Pakistan is now a $300-billion economy "Growth rate hits nine-year high of 5.28pc"

Dumb dude, have you drawn the comparison yet I've been asking you to draw? Turkey population is less than Pakistan but economy is much stronger. Same is the case with Germany and Japan.
Population doesn't matter as long as population doesn't consist of losers like you with IQ sitting at 0. You copy that? ZEROOOOOOOO.
You draw comparison with India in all fields. Yet, when someone talks about Indian economy, all of a sudden you become a weak pu$$y and hide behind the fact that India is much bigger in terms of Population. If I agree to your pu$$y logic then tell me why countries like Japan, Germany and Turkey with less population than Pakistan managed much much stronger economy?????? Dumb dude. I'm wasting my point. Report my post and ban me.

Even your English comprehension is pathetic. Obviously, working in small call center won't help that. One needs education. I never said, lets follow Indian economic policies and be like them. All I said is, $300 billion is not our goal. We got to compete with India which is at 2.67 Trillion dollars. You don;t have to copy their policies by surpassing their economy and a dumbo like you would think that way :)

Yes, its a massive goal but what we got to do? Cheer about $300 billion hallmark and that's it? Modern day wars are economic wars. Our enemy is India and we got to compete with them.

I wonder how you manage to live in England with this level of English comprehension. Even if you're really in England, you've a high probability of being an Indian child than me. If you know what I mean ;)

You're correct about it. However, people who live low life in UK, driving cabs and mopping stores won;t understand that. They would say bigger population means bigger economy.

Again, you are not making ANY sense at all. IF Pakistan is to have an economy of about 3 trillion, being a nation of just under 200 million as opposed to over 1.3 billion, WE NEED TO follow the economic policies of China, Turkey and the West. The indian MO will not work for us.

Nothing to take away from your post but I believe, what we forget is that while drawing a comparison with Bangladesh on the basis of petroleum usage is unfair as Bangladesh has an area comparable to Sindh. Pakistan with an area 5.5 times that of Bangladesh has more use of fuel due to greater trucking and transportation costs. Our population centres are fairly distant and dispersed as compared to Bangladesh. The more need for distant travelling also necessitates more vehicles on road. Electricity production also would theoretically have more line losses in Pakistan than Bangladesh due to greater distance from source.
Though energy consumption, vehicles etc do give some rough ideas, they can't be accepted as concrete pieces of evidence.
More power to Pakistan and Bangladesh. InshaAllah.

IMF says, Bangladesh's GDP is $270 Billion, and when we observe that Pakistan consumes Petroleum, Natural Gas and Electricity much more than Bangladesh, than we wonder why is the case.

The Energy is consumed by general populace and of-course industry/business: Higher the consumption by industry higher would be the Output and higher GDP figure; and higher the consumption by Populace and well this show that Populace can afford the higher consumption of Energy, which is only possible if Populace is earning accordingly. Check online and you can confirm that richer a country and higher the energy consumption.

Your assertion that larger by area a country the higher the consumption of Petroleum don't hold water: for example, Pakistan has a bit larger area than Turkey, but in contrast Turkey consumes about 70% more Petroleum than Pakistan: If you research, you can find that many African countries with much larger area than Pakistan but much less petroleum consumption.
It is the economic activity and purchasing power of populace that drives the energy consumption.

Similarly, line losses as you dictated can't explain the huge difference of electricity consumption. Technical losses in High Tension (HT) transmission is about 5% average.
Comparison of Cars was show as an indicator, I am sure if you check for motorcycles, tractors, electric appliance like air conditioners, fridges, tvs etc. you will find similar differences.

Question is, a country (Bangladesh) with GDP of $ 270 Billion with a population of 150 Million people, consumes about half of energy, and don't import or assemble cars, home appliances in comparable number in comparison of a country (Pakistan) with GDP of $307 Billion with a population of 180-190 Million, how is this possible?

