Police, Hindu hardliners halt church wedding in India

Devil Soul

Police, Hindu hardliners halt church wedding in India
AFP — PUBLISHED 19 MINUTES AGO
NEW DELHI: A group of hardline Hindu activists and police stormed a church in central India and stopped a wedding midway after accusing the pastor of forcefully converting the bride to Christianity, an official said Thursday.

It comes as India's Christian minority has sounded the alarm over a recent rise in attacks on churches and members of the faith, fuelling tensions over religious freedom in the diverse, secular country.

As the wedding got underway at the Church of God in India in Madhya Pradesh state, men belonging to the fringe Hindu outfit Bajrang Dal barged in accompanied by police, who arrested ten people, a church spokesman said.

Right-wing Hindu groups accuse churches and missionaries of targeting tribal people and other poor groups with the aim of converting them to Christianity, claims denied by the clergy.

"They said it is a matter of forceful conversion and arrested the bride, the groom, their parents as well pastors of two churches who were present there," Mariyosh Joseph, a spokesman for the church in Satna district told AFP.

"How can you storm into a religious place and stop a ceremony like this? You will never see such a thing happening at a temple or a mosque," he said.

The area police superintendent said the wedding was stopped because the girl was a Hindu and not yet 18, the legal age for women to marry in India.

"The girl is a Hindu and she is 17. We acted on a complaint made by the bride's uncle. The matter is under investigation," Mithilesh Shukla told AFP.

The Indian Express daily said the couple had converted to Christianity four years ago, but district authorities were not informed ─ a crime under state laws.

The church insisted the couple were Christians and accused the police of "hiding behind excuses" to justify their conduct.

It follows a series of attacks on Christian religious sites. In March, three men were arrested in neighbouring Chhattisgarh state after they vandalised a church during Sunday mass.

Last year, vandals wrapped a dog chain around the neck of a statue of the Virgin Mary in the northern tourist city of Agra.

Priests and other Christian leaders have blamed the attacks on religious hardliners, who they say have become emboldened since Prime Minister Narendra Modi's right-wing government swept to power in 2014.

A series of mass conversions of Muslims and Christians to Hinduism, allegedly influenced by Hindu hardliners sometimes promising financial incentives, have also raised concern.

Around 80 per cent of India's 1.2 billion population is Hindu, but it is also home to large numbers of Muslims, Christians and Buddhists.

Article says the girl is a minor, 17 years old. It's a crime under Indian Law. If it's true, punish people who are involved in this.

beyond the modern-western-morality-imposed "voting age" and magical "genius sprouting age" of 18 you are talking as if in india any sensible person, including females, are free to make their own decisions in life ( like of marriage ) when they turn "major age" of 18 and there won't be any opposition and oppression from parents and ain-fayl uncles.

india is the "honor killing" capital of the world, whether victim is 15 or 30.

plus in this case the lady was a hindu and by these sanghis stopping her from her wish to marry whoever she wants they are violating the human right of that lady... they should be arrested.

rajesh khanna and dimple kapadia were married when when he was 31 and she 16... the beautiful moushumi chatterjee married jayant mukherjee when she was 16... in neither case the skies came crashing on our heads.

It's a crime under Indian Law.

is "honor killing" a crime under indian law??

is a bank causing farmer suicides enough reason in indian law to severely punish the bank agents and management??

beyond the modern-western-morality-imposed "voting age" and magical "genius sprouting age" of 18 you are talking as if in india any sensible person, including females, are free to make their own decisions in life ( like of marriage ) when they turn "major age" of 18 and there won't be any opposition and oppression from parents and ain-fayl uncles.

india is the "honor killing" capital of the world, whether or not one is 18 or 30.

plus in this case the lady was a hindu and by these sanghis stopping her from his wish to marry whoever she wants they are violating the human right of that lady... they should be arrested.

rajesh khanna and dimple kapadia were married when when he was 31 and she 16... so what changed??

is "honor killing" a crime under indian law??

is a bank causing farmer suicides enough reason in indian law to severely punish the bank agents and management??

