its not airforce do you know anything ABC abut airliners ?or because its word pakistan so you have to sya something bad ??????
its need and routes matters every airline have such fleet now look hare and told me which one is wrong induction in fleet ? they induct three types ATR - A320 AND 777s recently nothing can be better then this
bhai mery i got it A-310 is not the choice its our older work horse when it was working working nice with b-747sYes, and same philosophy (Zoo one) applied by Indian carriers & someone bites the dust & others are with tons of debt in their Balance sheet.
Currently all airlines (who are in huge debt) are discarding wide body aircraft in favour of narrow body.
Even PIA have 2 wide body twin engine jets B777, A310 (instead use single wide body) to save cost.
ATR is no problem in regional routes but rest combination is mismatched when use very low number of Aircraft in such distress fiscal condition.
Rule of the thumb is for any near bankrupt Airline is don't make zoo of Airplanes.
So Pakistan can buy expensive fighter jets but it cant buy a civilian jet for the benefit of its own people?
Hahaha ehtramehteram krne ki try krte hain hansi nikal jati hai
Sometimes I re-read your title. Can't believe you are a TTA. You talk senseThey need to improve their meals and punctuality, along with out dated cabin interiors in the A310s and non-functioning AVOD in 777s.....
Gentlemen, here are some details on the fleet:
ATR - Ideal for domestic short, thin routes.
A310- They have recovered their capital investment. So the only expense being incurred by these aircrafts is basically operational expense.
B777 - They have proved to be a reliable workhorse on long routes, hence the repeat orders
B787- Very fuel efficient and ideal for thin long routes. But PIA is laying off buying it since it's still going through the "teething phase." Secondly, Being a composite heavy aircraft, PIA will need serious infrastructure investment to keep it flying ,OR have an agreement with a foreign MRO who has the technical capability to do so. The latter is not that big an issue.
@ACE OF THE AIR Your input on this thread would be appreciated
There is no teething phase, with current routes, loans and mis-management, PIA will never turn profit enough to buy new planes. Lease is the only option.
... i.e. technical problems till today,
Bhai sahab, I'm not talking about Lease Vs Buy. I'm talking about the Boeing 787 still having "teething issues" i.e. technical problems till today, in comparison to the B777 or even the A330. Unlike the B777, the B787 is NOT a mature product and is still going through it's phases.
On the flip side, once the technical problems are ironed out, and it matures, it would be a very good aircraft for long, thin routes.
Such as...?
There were some issues early on related to its lithium batteries catching fire or smoking. The whole system is now working okay, and the batteries themselves have been protected inside fire-containment enclosures. There have been no other major issues with the 787.