Again, you are not making ANY sense at all. IF Pakistan is to have an economy of about 3 trillion, being a nation of just under 200 million as opposed to over 1.3 billion, WE NEED TO follow the economic policies of China, Turkey and the West. The indian MO will not work for us.
Dude who told you to follow India's economic policies? Why don't you read my post before trolling on one point? Anyway, you can't understand. Lets end it here.

May be because, more Bangladeshis have more contribution to the economy, unlike Pakistan where tapping the potential of Baluchistan has started just now.

And may be because rural and people close to Afthan border have less contribution to the economy. That is why Pakistan need inclusive plan to tap more human resource.

Also your security issue is responsible for drawing less FDI in last decade.

And of course, more women (like in the garment sector) are contributing in the GDP here unlike Pakistan.

Well the point is Pakistan consumption in every daily life product is almost 2-4 times of Bangladesh. SO from where Bangladesh is getting growth rate and this GDP.

IMF says, Bangladesh's GDP is $270 Billion, and when we observe that Pakistan consumes Petroleum, Natural Gas and Electricity much more than Bangladesh, than we wonder why is the case.

The Energy is consumed by general populace and of-course industry/business: Higher the consumption by industry higher would be the Output and higher GDP figure; and higher the consumption by Populace and well this show that Populace can afford the higher consumption of Energy, which is only possible if Populace is earning accordingly. Check online and you can confirm that richer a country and higher the energy consumption.

Your assertion that larger by area a country the higher the consumption of Petroleum don't hold water: for example, Pakistan has a bit larger area than Turkey, but in contrast Turkey consumes about 70% more Petroleum than Pakistan: If you research, you can find that many African countries with much larger area than Pakistan but much less petroleum consumption.
It is the economic activity and purchasing power of populace that drives the energy consumption.

Similarly, line losses as you dictated can't explain the huge difference of electricity consumption. Technical losses in High Tension (HT) transmission is about 5% average.
Comparison of Cars was show as an indicator, I am sure if you check for motorcycles, tractors, electric appliance like air conditioners, fridges, tvs etc. you will find similar differences.

Question is, a country (Bangladesh) with GDP of $ 270 Billion with a population of 150 Million people, consumes about half of energy, and don't import or assemble cars, home appliances in comparable number in comparison of a country (Pakistan) with GDP of $307 Billion with a population of 180-190 Million, how is this possible?

If you read my comment carefully, I have clearly mentioned some reasons, where Bangladesh clearly benefits e.g Low transportation costs due to less distance needed to travel from port to factory and back to port.
I never said that energy usage is not a criteria to access economy. My point was that it is not a very good and conclusive criteria.
Coming to the point where the whole discussion started was about the underground/black/undocumented economy of Pakistan, Yes, I agree there is a strong belief in economic circles that our GDP is not truly represented by the numbers given.
I remember a research paper in 2012 by M. Ali Kemal and Ahmed Waqar Qasim (both my teachers at PIDE) estimated underground economy of Pakistan to be between 30-56% of GDP.

This $300 billion and statistical figures are all crap. N league wants to kick dirt in the eyes of Pakistani. They want to get elected again. By reviewing the posts, I can clearly see people would vote for N league. You know, why? Because Pakistan's economy is now $300 billion. We surpassed Bangladesh, yayyyyyyyy!

Bangladesh is a compact State. Condensed and centralized.

It doesn't require as much fuel to transport from 1 side to the other.

Neither do they use as much fossil fuel power plants as does Pakistan, or face as much transmission loss due to the lines. And a few more compounding effects.

The right news and if the current growth rate is kept up Pakistan can see change. But we have to take into account this is a nation of 200 million or more people. Now look at the GDP's of countries with similar sized populations...There is a great deal of work to do.

May be because, more Bangladeshis have more contribution to the economy, unlike Pakistan where tapping the potential of Baluchistan has started just now.

And may be because rural and people close to Afthan border have less contribution to the economy. That is why Pakistan need inclusive plan to tap more human resource.

