PR, Nawaz Sharif, Pakistan's politicians and the democracy dilemma : Why I oppose Nawaz Sharif.

Indeed motorway is waste of money, it's far empty than a barren desert. Indeed metro bus is a waste of money, because no one rides it. Indeed the free laptops are waste of money, they don't turn on, they're mere show pieces.

Oh bhai

QEW must be waste and so will be 410 if we just start blaming highways willy nilly.

Pakistan is almost 100 years behind in infrastructure development.

And yet so many among West settled educated elite are against the same progress that they eat fruits of.

Children are hit by polio in Bannu
While KP gov dances in the moonlight

Children are hit by polio in Bannu
While KP gov dances in the moonlight
KPK to launch 15 month polio eradication drive | Pakistan | Dunya News
Anti-polio campaign: ‘Virus being transmitted to other areas from KPK’ – The Express Tribune
Imran leads KPK polio campaign
Yeah right, dancing in the moonlight like that.
Admittedly, these efforts are not enough, but atleast they're something.

Now tell me which bridge you wanna blow
that will ease your hate against development.
Which bridge in Lahore
That will quench your thirst?
I have no hate for development, so don't give me that bakwas. Which bridge do I want to blow? None. What I would love to do is turn it into an internal motorway, a lot more practical than wasting money on maintaining the bus program and will help a lot with the traffic issues. It would also reduce maintenance costs, allowing that money to be used to fix important issues like the drainage system.

The only thing that will quench my thirst is when Lahore has a proper drainage and gutter system so that I don't have to wade through pools of excrement the next time it rains. If Lahore had a proper gutter system and there was some actual work being done to reduce loadshedding, I'd be all for the Metro Buses and laptops. But when there are no basic facilities available and the infrastructure is in a non-existent toilet, such mega projects are plain stupid.

That (the above paragraph) is my point of view and you should know it if you read the original post properly.

Pakistan is almost 100 years behind in infrastructure development.
Yes, EXACTLY. Infrastructure such as drainage and toilets. Infrastructure such as electricity and water. Not metro buses. For God's sake man, khuda ka hauf karo bhai, think: what is more important, public transportation or sewage?

Why don't you direct all this pent up frustration against PTI gov in KP.

They too are building "jangli bus" instead of building toilets for you.

Please call Khattak. He may have time in between dances and may give you a minute to pour your heart out (I say this nicely otherwise I'd have suggested pouring something else on his lap) hahah.

Indeed motorway is waste of money, it's far empty than a barren desert. Indeed metro bus is a waste of money, because no one rides it. Indeed the free laptops are waste of money, they don't turn on, they're mere show pieces.
One word: Priorities. Think about it. Metro bus is not a waste of money because no one rides it. It is a waste of money because our economy can't afford it and there are a lot more pressing issues that need to be solved. Those people were perfectly happy riding rickshaws and wagons. What they were not happy about was that their rickshaws and wagons had to wade through pulls of sewage whenever it rained and the drainage system was overwhelmed.
Have you ever walked through a flooded road with electric pylons (well, at least they don't have any electricity in them, thanks to PMLN again) and open manholes in it? If not then your point of view is automatically less valuable.

Why don't you direct all this pent up frustration against PTI gov in KP.

They too are building "jangli bus" instead of building toilets for you.

Please call Khattak. He may have time in between dances and may give you a minute to pour your heart out (I say this nicely otherwise I'd have suggested pouring something else on his lap) hahah.
PTI ko baba ji ka thullu, khush? Yaha PTI ki baat to ho hi nahi rahi thi.
They are doing things for education, they did bring police reforms and they did improve the basic conditions of the people in KPK. Now that they suddenly decided to build this jangla bus instead of focusing on the eradication of polio or improving the existing infrastructure, I oppose that wholeheartedly. But that doesn't mean what PMLN is doing is right.

There is no denying that PTI achieved a lot more than PMLN and PPP combined during their few months of governance.
So, logically,despite their shortcomings, they are still a better party to lead the country than PMLN or PPP.

PTI ko baba ji ka thullu, khush? Yaha PTI ki baat to ho hi nahi rahi thi.
They are doing things for education, they did bring police reforms and they did improve the basic conditions of the people in KPK. Now that they suddenly decided to build this jangla bus instead of focusing on the eradication of polio or improving the existing infrastructure, I oppose that wholeheartedly. But that doesn't mean what PMLN is doing is right.

