Tackling coronavirus: PM announces Tk5,000cr package for Bangladesh's agriculture sector

Black_cats

Tackling coronavirus: PM announces Tk5,000cr package for Bangladesh's agriculture sector

Mehedi Al Amin
  • Published at 10:22 am April 12th, 2020
ed-1-1557315243186-1558271009412.jpg

File photo of farmers harvesting crops Mahmud Hossain Opu/Dhaka Tribune

Relief plunderers wouldn’t be spared, she warns

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has announced to create a fund of Tk5000 crore for the agriculture sector to boost crop production to overcome the possible coronavirus impact.

Stressing on the continuation of food production during the coronavirus outbreak, she said that crop, flower, fruit, fish, dairy, and poultry farmers will be able to get loan from this fund.

“We’re going to undertake a new scheme of Taka 5,000 crore with maximum 5% interest rate to help small and medium level farmers to raise food production,” she told a video conferencing with public representatives and officials in Khulna and Barishal divisions, yesterday.

She said Bangladesh Bank would formulate the refinancing scheme of Tk5,000 crore to be disbursed as current capital in the agriculture sector.

“The rural small and medium farmers will get the loan from the fund and they can use the money in producing agriculture, flower, fruits, fish, poultry etc,” she told the conference from her official residence Ganabhaban in Dhaka.

Sheikh Hasina simultaneously announced allocation of an increased amount of Tk9,000 crore as a subsidy to fertiliser in the next budget as part of government strategy to minimize impact of the deadly virus on economy enhancing yield.

The prime minister warned that an acute food crisis may arise due to the coronavirus outbreak, however, she is optimistic about managing the situation.

“We have fertile soil and will have a surplus if we can produce accordingly. The surplus can be used to help other countries or exported even,” she added.

The prime minister also discussed other incentives for the agriculture sector.

“Tk100 crore has been allocated to the Ministry of Agriculture for mechanization of the sector. Another Tk150 crore will be allocated for the farmers to buy seeds,” said Sheikh Hasina.

“The sector will receive Tk9000 crore as subsidy in the next fiscal year’s budget,” she added.

The prime minister also declared an allocation of Tk200 crore for harvesting and mechanisation of agriculture.

Sheikh Hasina on April 5 declared an allocation of Tk72,750 crore under a set of stimulus packages to overcome the possible Covid-19 impact on the country’s economy.

On March 25, she announced a Tk5,000 crore package for paying wages and allowances of workers and employees of the export-oriented industries.

‘Relief plunderers won’t be spared’

Sheikh Hasina also said the plunderers of relief goods meant for mitigating the needy people’s hardship arising out of the coronavirus outbreak would not be spared.

“So far, a few reports have surfaced regarding arrests of some people for misappropriating relief goods. I hope everyone involved in these misdeeds would be arrested. No mercy would be shown to them. If necessary, immediate punishment would be given to them through mobile courts,” she said.

The prime minister said: “We are trying our best to help all, including wage earners, day labourers, small traders and the people who couldn’t seek relief due to their social dignity, by reaching foods to their doorsteps as they are passing their days in hardship as they have no works due to the shutdown in wake of the coronavirus pandemic.”

‘Cultivate every piece of land’

Earlier in the conference, she urged all citizens to cultivate every piece of land.

The prime minister said: “We do not have any scarcity of food. We have enough to feed the whole nation. Everyone who owns even a piece of land, should cultivate it.

“We have ordered law enforcers not to limit or restrict the movement of those who are working on fields,” she added.

The prime minister has urged the district administration to allow haat-bazaars (local markets) to set at least once a week, so the agriculture products are bought and sold, however, social distancing should be maintained at all times.

“Carry out the normal activities but always keep distance from each other,” she added.

The premier asked all to take effective measures to ensure normalcy in the transportation of goods and crops. She also asked to take measures for ensuring transportation of agricultural workers as the season of paddy harvesting has started.

She instructed the local administration to ensure marketing and diversified use of milk.

She also asked the district administration to take effective measures in preserving shrimp and lobster in a proper manner as those could be exported later as the world is now being rattled by the lethal virus.

