PM okays lifting of 32% flour subsidy

guys my point is very clear . no increase in food prices .just 10 -20 basic food items .
atta
daals
local ghee/oil
spices like chili salt etc
local chicken /meats
fruits
vegetables
rice
sugar
milk
etc

please note there is a poor country like us named egypt where since last 50-60 years bread price is smae . last time gov tried to increase bread price in 1977 which was turned violent and forced gov to reverse change . a bread is basic need not ayashi .

increase anything else i will not oppose but basic life items must be strict in control
Imran bhai ...Tabdeeli:cheers::cheesy:
batti bana leen tabdeeli ki adhi hamary pichwary main deen adhi apny ye log

From the ground underneath the land. From the rivers using tube Wells. Are you seriously arguing we don't have enough water to grow more food? My family grows 2 seasons of crops in AJK based purely on rainfall. No tube Wells, no diverting rivers.

I mean he could dot the land with massive talabs to gather rainwater and irrigate the land. Anything is possible if he like everyone else was not hostage to the land owning class.
bhai jaan in dry places like Balochistan, ground water is limited, enough to perhaps satisfy drinking needs, but not to irrigate crop fields, for that you need water diverted from rivers, streams or dams/reservoir through canal system...All of which cost money to put in place.

In other places you can dig up wells and extract ground water, but it's finite and depended on rains to replenish, and you can use them to irrigate smaller farmlands but not the massive scale that would create food surplus in Pakistan.

that is gov policies issue but bread and butter is for every human's issue . cars per tax kam or atty per subsidy khatam ? you have no idea food prices can burn a country .

Sir to explain in layman terms. There are 2 things.

1) By fixing the price for 5 years our wheat production remained stangnant we need to increase the base price to incentivize farmers and increase crop output because we consume more and more wheat each year.
Our farmers were moving away from agriculture and selling their land to real state. This was much needed to stop that as it concerns food security. Over a decade we became net importer from exporter.
We had the highest production of wheat last year and this year there will be record crop as well. Our driver brought over a 10kg bag of wheat as his crop was very good and he was happy during last season.

2) This increase in fixed procurement price was covered via subsidies. Most of the people on this forum are already buying wheat at non subsidised rates, at I think more than 2000Rs per 40kg so this does not affect us.

Governemnt does not procure all the wheat, this subsidy was limited to Governemnt stock. What happened is with the already established market rate the majority of subsidy amount was skimmed off by the dealers, Mills ( basically middle men) not to the average buyer.

Market rate is 1210 rupees per 20kg, 2420 Rs per 40kg (flour) in Punjab. In karachi its 2640Rs / 40kg.
The government was releasing its stock at 1475Rs ( wheat). No flour was sold at 1600Rs in market. This method of subsidy does not work. Infact this model does not work.

The lower income segment relies on utility stores. This has a direct impact on consumer. As long as utility store prices are maintained I do not see any impact on the segment that relies on government subsidy.

guys my point is very clear . no increase in food prices .just 10 -20 basic food items .
atta
daals
local ghee/oil
spices like chili salt etc
local chicken /meats
fruits
vegetables
rice
sugar
milk
etc

please note there is a poor country like us named egypt where since last 50-60 years bread price is smae . last time gov tried to increase bread price in 1977 which was turned violent and forced gov to reverse change . a bread is basic need not ayashi .

increase anything else i will not oppose but basic life items must be strict in control

batti bana leen tabdeeli ki adhi hamary pichwary main deen adhi apny ye log
Jo is daffa bijli k bills mey teeka lagga hey wo bhool gaye?
37 din ka bill.mey bill dekh kar heraan ho gaya cheeze b wahi hain usage b wahi phir bill kyu itna ziyadah hey baad mey pata chala tabdeeli ka teeka laga hey.7 din ka extra charge kiya hey.
Ab wo arbo rupoo ka hisab kon dey ga?

It's okay soon a politician will say PAKISTANI AVAM DONT NEED FLOUR they can just buy bread 🤦‍♂️

frequent bad news under PTI, i am ashamed that i voted these idiots, it is becoming way too difficult to deal with day to day expenses salary hasn't increase much but inflation is sky rocketing ... i am thinking to leave country once again and go back ..

Good job, massive wheat shortage coming ahead. People may kick themselves for wanting tabdelei.

that is gov policies issue but bread and butter is for every human's issue . cars per tax kam or atty per subsidy khatam ? you have no idea food prices can burn a country .
Subsidy should be targeted no sense to do global subsidy..
Sir to explain in layman terms. There are 2 things.

1) By fixing the price for 5 years our wheat production remained stangnant we need to increase the base price to incentivize farmers and increase crop output because we consume more and more wheat each year.
Our farmers were moving away from agriculture and selling their land to real state. This was much needed to stop that as it concerns food security. Over a decade we became net importer from exporter.
We had the highest production of wheat last year and this year there will be record crop as well. Our driver brought over a 10kg bag of wheat as his crop was very good and he was happy during last season.

2) This increase in fixed procurement price was covered via subsidies. Most of the people on this forum are already buying wheat at non subsidised rates, at I think more than 2000Rs per 40kg so this does not affect us.

Governemnt does not procure all the wheat, this subsidy was limited to Governemnt stock. What happened is with the already established market rate the majority of subsidy amount was skimmed off by the dealers, Mills ( basically middle men) not to the average buyer.

