Separatist leader begs Pakistan's PM to stay out of Gilgit Baltistan

Roybot

Separatist leader Muhammad Yasin Malik wrote to Pakistan Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif on Tuesday warning him against merging northern areas of strategically important Gilgit Baltistan with Pakistan, saying it will have implications on the “disputed status of Jammu and Kashmir”.

“If Pakistan imposes its sovereign writ over Gilgit Baltistan, India will then have a political and moral right to integrate Kashmir with it. With one stroke, Pakistan will be helping India to consolidate its writ on Kashmir,” the letter reads.

“Respected Prime Minister, I, as someone who represents the aspirations and sentiments of the people of Jammu and Kashmir, urge and appeal to you to stay away from such a course of action. It is not only political wisdom that makes me make this appeal but also respect for the sentiments, sacrifices and aspirations of Kashmiri people,” wrote Malik, who heads the pro-independence Jammu Kashmir Liberation Front (JKLF).

In his letter, Malik says that people of Jammu and Kashmir have been striving for their birth right and lakhs have given their lives towards the struggle since 1947. “People have lost their near and dear ones, homes and yet people of Kashmir hold the struggle dear to their heart. If your government incorporates Gilgit Baltistan into Pakistan, and if as a consequence, India consolidates its hold in Kashmir, this would amount to a bartering of people’s aspirations,” Malik added.

“Kashmir is not about territory. It is about rights of people. Bartering these rights for land means killing the aspirations of people,” Malik said. The China-Pakistan economic corridor was making Pakistan change the constitutional status of Gilgit Baltistan, according to reports, said Malik. “Economic development is good but you have no moral right to make a policy that will adversely affect the future of millions of Kashmiris,” he added.

Read more: Separatist leader begs Pakistan's PM to stay out of Gilgit Baltistan | Daily Mail Online
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

A referendum wont take place in the near future and the people of GB are patriots who deserve the same rights as any other Pakistanis. Therefore integrating them into Pakistan makes sense as denying them full citizenship is a grave injustice. The people of the valley however have a confused mindset. They didnt rise up against the Maharajah, at the behest of their Sheikh (Abdullah) they tolerated the taking over of power in the region by the Indian army, they didnt rise up during operation Gibralter, and to this day they are divided between pro Pakistan and pro complete independence parties with numerous polls showing the majority support the latter. There's only so much that Pakistan can do for such a people hence. Our economy and as a consequence our people have suffered immensely in order to keep their confused independence struggle alive, and yet the biggest victims have been the people of GB. They have more than proven their loyalty to Pakistan on numerous occasion, in contrast to the people of the valley and for that reason I strongly believe GB should be integrated as a full province of Pakistan, no matter what these Kashmiri separatist leaders say.

Historically G.B have no connection with Kashmir issue, Kashmiri people struggling against hostile regime since Dogra rulers till this day While G.B people wants merger with Pakistan. It will not harm our stance over Kashmir.

keep saying tht to urself n do it,,make GB a province

@WAJsal's remarks and comments are most needed at this point since he belongs to Gilgit-Baltistan area.
The highlighted part by OP is itself self-explanatory.These statements are issued by separatist leader, not the people living in GB areas, who always wanted to be with Pakistan as they are clever enough to understand the consequence of staying separate.
Besides, check out the source of this thread 'daily-mail twitter/FB' :lol:
regards

GB,istanis deserve the right to have a say in NA and be granted their constitutional rights but due to Kashmir issue we will have to walk a tight rope in which both parties are pleased

it doesn't matter whether it does or not bcz gilgit baltistan, a land of patriotic Pakistanis deserve rights, deserve representation an deserve the honor of being called Pakistanis. something we have denied them for 68!! years... They are not even mentioned in the constitution. We cannot argue this any longer.. They must be provided these rights... they have been patient about this and their trust in us has been so large that in these 68 years they have lived without rights and have not entertained thoughts about separation. Even now they seek only to come with us and become part of us. They have to be the most patriotic people in Pakistan and thus they deserve representation and rights... Even what we are about to provide is the least not the most!

This is going to happen and this will happen..

They are not becoming a province. They are getting the rights they deserve. I think this minimum structure should make both parties happy.

it doesn't matter whether it does or not bcz gilgit baltistan, a land of patriotic Pakistanis deserve rights, deserve representation an deserve the honor of being called Pakistanis. something we have denied them for 68!! years... They are not even mentioned in the constitution. We cannot argue this any longer.. They must be provided these rights... they have been patient about this and their trust in us has been so large that in these 68 years they have lived without rights and have not entertained thoughts about separation. Even now they seek only to come with us and become part of us. They have to be the most patriotic people in Pakistan and thus they deserve representation and rights... Even what we are about to provide is the least not the most!

This is going to happen and this will happen..

