Strangest thing happend to me !!!

@Jazzbot bhai.....just make sure that they arent misusing ur cheques.....
A letter from the bank manager with all the details should do fine i guess.....
And keep ur proofs with u.....u never know when u might need them....
A random transfer of funds from ur account to some unknown org may get you in trouble...

I hope all is fine and just was an honest mistake though

world is a fucked up place, especially our part of the world. You will hear about upsetting cases alot. But a frank advice never let the gender bias set in, not every man is guilty neither every woman is the victim.

Gender bias my arse.. I've met my share of weird chicks bro... Trust me on that...

Although I've never seen a 40 somethin old widow with kids my age trying to flirt (the weird kind) at a firm she came to seek help for some property related chutiyapa..

world is a fucked up place, especially our part of the world. You will hear about upsetting cases alot. But a frank advice never let the gender bias set in, not every man is guilty neither every woman is the victim.

Gender bias my arse.. I've met my share of weird chicks bro... Trust me on that...

Although I've never seen a 40 somethin old widow with kids my age trying to flirt (the weird kind) at a firm she came to seek help for some property related chutiyapa..

I wish I could share things I have seen, all I can say is ever since strict anti dowry harassment law came in place here, lawyers and doctors get lucky too often. It's insane.

wish they transfer it to my account and then call me one becasue a call will cost 30 rupees per minute and my visit of bank will cost 3 lakh rupees to them :rofl: and sure if i try my best i will visit bank branch after 15-20 days :lol:

I was doing my routine work today when a text message popped up on my cell phone "80,000 Rs has been transferred to your account # xxxxxxxxx by account # xxxxxxxx". 4 similar text messages followed with much bigger payments and within a couple of minutes a sum of 2 million rupees was sitting in my bank account.

I was shocked as hell because I wasn't expecting any such payments. I logged onto my bank's website and checked my account balance, it confirmed these transactions.

I knew something fishy has happened and wasn't sure whether I should tell my mom / wife about this (they usually panic quickly). So I just got myself busy with my work as I was in office and was waiting for someone to contact me on this.

4 hours later, I received a call from my bank. The manager was on line, and he asked me where am I and when can I be available for a meeting. I told him that I'm in office and I'll be free at 7pm. Then he told me about these payments which were done accidentally and a refund is needed. Since Eid holidays are starting from tomorrow so we'll have to do this today at any cost. It wasn't possible for me to leave the office before 7pm so they said they will wait for me even after bank closing hours.

Then I got several calls from my bank. Long story short, they asked me to provide 3 blank cheques so they can use them to refund. I didn't had chequebook with me in my office so they were willing to send someone to my home and collect cheques. When I asked what they will do with my cheques without my signature on them? They said they can refund when they have cheques with them and I can visit them & do the signatures later.

I called my mom and told her about this, the bank representative reached my home, had my mom on call with me, received the cheques and returned. Half hour later I got text alerts that a couple of payments worth a million rupees each were done from my account to account xxxxxxxxxx.

When I reached the bank after my office time, entire bank staff along with manager were waiting for me even though the bank timings were over a couple of hours ago. They welcomed me as some celebrity, gave me all the details. Basically what happened was:

My name & fathers name were exactly same with the actual beneficiary, the bank branch of both of us is also same and on top of that the account numbers of both of us were exactly same except one digit e.g. if my account was 111113111, then his was 111118111 :blink:

The sender was an old man who asked the cashier to fill the cheques for him, the cashier asked about the beneficiary details and the old man gave him the name as well as last 3 digits of beneficiary's account. Since both of these matched my details, cashier searched the details in his system and my account popped up on top.

Anyways, I have refunded the payment without any fuss. After refund bank manager told me that he got the call from actual beneficiary who is asking about my details and wants to meet me to thank. I told the manager to not to share my details with that old man or the actual beneficiary as I don't seek any reward or appreciation for this.

Bottom line, I became millionaire and then back to my normal self within half day.. :lol:
As far as i know banks dont need your permission to take the money back,if you have not put your account on hold,imagine what if you dont live in Pakistan ,do you think they will wait for you to come back and give the money back.