‘Govt to procure more rice this year’

The prime minister said the government will purchase an additional 200,000 tons of rice during upcoming Boro season compared to the previous year.

"Boro harvesting will begin in a few days. I have ordered procurement of more rice this year from the cultivators so that they can get fair price," she said.

"We have to keep continuing our agricultural work. We have to ensure food security.”

DCs told to make list of homeless people

The prime minister on Sunday again ordered the deputy commissioners (DC) to make the list of homeless people again, so the government can provide them with a home during the coronavirus outbreak.

“You will make the list of the homeless people in your districts and we will provide them with homes,” the premier ordered the deputy commissioners.

No crowding on Pohela Boishakh, Mujibnagar Day

She also directed countrymen to celebrate Pohela Boishakh, the Bengali New Year, with their family at home.

"Celebrate the Bengali New Year with your family members at home. Do not go outside. All outdoor programs scheduled to celebrate the day have been cancelled. No one will create any gatherings on that day," the prime minister said.

She said: "Keep your own locality safe and don’t allow outsiders to enter. Moreover, don’t be outside without any reason. We don’t know who is carrying the virus.”

The prime minister urged people to postpone their plans to visit their relatives until the coronavirus situation improves.

“We shut down everything when it was necessary. Educational institutions were closed earlier. Because of this, businesses are suffering. We are providing incentives to help them.

"We declared a countrywide holiday to save the lives of the people,” she added.

https://www.dhakatribune.com/bangla...nce-with-district-officials-of-khulna-barisal

I was watching a few videos showing Dhaka in the last few days and saw that there were microbuses filled with sacks of rice and lentils that were being given away to poor destitute homeless people in the streets. Great move on the part of very generous people. No TV cameras - just quiet charity. Just how it should be.

Without wishing to insult any of our neighbours, BD is a very caring society.

If the government does not feed the destitute the public will.

All BAL leaders are now stealing rice and lentals that was suppose to go to poor hungry people as ration. Hasina is encouraging them to do so.

5000 core will just go to handful of BAL leaders. Farmers wont get anything. We will have food shortages in coming years.

All BAL leaders are now stealing rice and lentals that was suppose to go to poor hungry people as ration. Hasina is encouraging them to do so.

5000 core will just go to handful of BAL leaders. Farmers wont get any
BAL grassroot leaders are arrested and expelled too because of stealing. So you don't have to be so pessimistic all the time.

5000 core will just go to handful of BAL leaders. Farmers wont get anything. We will have food shortages in coming years.

Thanks for reality check. The feel good blab among others is super cringey.

muh BD community exceptionalism is that big X-factor of fudge factoring. Nothing happens like that anywhere else of course.

Big boy pants numbers comparison:

https://tbsnews.net/coronavirus-chronicle/covid-19-bangladesh/ventilators-enough-no-63079

iSLLOHY.jpg

Cuz the govt is so stronk and has tons of reserves money and "buffer" and "leverage" and <insert rando-word that feels good here>.

Fluff, selling fluff = great in BAL-land. Paper and pen wheee.

Reality, delivering reality = .....

@Al-Ansar @bluesky

Thanks for reality check. The feel good blab among others is super cringey.

muh BD community exceptionalism is that big X-factor of fudge factoring. Nothing happens like that anywhere else of course.

Big boy pants numbers comparison:

https://tbsnews.net/coronavirus-chronicle/covid-19-bangladesh/ventilators-enough-no-63079

iSLLOHY.jpg

Cuz the govt is so stronk and has tons of reserves money and "buffer" and "leverage" and <insert rando-word that feels good here>.

Fluff, selling fluff = great in BAL-land. Paper and pen wheee.

Reality, delivering reality = .....

@Al-Ansar @bluesky
I know. This crisis is a wake up call. For countries which have effective government will handle it well. But hasina and her cronies were able to BS for last 10 years. But i guess this time there is no way out. Her party members still loting rice seriously how low life these ppl are. I mean they already looted so much yet need more.

Health care sector is plagued with corruption and mismanagement. Hence we are facing the music.

BAL grassroot leaders are arrested and expelled too because of stealing. So you don't have to be so pessimistic all the time.

I would not bother with those miserable posters - they are still playing politics in this crisis.

