Sri Lanka buying Al-Khalid Tanks from Pakistan

I read the article, it seems SriLanka already bought (or planned to buy) AlKhalid tanks way back in 2008 to help in the war. The title is misleading

edit :

The Island

OMFG
SriLankan you're such a liar you conveniently deleted this part from the article

:rolleyes:

And MR. Fonseska is currently in jail. He was court Marshaled and his ranks were taken off by the current PM.

Good to see:

1) Cooperation between the 2 countries
2) Pakistan increasing exports (thus GDP)
3) Sri lankan army getting stronger

but

Why do they need tanks ??
They need Navy and Airforce !!

The tanks deal might include Ammunition as well.

BTW why it cant be expensive than Type 59??? I agree on T90 and Leopard. but type 59.

my understanding was that Al Khalid was almost the same price as of Type 59 .. and that was the reason i compared it too. Not comparing the technologies man...AK is more developed than T-59

Article might be old but I'm suspecting deal of some upgraded Al-Zarrar tanks for familiarization.

Luftwaffe said:
Article might be old but I'm suspecting deal of some upgraded Al-Zarrar tanks for familiarization.

The ariticle is recent, but the Tank Deal never happened. There was talk about such a deal in 2008 by Foneska (now he's in prison). SriLankan twisted the article to show as if his country had placed an order for the tanks (dunno why though :azn:)

Indians can't digest Pakistan growing defense industry.:flame:

Some are barking because Pakistan and Srilanka jointly defeated Indian government backed LTTE terrorists.

Srilankan did the right thing that part was useless.

Srilankan army finalized deal in 2008 and many products already delivered maybe its time for the deliveries of AL-KHALID even if its not true defense corporation b/t Srilanka Pakistan and China increasing day by day.

Sri Lanka is also potential customer of JF-17. Very soon Bangladesh will join this club.:azn:

Indians can't digest Pakistan growing defense industry.:flame:

Some are barking because Pakistan and Srilanka jointly defeated Indian government backed LTTE terrorists.

Srilankan did the right thing that part was useless.

Srilankan army finalized deal in 2008 and many products already delivered maybe its time for the deliveries of AL-KHALID even if its not true defense corporation b/t Srilanka Pakistan and China increasing day by day.

Sri Lanka is also potential customer of JF-17. Very soon Bangladesh will join this club.:azn:

What a funny claim.... whats your contribution in LTTE victory ??? :lol:

Well India help the most Srilanka against LTTE ...

What a funny claim.... whats your contribution in LTTE victory ??? :lol:

Well India help the most Srilanka against LTTE ...

Well India helped in exterminating in something which it created itself. What's so big about that. After losing one PM due to LTTE's suicide bombing India had no other choice than helping Srilanka in exterminating the terrorism it exported to Srilanka.

Imran Khan said:
unlimited jailusy by my indian friends.yaar pakistan defence intustry no need your license we know well what pakistan can make.and we know well when time come pakistan will export much.why you guys cry again and again.

Imran jee, I never criticized the Pakistan defence industry in this thread !!

My point was that the OP had deliberately twisted (deleted a paragraph) in the news item with a deceptive heading "Sri Lanka buying Al-Khalid Tanks from Pakistan"

There was a deal in 2008 when Gen. Foneska planned to buy 22 tanks, however this never happened (this is from the same article ie. the deleted paragraph) !. LTTE were kicked out and Foneska is now in Prison !

Jailusy for what ?????

Sir ji aapne kya becha hai bhi tak ???? Jara hame bhi batayenge

Probably u dont know our defence exports which are almost triple then indias?
Starting frm AK to morocco,KRLS to bengladesh and gulf,APCs to iraq,ANZA sams to malaysia,Tank busters,grenades,small arms,tank ammo,UAVs,fuses,Mushak traniers,rec aircrafts,K-8(jointly built with china),Upgraded bangladeshi T-59s to alzarar status and other defence exports... etc etc....... in the start of this year alone we cancelled export orders of more then 500 million $$ due to financial crunch and same goes for ideas exibition.

Our defence exports last years were nearly 600 million$$

Pakistani Nationalist said:
Probably u dont know our defence exports which are almost triple then indias?

