Devil Soul

Syed Ali Geelani flies to Delhi for treatment
AFP
53218ee68ed59.jpg

Senior Kashmiri separatist leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani (C) is escorted by officials as he leaves his residence in Srinagar on March 13, 2014. — Photo by AFP
Published 2014-03-13 15:53:19
SRINAGAR: One of Indian-held Kashmir's best-known separatist leaders, Syed Ali Geelani, is battling an acute respiratory infection and has been flown to New Delhi for hospital treatment, a party spokesman said Thursday.

Geelani, 84, has for years suffered from multiple health ailments including a heart condition that requires a pacemaker and serious kidney problems.

The leader, who describes India's rule of disputed Kashmir as a “military occupation” and who has been a vehement campaigner for the territory's right to self-determination, fell seriously ill March 5.

On Wednesday, the ailing separatist refused to travel to Delhi on a state government aircraft offered to him by authorities and instead flew by a regular commercial flight the next day, aides said.

“We believed the government wanted to gain political mileage out of Geelani's illness (by offering him travel on a state aircraft),” his spokesman, Ayaz Akbar, told AFP in Srinagar, Kashmir's main city.

Aides said Geelani was expected to receive treatment in a hospital in the New Delhi satellite city of Gurgaon, which boasts many high-tech medical treatment centres.

Geelani has spent most of the last three years under house arrest, amid Indian accusations of inciting violence.

He draws large crowds whenever he is allowed to move around.

Whenever Geelani is allowed to address a gathering, it leads to a “serious law-and-order problem”, the government said in a 2011 statement.

Geelani's popularity has steadily expanded since an armed rebellion against Indian rule of Kashmir erupted in 1989, which led to deployment of more than half a million Indian forces in the Himalayan territory.

His followers come from three generations of Kashmiris who often describe Geelani as their “untiring” leader.

The former three-time lawmaker has refused to hold any dialogue with New Delhi until it “accepts Kashmir as disputed territory” as against its oft-repeated claim that the Muslim-majority territory is “an integral part of India”.

Discontent against Indian rule is deep-rooted in Kashmir, divided between India and Pakistan and claimed in full by both.

Hundreds of people visited Geelani's home daily after news of illness spread and colleagues asked supporters to “pray for his early recovery”.

He was seen off by scores of supporters shouting “Geelani zindabad (long live Geelani) and “We want freedom” as he left his Srinagar home for the airport.

Chahe lakh shikayat ho apne watan se, par apna watan to fir bhi apna hi hai. Wo gaana hai na 'Aaji humse ruth kar kaha jayiega, jaha jayiega hume payiega'.

men fight against India with extremists ,now fight for life need India?? :lol::what:

u kinda invaded their land for 67 years now , draining their resources, killing their children and raping their women .. and u r braggin abt giving a kashmir treatment?

We did not invaded them ..... It is our land .

It was you who invaded them .

2-it was Pak who invaded
2-draining their resources
check out how much we earn from kashmir and how much budget kashmir gets from GoI
3-saving pregnant women,their childrens studying in rest of India
4-its kind of funny,he is getting treated in the very hospital he hates

1-it was Pak who invaded

2-draining their resources
check out how much we earn from kashmir and how much budget kashmir gets from GoI
3-saving pregnant women,their childrens studying in rest of India
4-its kind of funny,he is getting treated in the very hospital he hates[/quote]

1- u know why u never tried to get our side of kashmir becuase in ur heart u knw who does it really belong too .. if we invaded it why do u get annoyed when we talk about the resolution of Kashmir issue in UN .. moreover, well when atleast on our side millions of people are not chanting hum hindustani hain, hindustan hamra ha .. when india win there is no cheering on our side ... .

2-u have been an industrial state for a decade or two but u r using their water for more then 64 years for agriculture and other purposes .. so dnt talk about budget .. many of ur dams are using water from kashmir , all the production from of these dams are bcoz of water coming from there..

3- well if u r alot so much budget .. how come they dnt have gud uni's and hospitals their???? well give them azadi they will not come to u guys any more .. more over well nehru went to UK for studies so does that make him a hypocrite as well .. they are using ur faculties and they pay for it ...
4- dnt have a clue what u r talking about

Yes :coffee:

He should go to Pakistan to get treatment.