Devil Soul

Overseas Pakistanis send $6.4b in five months
By Our Correspondent
Published: December 11, 2013

In November alone, Pakistanis in Saudi Arabia, UAE, USA, UK, other GCC countries and EU states sent home $334.10 million, $236.29 million, $175.82 million, $155.13 million, $128.18 million and $29.84 million respectively. ILLUSTRATION: JAMAL KHURSHID

KARACHI: Overseas Pakistani workers sent home $6.407 billion in the first five months (July-November) of the current fiscal year 2013-14, a growth of 7.10% compared with $5.982 billion remitted in the same period of last year.

According to data released by the State Bank of Pakistan (SBP) here on Tuesday, the inflow of remittances from Saudi Arabia, UAE, USA, UK, other GCC countries (including Bahrain, Kuwait, Qatar and Oman) and EU states stood at $1.794 billion, $1.297 billion, $1.026 billion, $962.76 million, $732.64 million and $179.14 million respectively.

In comparison, the inflows were $1.609 billion, $1.241 billion, $993.57 million, $845.86 million, $676.69 million and $161.16 million respectively in July-November 2012-13.

Remittances from Norway, Switzerland, Australia, Canada, Japan and other countries in the first five months of the current fiscal year amounted to $415.37 million against $454.69 million in the same period last year.

In November alone, Pakistanis in Saudi Arabia, UAE, USA, UK, other GCC countries and EU states sent home $334.10 million, $236.29 million, $175.82 million, $155.13 million, $128.18 million and $29.84 million respectively.

In November last year, the inflows were $300.84 million, $193.79 million, $152.29 million, $148.53 million, $117.18 million and $26.63 million respectively.

Remittances received from other countries in November amounted to $71.76 million.

Published in The Express Tribune, December 11th, 2013.

Like Business on Facebook, follow @TribuneBiz on Twitter to stay informed and join in the conversation.

Overseas Pakistanis have been more patriotic than the ones in Pakistan as many of them are busy in looting.

Worst thing is what they would have been thinking when they look at corruption, theft and sorry state of affairs.

Not just that, they also face prejudices because of wrong done by few Pakistanis in Pakistan alone.

And still we are paying additional tax on international calls impose by former PPP govt. and even SC order to remove that they still charging the same

Overseas Pakistanis have been more patriotic than the ones in Pakistan as many of them are busy in looting.

Worst thing is what they would have been thinking when they look at corruption, theft and sorry state of affairs.

Not just that, they also face prejudices because of wrong done by few Pakistanis in Pakistan alone.
wahi india wala haal ha .. my friend :D

And still we are paying additional tax on international calls impose by former PPP govt. and even SC order to remove that they still charging the same
who is going to vote ? BS yaar we have time for these jokes ? i will never ever do this stupidity :tdown:

wahi india wala haal ha .. my friend :D
Our NRIs are showing their true color. Indian woman humiliated and they didn't say a word but when it came to rights of gay, started pointing fingers on our country.

sari dunya main bus yehi aik issue hai kya bhai ?:angel:

This amount is normal, remittances were better ten years ago, its related to security situation.
Post news when remittances are $12 billion in 5 months.

While sending this money, we dont put conditions on Pakistan as its our country and we love it. This money cant at least go up 1.5 times if we see an honest and committed govt in Pakistan. But strange thing is we are not allowed to vote.