Slovak hopes to clinch $1-b howitzer gun deal

Almost all. Toed tracked and wheeled
So you are telling me that in this 180 howitzer there will be both track and wheeled (90=track and 90=wheeled) ?? I think you have some misinformation or i misread you ...

i believe they were being procured through the FMS . and was awaiting congress nod .
Yeah they are procured through FMS, US Congress cleared its sale way back and Indian National Congress will clear it soon especially after Gen's letter...

Are Bhai is there anything that we produce on our own in India... really 60 years of Kangressi Raj has Made MOD into a Ministery of Import ... apart from Guns , Missiles, Bullets we have to import everything from Foriegn country ... it really hurts me that with such technological advancement that have been achieved still we cant produce a howitzer on our own... the reason is Politicians who r sitting in the Lap of Middle man for commissions...

My friend.. if India starts producing these stuff on their own how are our babus & netas going to pocket millions of $s in kickbacks? It's not that India dosn't have the technology to produce these guns. It's just that our politicians & babus are sitting tight on it.. have a read through this.. absolutely shocking...

Bofors reloaded: Defence ministry stung again - Times Of India

Slovak hopes to clinch $1-b howitzer gun deal

howitzergun_1056389f.jpg

KOLKATA, APRIL 17:
The Slovak Republic is hoping to clinch nearly a $ one billion deal to supply 180 howitzer gun to India Army soon.

According to Mr Marian Tomasik, ambassador of the Slovak Republic to India, the deal is expected to be sealed in the coming months.

“We hope to get the howitzer gun deal from the Indian Army in the coming months,” Mr. Tomasik said at an interactive session on bilateral trade organised by the Bharat Chamber of Commerce here on Tuesday.

A howitzer is a weapon which has a short barrel and uses small propellant chargers at relatively higher trajectories.

Indian Army had earlier floated a tender for purchase of 180 (155-mm) howitzer guns. A Slovak Republic company and Germany-based Rheinmetall Defence had bid for the deal.

BILATERAL TRADE

Defence and power would be the two key areas of focus for bilateral trade between the two countries.

According to Mr. Tomasik, both Slovak and India should focus on enhancing co-operation in defence and power sectors in order to further expand the bilateral trade between the two countries.

IMPORTS

Slovakian imports include pharmaceuticals, rubber, organic chemicals, garments, science apparatus and special machinery. It exports automobiles, oils and fertilizers, machines and spare parts. While India's total exports to Slovak Republic have grown from $36.24 million in 2006-07 to $56.78 million in 2010-11, total imports have grown from $19.81 million in 2006-07 to $88.03 million in 2010-11.

Business Line : Industry & Economy / Economy : Slovak hopes to clinch $1-b howitzer gun deal

good gun, why can't india manufacture its own?

My friend.. if India starts producing these stuff on their own how are our babus & netas going to pocket millions of $s in kickbacks? It's not that India dosn't have the technology to produce these guns. It's just that our politicians & babus are sitting tight on it.. have a read through this.. absolutely shocking...

Bofors reloaded: Defence ministry stung again - Times Of India
Ohh Yaar Akhhir tu firr a gaya ... vo bhi apne EX admin Spark ke thread main... we can Built ICBMs , Fighter jets , Helicopters , Nuclear Subs, ACs, Nuclear Bomb, nuclear reactors , have PSLV & one of the topmost Space agency still cant produce a Howitzer ... even most of the ammunition r imported from countries which r no where near us in any of the above said fields... what a Shame ... put to use three bullet from our arsenal ( u know very well, these r for whom) & 70% problems will be solves ...

So you are telling me that in this 180 howitzer there will be both track and wheeled (90=track and 90=wheeled) ?? I think you have some misinformation or i misread you ...
r...

No there is different requirement for each type. I think I miss read you. I though you asked about in tenders that are floating fron MOD. This 180 howitzer is may be toed there is 155 for tracked and 120 wheeled. I am not exactly sure about the numbers of each type. It's something I remembered. Will post exact detail if find. But it's definately different requirement for different type

Howitzer procurement has in the past and in the present become a red herring for the MoD.
The only permanent solution of the problem is Indigenous Howitzer which is shown some private co. with jv with foreign that shown in DEFEXPO-2012 or OFB come with New indigenous Bofors.

This 180 howitzer is may be toed there is 155 for tracked and 120 wheeled. I am not exactly sure about the numbers of each type.
No i just read it somewhere....its for Wheeled because IA has a requirement for 180 wheeled SPG. Slovaks are fine but what are germans offering in wheeled ??? I think its specifically designed for INdia. Both german and slovak guns are good.

zuzana2.jpg

zuzana222.jpg

How does it compare with the other howitzers on offer?

