PML-N resistance to PTI's Hydel Vision in KPK

PTI’s hydel vision

View attachment 111311

There was a vision to provide much of Pakistan’s power needs through myriad such schemes in the canals and mountains, but it fell by the wayside with the arrival of American aid in the form of mega dams. — File photo/AFP

One of the better things that the PTI government in KP has done is to give a new push to microhydel power generation schemes.

Most recently, their attempts to pursue the Gorkin Matiltan hydropower project (84MW) in Swat has met with resistance in the Central Development Working Party, a government department tasked with approving projects whose cost is less than Rs3bn.

Members of the CDWP, which is run by the PML-N federal government, say the project cost is too high, and that the cost of the electricity it will generate is also too high for a hydel project. They compare this project with another one in KP which was completed at slightly below the cost of Gorkin Matiltan.

It is hard to avoid the impression that the resistance to this project is political. If the CDWP members, which is chaired by the deputy chairman of the Planning Commission, Ahsan Iqbal, are serious about comparing the project costs of Gorkin Matiltan with that of Duber Khwar, they should also note that the latter was begun more than a decade ago.

The first electricity ever generated in the territories we now call Pakistan was from a microhydel scheme in Renala Khurd. The next larger power generation was also a microhydel scheme in Malakand valley, built by the British in the 1920s.

There was a vision to provide much of Pakistan’s power needs through myriad such schemes in the canals and mountains, but it fell by the wayside with the arrival of American aid in the form of mega dams. The PTI government has recently given new life to the vision, and is taking concrete steps on the ground to implement it.

In return, the PML-N government, which never raised concerns about the cost of generation from the Nandipur project, is obstructing the scheme, arguing its costs are too high. Again, it is hard not to see this as obstructionist politics standing in the way of reviving a promising vision, and innovative approaches, to solving Pakistan’s power crisis.

Published in Dawn, October 5th, 2014

-----------------------------------------------------

So N-League govt is clearly trying to create hurdles in KP govt's hydel projects. Ahsan Iqbal tries to act like an intellectual in talk shows and lectures others at importance of new small dams, but when it comes to KPK, he is trying to sabotage these projects. Shame on N-league, this democracy won't get derailed by such moves, right?

And this news also confirms the position initiatives KP govt has taken in Hydro Projects.

@Aether @Chak Bamu @Devil Soul @cb4 @SBD-3 @arushbhai @Tameem @Fracker @Sedqal @balixd @Muhammad Omar @Leader @pkuser2k12 @Jzaib @Pakistani shaheens @Bratva @Crypto @Horus @airmarshal @Pakistanisage @AstanoshKhan @Pukhtoon @chauvunist @A.Rafay @Armstrong @HRK @Akheilos @AZADPAKISTAN2009 @Bilal. @Dr. Stranglove @EyanKhan @Fahad Khan 2 @graphican @Khalidr @Luftwaffe @Marshmallow @mr42O @nomi007 @Peaceful Civilian @PWFI @Rashid Mahmood @Rafael @RescueRanger @SHAMK9 @TankMan @Zarvan

Sorry to say it is a pathetic thread.

84MW power plant should not be even discussed when talking about power needs of the country.

-- sumandar say milay piasay ko shabnam
-- bakhili hay yeh, razzaki nahi hai.

you all are downright $tupid to be fighting on a grain of rice when the the country needs millions of tones of food.

So sad to see our educated elite come down to primitive vehshis.

Oh meray piaray bhai logo!

just sit down and think for a moment

Will this 84 MW run of river will make a difference for one town, one city etc. ? you betcha!

Will this change the electricity profile of the country.? Fork No!

But forking we must do, in the name of PTI or PML-N or JI or MQM etc. etc.

Who the fork cares about our beautiful country. Who gives a damn!

Sorry to say it is a pathetic thread.

84MW power plant should not be even discussed when talking about power needs of the country.

-- sumandar say milay piasay ko shabnam
-- bakhili hay yeh, razzaki nahi hai.

you all are downright $tupid to be fighting on a grain of rice when the the country needs millions of tones of food.

So sad to see our educated elite come down to primitive vehshis.

Oh meray piaray bhai logo!

just sit down and think for a moment

Will this 84 MW run of river will make a difference for one town, one city etc. ? you betcha!

Will this change the electricity profile of the country.? Fork No!

But forking we must do, in the name of PTI or PML-N or JI or MQM etc. etc.

Who the fork cares about our beautiful country. Who gives a damn!

Every MW counts. And the plan is to make lots of these. If PMLN won't let a single on get built, how will we build more of these? Pakistan desperately NEEDS electricity. DESPERATELY.

I agree that political sh!t-shovelling shouldn't affect the country's development, but here PMLN are the ones at fault.

