Pakistan rated among top emerging economies

Still if i don't agree then threy will label me Patwari & stuff, so i surrender.
This is the reason PTI getting failure every where.
PTI wants a government in Punjab so they start bashing NS.
After election they blame election commission.
When they go to court, they can't get desired decision, so they blame judiciary.
During dharna they expect from army chief to come forward and take resignation from PM. But it didn't happen. So they started blam army chief " pata hai raheel sharif ko nawaz sharif ny BMW car gift kr di hai as a bribery".
After every election defeat they abuse the voters called them jahil, gadhy, patwari, mafad parast, biradri system ky ghulam, " kaptan hum sharminda hain, jahil abhi zinda hain" etc etc.
Thats why every one is getting against them.
IK doesn't need to bash, his agenda was very strong. But he has left his agenda and choose the path showed by his Ex- PPP friends.

When they go to court, they can't get desired decision, so they blame judiciary.
During dharna they expect from army chief to come forward and take resignation from PM. But it didn't happen. So they started blam army chief " pata hai raheel sharif ko nawaz sharif ny BMW car gift kr di hai as a bribery".
After every election defeat they abuse the voters called them jahil, gadhy, patwari, mafad parast, biradri system ky ghulam, " kaptan hum sharminda hain, jahil abhi zinda hain" etc etc.
IK doesn't need to bash, his agenda was very strong. But he has left his agenda and choose the path showed by his Ex- PPP friends.
You summed up pretty well. Me myself voted for PTI in last elections. It was such a let down man.

kaptan hum sharminda hain, jahil abhi zinda hain"
Bwahahahaha :rofl:

and u think this will possible in 1 or 2 years,
gradually, we will surely reached to that point too . Ins sha Allah.
Only if our direction is right. If I want to go to ISB from LHR but I turn my car to KHI, I won't reach ISB no matter much time I take.
The same is true for Pakistan under corrupt govt.

Thanks to Both Sharif's . Raheel for peace and Nawaz for economy. May the Harmony for development prevail

Getting tired of these bullshit reports. I'll label Pakistan as an emerging economy when:

* GDP growth rate is 7%
* Tax-to-GDP ratio is 20%
* Export-to-GDP ratio is 20%
* No Budget deficit

Top three I can agree with, but having a surplus budget is practically unheard of in the vast majority of the worlds countries. Reducing it to - 2-3% however is a must. Currently I think our deficit stands at -5% (and was something like -8. something during PPP rule, Jeay Bhutto).

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/fields/2222.html

Its a welcome start but much more needed. I am looking at the UNESCO statistics and they are not good at all.

http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0024/002452/245238e.pdf

For example, Pakistan has about double the total number of out of school primary school kids (5.6 million) compared to India, even though India has a population 7 times more. Similar trends are seen at higher levels of education though not as severe in disparity (but more due to India not doing so well in these areas too).

But some progress is being made by Pakistan in primary schooling according to UNESC) page 223 at least in enrolment:

http://unesdoc.unesco.org/images/0023/002322/232205e.pdf

But where the real suffering is secondary schooling especially for girls. 2.5% of GDP on education is not enough to improve this....Pakistan must get it much higher.

A full 25% of Pakistan's youth (ages 15-24) is illiterate in 2015 that is way too high....they must be brought into remedial education programs to get some functional literacy.

Overall school life expectancy in Pakistan is too low....around 8.4 years in 2011 compared to south asia average of 11 years. Infact even Afghanistan now has a higher school life expectancy by an additional year. This again stems from the serious problem Pakistan is having in secondary schooling where gross enrolment rate is less than 50% of cohort for lower secondary and around 27% for upper secondary in 2012....worse than Afghanistan again by a considerable amount.

Primary schooling intake survival/ cohort completion rates are also dreadfully low in Pakistan (as low as 60% and 40%) respectively.

These are all structural problems that must be addressed ASAP and it is very worrying if Pakistan literacy rate is actually declining:

http://tribune.com.pk/story/886027/2013-14-report-literacy-rate-slips-nationwide-by-2/

Anyways I was wondering what is the % split in primary, secondary and tertiary levels between private and govt education by enrolment?

