Pakistani Football star is trying out with Saint Francesco, USA based Sacramento Republic FC.

Umair Nawaz

Kaleem-US.jpg

Kaleem interacting with school children in Sacramento.
Pakistani soccer star is trying out with Republic FC
Sacramento Bee – Bill Paterson

-Kaleemullah Khan is a member of Pakistan men’s national team.

-Prolific scorer was player of the year in Kyrgyzstan in 2014.

-22-year-old hopes to raise profile by playing in America.

One of the most renowned soccer players in Pakistan is in Sacramento this week trying to land a contract with Republic FC.

Kaleemullah Khan, a captain of the Pakistan Men’s National Team, is on trial with the defending USL champions.

The 22-year-old Khan, a 5-foot-7 forward, played last season for Dordoi Bishkek, the top club in the Central Asian country of Kyrgyzstan. Last season he was voted the league’s top player and goal scorer with 18 goals in 17 matches in helping that country’s perennial power to the league title.

He has played in 25 matches and scored four goals since joining the Pakistan Men’s National Team in 2011. He scored 31 goals in 2012 and 33 more in 2013 for Khan Research Laboratories, a power in the Pakistan Premier League.

“He sees Sacramento and Republic FC as a good fit for him,” said Adel Saad, his agent with the Bay Area-based KoraStars. “He is really impressed with the style of play, and that it’s a team that he thinks can bring out the best in him. He knows Preki is an experienced coach who had achievements with Chivas in (Major League Soccer). And it’s not just about coming to America and being on a good team, it’s the environment around you. Sacramento has a large and supportive Pakistani community. So he feels comfortable here.”

Khan watched Republic FC’s 3-0 win over the Seattle Sounders 2 on Saturday with Sacramento technical director Graham Smith. It helped him to get a feel for Preki’s possession-style, attacking system. He met the team during a training session on Sunday.

Khan hails from country without much soccer history. Pakistan, which ranks sixth in the world in population with nearly 200 million people, is 173rd in FIFA’s latest world rankings.

But Saad said Khan is a transformational player who can help open the doors for other top Pakistani players to showcase their abilities in America and Europe.

“He is a special player,” Saad said. “Pakistan isn’t famous for (soccer), but he’s a homegrown, rising star.”

Read more here: Pakistani soccer star is trying out with Republic FC | The Sacramento Bee

Pakistani soccer star is trying out with Republic FC | FootballPakistan.com (FPDC)

Good luck kid! Sadly our people dont know how to appreciate talent...However, I never favoured sports stars to be paid more than a teacher....But west does so good luck :tup:

he is Pakistan's first millionaire footballer. Besides him two others are as well who play with him in his Kyragz team FC Dordoi Bishkek name Mohammad Adil and Saddam Hussain.

Again in a country where education and poverty is not a priority, it is tough to think them shifting money to sports.....

I also guess it is best we export good guys out and give a better image of Pakistan instead of expoting wadera and asylum seekers (people who murdered or do evil) out

USL is the Third division in US football, I think plenty of Asian Leagues are better than that. I think even the U-21 Premier League (England) is better than that. You should take a look at Adil Nabi (British and Pakistani citizen), plays for West Brom U-21 and is the 3rd highest scorer in U-21 PL. He is young, 21, but will probably not get chances in England National team with guys like Berahino, Kane, both younger and have PL but can make into the team of Pakistan.

Adil Nabi - player profile - Transfermarkt

USL is the Third division in US football, I think plenty of Asian Leagues are better than that. I think even the U-21 Premier League (England) is better than that. You should take a look at Adil Nabi (British and Pakistani citizen), plays for West Brom U-21 and is the 3rd highest scorer in U-21 PL. He is young, 21, but will probably not get chances in England National team with guys like Berahino, Kane, both younger and have PL but can make into the team of Pakistan.

Adil Nabi - player profile - Transfermarkt
Kaleemullah is a home grown player. Plus UCL maybe 3rd div but its standards are very high also its the current champion of the league and has applied for MLS licence. Besides this Kaleemullah has offers from Iceland and China's Super league club.

Kaleemullah is a home grown player. Plus UCL waybe 3rd div but its standards are very high also its the current champion of the league and has applied for MLS licence. Besides this Kaleemullah has offers from Iceland and China's Super league club.
Then he should take Chinese Super League instead of US. The Super League is better than the MLS as well.

negative, MLS has better overall rating then CSL. MLS has 3/5 while CSL has 2/5.
Nobody in US cares about football. Infact they call handegg football, and call football soccer. It's a place where you go to retire and get one last pay-check. Don't forget that playing in CSL might get him a chance to pla in AFC Champions League, which is only second to the UEFA Champions League.

Yara i know, but MLS or CSL or Korean league are still developing leagues and yes both have improved a lot but i would still say MLS over any asian league Do u know the best league now a days in asia is japanese league and its rating is also less then MLS its 2.75/5 second is Korean with 2.5/5. CSL is either 4th or 5th best in asia behind Saudi Pro league.

But still he is on trial basis there and has said that he will go to trial with icelandic club in august and CSL's transfer window will open in june so he may try as well. Its abt his priorities as his Agent is also US based Kora Stars......Lets see what happens.

Yara i know, but MLS or CSL or Korean league are still developing leagues and yes both have improved a lot but i would still say MLS over any asian league Do u know the best league now a days in asia is japanese league and its rating is also less then MLS its 2.75/5 second is Korean with 2.5/5. CSL is either 4th or 5th best in asia behind Saudi Pro league.

But still he is on trial basis there and has said that he will go to trial with icelandic club in august and CSL's transfer window will open in june so he may try as well. Its abt his priorities as his Agent is also US based Kora Stars......Lets see what happens.

Bhai jawaniii mein hum bhi bohat bareiii Star theiii ! :smokin:

Yeh tou knee injury neiii career khattam kar diyaa.....warnaaa 'Maradona kaun ?' waliii baaat thiii hum mein ! :(

Kuch ziyadaa ho gaiii hai ! :oops:

Bhai jawaniii mein hum bhi bohat bareiii Star theiii ! :smokin:

Yeh tou knee injury neiii career khattam kar diyaa.....warnaaa 'Maradona kaun ?' waliii baaat thiii hum mein ! :(

Kuch ziyadaa ho gaiii hai ! :oops:
I used to be goalkeeper for inter college fixtures Abbottabad Public School team as like u im also bulky. We used to had home and away fixtures with Military College Jehlum (MCJ), Chandbagh School Lahore, Lawrence College Murree, Cadet college Kohat and Cadet College Hassan Abdal etc.

Apka Kashmiri bhai itna acha player tha k koi b match hum 5-0 margin k score say kam nahi harry:undecided:

Apparently Kaleemullah is a beast:

yes he is wonderful player with great skill, speed and work rate.