Also your security issue is responsible for drawing less FDI in last decade.

And of course, more women (like in the garment sector) are contributing in the GDP here unlike Pakistan.

Thank you for your post.
For textiles, we need spinning, weaving, knitting, dying, etc machines maned by skilled or semiskilled work force.
But machines would still need electricity, natural gas or furnace oil or some other power source for boilers/steam etc. In this day and age energy consumption is directly proportional to industrial output.

it is not a question of what portion or segment of a country is contributing, or FDI but a comparison between two countries where energy consumption is so disproportionate.

Listen brother, people in punjab know reality of Sindh and how much PPP have developed it over the last 40 years. PTI is better option but as long as N keep delivering on it's promise then they can't be defeated. Now other parties are working against development of punjab by doing dharnas etc

Unlike in other provinces, people in punjab ask for development. Even most corrupt MNA will have to invest some money to develop village where he want to get vote. Roads, school etc Ideally there should be 0% corruption but even Imran Khan can't guarantee corruption free Pakistan. He closed KP NAB for last 4 years because some cases were opened against his allies.

Other parties can't see developed punjab, they want to cut share in NFC for punjab more and more. That way they will say look punjab is as underdeveloped as us while they get more budget on per person basis.

And since you never have visited any other area apart from karachi, don't judge rest of Pakistan through qatal party MQM. In Punjab there is total ban on guns display, especially by political parties. Target killing of opposition parties is 0 unlike in Karachi. And PTI is as much "punjabi" party as N.
I do not agree with you but arguing so often with my MQM supporting relatives has taught me one thing. Pakistani voting methods are based on:

1) Living in the area or part of Pakistan they have been living in for generations and the party that is from that area.
2) Choosing what they believe is the best for them out of the limited choices available (and)
3) even if it is the muhallay ki party or "hamari zaat ko represent karnay wali party."
(the other things I already mentioned in the last post like baradari and rigging <one person casting many votes)

This voting method is dangerous and clearly does not bring the best and most ideal candidates who should rule us. A lot of factors in developed countries where people think critically like whether the party promotes merit or is not corrupt do not even factor in the consideration. Now obviously since we have a juggling match between PPPP and PMLN both ruling Pakistan and coming in constantly (barring military rule) there is some development by these parties. I mean duh' those are the only 2 parties chosen to lead Pakistan and there is some development when they are the only ones who rule not counting the billions or trillions wasted in corruption and ghost projects. Then this limited development is peddled by the party as its economic development which those small minded people from small villages buy into despite seeing nothing on ground.

Now regardless of how I hate the way we vote I have to ask what choice is there anyway and what is the mentality of Pakistanis.

I am not fully an advocate of PTI, It has its flaws but it offers a more non traditional and unconventional approach to Pakistani politics. It is not the best but apparently its leader talks about the right things like merit, end of corruption, gap between rich and poor etc.

Also if we keep voting for the same people, we will keep getting the same result. It is better to try a new party which atleast says the right things. I have never seen even PPP and PMLN cadres saying there is zero corruption in these parties. You know there is corruption too. Long ago a Lahori friend of mine gave the excuse that he votes for Mian sahab because he is less corrupt, not that he is clean.

The only solution is to try another and a new party. PTI is that party. Even if PTI fails to deliver we will have tried for a new Pakistan brother. Voting for the same people over and over doesn't give us the chance to see what is or could be better. Perhaps we will grow at 7% with PTI, who knows, but if we try the same party we will never know. Give the new party a chance.

Also we have to bring new parties. New blood is good and washes away the old. I am trying to explain things your way.