Every MW counts. And the plan is to make lots of these. If PMLN won't let a single on get built, how will we build more of these? Pakistan desperately NEEDS electricity. DESPERATELY.

I agree that political sh!t-shovelling shouldn't affect the country's development, but here PMLN are the ones at fault.

When a man is dying of hunger, you can't put one grain in his mouth and say next grain will come 1 month later.

Yes every MW counts and so does every grain.

but getting stuck on single grain and fighting like poor homeless kids will not revive the dying man, or the need of electricity in Pak.

We need bold plans to add minimum 500 MW at a time. Anything less is just empty promise.

When a man is dying of hunger, you can't put one grain in his mouth and say next grain will come 1 month later.

Yes every MW counts and so does every grain.

but getting stuck on single grain and fighting like poor homeless kids will not revive the dying man, or the need of electricity in Pak.

We need bold plans to add minimum 500 MW at a time. Anything less is just empty promise.

These bold plans are more like empty promises. They never, ever come true due to one reason or another. When someone is dying of hunger, do you feed them one roti when you get it or do you say "lets wait for the full main course which will come next month" ?
In 2007 we used to hear that loadshedding will finish by 2011, in 2011 we were hearing that it will finish in 2014, now in 2014 we are still waiting for some bold mega project to start working.
Yes, bold plans to generate electricity are required but so are smaller, more realistic and faster plans. Both have a place in Pakistan. There is absolutely no excuse for PML-N blocking this project.

These bold plans are more like empty promises. They never, ever come true due to one reason or another. When someone is dying of hunger, do you feed them one roti when you get it or do you say "lets wait for the full main course which will come next month" ?
In 2007 we used to hear that loadshedding will finish by 2011, in 2011 we were hearing that it will finish in 2014, now in 2014 we are still waiting for some bold mega project to start working.
Yes, bold plans to generate electricity are required but so are smaller, more realistic and faster plans. Both have a place in Pakistan. There is absolutely no excuse for PML-N blocking this project.

oh Bhai meray

We are going in circles. you win. OK? Happy now?

for serious dent in power needs, we need 3-4 years of consistent work on 500+ MW systems.

this is only possible when there is no dharna, total stability, and political understanding.

If IK comes in power he will have to use the same formula.

there is no magic to it.

Idiot Khan started hitting below the belt. Now Nawaz has hit back in his groins. Though, it is unfortunate, this is what happens when you start playing dirty. PTI violated the rules of the game; now they should not whine when the opponents respond similarly.

monopoly hay over power generation agar dams ban gaey tu Mian Mansha,Malik Raiz aur in k political share holders kay rental power say kon bijli lay ga simple as that.

you can build this particular dam, and still there will be no impact on Mansha AND IK's king maker Tareen.

Oont kay moonh main zeera, is the other name of this dam.

If IK is serious, he should work on KBD, then you will see significant change in power generation.

oh Bhai meray

We are going in circles. you win. OK? Happy now?

for serious dent in power needs, we need 3-4 years of consistent work on 500+ MW systems.

this is only possible when there is no dharna, total stability, and political understanding.

If IK comes in power he will have to use the same formula.

there is no magic to it.

Bhai that isn't even my argument.
I am saying that if these political parties bring their rivalries in the way of the country's development, the country will be in circles.
All these mega projects are good and all but that doesn't mean you don't let any other project work.

Bhai that isn't even my argument.
I am saying that if these political parties bring their rivalries in the way of the country's development, the country will be in circles.
All these mega projects are good and all but that doesn't mean you don't let any other project work.

Agreed. power gen should not be a political tool.

But sadly it is.

BTW, a minor correction. 84 MW is not a mega project. We should start saying mega project when we see 500 MW capacity.

But sadly it is.

BTW, a minor correction. 84 MW is not a mega project. We should start saying mega project when we see 500 MW capacity.

Provincial governments don't have that sort of capability yet. They couldn't even get a 84mw project approved. 500mw? No chance.

They do now. After 18th amendment.

Bring a 500 MW plant and you will see quick job.

The only thing is that Feds involve in if KP is asking Fed from more money for operation and building.

For good feasible projects that's not the case.

But sadly it is.

By mega project I was referring to the ones the federal PMLN government is promising. 84 MW is actually a micro project, "micro-hydel power generation"
Both are helpful, both are required, neither should be sabotaged by politicians.

By mega project I was referring to the ones the federal PMLN government is promising. 84 MW is actually a micro project, "micro-hydel power generation"
Both are helpful, both are required, neither should be sabotaged by politicians.
84 MW aka miros look good if private parties do it.

Governments should not try to spend money where privates can easily fill the gap.

Imran's boss/financier aka Tareen already has a micro project and he is selling electricity to the LESCO.

Any electricity project is important for our future growth. Doing politics on these projects will definitely hurt the country's interest.