Pakistan donating 500,000 chloroquine tablets to Italy: Italian ministry

fisher1

Pakistan has announced that it will donate 500,000 tablets of chloroquine, a medicine useful for the treatment of coronavirus patients, to Italy, the Italian foreign affairs ministry said in a statement on its website.

The statement said “the medications were made available by the local Armed Forces, as confirmed to our Ambassador by the Army Chief of Staff, General Bajwa.”

Italy’s Foreign Affairs Minister Luigi Di Maio appreciated Pakistan’s contribution of medicines at a time when the country is itself experiencing a severe spike in the number of infections.

Coronavirus has claimed over 8,100 lives in Italy and infected some 80,000 people in the country. In Pakistan, at least nine people have died due to the virus and over 12,00 are under treatment at the hospital across the country.

https://www.samaa.tv/global/2020/03...0-anti-coronavirus-tablets-to-italy-ministry/

We in coffee club. You get some preferential treatment when you have coffee with Pakistanis.

No this does not mean corruption, bribe or underhanded deals.

Wink wink ciao ciao.

500,000 is a very small quantity. Probably less than a day production ... shortage is probably due to hoarding and not due to non-availablity.

In any case pharma sector is regulatesld and in case of need government can get it manufactured. I am sure they have ample in stock at quarantine facilities.

But how? There is shortage of drug in Pakistan itself. I went through all the shops in city and they be like "bhai, short ho gai hai, bilkul nahi mil rahi".

:crazy:
There is no shortage, please dont misquote it. Few days back Dr. Zafar Mirza made it clear that government has already done stock taking and the medicine is banned from exporting. So government knows how much stock is there in the country even if anyone tries to hoarding. 500,000 is nothing but generates alot of goodwill in that country.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2162276/1-pakistan-effective-drug-covid-19/
The official Weibo account of Bayer China confirmed the news and said that the batch of medicines was completed in 24 hours. 200,000 of the 300,000 tablets were “sold” to Guangzhou Pharmaceutical Holdings Limited (GPHL) at zero yuan.

We made 300,000 tablets within 24 hours. And that was a month ago. I'm sure given the situation, we would have scaled up production to 500,000 / day.

There is no shortage, please dont misquote it. Few days back Dr. Zafar Mirza made it clear that government has already done stock taking and the medicine is banned from exporting. So government knows how much stock is there in the country even if anyone tries to hoarding. 500,000 is nothing but generates alot of goodwill in that country.

Okay g. Then all the shops in my city hate me and their business and don't want to sell it.

I should've quoted zafar mirza to them, maybe then they would've sold it to me.

Good, I hope authorities are making sure that we have enough stocks available for worst scenarios.

Okay g. Then all the shops in my city hate me and their business and don't want to sell it.

Why would they sell it to you? Are you a doctor? Do you have a valid prescription? Quoting Dr. Mirza or any chacha Mamaa would not have helped because the drug is banned from being sold to general public and only to government & hospitals. Again it would be better if you spend time time on knowing whats actually happening instead of relying on social media and whats app.

i think DRAP have issue advisory to not sale this without doctor's prescription.

Why would they sell it to you? Are you a doctor? Do you have a valid prescription? Quoting Dr. Mirza or any chacha Mamaa would not have helped because the drug is banned from being sold to general public and only to government & hospitals. Again it would be better if you spend time time on knowing whats actually happening instead of relying on social media and whats app.

Feel free to live in the Utopia you people imagine.

This is the end of this discussion.

Use your brain for a second. Why do you think they don't have it? The government is stocking up on it because it has, reportedly, potential to assist in treating Coronavirus infected patients.

If they supply these medicines to the medical stores. Two things will happen, which are self evident from a retard like yourself.

1. People will go out to mass by the medicine.
2. People will try to self administer themselves with this medicine, and probably kill themselves.

Why else you needed it, huh?

But how? There is shortage of drug in Pakistan itself. I went through all the shops in city and they be like "bhai, short ho gai hai, bilkul nahi mil rahi".

I just talk to my sister. Coloroquine is being manufactured by various pharmas and we received alot of export orders.

This 500,000 donation is tiny. Just daily production of pharama company in which my sis work is 200,000 bottles/suspensions per day. And one suspension is for atleast 5 days use of one patient.

They're not available without prescription and all stocks are now under Government control along with the ingredients from what this medicine is made of.

There's an export ban on the chloroquine medication along with it's ingredients as announced by Dr Mirza of Ministry of National Health Services.