There is no denying that PTI achieved a lot more than PMLN and PPP combined during their few months of governance.
So, logically,despite their shortcomings, they are still a better party to lead the country than PMLN or PPP.

If they are then they will win in 2018.

No need to create all this anarchy.

Another really annoying thing you people like to believe is that If I oppose Nawaz Sharif, I am by default a PTI cultist or something. Doesn't it occur to you people that a human can agree with a human one thing and disagree with him on another?
Agar mai Nawaz Sharif ki metro or uss ke joothey waado ke khilaf hoo to kya iss ka matlab mai PTI ko khuda maan ta hoon? Yeh konsi soch hai bhai? Yeh kiss kissam ki bakwas hai? Kyun, PTI ke illava aur koi Nawaz Sharif ke khilaaf ho hi nahi sakta kya?

Yeh apni fazool siyasat ko chor ke zara dimagh istemal karein or dekehein ke jo baat mai keh raha hun woh sahi hai yah nahi, or agar nahi to kyun nahi. Do not let your hatred for PTI blind you to the truth.

If they are then they will win in 2018.
Arre bhai, yeh kya baat kar rahe ho? Ham log kya 15 mah se bakwas kar rahe hain ke electoral reforms lao, electoral reforms lao?

Why in the name of God do you think we are on and on about electoral reforms??? For precisely this reason. To make sure that the 2018 results are fair.
But when the government constantly opposes these demands, what should we do? Protesting is anarchy, criticizing is anarchy, yeh anarchy hi le ke baith gayi hai humei?

To be a #PMLN supporter you need three things 1. Lack of education or intelligence 2. Lack of morals or shame 3. Happy being a slave #PTI

One word: Priorities. Think about it. Metro bus is not a waste of money because no one rides it. It is a waste of money because our economy can't afford it and there are a lot more pressing issues that need to be solved. Those people were perfectly happy riding rickshaws and wagons. What they were not happy about was that their rickshaws and wagons had to wade through pulls of sewage whenever it rained and the drainage system was overwhelmed.
Have you ever walked through a flooded road with electric pylons (well, at least they don't have any electricity in them, thanks to PMLN again) and open manholes in it? If not then your point of view is automatically less valuable.
Our economy can't support nukes, so was it a waste? Do you know the impact of sanctions? we still can't buy many stuff from numerous countries today.

But it was needed. Just like metro bus was needed to increase revenue. Metro bus can generate lot more revenue but idiots fill the top slots. They can use advertisements for revenue, for example. It also lowers ride cost, downplays smog effect in lahore, and reduce traffic jams.

I'm sure India would've loved your idea and make toilets instead of metro train, doing mars mission and whatnot.

Our economy can't support nukes, so was it a waste?
Irrelevant analogy. Nukes were required for national security, a lot more than some cheap PR stunt.

increase revenue
Seriously? You mean like this?:
The Metro Bus Service, launched at a cost of Rs30 billion for a 27-kilometre route in the provincial metropolis, is causing a daily loss of Rs5 million, it has been learnt.
While a passenger pays Rs20 for one-way travel, the government has to pay a subsidy of Rs40. Informed sources say the service has eaten up more than Rs1.5 billion of public money since its inauguration in February 2013.
Is Metro Bus a success story?

reduce traffic jams.
You clearly haven't been to Lahore. Their stupid flyovers and pillars reduced road space by half. There was absolutely no decrease in the amount of traffic either. So, it ended up increasing traffic jams tenfold.

downplays smog effect in lahore
You just pulled this out of your backside didn't you? It in absolutely no way 'downplays' any 'smog effect' in Lahore. If you're talking about the areas around Ravi which are usually foggy in the winter, the bridge was already small enough, now there's a bunch of railing in the middle. Again, makes it harder for people.

I'm sure India would've loved your idea and make toilets instead of metro train, doing mars mission and whatnot.
So you want to try and copy India? Seriously? Their economy is ten times larger than Pakistan's. They can easily afford a mars mission while maintaining their work for poverty and toilets. Unlike Pakistan, India actually achieved most of its development goals. Again, completely irrelevant example.

Hilarious how we have people who have never even seen Lahore comparing this cheap PR stunt with the Nuclear program.

Irrelevant analogy. Nukes were required for national security, a lot more than some cheap PR stunt.

