Pakistan not ‘gouging’ over NATO’s Afghan routes: Khar

VelocuR

Pakistan not ‘gouging’ over NATO’s Afghan routes: Khar

393046-HinaRabbaniKharPID-1339586813-345-640x480.jpg

CANBERRA / ISLAMABAD: Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar said on Tuesday difficult talks with the United States to repair frayed ties and re-open Nato supply routes to Afghanistan were not being thwarted by a Pakistani demand for high tariffs on the supplies.

Pakistan cut the routes for Nato supplies in November last year to protest against the death of 24 Pakistani soldiers killed in cross-border fire from Nato aircraft.

The supply lines for goods shipped in to the Pakistani port of Karachi and trucked in to landlocked Afghanistan have been vital for US-led forces over their more than 10-year involvement in Afghanistan.

Now, the routes are seen as important for the withdrawal of most foreign troops from Afghanistan before the end of 2014.

But talks on getting the routes re-opened have become snagged on a Pakistani demand for a substantial increase in the fees Pakistan charges on the supplies, media has reported.

But Foreign Minister Khar rejected that.

“Pakistan is not in any sort of price-gouging debate right now. So these impressions are indeed incorrect, wrong and must be dispersed as soon as possible,” Khar told reporters.

“The US side knows very well the needs and requirements to enable us to move in that direction, to enable us to take that decision,” she said, referring to re-opening the routes.

She did not elaborate.

The United States has rebuffed Pakistan’s demands for an apology for the air strike in November in which the 24 Pakistani soldiers were killed and ties have become severely strained.

The two sides failed to agree on the tariff and the United States said on Monday it was withdrawing negotiators from Pakistan without securing a deal after six weeks of talks.

NATO still hopes for Pakistan transit agreement

Nato still hopes to reopen transport supply routes to Afghanistan through neighbouring Pakistan despite securing new transit deals with three Central Asian states, Nato Secretary-General Anders Fogh Rasmussen said.

Rasmussen said the Nato transit agreements with Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan and Kyrgyzstan would give Nato forces more flexibility ahead of the planed withdrawal of most foreign combat troops from Afghanistan by the end of 2014.

“We want as many options as possible,” Rasmussen told the National Press Club in the Australian capital, Canberra.

“Winding down a very comprehensive mission in Afghanistan is logistically quite a challenge, and to manage that we need as many transit opportunities as possible,” he said.

However, Rasmussen also said officials were hopeful the transit route through Pakistan would be re-opened “in a not too distant future”.

The issue of military supply routes through Pakistan has become a lightning rod for tensions between the United States and Pakistan, adding to Pakistan’s concerns over drone strikes and the US incursion into Pakistan last year in the operation that killed al Qaeda leader Osama bin Laden.

US officials have warned that resupplying troops in Afghanistan through the northern, Central Asian route could be up to two-and-a-half times more expensive.

That route could also require cooperation from Russia to ensure access to sea ports, but Rasmussen said Nato already had an agreement with Moscow. He gave few other details.

“We have already a reverse transit agreement with Russia, and the fact that we have now concluded transit arrangements with a number of Central Asian states makes our transit arrangement with Russia even more effective,” Rasmussen said.

He refused to comment on the costs of using northern supply routes, adding the system worked on a commercial basis with transport companies in the transit countries.

Rasmussen is in Australia for talks with Australian Defence Minister Stephen Smith and to sign a Nato-Australia political agreement with Prime Minister Julia Gillard.

Australia, a strong US ally, is the largest non-Nato contributor to Afghanistan, with around 1,500 troops.

scaled.php

Why this didn't came in the news 2 weeks before? it shows price-gouging debate has been closed forever.

sorry to say price of what our blood ? no thanks we don't want to open it again thanks USA-NATO for killing our innocent solders and citizens .

No Imran bhai practically that money had given thousands of people jobs in Pakistan specially truck drivers and transporters for years.

yaar trucks was working since 1947 here and they never sleep hungry ever . just think news abut nato supply targeted in pakistan how many times this news published and we felt ashamed ? how many time these terror acts happen and world got massage pakistan is not safe country ? and please check terror attacks are going down day by day now . please have mercy on pakistan and poor pakistanis .we should not open this mess door again .