It could be a genuine mistake,but to be safe is always good.
Money laundering happens in ways normal people will think of in their wildest dreams.

1)make sure on your statement it shows bank take back and not was cashed or xfered to someone else account.

It you feel its not then make sure you get a letter from the bank or report
It to the concerned authority.

You never know where the money will be used and you dont want that traced back to you.

It was not to scare,just stay safe

If bank made a mistake, they should fix it themselves. You gave the blank cheques :o: you may have laundered black money or those cheques may end up financing some terrorist group.

I was doing my routine work today when a text message popped up on my cell phone "80,000 Rs has been transferred to your account # xxxxxxxxx by account # xxxxxxxx". 4 similar text messages followed with much bigger payments and within a couple of minutes a sum of 2 million rupees was sitting in my bank account.

I was shocked as hell because I wasn't expecting any such payments. I logged onto my bank's website and checked my account balance, it confirmed these transactions.

I knew something fishy has happened and wasn't sure whether I should tell my mom / wife about this (they usually panic quickly). So I just got myself busy with my work as I was in office and was waiting for someone to contact me on this.

4 hours later, I received a call from my bank. The manager was on line, and he asked me where am I and when can I be available for a meeting. I told him that I'm in office and I'll be free at 7pm. Then he told me about these payments which were done accidentally and a refund is needed. Since Eid holidays are starting from tomorrow so we'll have to do this today at any cost. It wasn't possible for me to leave the office before 7pm so they said they will wait for me even after bank closing hours.

Then I got several calls from my bank. Long story short, they asked me to provide 3 blank cheques so they can use them to refund. I didn't had chequebook with me in my office so they were willing to send someone to my home and collect cheques. When I asked what they will do with my cheques without my signature on them? They said they can refund when they have cheques with them and I can visit them & do the signatures later.

I called my mom and told her about this, the bank representative reached my home, had my mom on call with me, received the cheques and returned. Half hour later I got text alerts that a couple of payments worth a million rupees each were done from my account to account xxxxxxxxxx.

When I reached the bank after my office time, entire bank staff along with manager were waiting for me even though the bank timings were over a couple of hours ago. They welcomed me as some celebrity, gave me all the details. Basically what happened was:

My name & fathers name were exactly same with the actual beneficiary, the bank branch of both of us is also same and on top of that the account numbers of both of us were exactly same except one digit e.g. if my account was 111113111, then his was 111118111 :blink:

The sender was an old man who asked the cashier to fill the cheques for him, the cashier asked about the beneficiary details and the old man gave him the name as well as last 3 digits of beneficiary's account. Since both of these matched my details, cashier searched the details in his system and my account popped up on top.

Anyways, I have refunded the payment without any fuss. After refund bank manager told me that he got the call from actual beneficiary who is asking about my details and wants to meet me to thank. I told the manager to not to share my details with that old man or the actual beneficiary as I don't seek any reward or appreciation for this.

Bottom line, I became millionaire and then back to my normal self within half day.. :lol:

The blank cheque part and that they wanted to go without ur signatures sounds too weird. I am sorry im not tryin ro scare you bro. It just sounded weird.

We had something similar happened to us . Someone had made a transaction to the account of a relative,. It was a small sum. The relative's account never got credited with the forwarded sum. So when that person was told abt the transfered sum, he said i havent recieved it , then he went to the bank's branch to talk to them abt it. They took out their records and told yes there is an error and we will fix it. Then few hours later he got the sum deposited to his account which was mistakenly sent to another account BY THE BANK.

But the blank cheque and going to ur home for collecting is such sh1t. Did u see the amount filled in those cheques??
If all four cheque leaves u gave out from ur book were filled with that total sum then they wont be able to take anything from ur account.

Now the question is what if they intentionally directed that sum to ur account and then forwarded to a suspicious one ,just to get u in trouble?

Achaa sorrryyy i think i am going random. Sab theek hoga but DO DO DO GET SOME VERIFICATION LETTER FROM THE BANK STATING description of THE INCIDENT. IF THEY refuse then its fishy.