Seriously? You mean like this?:

Is Metro Bus a success story?

You clearly haven't been to Lahore. Their stupid flyovers and pillars reduced road space by half. There was absolutely no decrease in the amount of traffic either. So, it ended up increasing traffic jams tenfold.

You just pulled this out of your backside didn't you? It in absolutely no way 'downplays' any 'smog effect' in Lahore. If you're talking about the areas around Ravi which are usually foggy in the winter, the bridge was already small enough, now there's a bunch of railing in the middle. Again, makes it harder for people.

So you want to try and copy India? Seriously? Their economy is ten times larger than Pakistan's. They can easily afford a mars mission while maintaining their work for poverty and toilets. Unlike Pakistan, India actually achieved most of its development goals. Again, completely irrelevant example.

Hilarious how we have people who have never even seen Lahore comparing this cheap PR stunt with the Nuclear program.
Motorways are not important? So if army needs to get something from Karachi to Peshawar, they've to travel through those small broken roads, good to know. But anyway, why do people use it or why did Musharraf allow motorway to continue to be built anyway, after, Pakistan doesn't need it. Just like India, they don't need metro train or anything but toilets.

Take some accounting course. Revenue includes losses and profits. So you're wrong.

Have you been to others parts of the world? I seen metro train and busses, yet there are still traffic jams. But know what, without these trains , the jams will be much bigger! Do you really think getting thousands of people to use fast busses and trains is not going to reduce smog or traffic?

Also if India is economy is bigger, their population is also far bigger than ours. Why don't they make toilets before making Delhi metro or other things? Delhi still suffers traffic jams nonetheless.

But I'll say that Lahore needed metro train, not bus. But of course shahbaz needed to win election. And underground metro system is way to go but sadly pakistan can't afford such.

And I've been to Lahore.

Motorways are not important?
Now here comes the strawman. Where did I say Motorways are not important?

Take some accounting course. Revenue includes losses and profits. So you're wrong.
What, seriously :hitwall:? Dimagh theek hai aap ka? One person pays 20 Rs and the government pays 40 Rs for it. Where is the revenue coming from??? I don't need to take any accounting course to know that revenue doesn't magically appear out of thin air.

Have you been to others parts of the world? I seen metro train and busses, yet there are still traffic jams. But know what, without these trains , the jams will be much bigger! Do you really think getting thousands of people to use fast busses and trains is not going to reduce smog or traffic?
Good god. Other parts of the world don't have metros with stops that are 10 km apart, neither do they have huge pillars in the middle of the road. What the hell makes you think that traffic reduced because of metros?? Whoever had a car before this metro would not get rid of it because of this metro. And whoever can afford to buy and travel in one would not spend his time being zaleel and khwaar in your metro bus.
And guess what? Because the stops are far apart and no one likes walking, the rickshaws and wagons are still really popular! No reduction in traffic but the congestion has increased thanks to the road area being halved.

Do you really think getting thousands of people to use fast busses and trains is not going to reduce smog or traffic?
It is not going to do anything if these thousands of people are going to get off and sit on a rickshaw to take them where they want to go. It might have reduced the road commute by a fraction of a percentage but it is simply not worth the money spent on it at this time, when it could have been spent on a lot more important things. You can argue all day long about how wonderful the Metro bus is but one thing is certain: the cost was not worth the benefit and the money was desperately needed elsewhere.

Some perspective here:
A state of the art hospital like the recently developed Rawalpindi Institute of Cardiology was built within Rs2.8 billion, taking that as our benchmark, we would have been able to build 10 such hospitals with the RS30 billion spent on the Metro Bus!

More perspective:
  • Ahmedabad, India $3 million/km
  • Dalian, China $4.5m/km
  • Guangzhou, China $6.5m/km
  • Istanbul, Turkey $10m/km
  • Bogota, Columbia (new phase) $13.3m/km
  • Lima, Peru $10m/km
  • Los Angeles, USA $ 14.4m/km
  • Lahore, Pakistan $11m/km
Given lower labour costs in Pakistan and averaging the above figures, a fair estimate for infrastructure costs should be approximately $5-7m/km.
Therefore, at $11m/km, the Lahore Metrobus cost wise is substantially higher than the benchmark.
Just how 'Fit for Purpose' are the Metrobus projects? - Blogs - DAWN.COM

Read this:
Efficiency
Economists find infrastructural investments vital for improving productivity. Even so, Jean-Paul Rodrigue and Dr Theo Notteboom (2009) note,

“…several transportation investments can be wealth consuming if they merely provide convenience… or service a market size well below any possible economic return with, for instance, projects labelled ‘bridges to nowhere’. In such a context, transport investment projects can be counterproductive…”

The key word here is ‘counterproductive’.