You have a right to stage a protest to legalize pedophilia, you can exercise that right in India. But as long as the law is there all Indians must abide by it.

"killing" is a crime under Indian law so is Suicide.

"The girl is a Hindu and she is 17. We acted on a complaint made by the bride's uncle. The matter is under investigation," Mithilesh Shukla told AFP

The area police superintendent said the wedding was stopped because the girl was a Hindu and not yet 18, the legal age for women to marry in India.

If these two statements are correct then the whole case falls flat .

You have a right to stage a protest to legalize pedophilia, you can exercise that right in India. But as long as the law is there all Indians must abide by it.

well, i have already you to go to dimple kapadia and tell her that her husband was a "paedophile"... tell us her reaction... in fact why don't you say this to their daughters as well, twinkle and rinkie??

here is twinkle's twitter id :

https://twitter.com/mrsfunnybones

do this right now.

also, create a thread for this as some mothers of a few desi members of pdf would also have been married before the "magical age" of 18.

"killing" is a crime under Indian law so is Suicide.

so suicide is a crime but those who cause the suicides are not criminal??

islam declares suicide to be haraam but islam also removes the socio-economic reasons for suicide.

india in 1947 should have adopted islam as the main guide for the constitution or the modern socialism version of it.

and tell me the specific indian law against "honor killing".

india in 1947 should have adopted islam as the main guide for the constitution or the modern socialism version of it.

Yup, then in this case, the priest would have been lawfully hanged for blasfemy for converting someone to a fake religion.

And why would you need a specific law for honour killing, when killing itself is against the law. Go and research about the number of cases where death has been awarded for honour killing.

islam declares suicide to be haraam but islam also removes the socio-economic reasons for suicide.

Yup right, so how can one get 72 virgins?

also, create a thread for this as some mothers of a few desi members of pdf would also have been married before the "magical age" of 18.
And those desi members would do anything to ensure their daughters do not meet the same fate. But alas, seems like you have already decided that your yet to be born daughter will be the 4th wife of your uncle.

Yup, then in this case, the priest would have been lawfully hanged for blasfemy for converting someone to a fake religion.

1. isn't shahrukh married to the hindu gauri?? isn't the hindu man, dinesh gundu rao, married to the muslim, tabu?? islam is in reality not a strict set of rituals and prayers it is made out to be as part of anti-islam propaganda, despite what many so-called followers of islam portray it to be... in truth, islam is early socialism that has been adopted in variations for civil laws in various countries including india.

2. islam doesn't have a priest system... islam came about to end the oppression of the priest class... it is another matter that the wahabis, the deobandis and the ayatollais in modern times have artificially inserted a priest class.

3. under islami wedding/marriage law, the bride and groom marry in a legal ceremony attended by a local judge ( qazi ) and two witnesses... the marriage is only by consent and no mother or uncle can prevent it... jab miyaan biwi raazi toh kya karega qazi. :)

And why would you need a specific law for honour killing, when killing itself is against the law. Go and research about the number of cases where death has been awarded for honour killing.

"honor killing" wasn't a specially identified crime in india until a few years ago, that term didn't even exist in india... the indian laws against killing since 1947 didn't prevent "honor killing"... didn't a case happen in tamil nadu only a few days ago??

this crime against humanity must be first specially identified because the objective must be to point to the evils in the indian traditional social set-up... identify, punish, eradicate.

any parent or family member who "honor kills" deserves nothing less than a public firing squad.

can you show me cases where "honor killing" has led to hanging of the criminal family members??

this[1] is a case from 2011 :
Police in India say they have arrested eight people for stoning to death a young couple who had a love affair which met with their disapproval.

