Pak's defence budget pales in comparison to India's, says spokesman

Pakistan and India are 2 completely different stories and will have difference in their respective budgets.

Wo kaya hai na pancho ungliya braber nahi hoti na.. :lol:
Btw i gotta Puggy to sit in my couch and easy to maintain :D

Even i have got a pug 2 labrador and one bull mastif have got one german shepard ti

@ tp well i think so its more than enough they have a smaller army to look after and small area to

by reading general's statement it looks like he is justifying pakistan's defence spending by comparing it to India's. End of the day it's their money & they are free to use it the way they want to!! it's none of india's concern even if they dedicate the whole financial budget on their defence expenditure.
However an interview by Imran Khan comes to my mind.. where he said, India only need to raise their defence spending to break the back of pakistan's economy & development!!

Guys,one question-is the 4 billion dollars defence budget allocated from the annual budget?if yes then what is pak's annual budget? And can someone please tell me how much money is returned by the Indian armed forces each year and also does the pak armed forces return the "unused money"?

Armed forces are the only major organisations in any country which does not have an income..but it is neccessary to spend for the safety of its citizens and the nation.
coming to the fact how much money did indian armed forces return each yr..from what i know..last yr indian armed forces returned appr 10 billion dollars of its allocated money...dont know about pakistan

Finally some one spoke what i wanted to say in my first post although i agree it was sarcastic..:yahoo:

comparing with india is unjustified coz they will never be able to compete with india in terms of spending ..coz they dont have the income to support that expenditure..and if they do they just help us..we wont even need to fire a bullet across the border..
the same should be remebered by our planners wrt to china..i.e., we will never be able to compete with China interms of military spending..

Bhai y do you want to compare it in the very first place leave it yar they dont need to match with us our country is larger in size there are more men in our army there budget suits there need we are no one to tell them any thing

yaar..i didnt compare ..i just mentioned that comparision by the general was unjustified..i tried to be sarcastic without offending anyone or any country..
it only p!$$ed me off when i was hurled abuses..
Anyways lets not drag this...

yaar..i didnt compare ..i just mentioned that comparision by the general was unjustified..i tried to be sarcastic without offending anyone or any country..
it only p!$$ed me off when i was hurled abuses..
Anyways lets not drag this...

well we dont have other aggressors against our country currently than India so surely our defence spending is keeping in view of our enemy's designs.

You got it right if china was our friend even our defence budget would have been less

The bullshit Indian Media sure knows how to twist the news.The statements were in response to allegations from certain quarters with links to anti Army Sector that Army budget is too much and it is wasting money etc.I'd much rather see money spent in Army (For Weapon Procument) rather then wasted by bloody politicians rooming around in Range Rovers, Porsche, BMW 7 Series with 4-5 Police Escorts.These politicians are good for nothing.

Pakistan Army spokesman Major General Athar Abbas has said his country is allocating only four billion dollars to defence whereas India's defence budget is 36 billion dollars.

Talking to a television channel, Inter Services Public Relations (ISPR) Director General Major-General Abbas said the usage of funds in civilian departments should be streamlined instead of raising objections to Pakistan's defence budget.

"We have to look at the capability of the enemy before designing our preparedness. We would have to see that what kinds of weapons it is making. Keeping in view all the facts, the defence budget as well as the armed forces' ability is adjusted," The Nation quoted Abbas, as saying.

He said the army performs its duties "within the framework given by the sitting government", and that ascertaining the size of the army is also the government's job.

"The Army has to prepare itself according to defence capabilities of the enemy. No army in the world can disclose its development budget to the public," said General Abbas.

"If the civilian government considers that they could diminish the perils through negotiations with India, then a reduction in the Army could take place," he added.

General Athar alleged that several agencies from some hostile countries had been striving to create a gap with between the army and the public in Pakistan.

"Anti-Pakistan elements are trying to prove that the Army is a burden on the national development by criticizing the armed forces," he said

"The conspirators are saying that the funds related to defence could be used for prosperity of the country," he added.

Pak's defence budget pales in comparison to India's, says spokesman

Wow that is some major twisting of figures by the General.

1) He is comparing India's this yrs defense budget to Pakistan's last yrs defence budget.

2) The figure given too is incorrect..last yrs defence allocation was Rs442 Billion($ 5.2 billion)

This budget was further augmented by another Rs110 Billion to Rs552 Billion after floods($ 6.4 Billion)

So official Pakistan's defence budget is $6.4 billion.

WOT and pension funds of 233 billion($2.7 Billion) is above and over this $6.4 billion allocation.

Pakistan's growth is already marred by extreme corruption in almost every sector.

Why is the General making non-disclosure of the budget look like a norm? It may be the truth, but he shouldn't have stressed it out so loud.

By talking about conspiracies, he is trying to build Army's immunity against allegations, keeping any sort of actual prosecution a too far-fetched possibility.

To me it looks like a smart reaction to some recent statements of intellectuals in Pakistan calling for some transparency in the spending/functioning of the Army.

I think this figure is the amount with which they will purchase arms because with a defense budget of 4 billion$, it will be hard for PA to even run such a big army, soldier's salary, pension etc. Other possibility is that, they might have asked for more aid for PA from west.

I recently heard that PA ws even thinking of reducing the soldiers in their army ??/ Is it true ??/

salaries,retirement stuff etc is excluded frm our def budget... watever it is... we r still doin awesome:
Look at our purchases:
Awacs,missiles,frigs,FACs,Sqd of JFT,18 F-16s,a-100s,m109a5,panters,uavs,burraq,sh-1,6 subs,upgrade for agostas,more f-16,like several dozen helicopters...etc etc...

The numbers cannot be compared since India imports majority of the arms and Pakistan only imports larger items and manufacturers most of the stuff in local currency. Though even the JF-17 cost is in rupees as compared to fighter aircraft imports for India.