Sino-Pak panel okays three projects for KP

PESHAWAR: The Pakistan-China Joint Cooperation Committee has approved three Khyber Pakhtunkhwa projects.

However, it is not immediately clear whether the much-touted alternate route connecting the proposed China-Pakistan Economic Corridor with Central Asian Republics via northern districts of the province is among the projects approved by the committee.

Three alternate routes proposed by the KP government suggest linking the corridor with CARs via Afghanistan. A short strip of the land belonging to Afghanistan separates the province’s northernmost district, Chitral, from Tajikistan.

In a statement issued here on Friday, the KP government said three of its projects were approved for inclusion in the CPEC project by the JCC, which met in Beijing on Thursday.

It said Chief Minister Pervez Khattak represented the province in the meeting.

“The projects approved for KP include 1700 megawatts run-of-the-river electricity project, Circular Railway track between Peshawar-Charsadda-Nowshera-Mardan and Swabi, and establishment of a state-of-the-art economic zone along the motorway,” the government said.

Confusion persists if proposed alternate route passing through KP part of CPEC project
However, officials familiar with the JCC proceedings claimed the KP’s alternate route project had been included in the CPEC besides those on circular railway track and economic zone.

“For hydel power, we found a window as a Chinese diligence team will visit Pakistan for the selection of power projects,” an official said, adding that the provincial government would prefer the projects based on hydel and indigenous resources and thus, opening the way for the province to sell its gas-based electricity projects as well.

In the statement, the government said in the JCC meeting, Mr. Khattak floated the idea of ‘future alternate route connecting Chinese town of Kashgar via Khunjarab-Bisham-Swat-Chakdara and Gilgit-Chitral and Chakdara.’

It said the CM also successfully presented the case of his province vis-à-vis the CPEC project before the JCC, which agreed on the construction of double fast railway track between Peshawar and Karachi and Peshawar and Dera Ismail Khan, and dualisation of the Indus Highway connecting Peshawar with DI Khan and onward to Karachi.

The government said it inked a MoU for students exchange program with Chinese Shandong University under which the students from across the province would visit the varsity, while the Centre of Confucius Institute would be set up in KP.

The statement quoted the CM as telling the Chinese reporters that he was satisfied with the outcome of the meeting.

He however said Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif should convene another APC on the construction of the CPEC’s western route to remove concerns of KP.

“We all should work collectively for the development and prosperity of the country,” he said.

The CM said no one in Pakistan had any objection to the construction of the CPEC’s central route.

“Since the people of KP were not well aware of the western route of the corridor, the APC was convened on it. The PM assured the western route will be constructed first being the shortest one,” he said.

Mr. Khattak said there was no security problem with regard to the CPEC’s western route in KP and that all such speculations had been removed.

He said there would be foolproof security arrangements for the containers plying the western route as well as Chinese people.

The CM said all arrangements for the Peshawar Mass Transit project were in place and that work on it would begin in next March.

He said the technical training centres were being upgraded in the province to provide skilled manpower to various industries.

Mr. Khattak said 11 centres would be handed over to the Pakistan Air Force, while the rest would be run through the FWO and private sector.

He said he was hopeful that the CPEC would enhance geo-economic importance of KP and that it would become a hub of economic activities in the near future.

Dawn

I think the hydel power project should be the first priority, Pakistan urgently needs to eliminate the electricity shortfall that is hampering the productivity of the nation

any good size hydel will take 10 years to build... coal and nuclear power will be online far before that

but in longer term ...absolutely hydel should have priority

The projects approved for KP include 1700 megawatts run-of-the-river electricity project

For God Sake we need water storage dams. whose Primary Purpose should be storage of water and Production of electricity should be the Secondary Purpose. can't they see the Drought situation in whole Country. we don't have enough water to irrigate our farms. If we had Basha and Dasu dam. the situation wouldn't be like that.

Good thing that concerns/projects of all provinces are being considered and settled.

For God Sake we need water storage dams. whose Primary Purpose should be storage of water and Production of electricity should be the Secondary Purpose. can't they see the Drought situation in whole Country. we don't have enough water to irrigate our farms. If we had Basha and Dasu dam. the situation wouldn't be like that.
Highly unfortunate because of short sighted vision which doesn't see beyond next elections.

They will not. Estimated cost was 12.5 Billion USD in 2008. Us hisab se bhi 6 orange trains ya pata nahi kitni metro bus ban jaein gi aur awam ko bhi chona lag jaye ga.

These Politicians should at least secure the Pakistan for their future corruption by this only dam. Diamer Basha dam. and others.

If there are no Huge water storage dams. After 30 Year's there will be no Pakistan. so no chance of there corruption. my message to politicians is that, at least secure your corruption BC'o....