I am collecting specs and infos since Defexpo about the self-propelled howitzers, will try to post a comparison later today.

Rheinmetal has already been black listed if I am not wrong. So, slovak is a sole winner? Please correct me if I am wrong.

Logically you are right, but IAs howitzer procurement sadly has nothing to do with logic anymore. As far as I understand it now, the competition was scrapped and now the foreign vendors teamed up with local companies to offer these howitzers. Possibly to divert the offset / ToT requirements I would guess.

Which deal is it ??? Track or wheeled one ???

According to this:

India Cancels Wheeled Howitzer Purchase
Nov. 1, 2011

The Indian Defence Ministry has canceled the tender to purchase 180 wheeled 155mm/52-caliber howitzers, another in a series of setbacks for the long-delayed Army program...

India Cancels Wheeled Howitzer Purchase | Defense News | defensenews.com

I am so f*$kin confused at this point. first there were plans to buy from foreign vendors, the the OFB decided to build on its own, there are also plans to buy M777 light howitzer. What the hell is going does the DoD and the army even know which one they are planning to buy.

First of all, there are several different procurements!

1) light howitzers for the northern areas, where IA/MoD basically selected BAEs M777 and according the news from Defexpo:

the government will approve in the new financial year, which begins on 1 April

Please check the link:
http://www.defence.pk/forums/indian-defence/163528-defexpo-2012-a-27.html#post2820011

2) FH77 uprgade and procurement of further towed howitzers in the same class, since these were stopped after the Bofors scam. Here it seems that Indian companies are trying to find an "indigenous" solution more or less. OFB and Mahindra are developing solutions based on the FH 77, Bharat Forge might offer an own development, based on an Austrian howitzer and Tata might offer a Denel version.

3) Self- propelled howitzers, competition for the wheeled was scrapped as mentioned above, but tracked versions are on offer as well.

This is definitely one of the ugliest howitzer i've seen. And who the heck spends a billion dollars on these especially for a slovak made?

:rolleyes: That's BAEs M777 lightweight howitzer:

http://www.baesystems.com/product/BAES_019899/m777-lightweight-field-howitzer

748x421.jpg

No i just read it somewhere....its for Wheeled because IA has a requirement for 180 wheeled SPG. Slovaks are fine but what are germans offering in wheeled ??? I think its specifically designed for INdia. Both german and slovak guns are good.

Rheinmetall Offered the RWG-52 and RTG-52 which have Pzh2000 Turrets on Land Systems OMC Chassis and Arjun/T-72 MBT respectively.I guess it was better if they just went for the T6-52 Turret mounted on Land Systems OMC Chassis and Arjun in the beginning, but OFB had to screw everything up with corruption charges and now Denel is blacklisted.

Is the competition for the 814 Truck Mounted Howitzer still going on?Kunal Biswas in *** and MP says there was no Truck Mounted Howitzer tender and that CAESAR, T5-52 and Archer are competing for the 180 Self Propelled Wheeled Howitzer tender instead.From what I know the Truck Mounted Howitzer Tender was cancelled as well.

Kunal Biswas in *** and MP says there was no Truck Mounted Howitzer tender and that CAESAR, T5-52 and Archer are competing for the 180 Self Propelled Wheeled Howitzer tender instead.

That's correct, T5-52 might have been offered before Denel was blacklisted, but the last offer was a G6 Rhino 6x6 platform with the RWG gun of Rheinmetall that you mentioned and the same then could have been offered as a tracked version based on Denels Bhim development. As the article fthat I posted earlier said, the Rheinmetall/Denel, the Konstrukta and Samsung howitzers were shortlisted, but the deal was cancelled last year.

What happened to this deal?Cancelled as of now?Does the Army have a requirement of such a Howitzer?

I thought the requirements were the following
145 Ultra Light 155mm 39 Cal Howitzer - M777
1180 Towed 155mm 52 Cal Howitzer - FH77B05 L52, G5-52, TRAJAN
814 Truck Mounted 155mm 52 Cal Howitzer - FH77BW L52, T5-52, CAESAR
180 Self Propelled-Wheeled 155mm 52 Cal Howitzer - G6-52, ZUZANA 2, RWG-52
100 Self Propelled-Tracked 155mm 52 Cal Howitzer - T6-52, ARZU, RTG-52

Are the RFI's for all the tenders except Ultralight Howitzer going to be floated again?

145 Ultra Light 155mm 39 Cal Howitzer - M777
It's through FMS. No RFPs for this. And if I am not wrong it's 52 cal not 39