You know my hatred for PMLN but as I said I acknowledge some of the thinking that goes into voting corrupt parties or in our relatives case a party that is intrinsically violent. The process will not end unless we think logically and think zero of baradari and 100% for Pakistan's benefit. Also I acknowledge Mian Sahab is Kashmiri not Punjabi, not that it matters to me one bit but as I said even you won't dispute that he is corrupt. Perhaps you will say he is less corrupt than others. But that is no excuse. Accepting a "little" corruption as a part of our daily life is being part of it. Why not ask for someone completely clean and if we don't see anyone available then join the process ourselves with the intention of serving Pakistan and only Pakistan. The entire system needs change and PMLN is no bringer of change in the major scheme of things, very sorry to say. It is part of the system.

@Zibago @Hell hound Others. My response to all who vote for PMLN and PPPP.

@Saif-ud-Din Qutuz u are not taking into account the odds that have been against pakistan for the past 70 yrs, from its conception as an islamic republic the entire west and zionist world marked it as the top enemy, they never openly declared it but they focused the most on pakistan in the ummah because pakistan was one nation in the ummah that was uncontrollable, had we not had to make nukes our economic outlook would've been very different, had we not had to contend with some or other superpower coming after us after every decade our economical outlook would've been very different, first we had to contend with india right after our conception which was left by the british with the lions share of economic and military resources, than we had to contend with the soviets coming after our blood, than we had to make nukes to protect our existance, the resulting sanctions and isolation crippled us, than right after that we had to contend with the Us coming after us via afghanistan, and man was that assault merciless, every powerful entity on earth was out for our blood in the past 15 yrs, assault after assault to break us up, now scroll down my reply and decipher for ur self with a critical mind "how many nations would've survived the above assaults" and ur talking about economical uplift?? India has been the pampered baby of world powers since its conception, it has had every ease and suport from the reigning powers while we have been and are alone like always, only china comes to our aid and in some regards now turkey, every other, even muslim nations including iran and saudis have conspired against us fron time to time, so meharbani karo and just for the sake of crticism dont be hard on ur nation, we have held our own and survived when none other would've in our circumstances, hamara masla na shukri hai, han do constructive criticism but dont start doubting the capability and conviction of our nation, as i said none other would've even survived in our circumstances, blame the ones who wrong this nation, dont start blaming and crusing this nation because that makes ur narrative in coherence with the likes of india etc, there is a huge difference between ciriticizing the culprits who wrong this nation and criticizing the nation itself and u are doing the latter, so kindly refrain from amateur analysis in the future where u ignore all the mitigating circumstances, vitiating factors and internal/external catalysts. P.s i saw one of ur posts above where u were crticizing a dude for his english?? Really?? I mean seriously???, that shows how broad ur thought horizon is, english is not a standard of bieng educated, english is just a language, knowledge is what matters, not the langauge, get out of ur little universe and go visit the world and u will see that most of europe doesnt even speak the language....

The right news and if the current growth rate is kept up Pakistan can see change. But we have to take into account this is a nation of 200 million or more people. Now look at the GDP's of countries with similar sized populations...There is a great deal of work to do.

With this good news and the continued rise and rise of CPEC, the Pakistan economy is all but set to rise massively. Perhaps even more than any of us anticipate. Pakistan will one day be more powerful than our founding fathers could ever imagine. I wish those millions who perished in their sacrifice for the creation of Pakistan knew it was not in vain.

I do not agree with you but arguing so often with my MQM supporting relatives has taught me one thing. Pakistani voting methods are based on:

1) Living in the area or part of Pakistan they have been living in for generations and the party that is from that area.
2) Choosing what they believe is the best for them out of the limited choices available (and)
3) even if it is the muhallay ki party or "hamari zaat ko represent karnay wali party."
(the other things I already mentioned in the last post like baradari and rigging <one person casting many votes)

This voting method is dangerous and clearly does not bring the best and most ideal candidates who should rule us. A lot of factors in developed countries where people think critically like whether the party promotes merit or is not corrupt do not even factor in the consideration. Now obviously since we have a juggling match between PPPP and PMLN both ruling Pakistan and coming in constantly (barring military rule) there is some development by these parties. I mean duh' those are the only 2 parties chosen to lead Pakistan and there is some development when they are the only ones who rule not counting the billions or trillions wasted in corruption and ghost projects. Then this limited development is peddled by the party as its economic development which those small minded people from small villages buy into despite seeing nothing on ground.