So you mean Pakistan has now taken terrorist side by closing down NATO supplies? It's Pakistan's decision to open it or not and you guys better know your interests than anybody else :)

no my brother they (terrorists ) take revenge of US-NATO from pakistan when pakistan drop supply now they go and face US-NATO . in fact they punish pakistan for mistakes of US-NATO because we was ally and we supply them everything .trust me it was hell load of weapons APCs AMMO food parts and much more we supply them .that is why taliban kill us daily .:frown:

Then good if it's blocked!! at least Pakistani people can have some relief now.

imran bhai wesy itny pyar say samjhatey nahi kisi ko....... lolzzzzzzzzzzzz
hai na imran:azn:

Then good if it's blocked!! at least Pakistani people can have some relief now.

thanks allot dear i also wish peace and stability of Afghanistan . i wish one of this day it will be like UAE .i hope our brothers enjoy peace and wealth of their natural resources .i hope one day there will be no weapons on afghan land and stop dropping blood of our brothers . :rolleyes:

imran bhai wesy itny pyar say samjhatey nahi kisi ko....... lolzzzzzzzzzzzz
hai na imran:azn:

sure why not ???? what i will get from argue or stupid remarks ? and one more thing he is our brother from across the border not amercan .:D

and please don't use urdu i got warning last night for urdu ;)

Pakistan has "scaled down" demands for per-truck tax in talks to reopen supply route

pakistan_134204354_620x350.jpg

Trucks carrying supplies for NATO forces in Afghanistan wait at Pakistan's Torkham border crossing after Pakistani authorities shut the vital NATO supply route, Nov. 28, 2011.
(Credit: Getty)

(CBS News) ISLAMABAD - A senior Pakistani official says his country has "scaled down" the amount it is demanding as a per-vehicle charge on future NATO supply shipments as Islamabad and the U.S. continue to negotiate an end to the dispute surrounding the closure of a land supply route for U.S. forces in Afghanistan.

U.S. defense chief Leon Panetta says the detour around Pakistan and through Central Asia is costing the American government $100 million every month.

A senior Pakistani security official confirms to CBS News that the two sides are continuing to "actively negotiate" a solution, in spite of the impression given on Monday when U.S. officials confirmed an American team which had tried for more than a month to reach a deal to reopen the supply route, was returning home from Islamabad.

U.S. finds way around Pakistan route blockage

The route was blocked by Pakistan in November last year after 26 of its soldiers were killed in a U.S. helicopter strike which targeted two Pakistani army posts near the Afghan border. In the past, Pakistani officials are known to have demanded a steep increase in the tariff for each truck carrying supplies to Western forces in Afghanistan via the roadways of Pakistan.

The Pakistani official, who spoke to CBS News on condition of anonymity, said Pakistan had "scaled down its expectations on the financial compensation," but was still insisting on "a proper and high level apology" - another key demand made by the nation's leaders, and one which has yet to be met to their satisfaction by the Obama administration.

Pakistani Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar, reiterated that demand during a visit to Kabul on Thursday, saying the U.S. must issue an "unconditional" apology for the killing of the Pakistani soldiers.

Secretary of Defense Leon Panetta is quoted by the Reuters news agency as telling U.S. lawmakers on Wednesday that using alternate routes to supply troops and remove hardware as the Afghan war is wound down, is costing the American taxpayer approximately "$100 million a month because of the closure (of the Pakistani routes)."

Video: Treacherous tunnel to supply NATO troops

He made the remarks during a U.S. Senate budget hearing.

Pakistan has also demanded an end to the U.S. drone strikes that target suspected Taliban and al Qaeda-linked militants in the nation's tribal region along the Afghan border. Panetta has made it clear that the strikes - which have practically decapitated al Qaeda's leadership over the course of the last year, will not stop.

