way near LOC...Pretty safe place for Pakistanis...:pop:

arey yaar @Umair Nawaz bhai.... thora bahut mazak karta hain.......... tension na lo........... :)

Umair bhai.... thora India ghumke jao... I'll welcome you... :)

I Still dont think it was a Good idea. God for bit If something had happened to her then only she would be blaming herself.

Tanzilla was born with deformed limbs. “When my father went around giving laddoos to celebrate my birth, my own naani (maternal grandmother) told him: ‘Celebration? Why would you want to do that? First of all a girl, that too born with a disability?” To which my father said: “Don’t even mention that. All I want from you is this: When she grows up, I want you to tell her what happened today’.” And they named her Tanzilla –meaning Sent from God.

Respect for that father.. He is a great example for those bastards who abort their kids just because it is a girl ..

Shev Sehna, VHP, BJP, Bajrang Dali RSS etc etc r everywhere.

Still not a feasible idea.

They dont have ak 47s, rpgs, or granedes....
For the max extend they r gonna protest with slogans and shouting their heart out....
And its Banglore...Nothing gonna happen to her there...

They dont have ak 47s, rpgs, or granedes....
For the max extend they r gonna protest with slogans and shouting their heart out....
And its Banglore...Nothing gonna happen to her there...

LOL Kiddo to harass someone and insult them and scare them giving death threads on their faces even to PIA officials and Pakistani Envoy u dont need AKs etc etc and certainly u need to have explosives to murder the 68 Pakistani Muslims in Samjhota Express........

As far as we r concern we actual honor our guests and those who insults them then r kept in bad name and nobody tries to defend them. Like u do.

India is not a safe place for Muslim specially if yr a Pakistani Muslim and if something happened to her then she will have to blame herself for this.

how do pakistani artists live in mumbai then.. hide in basement?

I dont think After what u did to Rahat Ali nobody likes to live there Veena Malik is a characterless ***** who lives with her Lover a Hindu artist here case is different there still she was not spared by Shev Sehna.

Heck even Rahat Ali Now avoids going to india and sings songs in Dubai Studios for them.