Rediff:Export growth: China does a better job than India

absolutely wrong ,haha.
the biggest consumers of coal are handruds of thermal power plants.and the biggest consumers of electricity are metallurgy and mechanical industries.don't forget we produce about 50% steel and electrolytic aluminum of the world.and we are the biggest ship and construction machinery manufacturer and consumer.and cars ,too.
what you mentioned such as electronics industry does not consume much electricity /coal.

Electronics industry's "processing trade" only inflates the export / import numbers. It doesn't contribute much to the trade surplus.

Let's see Foxconn:

Revenues: $ 120 Billion

Foxconn imports $ 110 Billion; Foxconn exports $ 120 Billion

Now, do you see how the Trillion dollar exports / imports are build up??
(and do you see how big is Foxconn's imports / exports as a percent of China's imports / exports !)

Next: Foxconn employees: 1.23 million
Even if each one of them were to earn $ 5,000 (which is quite high a figure for chinese labour), Foxconn would pay total $ 6.2 Billion.
Add Foxconn's profit = $ 2.7 Billion

Add the two, 6.2 + 2.7 = 9 Billion is the total contribution of Foxconn to china's export surplus.

In summary, the bulk of import / export comes from Foxconn type "processing trade" companies but their contribution to trade surplus is relatively less.

--------

Where is the trade surplus coming from?? --- because chinese don't consume 50% of the world's coal. Their living standards don't show that this 20% of the world's population is enjoying 50% of the coal. (True, 25% of the world's coal, perhaps, is indeed consumed by this 20% of the world's population).

What happends to the remaining 25% of the worlds' coal .... it goes into building the goods consumed outside china ... in Europe, in USA.. and well, maybe, in India too.

Well, if you sell $ 175 billion worth of coal for beneficial use of rest of the world .. you'd want to see that amount in the trade surplus.

Stop crying Indians. China is atleast 2 decades ahead of India. Accept it and start working hard. They are ahead because they take hard decisions. They launch world's longest range ballestic missiles and blow up sats in space. While we undermine our own range just to avoid any anger in the west. Our leaders are cowards.

Both Mumbai and Shanghai were big slums in 1960 but today Shanghai is a futuristic city while 72% population of Mumbai lives in slums. All because of the pussiness of our leaders.

Now instead of subsidizing electronics and manufacturing industries, we subsidize diesel and lpg :hitwall: and other useless stuff because our leaders become pussies infront of aunties like Mamta Banerjee.

Instead of doing labour reforms we are playing caste based labour laws. Where dalits get the worst jobs and high class gets office jobs :hitwall:.

China produces more steel than we produce in 15 yrs. More coal than we produce in 5 yrs and more electricity than we produce in 4 yrs. The manufacture 6 times more stuff than us.

Indian economy is growing no doubt. But how long will be grow on crappy IT and Bpo industry. People talk about Closing gaps btw China and India :lol:. By the time India achieves levels of today's China(if it ever does), China would have gone on to become a innovation based economy than an export economy.

Obviously there is no competition between india & Giant China both are in different leagues. but, US media is opposite to wht reality is & tried to create a competition which is not possible or logical at least now.

Stop crying Indians. China is atleast 2 decades ahead of India. Accept it and start working hard. They are ahead because they take hard decisions. They launch world's longest range ballestic missiles and blow up sats in space. While we undermine our own range just to avoid any anger in the west. Our leaders are cowards.

Both Mumbai and Shanghai were big slums in 1960 but today Shanghai is a futuristic city while 72% population of Mumbai lives in slums. All because of the pussiness of our leaders.

Now instead of subsidizing electronics and manufacturing industries, we subsidize diesel and lpg :hitwall: and other useless stuff because our leaders become pussies infront of aunties like Mamta Banerjee.

Instead of doing labour reforms we are playing caste based labour laws. Where dalits get the worst jobs and high class gets office jobs :hitwall:.

China produces more steel than we produce in 15 yrs. More coal than we produce in 5 yrs and more electricity than we produce in 4 yrs. The manufacture 6 times more stuff than us.

Indian economy is growing no doubt. But how long will be grow on crappy IT and Bpo industry. People talk about Closing gaps btw China and India :lol:. By the time India achieves levels of today's China(if it ever does), China would have gone on to become a innovation based economy than an export economy.

is it me or an indian talks sense?:undecided:
India could become another china in next 30 years if atleast 2% indians population think like you & start working hard instead of poking nose in everyone's affair.:tup:

China produces more steel than we produce in 15 yrs.

Mate.. actually, its 10 years (about 700 million against 70 million).

But that's not important.. what's important is China has cumulatively produced more steel than rest of the world combined since the dawn of industrialisation.

Add the steel production of USA, Japan, India, Russia, Brazil, all Europe ...add Nigeria.. add Papua new Guinea!!! ... and china's steel production is more.

So, 80% of the world population consumes less than 50% of the world's steel .... the remaining 20% consumes 50%. You'd expect this 20% to be super rich, floating in luxuries.... since this 50% of world production is not a "one-odd" year thing.