Since the closure of the supply route in November, Pakistani officials have complained bitterly about the U.S. refusal to acknowledge Islamabad as a key ally, in spite of sacrifices made by the country's own security personnel in fighting Islamic militants.

Panetta: U.S. "reaching the limits of our patience" with Pakistan

"Pakistan is not an enemy of the United States," insisted the senior Pakistani official who briefed CBS News on Thursday. "We have remained an important U.S. ally. Why should the U.S. not be prepared to mend fences with an ally. That's the least that the U.S. can do in recognizing the loss of lives (in the November air strike)."

The Pakistani official also hinted that there maybe some room for compromise on Islamabad's public demand that the drone strikes end.

"We can't have drone strikes as in the past. There has to be some new understanding," he tells CBS News, adding without clarification that, "there are different ideas on the table. We are trying to resolve this matter to suit both the U.S. and Pakistan."

In the past, Pakistani officials have told CBS News in private conversations that they would be willing to discuss alternatives to completely halting the drone program, such as an arrangement where the attacks are jointly managed by the two countries.

U.S. officials have fiercely defended the drone program in the face of mounting criticism, arguing that it offers an invaluable alternative to risky ground operations or the use of low-flying manned aircraft.

In early June, Abu Yahya al-Libi, the second-highest ranking figure in al Qaeda after Ayman al-Zawahiri, was killed in a drone attack inside Pakistan.

A Western defense official in Islamabad, who also spoke to CBS News Thursday on the condition that he not be named, said the deadlock surrounding U.S. relations with Pakistan simply "cannot continue indefinitely," as Washington ramps up its withdrawal of military assets in line with President Obama's stated goal of having the vast majority of combat forces out of Afghanistan by 2014.

"Once we get closer to the withdrawal, U.S.-Pakistan relations will become more important," said the official. "The U.S. needs the route through Pakistan to withdraw large bits of military hardware that will not be left behind in Afghanistan. Right now, I suspect, both sides are trying to draw a very hard bargain. The promising aspect, however, is that it seems the U.S. and Pakistan are still talking. I would have been more concerned if there was a total communication failure."

This story was edited by CBSNews.com's Tucker Reals.

Pakistan has "scaled down" demands for per-truck tax in talks to reopen supply route - World Watch - CBS News

but not yet scaled down apology

Khar persists on apology for Nato strike

Updated 2 hours ago
From Web Edition

[Khar persists on apology for Nato strike]

ShareThisNew 0 0 Email0

KABUL: Pakistan on Thursday called again for an apology for a Nato cross-border strike that killed two dozen of its soldiers last year before it considers reopening supply routes to foreign troops in Afghanistan.

Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar, speaking to reporters in the Afghan capital Kabul, also rejected reports that Pakistan was haggling with the United States over transportation fees for the supplies.

“Pakistan still wants an unconditional apology and the reassurance that the Salala type of incident does not happen again,” she said, referring to the border area where the incident took place.

The supply lines for goods shipped to the Pakistani port of Karachi and trucked to Afghanistan have been vital for US-led forces in their involvement in the landlocked country, a conflict now in its eleventh year.

Now, the routes are seen as important for the withdrawal of most foreign troops from Afghanistan before the end of 2014.

The United States has rebuffed Pakistan’s demands for an apology for the air strike in November and last week Defense Secretary Leon Panetta said the United States was at the limits of its patience over the existence of safe havens for militants in Pakistan who were carrying out attacks in Afghanistan.

Khar said Pakistan was not supporting any militant group and that it was doing whatever it could to advance the peace process in Afghanistan which she said must be “Afghan-led, Afghan-owned.” (Reuters)

Khar persists on apology for Nato strike - thenews.com.pk

but not yet scaled down apology

Well, let's see:

=====================

Excerpt from: Apology will help improve ties, says key US senator | DAWN.COM

“Pakistan had backed away from its demand for a sharp increase in transit fees as a condition for reopening the routes.

There were also signs that Pakistan was open to something short of a high-level public apology,” the report said.

i think wwe should tell them to pay for damages to infrastrututre then ofcourse should decrease the transit