Pakistani Heart Saved by Indian Doctors: Report

Raftaar

MUMBAI: A Pakistani national was given a new lease on life by Indian doctors who performed a risky heart surgery on him at Bandra's Asian Heart Institute in Mumbai, said a report published on The Times of India.

57-year-old Zafar Ahmed Lali, who weighed over 125 kilograms, had five blood vessel blockages and a defective aortic valve — escalating surgical risk to thrice as much as other patients.

The heart surgery and aortic valve replacement were performed on April 18 using arteries from within the patient's chest instead of his leg, as is the norm with such procedures.

Vice-Chairman Asian Heart Institute Dr. Ramakanta Panda said, "Even though at AHI, we have done up to 12 grafts in a patient, the blockages in this patient's case were extremely critical. We had to use only arteries from inside his chest to perform all bypasses. In addition the aortic valve was also replaced, making this a high risk surgery."

He added he was glad that the patient had chosen to come to India for the procedure.

Lali's health problems were exacerbated due to his sedentary lifestyle and chain-smoking habit.

In November 2014, after undergoing an Electrocardiogram (ECG), Lali was advised an angiography, which detected five blockages.

Zafar began to reduce his weight, managing to lose 20kgs by March 2015.

Although he was advised by a physician to approach the Cleveland Clinic in the United States, cost constraints forced him to search for other options.

He was operated within five days after arriving in India on April 13. Dr. Panda says the patient's recovery has been smooth.

Lali — who hails from a political family in Pakistan — said, "I find myself lucky that despite being a Pakistani, I could get through very easily and seek the best care." Dawn.com published

Idiots!! A doctor saved a patient, and a human saved another. Instead they are talking about Pakistan blah blah... what happened to us!!

BC this is really a NEWS ??? there are hundreds of Pakistani Indians ever day got surgery from Americans British etc... this is really a news ?

Pure business , Pure Doctor - Patient relationship..... Nothing to do with nationality here...... It should not be even a news.....

The best outcome of this could be - Better awareness among Pakistani's regarding better medical treatment at a lower cost (compared to the one the above patient was recommended to go)

Indian Medical Sector is advanced than all of its neighbor even China. Obviously, people from smaller nations will come here.
And since, most of comers are pakistanis, no need to make issue of it. It has happened many times.

If you are a sensible Human being who get a very good treatment at a competitive rate than you will definitely be thankful. there are many videos about Pakistani patients treated by indian doctor who got all right and returned home with a smile.

BC this is really a NEWS ??? there are hundreds of Pakistani Indians ever day got surgery from Americans British etc... this is really a news ?
You don't get it. ( He did not find a DR. who could do this operation in Pakistan) Anyways It just a Good JOB done by an Indian Doctor.

Yeah, ur rt bou british american docs treatin Ind n Pakistanis but dere soldiers dont splurge bullets at our jawans on da border ! Do dey ?
2ndly , if a inverted Indian flag can make so much news ( dnt mean 2 offend tricolor ) y not a RARE surgery on pakistani pt ??
But this thread has been started for positive discussion not BC mc etc posted by u ! Gallan saanu ve aaunde ne..... Bt i adhere by rules of forum !

Pure business , Pure Doctor - Patient relationship..... Nothing to do with nationality here...... It should not be even a news.....

The best outcome of this could be - Better awareness among Pakistani's regarding better medical treatment at a lower cost (compared to the one the above patient was recommended to go)
Nair ji ..... My ques is should ds humanitarian things b allowed wen our jawans r gettin martyred at border.... 178 people died in mumbai attacks ! Ur opinion ?

Indian Medical Sector is advanced than all of its neighbor even China. Obviously, people from smaller nations will come here.
And since, most of comers are pakistanis, no need to make issue of it. It has happened many times.
Yeah ur rt ! In appollo new delhi evn da nurses ve learnt russian due high load f pts frm central asia countries ..... Evn in my hospital..... Many pakistani pts r on waiting list....bt i hear dere visas get stayed in case sumthing goes wrong at da border !