They collected 3 cheques from me but only two were used, third one was returned to me as blank. I saw the amounts, the recipient's account details etc before signing the cheques.

@Hyperion Sir, I talked to my uncle who's also a banker, first thing in the morning. And he said exact same things that you said about what kind of fraud this could be and what will be the possible consequences. He literally grilled me for giving blank cheques without consulting him or anyone else. :(

Anyways, he told me to immediately contact the bank manager and talk about this even if its a holiday. So I talked to manager and told him about my concerns and that I need a letter from him. The manager explain to me what happened.

He says, they could revert the payment themselves but that would have taken some time as the payment was sent from another branch. If the payment was made from same branch then they could do it without any fuss, but it was another branch's payment so such cases go to head office for reversal. Shortly, it would have dragged the issue for several days. Manager says his only intentions were to resolve the issue before Eid vacations so they preferred this method as I was willing to give cheques easily :hitwall:

Bottom line, he has assured me that the accounts involved in this case are legitimate and this wasn't either black money or some money laundering case. He's willing to give me all these things in written along with copies of all cheques and other documents on Monday.

My uncle says, I've escaped a mess by narrow margin.

@Hyperion Sir, I talked to my uncle who's also a banker, first thing in the morning. And he said exact same things that you said about what kind of fraud this could be and what will be the possible consequences. He literally grilled me for giving blank cheques without consulting him or anyone else. :(

Anyways, he told me to immediately contact the bank manager and talk about this even if its a holiday. So I talked to manager and told him about my concerns and that I need a letter from him. The manager explain to me what happened.

He says, they could revert the payment themselves but that would have taken some time as the payment was sent from another branch. If the payment was made from same branch then they could do it without any fuss, but it was another branch's payment so such cases go to head office for reversal. Shortly, it would have dragged the issue for several days. Manager says his only intentions were to resolve the issue before Eid vacations so they preferred this method as I was willing to give cheques easily :hitwall:

Bottom line, he has assured me that the accounts involved in this case are legitimate and this wasn't either black money or some money laundering case. He's willing to give me all these things in written along with copies of all cheques and other documents on Monday.

My uncle says, I've escaped a mess by narrow margin.

you are a free man till monday jazzy boi-
pack your bags and leave the country before that-

They collected 3 cheques from me but only two were used, third one was returned to me as blank. I saw the amounts, the recipient's account details etc before signing the cheques.
Bahi imenat jitnay bhi cheques they took from u ,usaw them all filled out with that total amount, then they have no more cheques left to withdraw ur personal savings from ur account. So if thats settled isuspected there are chances of some other shady work in the whole drama.

Acha lemme tell, that amount forwarded to my relative was also from another bank ,it was a wire transfer and the bank had sent it mistakenly to another account. And that wrong transaction stayed that way for days cuz my relative didnt know that he has some sum forwarded to him. When he was told he cheked and said ihave received nothing, then he went to the bank and then within 2 hours they had corrected the error, that is amount was credited to his account.

Aap nay bohat bewakoofi ki bahi waisay. Itnee common sense sab ko hotihai kay blank cheques na dain.
And idont know why bank saidit wud have taken days for them, the incident idiscussed things were sorted out in a short while from what iknow.

But one thing is different in ur case and that is, that the person who made the transfer he gave YOUR accout number instead of actual one.i think if this is the case ,then this cud be a reason for the reversal to go over number of days, and hence in haste they asked u to help.

Phir bhi bohat weird hai, why would a bank management get so worked up for someone else's money if he was the one who made the error and not the bank.

And bahi ALWAYS REMEBER ONE THING, i learnt this thing in m childhood from a relative of mine, whenevr he goes anywhere and has some incident out of norm happen to him he always seeks written proof or letter for it.

Stop it yar, don't scare me further. I don't want to think about this till Monday.

seriously man- Pakistani banks not gona open on monday-

alright its a joke again-

but seriously -
request your banker uncle to come along with you so every thing is in proper order -