Pakistan budget-Fiscal year 2013-2014: Discussions

brains taking on the budget, worth listening analysis !

All the programs today were very good. Capital Talk, ARY and all. Factual debates, with both parties appreciating and criticizing each other. A great jump from old rhetorical debates b/w PPP and PML. PPP just had jamhuriat, mufahmat, shaheed to talk about, nothing else.
@hasnain0099, that was the program I am talking about.

Real Estate has been let free. Malik Riaz would have been snooped by this! Instead of increasing GST and doubling tax on salaried people and increasing price of milk, they should have done something to gather the entrepreneurs, the business tycoons like Malik Riaz, capital gain, agriculturists, industrialists, those people still have been let free while the salaried people are getting further cramped up. Every other idiot is making up a housing scheme from Pindi to Multan and Muzaffargarh, because they know they have nothing to loose.

Those small things like milk, GST, coke/pepsi, Movies, films, oil, ghee etc would only effect the poor guy, the person earning 30 lac a month from real estate won't be affected by this. Why would he be affected if the price of milk goes up 15 Rs? But a slum dweller would be.

All of the above could have been substituted by taxing real estate. By taxing the real estate, the prices of milk, movie tickets, pepsi, ghee wouldn't have gone up, the salaried guy wouldn't have been paying 20-35% of his salary in tax, but the guy getting 30 lac a month and beyond from housing schemes and all would be affected.

Faisla Awam Ka 12th June 2013 - YouTube

This budget is it for the poor, need a naxalite movement of our own

---

The Pakistan Economy Watch (PEW) on Thursday criticised the new taxation measures introduced in the budget 2013-14, saying it will open floodgates of inflation and corruption.

“Revised sales tax (ST) rate from 16 percent to 17 percent will add to the miseries of dejected masses therefore this decision merits revision,” PEW President Dr Murtaza Mughal said.

- See more at: http://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/201...ad-to-economic-disaster/#sthash.VLO9krIg.dpuf

--

Meanwhile even though you can't afford to go to school, you will be guaranteed a laptop :)

#KhappayPAKISTAN

421639_441201895987137_847513880_n.jpg

:rofl:

Faisla Awam Ka 12th June 2013 - YouTube

This budget is it for the poor, need a naxalite movement of our own

---

The Pakistan Economy Watch (PEW) on Thursday criticised the new taxation measures introduced in the budget 2013-14, saying it will open floodgates of inflation and corruption.

“Revised sales tax (ST) rate from 16 percent to 17 percent will add to the miseries of dejected masses therefore this decision merits revision,” PEW President Dr Murtaza Mughal said.

- See more at: http://www.pakistantoday.com.pk/201...ad-to-economic-disaster/#sthash.VLO9krIg.dpuf

--

Meanwhile even though you can't afford to go to school, you will be guaranteed a laptop :)

#KhappayPAKISTAN

N-League have also imposed tax on private schools..

BMqOUBoCAAEmufe.jpg

dekho dekho kon aya............................... :D

The Income Support Program is funded largely by USA directly and it is spent according to their rules, not ours. We cannot divert it to other uses like you mention.

never heard of that, can u provide any source to your claim that its whole USA funded programme.?

The money used for BISP is routed through The World Bank, UK DFID, ADB and USAID under several heads. Details can be found in audit reports, for example:

http://oig.usaid.gov/sites/default/files/audit-reports/g-391-12-006-p.pdf
the funds from USAID will be grants but i doubt funds from world bank or asian development bank are grants but are loans...what i heard that over 150 billion ruppes were given in bISP where as only a portion came fin form of grants
also some local resources are aslo funded into the project..there are clear cut indications of corruption so why go ahead when u are adding to debt of contry

"The Income Support Levy Act has also been introduced to levy a 0.5% tax on moveable assets, receipts from which will be used to fund the National Support Fund, previously known as the Benazir Income Support Programme."

the funds from USAID will be grants but i doubt funds from world bank or asian development bank are grants but are loans...what i heard that over 150 billion ruppes were given in bISP where as only a portion came fin form of grants
also some local resources are aslo funded into the project..there are clear cut indications of corruption so why go ahead when u are adding to debt of contry

"The Income Support Levy Act has also been introduced to levy a 0.5% tax on moveable assets, receipts from which will be used to fund the National Support Fund, previously known as the Benazir Income Support Programme."

What would be any Pakistani program without corruption?

The funding of BISP is covered by Agreement No. 391–012–01 with the Government of Pakistan, and yes, audits have shown problems leading to delays in releasing the funds. The local component of funding is minor.

I don't know much about economics so bear with me!

Jehangir Tareen made a point on TV that if you have less than 50 acre of land, you are not liable for tax.

In the real estate sector, Ahsan Iqbal said that they are giving some leeway and promoting it so that a construction boom takes place, cement, iron, steel etc get a boost. They are also providing 50 lac loans or something like that, Arif Avi raised the point that a poor guy isn't going to get a loan of 50 lac, it would be the rich. So again, this budget caters to the rich rather than the poor, in forms of tax and other incentives.

Comprehensive interview with Ishaq Dar on the budget. Many questions including the question regarding agriculture tax have been answered
Kal Tak - 13th June 2013

That is a eye popping stat by Jehangir Tareen.

37 lac people with a NTN number in those posh areas earning chunks of money, only 15 lac give tax returns and all!

Truly remarkable.

waise just for laughs, bullet train ka door door tak zikar nahi tha budget mien :D

That is a eye popping stat by Jehangir Tareen.

37 lac people with a NTN number in those posh areas earning chunks of money, only 15 lac give tax returns and all!

Truly remarkable.

something Pmln is targeting this time. Tax revenue target is 23 % more than the last year !!!

I have explained it in detail here
http://www.defence.pk/forums/national-political-issues/257774-govt-vows-end-rs-500bn-circular-debt-60-days.html#post4395086
If doubts remain still, I ll be glad to explain it further

@Zarvan here

something Pmln is targeting this time. Tax revenue target is 23 % more than the last year !!!

@Zarvan here
The problem is they are targeting the budget from poor and lower middle class not from rich

waise just for laughs, bullet train ka door door tak zikar nahi tha budget mien :D

Bullet train can only come at least after 3.5 years of hard work to improve economy than their can be some chance of making economy better