pakistani police

Since i have been a police instructor among other things, my view is biased. But i will say this, Pakistani police have some negative elements (no doubt about that). However, the average sepoy earns less than 5000 PKR a month, whilst a British Constable earns roughly £20,000 (Source: Police service recruitment - Could You? - Police officers - Pay and benefits)

The average monthly Salary in Pakistan is $41 (Source: Average monthly salary in Pakistan: $41. Source: Wall Street Journal - Vital Statistics: More Information).

The average monthly salary in the United Kingdom is £1000 (Source: FT.co.uk)

Now judging by those figures our poor police sepoys do a lot of hard graft, consdiering the fact that unlike our western counterparts they have no real contracted hours, no legislative protection etc... Money is a big motivator, did you know that most constable posts are filled by Masters degree holders? Don't just think because they don't wear Gucci, or speak with an "fake" American accent, that they are illiterate.

I have seen many posts and videos on the internet defaming the police, yet i can tell you something quite clear, i have worked and lived with the police for quite some time. Eating Daal and Roti at the Muharir's Office and whilst there a few rotten apples we should not judge an entire institution by the acts of a few.

Despite what many belive, they do put their lives on the line. Everytime they are on the road or on route protection, or escort, or sentry. They are placing themselves at considerable risk to protect the public.

The hypocites who whilst driving in their A/C cars and working in plush A/C offices, returning to a grand A/C villa with all the trimmings of Middle Class or Elite Class life, dont really give a damn for such selfless Heros.

Think of them who live in a squalid police lines quarter, brining up their entire family at times on a meagre 5000 rupees a month (hell, a decent pair of shoes now a days costs 4500 rupees. ), they go to work at unsociable hours, often covering more then 18 hours shift and in horrible conditions (i am sure we have all seen traffic officers working in the din of the July summer, with the sweat pouring off their brow)... Ever gone up to one and asked if he would like a bottle of water?

Jab humari public he bekadri hai, to phir in becharoon ka kya kasoor hai?

It is easy to take a few pictures and post a shallow comparison. Especially if you type in Pakistan these days, so many negative images come up. But it is the art of finding something positive amidst all the negativity that is much more satisfying.

Here are a few images of Pakistani Police in a better light:

05b41ee8ac4407411e6dc54c06ec6949.jpg

8cb15157900f174f1b9783c03422d5ec.jpg

Newly appointed Karachi Community Police Volunteers start Patrol

Since i have been a police instructor among other things, my view is biased. But i will say this, Pakistani police have some negative elements (no doubt about that). However, the average sepoy earns less than 5000 PKR a month, whilst a British Constable earns roughly £20,000 (Source: Police service recruitment - Could You? - Police officers - Pay and benefits)

The average monthly Salary in Pakistan is $41 (Source: Average monthly salary in Pakistan: $41. Source: Wall Street Journal - Vital Statistics: More Information).

The average monthly salary in the United Kingdom is £1000 (Source: FT.co.uk)

Now judging by those figures our poor police sepoys do a lot of hard graft, consdiering the fact that unlike our western counterparts they have no real contracted hours, no legislative protection etc... Money is a big motivator, did you know that most constable posts are filled by Masters degree holders? Don't just think because they don't wear Gucci, or speak with an "fake" American accent, that they are illiterate.

I have seen many posts and videos on the internet defaming the police, yet i can tell you something quite clear, i have worked and lived with the police for quite some time. Eating Daal and Roti at the Muharir's Office and whilst there a few rotten apples we should not judge an entire institution by the acts of a few.

Despite what many belive, they do put their lives on the line. Everytime they are on the road or on route protection, or escort, or sentry. They are placing themselves at considerable risk to protect the public.

The hypocites who whilst driving in their A/C cars and working in plush A/C offices, returning to a grand A/C villa with all the trimmings of Middle Class or Elite Class life, dont really give a damn for such selfless Heros.

Think of them who live in a squalid police lines quarter, brining up their entire family at times on a meagre 5000 rupees a month (hell, a decent pair of shoes now a days costs 4500 rupees. ), they go to work at unsociable hours, often covering more then 18 hours shift and in horrible conditions (i am sure we have all seen traffic officers working in the din of the July summer, with the sweat pouring off their brow)... Ever gone up to one and asked if he would like a bottle of water?

