Pakistan’s water experts fear for the country’s future

Besides what you have written we also need to recycle water to recharge sub soil water. We are simply drawing too much & too fast.

Next, our existing water channels ( Canals) seep water resulting in losses. Desilting of reservoirs is also a necessity.

Lastly, in my view we need to device schemes to stop / reduce sweet water from flowing into the sea. It could be in form of canals that take off from the mouths of rivers or something.

You concern is evident, but how long will this water last if we dont save it.
Good points :tup:

We are, which is why we are diverting your water into India to serve those children. :D

You OTOH can grow camel humps to deal with your water shortage.

Nop mate, wish International Relations and Water Relations between states was that simple. World Bank is the guarantor of this treaty, no rational state can unilaterally revoke it. If a state tries to revoke it, which I doubt India will, it will be considered an irrational state actor in the league of North Korea and will invite international isolation and sanctions. Given that fact that India has a viable foreign office who are well aware of International law and its obligations, such statements might be good for domestic public consumption but can't be put into practice. No country , let alone India, can make this move which will invite international condemnation and isolation.

Now go and study for your grade 8 class tests, this information might be too much for you. Cheers :)

Nop mate, wish International Relations and Water Relations between states was that simple. World Bank is the guarantor of this treaty, no rational state can unilaterally revoke it. If a state tries to revoke it, which I doubt India will, it will be considered an irrational state actor in the league of North Korea and will invite international isolation and sanctions. Given that fact that India has a viable foreign office who are well aware of International law and its obligations, such statements might be good for domestic public consumption but can't be put into practice. No country , let alone India, can make this move which will invite international condemnation and isolation.

Now go and study for your grade 8 class tests, this information might be too much for you. Cheers :)

1. The "Myth" of a world bank guarantor has already been demolished in pdf itself. I cannot be bother to educate you again. Feel free to look it up and get educated.

2. Nobody in the world will even look up when India abrogates the IWT. They wouldn't care less. The same way nobody cared when you broke the Simla agreement treaty.

3. India does not even need to abrogate IWT for now. W just has to implement all the advantage we enjoy under the treaty. Which means no more water from the Ravi, bea and sutlej.

4. India has already decided not to allow IWT commission for such times we are satisfied the terror factory has been shut down for good. Which effectively means we have ALREADY revoked the IWT.

5. For all practical matter, the IWT is now dead. And the best part is you do not even know it. No one in the world knows it. You know why ? because we have not told them, and are not going to tell them till its too late.

Now enjoy the water while you can.

Every year we waste lot of water in the form of floods.
We should make more dams.
Kala bagh dam is inevitable for us but i fear due to politics games in our country, we will not do it.

This is right time, Make big big dams for storage of water.

If any crises occurs in future, we should not blame others.

The best approach is to employ new technologies which promise to desalinate sea water at low costs; conduct more research to make the technology even cheaper and then apply it on mass scale.

Use of graphene based filter systems is one of these technologies.

http://www.thegraphenecouncil.org/?page=Desalination

these things needs attention more than anything, but alas we are still fighting over kalabagh

2. Nobody in the world will even look up when India abrogates the IWT. They wouldn't care less. The same way nobody cared when you broke the Simla agreement treaty.

Oh no, please have some mercy on us you Pharaoh of Akhand bharat, what will happen to us poor souls if you decided to exercise your might??

Is there anything that we can do to stop you from this "not caring" attitude?? Like a nuke or two? Or maybe a Ghaznavi on your damn dams?

Thank you Nawaz Govt.

Better tell me some desalinization plants are part of CPEC

Oh no, please have some mercy on us you Pharaoh of Akhand bharat, what will happen to us poor souls if you decided to exercise your might??

Is there anything that we can do to stop you from this "not caring" attitude?? Like a nuke or two? Or maybe a Ghaznavi on your damn dams?

Don't worry, you always have jihad on your side.

I suggest you buy a bucket or two to store water. Far more useful than a nuclear bum.

India is not using the lower riparian rivers given to India under IWT to the fullest, the Ravi, Beas, and Sutlej, and not even closer to it.

India want to use the upper riparian rivers given to Pakistan under the IWT including Indus, which India can use 20% of the water, by exceeding the threshold and damaging Pakistan.