They are not becoming a province. They are getting the rights they deserve. I think this minimum structure should make both parties happy.
Of course!
They must be given their rights,68 years is longtime.It is not about they deserve,rather than that,it is their right to be called Pakistanis and no one on earth is gonna take that,no matter what.
Pakistani regime must take that issue very seriously and must resolve this,before any foreign source exploit it for wrong means.

regards

India has no moral right to an inch of Kashmir. The people will never accept the Hindu hegemony on a Muslim majority region. GB and Kashmir are two different issue.

@WAJsal's remarks and comments are most needed at this point since he belongs to Gilgit-Baltistan area.
The highlighted part by OP is itself self-explanatory.These statements are issued by separatist leader, not the people living in GB areas, who always wanted to be with Pakistan as they are clever enough to understand the consequence of staying separate.
regards
The level of stupidity applied by these people is astonishing, no one is giving GB a provincial status, the legislative assembly will stay; the special rights are being up-graded with constitutional representation and NA seats(that too observers, pathetic to say the least). I don't understand as to why these people are protesting for, are they really that un-educated?
These statements are issued by separatist leader, not the people living in GB areas, who always wanted to be with Pakistan as they are clever enough to understand the consequence of staying separate.
Enough said...
keep saying tht to urself n do it,,make GB a province
if you knew the history you wouldn't be saying this...
http://pamirtimes.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/finalreport.pdf
GB,istanis deserve the right to have a say in NA and be granted their constitutional rights but due to Kashmir issue we will have to walk a tight rope in which both parties are pleased
Good to see you talking some sense.
. They must be provided these rights... they have been patient about this and their trust in us has been so large that in these 68 years they have lived without rights and have not entertained thoughts about separation. Even now they seek only to come with us and become part of us. They have to be the most patriotic people in Pakistan and thus they deserve representation and rights... Even what we are about to provide is the least not the most!
The colonial behavior is hurting, strikes at your heart as a Gilgiti.. till 2009 GB has been treated like worse than a colony, the center has been in direct control, current status in no better. Though it is quite startling to see our incompetent leadership taking actions after Chinas reservations. Hadd hotey hai incompetence key.
regards

Of course!
They must be given their rights,68 years is longtime.It is not about they deserve,rather than that,it is their right to be called Pakistanis and no one on earth is gonna take that,no matter what.
Pakistani regime must take that issue very seriously and must resolve this,before any foreign source exploit it for wrong means.

regards

Yes no doubt about it... It is their God Given birth right to be called Pakistanis and to enjoy the rights other Pakistanis and provinces enjoy. It is height of injustice that we could not provide that in 68 years. We could not find a solution for them where both parties can be satisfied.

That's the only thing I am worried frankly. That they actually take this very seriously and provide them rights and representation and that they don't buckle under the pressure of forces that wish to see the status quo. They must stay firm and ahead. This shouldn't take any longer nor should any time be wasted on meaningless discussions. we have wasted 68 years for that. Its time for action.

regards
I think you did not read the article, the request is by a separatist from Indian side of kashmir... and his argument is 'it will help India in integrating India's side of kashmir'...
I dont think yasin is denying or rejecting that people of GB want integration... Just that such a move will weaken pakistan's stance in international forum.

The level of stupidity applied by these people is astonishing, no one is giving GB a provincial status, the legislative assembly will stay; the special rights are being up-graded with constitutional representation and NA seats(that too observers, pathetic to say the least). I don't understand as to why these people are protesting for, are they really that un-educated?

Enough said...

if you knew the history you wouldn't be saying this...
http://pamirtimes.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/finalreport.pdf

Good to see you talking some sense.

The colonial behavior is hurting, strikes at your heart as a Gilgiti.. till 2009 GB has been treated like worse than a colony, the center has been in direct control, current status in no better. Though it is quite startling to see our incompetent leadership taking actions after Chinas reservations. Hadd hotey hai incompetence key.
regards

Yes it is. It strikes our heart as well and I was appalled and went into shock when I saw that gilgit baltistan was not mentioned in our constitution. Azad Kashmir I understand since that's a separate nation from our point of view but GB was horrible.

Yes the past has been horrible and disgusting and the reason behind this even more so but what matters is the end and the future and INSHA ALLAH you will get your rights and representation ( which is minimum of what you deserve as I seek complete provinces in GB and FATA and I understand the issues but still want it) and with it the rights of a provincial powers in development... The future of both regions united and together is what you and I seek. May ithe future of PAKISTAN be bright with us united.

I think you did not read the article, the request is by a separatist from Indian side of kashmir... and his argument is 'it will help India in integrating India's side of kashmir'...
I dont think yasin is denying or rejecting that people of GB want integration... Just that such a move will weaken pakistan's stance in international forum.
I did read the article along with source and am pretty disappointed to see that two quite different situations are compared,lol

regards