Taliban Commanders Say They Were Tortured by Pakistani Intelligence

haviZsultan

It may be difficult to sympathize with the plight of former Taliban officials and commanders who have been incarcerated in Pakistan’s shadowy, extrajudicial prison lockups without charge for the past several years.

But some of the more than two dozen insurgent leaders whom Islamabad has released unconditionally over the past two months, ostensibly as a means of reviving the stalled Afghan peace process, are now recounting in exclusive interviews with Newsweek and The Daily Beast the years of deprivation and torture they suffered at the hands of Pakistani intelligence. Not surprisingly, the harsh treatment they suffered has turned them against the Pakistanis, who, ironically, provide aid and safe haven to the Afghan insurgency as a whole.

Mullah Nooruddin Turabi, Mullah Mohammad Omar’s former justice minister, who was freed late last month after being arrested in 2005, is the senior-most insurgent leader released thus far. Turabi, the 60-something, former hardline head of the Taliban’s draconian moral police, is telling family members and friends at his house in Karachi that he was held in underground solitary confinement without sunlight, was barely fed, and was frequently tortured for five of the seven years he was incarcerated. During that time, he lost most of his eyesight in his one good eye. (He had already lost one eye and one leg during the war against the Soviets in the 1980s.)

Turabi certainly didn’t deserve cushy accommodations. He personally and zealously supervised the enforcement of the Taliban’s tough dress, moral, and gender codes during the Taliban’s regime: beards of a certain length for men, burqas for women, and the prohibition of women’s education and employment outside the home or women leaving home without being escorted by a male relative. Turabi says that some of those who mistreated him told him they were doing it as payback for the way he and his police treated women under the Taliban’s rule. “Some of the interrogators told him he was receiving God’s punishment for the way he insulted humanity and treated women while he was minister,” says senior Taliban operative Zabihullah, who recently met Turabi in Karachi. (Zabihullah is a pseudonym.) He told Zabihullah that he believes the Pakistanis treated him even worse than the Americans would have: “The Americans would not have kept me thirsty for the sun for five years.”

Until 2010, Turabi says interrogators never tired of asking him questions that he couldn’t answer: where are Mullah Omar and Osama bin Laden? “Some of the interrogators were nice and wished me and the Taliban well, but most were rude, nasty, and violent. But they all kept asking the same stupid questions,” he told Zabihullah. Some of his interrogators were even apologetic, saying they only arrested him and other Taliban leaders after receiving heavy pressure from the Americans. “The [Inter-Services Intelligence] explained they had no alternative but to arrest me and others,” Turabi told Zabihullah. “I can understand that, but then why beat, insult, and torture and lock me up in a dark room?”Although he was blindfolded during the interrogation sessions, Turabi says he believes Americans were present because of the incessant questions about Omar and bin Laden, but he does not implicate the Americans in his mistreatment.

“Pakistan is not only breaking the backbone of the Taliban, it is also crushing the bones of the Islamic movement.”

In the end, the intelligence agencies wanted Turabi to cooperate with them. Just before he was released, they asked him to tell Mullah Omar to use his influence with the Pakistani Taliban and order them to cease their attacks on Pakistan. But after so much pain and suffering, Turabi was hardly in a cooperative mood. “I told them no deal. The way you have treated me for seven long years, I have forgotten Mullah Omar’s address and I can’t even remember his face,” he told Zabihullah.

Another recently freed Taliban commander, a former deputy provincial governor who requests anonymity for security reasons, says he was mistreated so badly that he believes Pakistan is the enemy and that “Pakistan hates the Afghan Taliban.” As a result, he says he is now more than ever committed to the Taliban’s cause. “We will never forget the mental and physical torture,”
the commander told Newsweek and The Daily Beast. “Before I went to jail I was a Taliban, but now I am even more committed and solid. I will do whatever the Taliban shura assigns me to do.” To him Pakistan has become the main foe. “Pakistan and its secret service are the enemy No. 1 of Afghans and the Islamic movement,” says the commander, who was arrested at his house in Quetta in 2008. “Pakistan is not only breaking the backbone of the Taliban, it is also crushing the bones of the Islamic movement.”

“Pakistan is not only breaking the backbone of the Taliban, it is also crushing the bones of the Islamic movement.”
would love to see our indian 'brothers' commenting on this and good to know that they are crushing the bones of jehadi movement too.

My purpose of posting this is to show that Pakistan has absolutely no foreign policy whatsoever. My point was upon US insistence we captured these guys and tortured them in our jails for years while CIA men watched through glass windows and finally upon Afghan and US pressure we actually ended up releasing a number of Afghan Taliban. Now those commanders are against us.

This is what happens when you make foreign policy upon the orders of another person. I personally even favor the system in US/Canada, democracy, secularism, freedom everything... but they also have something called assertiveness and they very vociferously defend National interest with greatly disproportionate force if necessary. The release of commanders who are extremely against Pakistanis is a great mistake and we have made them so in these prisons. Releasing them is having more and more enemies on the outside now when we can barely deal with those at home.