Jab humari public he bekadri hai, to phir in becharoon ka kya kasoor hai?

It is easy to take a few pictures and post a shallow comparison. Especially if you type in Pakistan these days, so many negative images come up. But it is the art of finding something positive amidst all the negativity that is much more satisfying.

A few very valid points and facts brought out by my friend Rescue Ranger! Thank you for that.

But i just want to do a few additions, it is not only our Police Force that have been performing a guud job under odd conditions and environments with a very meager pay, but other forces and LEAs to include FC, Rangers, Coast Guards, Army and all other Services also do their job with pride and dedication but are not rewarded equally!

yaar junoon the first 2 pics of rapid animation u see First one is SWAT not regular police of US...3rd one is German Special ops police not regular police and 4th one is Pakistani traffic police....if you want to see Pakistani special ops SWAT go google it type Pakistani SWAT..
Iève seen lots of pics on the net of Pakistani regular police with better outfits still comparing it to funny Indian police i am still proud of Pakistani police...

I salute Pakistani police who have played a great role in war on terror arresting so many criminals and terrorists that neither US INDIAN EUROPEAN POLICE have arrested and that is whats more important to me that they are doing their job unlike westerns...

Yes you are right they are from different branches of police but still if you compare branch to branch again result won’t be so different. Other than there were three questions. Aim of post primarily is to how to improve but I think just one or two members have given some suggestions, and there good or bad interactions. So if you are abroad at least you can give better suggestions as I have seen some police officials are also participating may be your one odd point clicks .

Junoon25Pak....I think Pakistan govt should invest in police heavily ur right when u say we need improvement in Police dept...we need to have SWAT like police in large numbers as well as regular police should be equipped better with retraining to tackle some difficult situations and I would love to see them in North American police uniforms lol i see police in Canada they look damn fine...

I also need comments from u guys...should not there be a SWAT like branch that would protect our borders with Afghanistan and Iran which will be trained by Professionals to carry out border tasks along some of our regular Army forces and we can shift our majority of Regular army from these borders towards EAST..
They should be completely equipped with what Pak Army has..they will control situations within Pakistan without Army needed to solve those problems..

Junoon25Pak....I think Pakistan govt should invest in police heavily ur right when u say we need improvement in Police dept...we need to have SWAT like police in large numbers as well as regular police should be equipped better with retraining to tackle some difficult situations and I would love to see them in North American police uniforms lol i see police in Canada they look damn fine...

I also need comments from u guys...should not there be a SWAT like branch that would protect our borders with Afghanistan and Iran which will be trained by Professionals to carry out border tasks along some of our regular Army forces and we can shift our majority of Regular army from these borders towards EAST..
They should be completely equipped with what Pak Army has..they will control situations within Pakistan without Army needed to solve those problems..

Very good suggestion of providing more funds which police deserves. Pakistan police have "SWAT" like teams but they are not so well equipped and trained as western police and they are very less.
I totally agree with you instead of dragging army to resolve domestic issues, we required parallel force as trained and equipped like army. Pakistan has paramilitary forces for the same purpose but they unable to control tribal areas and swat, because they were not trained and well equipped as they should be.
Conflict like LIC cannot be handled with police because you required big force to counter that .but Pakistan has to find some new force or reorganize and retrained paramilitary forces to counter domestic terrorism and keep army away from domestic issues and let them focus on there main task.

Just a small addition, sorry its not hi res

Karachi Police ATS Sniper

Rescue Ranger brings up very valid points.
No one wants to feed hi/her family haraam. When you have hungry mouths to feed you will take rishwaat or even rob someone. I have to say that our traffic police probably has one of the toughest jobs. Standing in the summer heat and with all the noise from the traffic and not to mention the pollution. Has to be one of the toughest and demanding jobs. Yet, high majority of the people who get stopped by the traffic police for jumping a red light or other infraction start arguing and fighting with the Police.... knowing they were at fault.
I've seen a number of times Police officials siding with the highest bidder. But majority of the poor Police personnel are just following orders. Next time please think how far you could get with a normal Police sepoys salary. You probably won't even be able to pay your internet and electricty bill let alone feed a family and pay for other utilities.