These Politicians should at least secure the Pakistan for their future corruption by this only dam. Diamer Basha dam. and others.

If there are no Huge water storage dams. After 30 Year's there will be no Pakistan. so no chance of there corruption. my message to politicians is that, at least secure your corruption BC'o....

Good if there will be no Pakistan in the next 30 years, The people deserve this as they have elected the same useless and corrupt people one after the other and will still vote for the same gang that is the cause of their suffering.

I actually don't think PTI can make much of a change even if they come in power. The problem is not just the system, its the people themselves. Pakistanis are good at everything wrong. Reminds me of the saying in which the prophet said that " jesse qom wesay hukmaran"

If we built dasu and bhasha dam, our future is secure .... the baren lands of baluchistan can get so much water from it and be used for growing cotton and other crops ....
Yar the issue is not the funding for bhasha dam , the issue is the status of gilgit baltistan . American promised us to secure funding but didnt do it because of indian influence .... then world bank and ADB ran out .... if we can just allow seats and give status of province to gilgit baltistan that would totally ruin the kashmir cause ....
The best we can do is to ask saudia arabia for funding .... the chinese would fund anything but investor are worried as it is 12 billion $ and gains would be after 10 years ... this is the time we must eat grass and built it ...
Land has been secured . People have been moved to new villages made for them or have been compansated . They are also building residential colony for people who would work for dam . Now only need funding ... our best bet is gulf countries ....
The dasu dam is another story . World bank is ready to fund it but due to the slow progress they have decreased the rating of the dam . It is still time , if we hurry up we can build it easily .
They are working hard to include bhasha in cpec .... they have divded the dam in phases and would allot to different companies but if they dont invest we cant sit quietly ....this is the fight for our survival ....
Ask top 20 rich people of pakistan to fund and invest in this dam , they would i am sure ...
Or ask every pakistani to give 10 rupees for the dam . Just check this nation and it would show you what it is made of ...

If we built dasu and bhasha dam, our future is secure .... the baren lands of baluchistan can get so much water from it and be used for growing cotton and other crops ....
Yar the issue is not the funding for bhasha dam , the issue is the status of gilgit baltistan . American promised us to secure funding but didnt do it because of indian influence .... then world bank and ADB ran out .... if we can just allow seats and give status of province to gilgit baltistan that would totally ruin the kashmir cause ....
The best we can do is to ask saudia arabia for funding .... the chinese would fund anything but investor are worried as it is 12 billion $ and gains would be after 10 years ... this is the time we must eat grass and built it ...
Land has been secured . People have been moved to new villages made for them or have been compansated . They are also building residential colony for people who would work for dam . Now only need funding ... our best bet is gulf countries ....
The dasu dam is another story . World bank is ready to fund it but due to the slow progress they have decreased the rating of the dam . It is still time , if we hurry up we can build it easily .
They are working hard to include bhasha in cpec .... they have divded the dam in phases and would allot to different companies but if they dont invest we cant sit quietly ....this is the fight for our survival ....
Ask top 20 rich people of pakistan to fund and invest in this dam , they would i am sure ...
Or ask every pakistani to give 10 rupees for the dam . Just check this nation and it would show you what it is made of ...

Well put... we will need to "eat grass" and build on. But the question is do we have the political or social will to sacrifice & make it happen?

Hahaha. If somehow he understands this then there are slime chances.

true.

Good if there will be no Pakistan in the next 30 years, The people deserve this as they have elected the same useless and corrupt people one after the other and will still vote for the same gang that is the cause of their suffering.

A normal Pakistani don't know the significance and need of Dams. but these Politician's , MNA's, Minister's and their secretaries do know. in this particular case, i blame the Government for this whole issue.

Diamer basha dam will cost around USD 12.5-13 billion. and the construction Period will be 8 Years.
Now (13/8)= 1.625 billion dollars Per year. Our annual Development fund allocated in Each Budget is greater then USD 5 billion. which mean's we can arrange money even from our own resources.

Another solution.
suppose Average Electricity consumption of a normal Pakistani home is 300 Kw-hr per month. and we have 3,00,00,000 connections.
Now if you increase unit price by 1 rupee. Per month you get 9 billion extra. which in Year terms became 108 billion rupees. Other 60 billion can be diverted from Development fund allocated in Annual budget. If Pakistani nation can give PTV tax, line tax, flaa tex, dimkaana tax, fuel surcharge tax, then can also give the 1 rupee per unit for the Prosperity of Pakistan.

Money is not the Problem. Our top-head's either don't have the well or don't have the "knowledge" or don't feel the necessity to invest in Dams. This, My friend, is the Problem.