Pakistani blogger’s poll on ‘BIRYANI with ALOO OR NOT’ kick-starts a storm on Twitter

You like Aloo in Biryani?

• Total voters

Maarkhoor

In Pakistan, adding potatoes in biryani has been a cause of a long-standing debate between Lahori Pakistanis and Karachi Pakistanis. While biryani with potatoes is a definite no-no for Lahoris, those in Karachi love their dish with aaloo in it.

biryani_file_759.jpg

At the time of writing, ‘biryani without aaloo’ was winning by a slight margin of 2 per cent, while the votes for biryani with aaloo stood at 49 per cent. (Source: File Photo)

One of the questions that has probably turned friends to foes and left close relatives estranged, is — ‘Do you prefer biryani, with or without aaloo (potato)?’ Well, it seems somebody triggered the whole debate, once again, on Twitter, with a poll and ever since then, many Twitter users seem to have lost their calm. After a blogger from Pakistan, who goes by the name Ms Keisha, tweeted out the poll with the caption: “Whichever wins, stays the other is gone forever” (sic), many went berserk in the comments section. Even more because, in Pakistan, potatoes in biryani have been a long-standing debate between Lahori Pakistanis and Karachi Pakistanis, much like here in India. While biryani with potatoes is a definite no-no for Lahoris, those in Karachi love their biryani with aloo in it.

This stark distinction made the comments’ section under Ms Keisha’s Twitter poll a battle of words, no less.

This is her tweet.

https://twitter.com/meemelif/status/958041608443789312
ms keisha@meemelif

Whichever wins, stays the other is gone forever

10:18 PM - Jan 29, 2018
49%Biryani with aaloo
51%Biryani without aaloo
6,362 votes•Final results
Twitter Ads info and privacy

Check out some of the responses her tweet has garnered so far.

29 Jan
ms keisha@meemelif

https://twitter.com/Rizviobviously/status/959948912332242944
@Rizviobviously

With AAAAAALO

4:37 AM - Feb 4, 2018

4 Feb
@Rizviobviously
Replying to @meemelif @KomzHolmes
With AAAAAALO

https://twitter.com/meemelif/status/960079188324765697
ms keisha@meemelif

Samrah get all your followers to vote for Aalu pls

1:14 PM - Feb 4, 2018

5 Feb
H@Doppaminee
Replying to @meemelif
@furreekatt vote for with aloo

https://twitter.com/meemelif/status/960439324415348737
ms keisha@meemelif

@toasterM80 @SenatorSameer @filmyjoyo @DigitalZarda guys vote for aalu pls

1:05 PM - Feb 5, 2018

29 Jan
ms keisha@meemelif

https://twitter.com/itsyaboyladin/status/958455670222807046
Osama@itsyaboyladin

What even is biryani without aalu

1:43 AM - Jan 31, 2018

29 Jan
ms keisha@meemelif

https://twitter.com/SajwarShah/status/960439928290250752
shah@SajwarShah

why is without aloo even an option

1:08 PM - Feb 5, 2018

29 Jan
ms keisha@meemelif

https://twitter.com/AlinaManiar/status/958047785651236864
Alina@AlinaManiar

With aaloo >>

10:42 PM - Jan 29, 2018

5 Feb
ms keisha@meemelif
Replying to @teepusahab
BLOCKED

https://twitter.com/teepusahab/status/960472019480571905
Anas Tipu@teepusahab

Haha yaar aalo banaya hi kisi bhi dish ko kharaab karne ke leay tha

3:15 PM - Feb 5, 2018

Well, the fact that many of her followers chose to click on ‘Biryani with aloo’ might come as a shock for many closer home in India, except those who swear by the Kolkata biryani. At the time of writing, ‘biryani without aaloo’ was winning by a slight margin of 2 per cent, while the votes for biryani with aaloo stood at 49 per cent. What would you have voted for? Let us know in the comments’ section below.
http://indianexpress.com/article/tr...h-aloo-or-not-kick-starts-a-storm-on-twitter/

i cant imagine my biryani without aloo....BTW Lahoris doesn't even know what Biryani actually is:D:P

they consider palao as biryani:partay:
Not the case,

We call it Pulaoo but many restaurant sell it as Biryani but at home we like to prepare Teh Wali Biryani with aloo (french fries, fried Ghobi) as well.

maxresdefault.jpg

Not the case,

We call it Pulaoo but many restaurant sell it as Biryani but at home we like to prepare Teh Wali Biryani with aloo (french fries, fried Ghobi) as well.

maxresdefault.jpg
now who the F eat fried ghobi with biryanio_O
you know that the difference one in a restaurant in Lahore the waiter argued with me alot when i asked for Biryani and he gave me some rize pulao with some saag and was forcing me to accept it as Biryani Karachi wali:D same is the case of the hotel where i was staying.....

we have a saying in Karachi k "Chinese Biryani banana seekh gaye per Lahoris nae seekhe"

Not the case,

maxresdefault.jpg
lols biryani with Fried Gobi! aaa tay baaryaani day sath Zina hai!

now who the F eat fried ghobi with biryanio_O
you know that the difference one in a restaurant in Lahore the waiter argued with me alot when i asked for Biryani and he gave me some rize pulao with some saag and was forcing me to accept it as Biryani Karachi wali:D same is the case of the hotel where i was staying.....

we have a saying in Karachi k "Chinese Biryani banana seekh gaye per Lahoris nae seekhe"

haha yeh thanks to shan ad!

@Kami leone @newb3e
Try once and I promise you will addicted to it (Teh Wali Birayani)

Yes restaurants in Lahore sell Pulao as Biryani but at homes we cook Teh Wali original Biryani.

@Kami leone @newb3e
Try once and I promise you will addicted to it (Teh Wali Birayani)

Yes restaurants in Lahore sell Pulao as Biryani but at homes we cook Teh Wali original Biryani.
sir next time you in khi let me knw ill treat you to real biryani not commercial student wali type biryani but amazing made to order biryani!

I like yakhni pulao over biriyani, but how can you ever go wrong with potatoes?

Poor Lahoris are dangarkhors, so they don't want to add anything to upset the donkey flavor.

I like yakhni pulao over biriyani, but how can you ever go wrong with potatoes?

Poor Lahoris are dangarkhors, so they don't want to add anything to upset the donkey flavor.
Pulao is Pulaoo and Biryani has its own place we like to add many things like boiled eggs, fried potatoes, Friend Gobhi .... every thing works with Biryani and Raytaa.

wo biryani kya jisme aalo ho. maarkhor bhai ki plate tyt lug rhi he hahaha xd

Pulao is Pulaoo and Biryani has its own place we like to add many things like boiled eggs, fried potatoes, Friend Gobhi .... every thing works with Biryani and Raytaa.

I'll eat biriyani if served but I don't go out of my way to eat it.

But man give me some yakhni pulao with karhai gosht with extra masala poured on top and I'm the happiest man alive.

maxresdefault.jpg

+

Mughlai-Karahi-Gosht.jpg

:enjoy::enjoy::enjoy::enjoy::enjoy::enjoy::enjoy::enjoy::wub:

i cant imagine my biryani without aloo....BTW Lahoris doesn't even know what Biryani actually is:D:P

they consider palao as biryani:partay:
Lahoris make pretty fine and good biryani with all the right colors. What do you want in a biryani ? Tonne loads of chillis to leave one with upset stomach.