Tamil retard troll has posted incorrect and misleading information as it just states the number of ventilators in government hospitals and not the twice as many in private hospitals. BD government has only ordered 350 ventilators from abroad which is true, but this does not include the almost unlimited number that can be produced by Walton by end of April/early May from the Medtronic design if necessary.
It would be easy for BD like Pakistan and India to "order" 10s of thousands of ventilators but this is just a statement of intent and no guarantee they can be procured when required.

I would not bother with those miserable posters - they are still playing politics in this crisis.
@UKBengali, I also try to overlook such posts Bhai , but sometimes become emotional because they are our own people, yet blind enough to see the difference between politics and humanity.

They should now focus only on positive things rather than criticizing the govt only for the sake of criticism. Most of us in Bangladesh love armed forces and dislike police you know, but in this disaster these police are behaving like Angles of the Lord himself and doing their duty so perfectly that lots of people started to idolized them. As the SP shamsunnahar oh Gazipur. You can follow her page in Facebook. I wish our police force remain so nice even after this pandemic ends.

Sadly only our BNP folks are still at a war with govt politically as well as with other people. That's truly disastrous that such people will never come out from political narrowness.

Tamil retard troll has posted incorrect and misleading information as it just states the number of ventilators in government hospitals and not the twice as many in private hospitals. BD government has only ordered 350 ventilators from abroad which is true, but this does not include the almost unlimited number that can be produced by Walton by end of April/early May from the Medtronic design if necessary.
My question is why the troll is still surviving here? Because some of us are feeding him. Not only some Pakistani folks but also some Bangladeshi folks are his bosom friends. Their only target is Bangladesh govt. For Bangladeshi folks he has anti AL cards, for Pakistani folks he has his famous 3 million card that he repeatedly played unnecessarily.

Pakistani guys think that an Indian is so nice that he is denouncing Bangladesh that is their creation( that is a huge lie we know) , and Bangladeshi idiots believe that since AL is Indian Dalal ( that's another lie you know) so an Indian is so great that he is speaking against this AL! I call it as inferiority complex and identity crisis of these people who need the approval of Indians! What a shame.

These people never even try to understand that it's actually their game of divide and rule and nothing else. We are still too emotional so easily fall under their trap.

Spreading misinformation is their goal, but it's too unfortunate that others are dancing with their music. What a moronic people they are. However that's the reason I have almost stopped reading the conversation between this troll and other folks. Just sometimes some lines still catch my eyes and feel disgust.

Only people who "Bash and insult Bangladesh and AL govt" are rational people for this retard troll , and unfortunately for identity crisis, some of our people need his approval,and they always clap on his back you see.

BD government has only ordered 350 ventilators from abroad which is true, but this does not include the almost unlimited number that can be produced by Walton by end of April/early May from the Medtronic design if necessary.

It would be easy for BD like Pakistan and India to "order" 10s of thousands of ventilators but this is just a statement of intent and no guarantee then can be procured when required.
Yes you are right. And you see when we are trying to be self dependant, the Indian troll start abusing us (24/7 and, in almost every thread in Bangladesh Defence Forum) with the help of some Pakistani folks ( who are his sycophants aka chamcha ) and some of our folks who actually lost their way.

It's better to ignore his posts as I am doing since few months, as if he doesn't exist. Let them bark when Bangladesh will achieve it's goal inshallah.

Our real development started in this regime and we will achieve our goal in future. And you know that an advanced Bangladesh is a pure headache of her enemies. Because an advanced Bangladesh can't be tamed so easily.

@ali_raza @mmr @Al-Ansar @bluesky

As you can see, the drama here never stops lol. Some can't even accept their own Health minister literally said this:

The health minister, Zahid Maleque, however gives a different and vague figure. He said there are 500 ventilators in government hospitals and 700 in private hospitals. Moreover, 300 more are in the 'pipeline'.

We do not know what this 'pipeline' means, there is no specifics in the statement; we do not know if the orders have been placed, if so with what countries, and when we can expect them to arrive.

They are claiming that he meant "imports only" o_O

...and that it states number of ventilators in only govt hospitals when it LITERALLY SAYS in the quote:

He said there are 500 ventilators in government hospitals and 700 in private hospitals.