On the other hand, simply laying a few roads or a rail to the coal sites of the country could unlock precious treasures of energy. Mechanisation and technical advice in agriculture, similarly, could as much as double the per acre yields in majority of the country’s farms.
‘Metronomics’ in Lahore: We may be heading for an ‘F’ – The Express Tribune Blog

Why don't they make toilets before making Delhi metro or other things? Delhi still suffers traffic jams nonetheless.
They can afford to make toilets while making metros simultaneously. If you don't believe me, just read this from UNDP:
Millennium Development Goal 1 | UNDP in India
India has been moderately successful
And compare it to Pakistan:
Millennium Development Goal 1 | UNDP in Pakistan
progress on all indicators is lagging.
While India was sending stuff to Mars and making Metros in Delhi, it was also working on its population's well being (i.e 'toilets').

Look, I would be all for the Metro bus and infrastructure development if it was feasible at this point in time. But there is no point arguing about it now that its done, so lets think about the future: we need good leadership and for that we need Democracy : so what about electoral reforms? Why is it that half the parliament is actually against Electronic Machines, even though the whole world (yes, India too) has them? Are they too expensive?

And what about electricity? For PMLN, micro hydel power generation is 'too expensive' but metro buses are not. Doesn't matter how you spin it, the truth is that when PMLN does something it is only for their own benefit.

Now here comes the strawman. Where did I say Motorways are not important?

What, seriously :hitwall:? Dimagh theek hai aap ka? One person pays 20 Rs and the government pays 40 Rs for it. Where is the revenue coming from??? I don't need to take any accounting course to know that revenue doesn't magically appear out of thin air.

Good god. Other parts of the world don't have metros with stops that are 10 km apart, neither do they have huge pillars in the middle of the road. What the hell makes you think that traffic reduced because of metros?? Whoever had a car before this metro would not get rid of it because of this metro. And whoever can afford to buy and travel in one would not spend his time being zaleel and khwaar in your metro bus.
And guess what? Because the stops are far apart and no one likes walking, the rickshaws and wagons are still really popular! No reduction in traffic but the congestion has increased thanks to the road area being halved.

It is not going to do anything if these thousands of people are going to get off and sit on a rickshaw to take them where they want to go. It might have reduced the road commute by a fraction of a percentage but it is simply not worth the money spent on it at this time, when it could have been spent on a lot more important things. You can argue all day long about how wonderful the Metro bus is but one thing is certain: the cost was not worth the benefit and the money was desperately needed elsewhere.

Some perspective here:

More perspective:

Just how 'Fit for Purpose' are the Metrobus projects? - Blogs - DAWN.COM

Read this:
‘Metronomics’ in Lahore: We may be heading for an ‘F’ – The Express Tribune Blog

They can afford to make toilets while making metros simultaneously. If you don't believe me, just read this from UNDP:
Millennium Development Goal 1 | UNDP in India

And compare it to Pakistan:
Millennium Development Goal 1 | UNDP in Pakistan

While India was sending stuff to Mars and making Metros in Delhi, it was also working on its population's well being (i.e 'toilets').

Look, I would be all for the Metro bus and infrastructure development if it was feasible at this point in time. But there is no point arguing about it now that its done, so lets think about the future: we need good leadership and for that we need Democracy : so what about electoral reforms? Why is it that half the parliament is actually against Electronic Machines, even though the whole world (yes, India too) has them? Are they too expensive?

And what about electricity? For PMLN, micro hydel power generation is 'too expensive' but metro buses are not. Doesn't matter how you spin it, the truth is that when PMLN does something it is only for their own benefit.
Meh, I'm not going to read your wall of text.

But for the curious, I'll add, it's very stupid to compare metro costs to other nations/cities. First, we import technology, which inflates the cost extremely. India, Turkey or China do not need to import much technolgies or machineries. Second, not all were made during same time frame. Finally, the faster you build, the more expensive.