It's going for over decade.

In the last decade, China produced more steel that USA did since 1776 !!!!!

And that's not important.

China produced more steel "per capita" .. than steel produced "per capita" in USA.

And china is still the "poor man" of the two... ??

Embarassingly poor ... :laugh: :laugh:

Mate.. actually, its 10 years (about 700 million against 70 million).

But that's not important.. what's important is China has cumulatively produced more steel than rest of the world combined since the dawn of industrialisation.

Add the steel production of USA, Japan, India, Russia, Brazil, all Europe ...add Nigeria.. add Papua new Guinea!!! ... and china's steel production is more.

So, 80% of the world population consumes less than 50% of the world's steel .... the remaining 20% consumes 50%. You'd expect this 20% to be super rich, floating in luxuries.... since this 50% of world production is not a "one-odd" year thing.

China produced more steel "per capita" .. than steel produced "per capita" in USA.

Sorry but it didnt make much sense to me. China is a big country and wants to connect every city, build highways, hsr and supertalls etc.

Sorry but it didnt make much sense to me. China is a bid country and wants to connect every city, build highways, hsr and supertalls etc.

50% of the world's steel, 50% of world's cement, 50% of world's coal .. has to be consumed by 20% of the world's population.

Btw.. all this has to be built in 2% of the world's land area (eastern china), which is 1/3rd the size of USA or equal to the size of India.

Sounds like a poor country to me.. no? :laugh: :laugh:

Ahh.. only if chinese could eat coal, steel and cement.

Anyway... "digging"... "digging" .. "digging".

thankyou china. :tup:

whatever you say,we still make a lot of steel,we need them for builing raliways,roads,cars,ships,airplanes,weapons,buildings,bridges,dams...steel is like one of the core raw material for a country's infrastrature and major industries.we don't really care how you laugh at us for producing these much steel.we just need them.

China Beats The Next 10 In Steel, Added Up!

"China accounts for nearly 50% of global steel output
China’s Steel production rose to 59.42 million metric tons in March this year, out of the total 129 million metric tons globally, nearly 50% of world output.

image2.jpg

Sounds like a poor country to me.. no? :laugh: :laugh:

Ahh.. only if chinese could eat coal, steel and cement.

Anyway... "digging"... "digging" .. "digging".

thankyou china. :tup:

you've been calling China poor a lot,but the question is how rich India is?

whatever you say,we still make a lot of steel,we need them for builing raliways,roads,cars,ships,airplanes,weapons,buildings,bridges,dams...steel is like one of the core raw material for a country's infrastrature and major industries.we don't really care how you laugh at us for producing these much steel.we just need them.

Good.. so you see nothing odd.. :laugh:

Ahhh.. pretty NAARMAL... :laugh:

and UK,US,Germany,Japan...they all used to produce way more than they could consume,and you also call them poor...it's better to produce nothing,right?

Man stop crying chins is 2 decades ahead of india this country will atleast need and another 1-2 decade to reach where china is now
China has lifted so many people out of poverty. That remains unmatched in history
& all the big achievements I have always admired china for its hard work :china:

SO STOP CRYING & WORK HARD YINDO BANIYAS

Man stop crying chins is 2 decades ahead of india this country will atleast need and another 1-2 decade to reach where china is now
China has lifted so many people out of poverty. That remains unmatched in history
& all the big achievements I have always admired china for its hard work :china:

you've been calling China poor a lot,but the question is how rich India is?

Veery Veeery Poor..

Simple.. because we don't "dig"..

We let china "dig".. and "dig" .. and "dig".

Damn... we don't let anything escape our country ... LOL.

"Apna bhi Kha liya .. aur doosre se import kerke Kha liya" .. :laugh:

"Kal aur import karenge.... FDI aur remittances hain naaa"... "laugh:

"Aur Parson ka kya hai.... shayad duniya hi na rahe parson tak" .. :laugh:

Veery Veeery Poor..

Simple.. because we don't "dig"..

We let china "dig".. and "dig" .. and "dig".

Damn... we don't let anything escape our country ... LOL.

"Apna bhi Kha liya .. aur doosre se import kerke Kha liya" .. :laugh:

"Kal aur import karenge.... FDI aur remittances hain naaa"... "laugh:

"Aur Parson ka kya hai.... shayad duniya hi na rahe parson tak" .. :laugh:

How old are you ?by the way..

Yup.. India's model is different.

Or we could say, we import $ 1 Trillion worth of "data / software requirements etc" from around the world ... and sell back the processed "software / IT services" at $ 1.07 Trillion. And we make a trade surplus from IT services equal to $ 70 Billion.

It's just that the "components" for IT Services "processing trade" are valued at zero.... so imports / exports don't get fattened up by $ 1 Trillion each.

That said.. India is an energy deficient country. We don't produce 3500 million tonnes of coal .... so we can't expect to export 1750 million tonnes of coal "in kind".

Our model is different ... we won't be exporting coal etc.

Do you know that China doesn't export coal. china is a net Importer of coal. meaning that the coal has negative effect on its trade balance.