The accused include the parents of the murdered woman, who died alongside her lover. He came from a lower social group in Uttar Pradesh state.
In the latest instance, police believe that Rajiv Verma and his girlfriend Renu Pal were stoned to death by a mob of about 200 people, including many of the girl's relatives.
Last month India's Supreme Court warned senior officials that they could be prosecuted if they failed to prevent such killings from taking place.
this happened in 2011 so obviously the supreme court's warning hasn't worked because these high crimes continue till now in 2016.

why isn't usa government bringing democracy to this largely barbaric country?? in the same 2011 when this crime happened usa government and its allies ( including indian navy ) were busy destroying the libyan jamahiriya where socialism prevailed and the ladies could freely be with who they wanted and marry who they wanted.

Yup right, so how can one get 72 virgins?

i am talking about eradication of unnatural socio-economic reasons that cause suicides ( i am posting a farmer suicide thread shortly ) and you are talking about 72 virgins??

---

[1] http://www.bbc.com/news/world-south-asia-13294863

well, i have already you to go to dimple kapadia and tell her that her husband was a "paedophile"... tell us her reaction... in fact why don't you say this to their daughters as well, twinkle and rinkie??

here is twinkle's twitter id :

https://twitter.com/mrsfunnybones

do this right now.

so suicide is a crime but those who cause the suicides are not criminal??

I told you what the law states, if you feel so strongly about legalizing pedophilia in India why don't you start a movement with like minded people.

"honor killing" is an euphemism for MURDER.

PS: Kindly refrain from dragging ISLAM in this thread, you might swear by it but for me it doesn't mean anything. Make sure not to bring in off topic issues.

I told you what the law states, if you feel so strongly about legalizing pedophilia in India why don't you start a movement with like minded people.

you are avoiding my call to you for action.

you haven't yet sent the message to twinkle khanna. :)

"honor killing" is an euphemism for MURDER.

still, it's a specific kind of murder that shows the barbarity and capitalism-driven structure that is undeniably present in the background of indian society.

what you are doing is talking about a assumed moralistic crime ( marriage of the 17-year-old girl in the op ) to avoid condemning a real crime ( "honor killing" and the suicides created by india's socio-economic system ).

PS: Kindly refrain from dragging ISLAM in this thread, you might swear by it but for me it doesn't mean anything. Make sure not to bring in off topic issues.

how is it off-topic??

we were talking about marriage by choice ( especially of the female ) and i said that is the islami way, and then we got onto the topic of suicides and "honor killings" and i said that a true islami system wouldn't have allowed the socio-economic reasons for those events to occur.

here's how islam is adopted by the indian legal system ( though not sadly applied every time ) :

https://defence.pk/threads/prenups-in-indian-weddings-and-islam.413278/

lekin theek hai, i exit this thread because i have my my points.

rajesh khanna and dimple kapadia were married when when he was 31 and she 16... the beautiful moushumi chatterjee married jayant mukherjee when she was 16... in neither case the skies came crashing on our heads.

Well the law was different then. Moushumi married in the late 60s, Dimple in early 70s. Until 1978 the min. age for girls was 15. I am pretty sure you knew that but still brought such useless arguments to score points over @ranjeet

as if in india any sensible person, including females, are free to make their own decisions in life ( like of marriage ) when they turn "major age" of 18

Just wanted to say, the police can only do much when there is a complaint. You do know that marriages of minors are not void unless the girl, boy or their parents make a complaint (at the time or after are a major). So technically girls below 18 and boys below 21 can get married. So your argument of 'magical "genius sprouting age" of 18' doesn't hold any ground.
Why not accept the possibility of the girl being forced by her parents but helped by her uncle. If she doesn't have a complaint the police can't stop her from marrying.

If she is minor cops got right to stop... but if the marriage stopped because of religion then it would be pathetic act..

According to CSP she was 10days short of 18..

If the church was conducting the marriage fully knowing she was a Minor, that would have been pathetic.

Or do you think chrisitans have divine right to have $ex with minors ?

BTW the report also said that the conversion was not reported as per state law.

So if the church was knowingly breaking the Law that too would have been pathetic. Don't you think so ?