I hope Pakistan fixes this absolutely priority number 1 problem in its education soon. Education is the bedrock of the whole economy and social development in general.

Despite all this Pakistan has more than 10 universities in top 250 QS asian rankings and 6 in top 800. That's more than many countries having 70% literacy but no output in universities.

Here we can take the example of bangladesh which has 70 % literacy rate but zero universities in QS or times rankings.

Worry about your own country. :blah:

I heard from someone that KPK is now part of Switzerland. Is that true?

As a resident of KP i will say its not switzerland but its better than all previous governments combined.

Pakistan is indeed a top emerging economy. Hopefully it will realize its full potential soon.

PTI have done well in KPK. But only potians were expecting PTI to win elections because of Imran Khan alone. Another problem for PTI is that N isn't anywhere as bad as they make it out. N is way ahead of PPP in developing infrastructure and less corruption too. Not to forget zarb-e-azb which I doubt IK would have allowed if in power.

When you write "Export-to-GDP ratio is 20 %", do you mean GDP (PPP) or official exchange rate ?

Trade only matters in terms of official exchange rate (both trade amount and GDP).

PPP is more releveant for internal physical consumption.

Despite all this Pakistan has more than 10 universities in top 250 QS asian rankings and 6 in top 800. That's more than many countries having 70% literacy but no output in universities.

Here we can take the example of bangladesh which has 70 % literacy rate but zero universities in QS or times rankings.

Having a slightly better cherry on top does not matter much if the cake tastes like crap given the % enrolment in tertiary education to begin with:

http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/SE.TER.ENRR?locations=PK-IN-BD

Primary and secondary schooling concern the human capital quality of the 90 - 95% of the youth workforce who never enter the tertiary education to begin with........especially for the high volume blue collar, manufacturing jobs that Pakistan will need to supply to grow fast and sustainably by making best transfer efficiency of its aim to increase Gross Capital Formation through CPEC.

yeah but I am still confused, because GDP ppp is somewhere like $ 900 Bln and GDP real exchange is $ 270 bln. Export figure for both figures differentiates alot .

You cannot measure exports in PPP since Pakistanis are not consuming their own exports. Trade in general has no intersection with PPP which is a macroeconomic consumption multiplier.

PPP refers only to internal price levels because of a currency's effective/inherent overvaluation/undervaluation w.r.t US dollar or another global currency.

1146745-download-1469172106-114-640x480.jpg

PHOTO: Reuters

ISLAMABAD: Another international ratings agency has put Pakistan among top emerging South Asian economies because of continuity of policies and political stability.

2015-16: China helps as FDI in Pakistan surges 38.8%

Atlantic Media Company (AMC) of the United States has ranked Pakistan as a comparatively stronger economy in South Asian markets and expects the country will grow rapidly during the days ahead.

According to an AMC report, Pakistan government’s investment in infrastructure and other development projects has caused the country’s gross domestic product to grow.

The economy: All is not well

“It is acknowledged internationally that Pakistan is surfacing as a ‘market leader’. Current economic conditions of Pakistan are attracting foreign investors,” AMC noted.

It said last month the American stock index provider MSCI also included Pakistan among 10 most emerging economies in the world.

AMC pointed out that the security situation in Pakistan had also improved, resulting in economic stability.

China’s Premier says world should step up economic policy coordination

Moreover, $46 billion investment in the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor would help Pakistan overcome chronic problems like power crisis and unemployment.

It said the KSE 100-share Index had been performing the best among Asian markets during 2016 and was ranked as world’s fifth best stock market.

Published in The Express Tribune, July 22nd, 2016.

Like Business on Facebook, follow @TribuneBiz on Twitter to stay informed and join in the conversation.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/1146745/south-asia-pakistan-rated-among-top-emerging-economies/
Very good news.A strong Pakistan both militarily and economically is very positive for Bangladesh.Bharati ugly hagemony in south asia can be only contained if Pakistan and Bangladesh became militarily and economicaly strong.:cheers:

Very good news.A strong Pakistan both militarily and economically is very positive for Bangladesh.Bharati hagemony in south asia can be only contained if Pakistan and Bangladesh became militarily and economicaly strong.:cheers:

Not as long as we control your by proxy through BAL and SHW. Most Pakistani members would agree :P