third eye
don't remember me pakistani food this time i will go after 6 months yaar
pls amend ur line to read pakistani / indian food.
don't remember me pakistani food this time i will go after 6 months yaar
pls amend ur line to read pakistani / indian food.
sorry yar its ok i will eat both pakistani indian food but if you give me 1 million $ i eill never eat east indian food same like kerala madrasi
Chalo.. ok that a deal !
No disrespect meant, but I found some Gujarati food also diff to eat simply coz sugar was added to virtually everything.. including dal & vegetables !
Not a young man any more..
This particular one is best to hear ( as I often do) over a drink.. reminds me of wonderful days & super times. In any case I do not have a ear for the music one gets to hear these days.
Music & food is among the few things that we have in common with no strings attached in this troubled sub continent. Made some wonderful friends courtsey Gulam Ali, Nusrat fateh ali, Noor Jehan, chicken tikka,brain curry,mutton Do pyaza, kebabs & the like.
Even as far as english music is concerned, that of the 60's & 70's still rules as far as I am concerned .. John denver, Carpenters, Boney M, Paul Anka, Beatles ( a few albums only), Elvis, Cliff, Pat Boone, Tom jones, Englebert..& Co.
I cannot sometimes but think that how can ppl who like & sing such good music & eat such good food dislike each other & not be good friends ?
P.S. would you be having the one by Farida Khanum as well ?
I believe we have a lot and I mean A LOT in common!
I love good music and I'm a good cook aswell, joined a cooking hobby club ten years ago and still enjoying it.
Five friends and I cook a five course dinner once a month so every member cooks twice a year. Cuisine is selected with two months prior notice to allow you to google up some stuff or get recipes from friends. Every guest contributes 15 euro, half of it goes to the host other half is kept aside. Guests award points in three different catagories, i.e. 1) Presentation, 2) Authencity and 3) Quality. Once the circle is complete the winner is announced and get the trophy which is usually euro 270 in cash (6 x 6 x 7.5)
Neo,
Its nice to read of what u guys do. I have a confession to make.. I can't cook to save my life !
But.. I consider myself a connoisseur of good food & whisky.
I do envy & respect men who have two accomplishments.. to be able to cook & to play any musical instrument. Both of which I feel needs " finer sensibilities ".
And someone who is more in touch with their "feminine" "Artistic" side, eh?
we have a saying in urdu "Jise khana ata hay, usay sub kuchh ata hay" Knowing that you are eating good food is the first step towards becoming a good cook, so you're halfway there.
As for having friendships between Indians and Pakistanis, that goes without saying. My best friend since childhood is an Indian Gujrati, and we sometimes like to discuss the same sort of issues that are raised in this forum. As for Gujrati food, i dont like their rotlis (mini-chapattis). They usually eat two of them, whereas I would probably need at least a dozen of those tiny rotlis to fill my stomach. Being a meat eater, however, means I cannot eat vegetarian food more than once a week. If I had to eat daal, shaak, and veggies everyday of my life....I can't even contemplate that.
I must add, the best food in the sub continent is cooked by people from U.P. and Hyderabad Deccan, and the best and cheapest food available in Pakistan is probably to be had in Karachi.
Even as far as english music is concerned, that of the 60's & 70's still rules as far as I am concerned .. John denver, Carpenters, Boney M, Paul Anka, Beatles ( a few albums only), Elvis, Cliff, Pat Boone, Tom jones, Englebert..& Co.
Sensibilities are not restricted to ladies alone... a trifle misplaced thought especially when the subject began with music.
As for eating meat or veg food.. to each his own. They both are good in their own way.
not modren ladyes yaar its 2008
My feminine and sensibilities remark was made tongue-in-cheek, as my way of teasing Neo. I myself cook for my family many times, so you should take my comment as in jest rather than some chauvinistic remark.
And don't try to be condescending towards me about my veg food comments. I am not saying that people should eat this or that, i just gave my own preference, in a light hearted way, not that different from your own comment about gujrati food.
Personally, I couldn't care less if peole ate meat, veg, leaves, pigs, or even their own cats and dogs.
I did not say anything with the intention of offending anybody's sensiblities.
yes, yehi to mujhe bhi pata chala shadi kay baad.....