New levels of ililterate idiocy reached by princesses here. Basic reading skills not present.

But ofc Walton will provide "unlimited number" somehow somewhere.... just ignore BD govt Health minister selectively on that. He knows what he is doing obviously, except when he doesnt!

Big fiscal headroom stronk!

@UKBengali, I also try to overlook such posts Bhai , but sometimes become emotional because they are our own people, yet blind enough to see the difference between politics and humanity.

They should now focus only on positive things rather than criticizing the govt only for the sake of criticism. Most of us in Bangladesh love armed forces and dislike police you know, but in this disaster these police are behaving like Angles of the Lord himself and doing their duty so perfectly that lots of people started to idolized them. As the SP shamsunnahar oh Gazipur. You can follow her page in Facebook. I wish our police force remain so nice even after this pandemic ends.

Sadly only our BNP folks are still at a war with govt politically as well as with other people. That's truly disastrous that such people will never come out from political narrowness.

My question is why the troll is still surviving here? Because some of us are feeding him. Not only some Pakistani folks but also some Bangladeshi folks are his bosom friends. Their only target is Bangladesh govt. For Bangladeshi folks he has anti AL cards, for Pakistani folks he as his famous 3 million card that he repeatedly played unnecessarily. Pakistani guys though that an Indian is so nice that he is denouncing Bangladesh that is their creation( that is a huge lie we know) , and Bangladeshi idiots believe that since AL is Indian Dalal ( that's another lie you know) so an Indian is so great that he is speaking against this AL! I call it as inferiority complex and identity crisis of these people who need the approval of Indians! What a shame.

These people never even try to understand that it's actually their game of divide and rule and nothing else. We are still to emotional so easily fall under their trap.

Spreading misinformation is their goal, but it's too unfortunate that others are dancing with their music. What a moronic people they are. However that's the reason I have almost stopped reading the conversation between this troll and other folks. Just sometimes some lines still catch my eyes and feel disgust.

Only people who "bash Bangladesh and AL govt" are rational people for this retard troll , and unfortunately for identity crisis, some of our people need his approval,and they always clap on his back you see.

Yes you are right. And you see when we are trying to me self depending the Indian troll start abusing us with the help of his Pakistani chamchas and some of our folks who actually lost the way.

It's better to ignore his posts as I am doing since few months, as he doesn't exist. Let them bark when Bangladesh will achieve it's goal inshallah. Because our real development started in this regime and we will achieve our goal in future. And you know that an advanced Bangladesh is a pure headache of her enemies. Because an advanced Bangladesh can't be tamed so easily.
who do u think is ur enemy?

@ali_raza @mmr @Al-Ansar @bluesky

As you can see, the drama here never stops lol. Some can't even accept their own Health minister literally said this:

The health minister, Zahid Maleque, however gives a different and vague figure. He said there are 500 ventilators in government hospitals and 700 in private hospitals. Moreover, 300 more are in the 'pipeline'.

We do not know what this 'pipeline' means, there is no specifics in the statement; we do not know if the orders have been placed, if so with what countries, and when we can expect them to arrive.

They are claiming that he meant "imports only" o_O

...and that it states number of ventilators in only govt hospitals when it LITERALLY SAYS in the quote:

He said there are 500 ventilators in government hospitals and 700 in private hospitals.

New levels of ililterate idiocy reached by princesses here. Basic reading skills not present.

But ofc Walton will provide "unlimited number" somehow somewhere.... just ignore BD govt Health minister selectively on that. He knows what he is doing obviously, except when he doesnt!

Big fiscal headroom stronk!
By the time walton come up with vantilator....we will need to start digging few hundred mass graves.

Ppl life is cheap in Bangladesh. They spend 400 core taka on firework for dead daddy's birthday party but wont spend that money on vantilators.

Hasina announced 100 core taka insurance for dead doctors like wtf? Her own party gundas some of them have more then 500 core taka found at there home which they earn from gambling and prostitution. And thats just the one they catch. Wonder how much more is lotted....but hey why we need vantilators or testing warm weather will take care of it according to certain drama queen on this forum.