Market rate is 1210 rupees per 20kg, 2420 Rs per 40kg (flour) in Punjab. In karachi its 2640Rs / 40kg.
The government was releasing its stock at 1475Rs ( wheat). No flour was sold at 1600Rs in market. This method of subsidy does not work. Infact this model does not work.

The lower income segment relies on utility stores. This has a direct impact on consumer. As long as utility store prices are maintained I do not see any impact on the segment that relies on government subsidy.
Well
Pakistani have two option
1. Targeted subsidy and growth
2. Print rupees ..lead to defualt ..begging and arabs bailing us out

Choice is yours choose wisely
But there is no grantee arabs will be there next time..lebanon thought so too

Subsidy should be targeted no sense to do global subsidy..

Well
Pakistani have two option
1. Targeted subsidy and growth
2. Print rupees ..lead to defualt ..begging and arabs bailing us out

Choice is yours choose wisely
But there is no grantee arabs will be there next time..lebanon thought so too
Dont you think sooner or later we will go default? we will never come out frol debt trap and will keep paying interest. On other side population will keep increasing and we will have shortage of food and will habe inflation.

From where we will generate dollars?

jab tak aap $3 billion ki lahore metro train mai safar ka maza lai
why not peshawar metro :D
Kam az kam aik kashti :D sa to achai he ha prerni ??

yes our peerniii g is much better then her predecessor. she is already busy in preparing country's mental hospitals for GHABRANAY WALAY patients who will be in millions. the motto of the staff will b AAAAAAPPPPP NE GHABRANAAAAAA NAHI HAAIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII:mod:

LAHORE (APP): Bushra Bibi, wife of Prime Minister Imran Khan, on Wednesday visited the Punjab Institute of Mental Health and reviewed the facilities available for the patients with mental health disorders.

She toured various sections of the health facility including the emergency block and medical treatment section and instructed the staff to extend as much care to the patients.

Bushra Bibi urged giving special attention to rehabilitation of drug addicts and the elderly people with mental illnesses.

She also visited the affiliated kitchen and examined the quality of hygiene and the food for the patients.

Bushra Bibi has a special interest in social work and has been frequently undertaking visits to shelter homes and orphanages to focus on the uplift of the underprivileged sections of the society.

Incentives and the application of best agricultural practices/modern seeds need to be prioritized if an increase in crop yields is to be achieved. What is the status of the Agricultural portion of CPEC. If Pakistan can at least achieve Chinese levels of crop yields, it would be a significant boost to food production.

Flour/wheat/daal, water and electricity..

Isko chhod kar government kuch bhi kare.. Subsidy add kare yaa remove, jyada fark nahi padta per.... Ye should be available to every people with affordable price.

These decision will impact next election as all voters will feel impact of rise in prices

• Imran Khan is being slowly led into a very bad political position , and decisions like hiking prices for food at such drastic margins will be felt widely

Dont you think sooner or later we will go default? we will never come out frol debt trap and will keep paying interest. On other side population will keep increasing and we will have shortage of food and will habe inflation.

From where we will generate dollars?
Population rise is not an issue but an oppurtunity
Debt is not an issue for pakistan

Issue is curving to subsidize everything..
Subsidize govt institutions and subsidize food or depress food prices by desrroying the farmers..
We have cheapest oil prices in the region..
All this evetually is counter product and leads to collapse and rebound inflation..in 2015-2017 inflation was at 2% ..unnatural for a country with dropping imports..

Compare this to bengaldesh with booming economy and inflation of 5% but poverty is probably still very high in bengaldesh

Pakistan wants shortcuts to development..unfortunately they dont exists..in the search for shortcuts we jump 10 feets ahead and then jump 20 feets back..

Regarding inflation..first 24 months was all due to devaluation that we did all due to prior govt policies

Regarding this year inflation..mostly due to withdrawal of subsidies and global inflation which at USA is around 6% so what do you expect in pakistan for it to be??

What i expect is PTI govt buckling under pressure and we going back to cycle of boom and burst ..that is printing notes..

Let see whether arabs bail us out this time or will we end as lebanon.. default..and wether we will use indian rupee or chinese yen as our local currency afterwards..geniuenly thought rupee will hit 200 after IMF deal in 2018 but it didnt happen..may be i will be wrong again..who knows

But to think that it took 10+ years of policies for bengaldesh and India to stand on toes and we will do it in 24 months whilebour crisis was 10 times worse is nothing but dewaney ka khawab..

You dont fix your productivity in few months..infact you dont even get investor confidence in that period
These decision will impact next election as all voters will feel impact of rise in prices

• Imran Khan is being slowly led into a very bad political position , and decisions like hiking prices for food at such drastic margins will be felt widely
Voters should vote for nawaz sharif

I think pakistan needs to default to learn it lesson.
especially the middle salary class and army needs to learn the mess it created

We have created a huge pending doom for inability to fix power sector and huge pension liabilities, in addition to the opium of subsidies
50% inflation due to 50% devaluation and global inflation isnt enough

We need true defualt and and 500-1000% inflation so people understand that this isnt a joke

O bhai, all of this "bahana" to not take any substantial steps due to pure laziness and sheer incompetence i.e. an end to aarhti system. cut out the middle man or force them to reduce their margin and increase payment to farmers. strict regulation and management is needed. but for that, you need aql, and hardwork; one no one has, and the other, no one wants to do, specially our civil service and politicians.