Nair ji ..... My ques is should ds humanitarian things b allowed wen our jawans r gettin martyred at border.... 178 people died in mumbai attacks ! Ur opinion ?

What humanitarian ground???? Do you think this surgery was done free?? Hospitals charge more than what they charge indians (that is how the hospitals in my state does, and they have dedicated team to handle overseas patients)..... So it is pure business nothing else.....

There is no way you can mix up this issue with the issues in border and mumbai.......

What humanitarian ground???? Do you think this surgery was done free?? Hospitals charge more than what they charge indians (that is how the hospitals in my state does, and they have dedicated team to handle overseas patients)..... So it is pure business nothing else.....

There is no way you can mix up this issue with the issues in border and mumbai.......
I started ds thread cz wen mumbai attacks took place .... I was doin house job at del hospital..... Wth 2 pts frm pakistan admitted already....n dey were shit scared bt we had strict instructions dt no1 discusses dis incident wth em bt our blood used to boil like anythng ...neverthless we did our duty n dey gt treated well !

Well it is understandable that one has his blood boiling during such time,but then those guys have nothing to do with it, and there is no point showing it up to them.... Think of those guy's feeling for having treated well during such tensed time.....

Im NOT Against such Medical Treatements.

With all due respect, Nair Sahab, Sayad aap Manoj Kalia ko bhul Gaye....
Share the same News with our Soilders and they will reply BC, hum yaha mar rahe hai unki Goliyo se.. n Ye Sale Unki Zindagi bacha rahe h....

Ask the Same Doctor, If Your Son was Treated like Maonj Kalia, Would you still be able to perfom ?

most of Pakistani patient come empty handed for treatment. they ask for begging bowl and some sickular people put money in the begging bowl, and give them treatment.
Im NOT Against such Medical Treatements.

With all due respect, Nair Sahab, Sayad aap Manoj Kalia ko bhul Gaye....
Share the same News with our Soilders and they will reply BC, hum yaha mar rahe hai unki Goliyo se.. n Ye Sale Unki Zindagi bacha rahe h....

Ask the Same Doctor, If Your Son was Treated like Maonj Kalia, Would you still be able to perfom ?
Probably Nair saab doesnt understand life a fauji who has to face pakistaan bullets each day .... Nair ji its easy to b rationale sitting in our AC rooms bt u cant run away from reality ! Dey tske lives of our brothers on borders n u think its our duty to save dere lives ! Strange

You don't get it. ( He did not find a DR. who could do this operation in Pakistan) Anyways It just a Good JOB done by an Indian Doctor.

It's called medical tourism... Similiar treatment would have been costlier in Pak than India.

most of Pakistani patient come empty handed for treatment. they ask for begging bowl and some sickular people put money in the begging bowl, and give them treatment.

Charity beyond borders: Indian NGO raises funds for Pakistani girl's treatment

India sanctions free medical treatment of 20 Pakistani children-patients

BS.. Nobody travels empty handed to another country specially a country like india.. Mishaps are another thing..

It's he same Pakistabis who have saved your people by paying pirates from their own pockets .. The navy that has evacuated your people from war zones.. The country that has also helped or offered you aid during natural disasters..

Humanity or such thing shouldn't be used for politics.

As for NGOs like Doctors Without Borders its a mutual thing... Even the doctor responsible for eliminating polio virus in India was a Pakistani!

Probably Nair saab doesnt understand life a fauji who has to face pakistaan bullets each day .... Nair ji its easy to b rationale sitting in our AC rooms bt u cant run away from reality ! Dey tske lives of our brothers on borders n u think its our duty to save dere lives ! Strange

Bullets are fired from both sides.. Both sides face "bullets" and sacrifice their lives for their nations!

Yet real "soldiers" don't have that sorta mentality xinxi is talking about!

Military Forum Latest Posts