Another thing to note here is that now the Pakistani Taliban are against us, Afghan Taliban too are now seen harboring anti-Pakistani sentiment which is disclosed by their fighters themselves, Afghan nationals are against us, India has always been, US supports India and has been offering it complicated military tech better than what has been offered to us, what we once only heard from India (that Pakistan is a terrorist state) is now heard from half of Europe and all of North America, Iran is against the US and believing we are too close to it is suspicious of us, half the world looks at Pakistanis with suspicion, everyone tries to frame us on false charges of terrorism.

Time to stand up on our own feet and stop taking orders from others. It is time to accept we have failed in this war on terror and an independent state does not take orders from any other nation.

This may sound cynical but I have been studying for years how we have failed in this war and for my studies gotten into a bit of trouble myself. It is time to either accept Imran Khan's solution or show massive success in the war on terror. The security situation improves, the world is our oyster.

NO thank you, its ur problem you solve it with USA. If we Indian will jump into these Talibani will leave you Pakistani and jump over Indians... :P

Thanks but no thanks...
But you guys love to poke your nose somewhere it doesn't belong :P Taliban will jump in every country my friend, if Pakistan goes into talibani hands, India is up next, so its better to destroy them right now.

Typical approaches are no sleep.. or rather letting a person just doze and then splashing them with ice water..
Daily beatings... by random people.. i.e every other guy having a bad day at home or otherwise gets to use the prisoner as a punching bag. etc etc.

Some of these Taliban were really tough cookies.. as they were veterans of the Afghan war and to them this was betrayal of the worst sort.

One fellow... who had one leg, one eye.. and frail as anything.. was being brought to the CMH in Peshawar.. and his big muscled captors were struggling to keep him in one place.. as he struggled,spat and screamed "You have betrayed Islam".

The problem is, the mess is in bad shape..
Pakistan has enemies in the Taliban,Kabul Government,Iran in the Americans.. and then off course our old reliable Indians who get their itches now and then.
Its like bruce lee in a corner.. except this is not bruce lee.. and its not a Chinese movie where we may come out of it alive.

and they are still alive if they arrest pakistani solders what they will do ?

torture kiya hai or kya tumhy faloooda khilaty naani gher ayee thy jesy saaly killers .

My purpose of posting this is to show that Pakistan has absolutely no foreign policy whatsoever. My point was upon US insistence we captured these guys and tortured them in our jails for years while CIA men watched through glass windows and finally upon Afghan and US pressure we actually ended up releasing a number of Afghan Taliban. Now those commanders are against us.

This is what happens when you make foreign policy upon the orders of another person. I personally even favor the system in US/Canada, democracy, secularism, freedom everything... but they also have something called assertiveness and they very vociferously defend National interest with greatly disproportionate force if necessary. The release of commanders who are Pakistani is a great mistake.

Another thing to note here is that now the Pakistani Taliban are against us, Afghan Taliban too are now becoming anti-Pakistani, Afghan nationals are against us, India has always been, US supports India and has been offering it complicated military tech better than what has been offered to us, what we once only heard from India (that Pakistan is a terrorist state) is now heard from half of Europe and all of North America, Iran is against the US and believing we are too close to it is suspicious of us, half the world looks at Pakistanis with suspicion, everyone tries to frame us on false charges of terrorism.

Time to stand up on our own feet and stop taking orders from others. It is time to accept we have failed in this war on terror and an independent state does not take orders from any other nation.

This may sound cynical but I have been studying for years how we have failed in this war and for my studies gotten into a bit of trouble myself. It is time to either accept Imran Khan's solution or show massive success in the war on terror. The security situation improves, the world is our oyster.

Totally agree with you sir! Our foreign policy should be in our national interest and time to stop taking orders from America.

Why are we releasing these bastards?

Put the all in a caged arena and let victims of Taliban terrorism snipe em all... It'll be like Whack-a-mole or Duck Shoot...

But you guys love to poke your nose somewhere it doesn't belong :P Taliban will jump in every country my friend, if Pakistan goes into talibani hands, India is up next, so its better to destroy them right now.
Yaar you are nuclear power and mighty PA, how can Taliban succeed. :D

If you can't save yourself from Taliban then that's unfortunate.

There you go..
Releasing the 'good taliban' on USA's request or orders didnt work.
They will only come back and attack Pakistan.

When will we learn???

There you go..
Releasing the 'good taliban' on USA's request or orders didnt work.
They will only come back and attack Pakistan.
When will we learn???
People here say that they will help in Peace process. This news will help in recruiting more terrorists against Pakistan.

I mean what is wrong with Foreign Policy of Pakistan ?

People here say that they will help in Peace process. This news will help in recruiting more terrorists against Pakistan.

We are being fooled over and over again.
USA tricked us and we took the bait.
Remember...
Now wait for another major attack or a wave of terrorism..

What is wrong with the priorities of the US Govt that isn't suppose to negotiate with terrorists ?