So the idea is not to benefit India, rather cause maximum damage to Pakistan...it is kind of lowbrow, below the belt, unfair tactics.

India is not using the lower riparian rivers given to India under IWT to the fullest, the Ravi, Beas, and Sutlej, and not even closer to it.

India want to use the upper riparian rivers given to Pakistan under the IWT including Indus, which India can use 20% of the water, by exceeding the threshold and damaging Pakistan.

So the idea is not to benefit India, rather cause maximum damage to Pakistan...it is kind of lowbrow, below the belt, unfair tactics.

We just call it the "good terrorist" strategy. Its a rage in the neighbourhood.

Yes water management would be the correct term, because stopping wastage of water is just one element of that.

Whereas all the water from rains is gathered in Western countries, in sub-continent we waste every single drop of heavy monsoon rains.

Ofcourse increase in the population adds to these woes, but that does not stop us from having an effective water management system in place.
when water is "free" people have no incentive to manage it

ignoring some of the heated rhetoric about the IWT India has been a good citizen as far as water sharing goes
you cannot say the same about your friends China and Turkey

Well first of all @mods this should be in the current and social section of pakistan rather than central Asia.

Secondly I agree with you and quite frankly the pakistan govt will have to take extreme steps as quickly as they can to conserve water and create a reserve. Our biggest problem is over population and rise of population which is a huge strain on our resources. Having an out of control birth rate will create a strain even on the most resourceful of nations.

Our worst luck was the period of 2008-2013 which saw the most incompetent govt in power which chocked pakistan economy and killed the state machinery and the lackluster attitude of even the more previous govt ( 2002-2007) towards energy consumption brought a massive energy crisis which crippled the country and the economy. The current govt and all the provincial govts are right now busy in trying to combat the shortfall and somehow provide energy to an ever growing nation. This gift has stressed on family planning but a lot more is required and mark my words until and unless we control the population rate, we will suffer from scarcity of resources.

This fact has been highlighted here. Our water is not going anywhere. It's the mouth to feed that's increasing and creating the stress.

The onus is on pakistan govt to take constructive steps towards water storage to combat water scarcity as no more can we afford a non serious attitude towards this matter. As Baluchistan develops, they too will seek water not only for the continuous supply to every corner of the province but also for irrigation of lands for greater prosperity. We cannot waste anymore time. The current govt is under severe stress due to the issues that plague Pakistan, but this issue cannot be ignored.

I will tell you a story. During the era of 2002-2007 govt. In 2006 my family met a journalist analyst which was often the case due to our involvement in politics. I was present there as well. We were talking about economy and he mentions that you should gear up for extensive loadshedding that would span 8-12 hours. At that time there was no concept of loadshedding in urban areas even in an under developed district like sheikhupura. After asking how is such a thing possible, he simply stated that the amount of requirement is increasing everyday and the govt and past govts have taken no steps to combat this. Lo and behold 2008 arrived and an energy crisis you wouldn't believe came with it. The PPP govt was marred in corruption. Of unprecedented levels and simply did not care. The 2008-2012 was the most horrific era of our history.

We need dams and we need lots of them.
Jab logo ke pass naukri nahi hogi toh wph kuch toh karenge na??:)
Pls ye India ke liye bhi hai:dance3:

. Regular warhead would be enough..no need to make water affected and radioactive for usage.

These idiots here don't really understand the amount of space and actual number in dozens of dams they need to stall our water... They would end up inundating half of the IOK displacing millions. See the space used by tarbela or mangla and then see this small wular .Not going towards the cost and how they would secure loans for such a weapon. that would just make our case stronger on Kashmir... And in order to get rid of their untimely closure and flooding (which is likely to happen from them) We need more dams and esp kalabagh needs to be built on priority basis. That will take care of it .. and india forgets if they use such tactics there is a long list of similar unconventional weapns PAkistan can use. just think about creating 100ft high or more waves on coasts of a vital port or something more lethal. But again this is far fetched so sanity needs to prevail.

For humanity s sake india should not retreat the Indus water treaty . This would cuase major water crissis in pakisthan that like of Bolivia .