Now regardless of how I hate the way we vote I have to ask what choice is there anyway and what is the mentality of Pakistanis.

I am not fully an advocate of PTI, It has its flaws but it offers a more non traditional and unconventional approach to Pakistani politics. It is not the best but apparently its leader talks about the right things like merit, end of corruption, gap between rich and poor etc.

Also if we keep voting for the same people, we will keep getting the same result. It is better to try a new party which atleast says the right things. I have never seen even PPP and PMLN cadres saying there is zero corruption in these parties. You know there is corruption too. Long ago a Lahori friend of mine gave the excuse that he votes for Mian sahab because he is less corrupt, not that he is clean.

The only solution is to try another and a new party. PTI is that party. Even if PTI fails to deliver we will have tried for a new Pakistan brother. Voting for the same people over and over doesn't give us the chance to see what is or could be better. Perhaps we will grow at 7% with PTI, who knows, but if we try the same party we will never know. Give the new party a chance.

Also we have to bring new parties. New blood is good and washes away the old. I am trying to explain things your way.

You know my hatred for PMLN but as I said I acknowledge some of the thinking that goes into voting corrupt parties or in our relatives case a party that is intrinsically violent. The process will not end unless we think logically and think zero of baradari and 100% for Pakistan's benefit. Also I acknowledge Mian Sahab is Kashmiri not Punjabi, not that it matters to me one bit but as I said even you won't dispute that he is corrupt. Perhaps you will say he is less corrupt than others. But that is no excuse. Accepting a "little" corruption as a part of our daily life is being part of it. Why not ask for someone completely clean and if we don't see anyone available then join the process ourselves with the intention of serving Pakistan and only Pakistan. The entire system needs change and PMLN is no bringer of change in the major scheme of things, very sorry to say. It is part of the system.

@Zibago @Hell hound Others. My response to all who vote for PMLN and PPPP.

You don't get it, PTI is punjabi party as it gets like N. People in punjab voted for Sindhi Bhutto, do you think they will not vote for PTI? N, PPP and PTI are 3 mainstream parties in which one can find people from every corner of Pakistan. Just see results of some of by elections and how close they were.

You can't compare it with Karachi where muhajir vote bank is reserved for MQM only. Once we see any other party winning some seats then we will talk. Even interior Sindh have more competition for PPP then MQM have in Karachi. You just want paint everyone with same brush looking through Karachi ethnically divided eyes.

Bangladesh is a compact State. Condensed and centralized.

It doesn't require as much fuel to transport from 1 side to the other.

In simpler term, Bangladesh is a small country. And I have already explained in my previous post #107 in detail that size of country has nothing to do with energy consumption of that country. Example given was Turkey which has area a bit less than Pakistan consumes about 70% more of Petroleum. You may want to check the Petroleum consumption of Singapore in the following link.
http://www.theglobaleconomy.com/rankings/oil_consumption/

Neither do they use as much fossil fuel power plants as does Pakistan, or face as much transmission loss due to the lines. And a few more compounding effects.
These already answered in post 107, please point to deficiency or point of disagreement in my reply.

Further to augment my point; lets assume your points are valid, that would in simpler terms mean that Bangladesh is much more efficient than Pakistan, so should be much more profitable.
But why is that we don't see any visible effect of this? there is not huge difference of per capita GDP of India, Pakistan and Bangladesh; but new car registration in India is more than 200,000 units per month (Huge population), it is more than 200,000 units in a year for Pakistan but for Bangladesh it is 21000 units for year (2015): Check for motorcycles, tractors, Electrical Appliance ACs, Fridges, TVs etc.
My point is that Pakistan's GDP figure is not correct.