Disagree
TIV of arms exports from the top 100 largest exporters, 2001-2009
Generated: 20 November 2010
Figures are SIPRI Trend Indicator Values (TIVs) expressed in US$ m. at constant (1990) prices.
Figures may not add up due to the conventions of rounding.
A '0' indicates that the value of deliveries is less than US$0.5m
For more information, see http://www.sipri.org/contents/armstrad/output_types_TIV.html
Source: SIPRI Arms Transfers Database
Rank 2001-2009 Rank 2000-2008 Supplier 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2001-2009
1 1 USA 5694 5091 5596 6750 6600 7394 7658 6090 6795 57666
2 2 Russia 6011 5773 5202 6260 5321 6156 5243 6026 4469 50462
3 3 Germany (FRG) 821 892 1697 1067 1875 2510 3002 2499 2473 16836
4 4 France 1270 1308 1288 2194 1633 1577 2342 1831 1851 15294
5 5 UK 1257 915 617 1180 915 808 987 1027 1024 8730
6 6 Netherlands 203 243 342 208 583 1221 1322 554 608 5283
7 7 China 496 515 632 282 306 599 412 544 870 4655
8 10 Italy 217 400 312 214 743 525 706 424 588 4129
9 8 Sweden 830 185 515 305 537 417 367 457 353 3965
10 11 Israel 360 414 358 612 315 282 379 271 760 3750
11 9 Ukraine 661 244 430 202 281 557 799 269 214 3658
12 12 Spain 7 120 156 56 108 757 565 603 925 3297
13 13 Switzerland 193 157 174 250 267 306 324 467 270 2408
14 14 Canada 129 170 255 268 235 231 343 236 177 2045
15 16 South Korea 165 104 29 48 94 228 80 163 910
16 19 Belgium 36 34 15 47 161 58 19 228 217 816
17 17 Poland 71 46 72 43 17 236 148 76 93 801
18 18 South Africa 29 16 43 71 24 129 148 161 154 774
19 20 Uzbekistan 340 170 4 90 604
20 15 Belarus 51 65 80 50 24 35 6 292 602
21 21 Czech Republic 87 59 64 1 68 45 31 33 19 407
22 22 North Korea 77 161 126 40 403
23 24 Finland 24 25 33 23 27 97 24 67 40 359
24 23 Norway 42 93 96 77 12 14 1 2 17 353
25 26 Austria 15 82 3 3 3 61 93 16 33 309
26 27 Turkey 5 23 38 20 46 61 35 43 36 306
27 28 Denmark 1 8 59 173 1 5 3 15 12 276
28 30 Brazil 26 44 1 28 26 72 49 246
29 34 Australia 43 30 40 2 50 5 1 6 51 228
30 25 Slovakia 73 33 72 7 18 8 211
31 45 Singapore 2 66 3 1 124 196
32 31 Bulgaria 4 32 48 16 66 5 9 8 7 195
33 29 Georgia 54 108 25 187
34 33 Montenegro 71 109 180
35 32 Unknown country 22 21 14 9 53 8 2 50 0 178
36 36 Libya 11 19 58 45 12 9 12 166
37 35 Moldova 37 55 6 18 3 15 20 11 166
38 43 Jordan 42 17 13 28 44 143
39 37 Chile 2 133 135
40 44 Portugal 87 40 127
41 39 India 2 0 4 26 13 28 21 11 22 126
42 38 Hungary 34 82 6 122
43 41 Iran 0 3 9 1 1 91 2 5 112
44 40 Kyrgyzstan 92 16 108
45 42 Indonesia 16 49 25 8 8 107
46 46 Greece 2 6 31 13 23 76
47 47 Romania 24 2 8 32 3 69
48 48 Pakistan 1 10 9 9 20 48

Not much of a difference actually, Pakistan is at 48 (in 2009) India is at 39 (was at 42 in the period 2001-2009)

AZADPAKISTAN2009 said:
Congrats to Srilanks hope the AlKhalid tanks help maintain peace in Srilanka

Sir please read the posts, Sri Lanka is not buying any tanks (at the moment) the article and the title was deliberately modified

Disagree

Not much of a difference actually, Pakistan is at 48 (in 2009) India is 39

Ur starting frm 2001 to 2009?

In these 9 years we rose from zero to this place....... while our defence exports were almost 600 million in 2009 not frm 2001-2009 while indian exports were around 200-250 million in year 2009(correct me if im wrong)..... even thts coz of the small countries under indian influence like nepal,bhutan etc.

We cancelled exports order of 500 million$ in the first half of this year 2010 alone.. due to economic crunch:
http://www.google.com.pk/url?sa=t&s...i22IAL&usg=AFQjCNG8Syoy32ZaJXvvlSiqm2FmeMPQqw

Ur starting frm 2001 to 2009?

In these 9 years we rose from zero to this place....... while our defence exports were almost 600 million in 2009 not frm 2001-2009 while indian exports were around 200-250 million in year 2009(correct me if im wrong)..... even thts coz of the small countries under indian influence like nepal,bhutan etc.

We cancelled exports order of 500 million$ in the first half of this year 2010 alone.. due to economic crunch:
http://www.google.com.pk/url?sa=t&s...i22IAL&usg=AFQjCNG8Syoy32ZaJXvvlSiqm2FmeMPQqw

Your link is not working

Historically, there's a lot. Off hand, here are the details of a few, (only aviation related)

Till Jan 2005

2 Dhruvs to Nepal - RAN-51 and RAN-52 (Army Variant)
2+ Lancers to Nepal
? Dhruvs to Israel (Civil Variant)
3 Do-228 MPAs to Mauritius Coast Guard - MP-CG-1, MP-CG-2 and MP-CG-3
2 Do-228s to Maldives
1 Do-228 to Bhutan
3 Chetaks to Seychelles
8 Mig-21U to Afghanistan (donated but need support)
2 Cheetahs and 2 Chetaks to Namibia
20 HT-2 to Ghana (Indonesia and Singapore also got a HT-2 each and perhaps are warbirds there today, if someone can find em')

Hs-748 Spares to Nepal, Jetstream 61 tailplanes, 10 Boeing-737-300 transport/freighter conversion kits to IAI and IDF/AF, Tornado pylons, Su-30 canards and parts, some Jaguar spares, machined parts and components to BAe, 6 SV-2000 MP radars to Poland (a Polish research institute and not the armed forces), A320/21 Fo'd Pax doors, B757 OWX doors, B767 Cargo doors, B777 Landing gear uplock assembly, machined components for Dassault Falcon-7X etc etc etc

More info here Hindustan Aeronautics Limited

HAL's exports alone amounted to $20 million (http://www.ainonline.com/Publications/asian/asian_04/d3_halp21.html) in 2003, sales and profits of Rs.2,447 and 265 crore for 2000-01, Rs. 2775 and 374 crore for 2001-02, respectively.

http://forum.keypublishing.co.uk/archive/index.php?t-36593.html