Now, bid to push back antiquity of the Vedas

Updated: September 18, 2015 14:16 IST
Now, bid to push back antiquity of the Vedas - The Hindu
Next weekend, Delhi University will host scholars who will reassess the chronology.
TH18_VEDA_2551683f_2551686f.jpg

The theme has been a bone of contention between left and liberal historians and many among the Sangh Parivar.

Moves are on, at the Sanskrit Department of the University of Delhi, to push back the commonly accepted date of the Vedas through astronomical calculations. Next weekend, the department will host scholars from across India who, over three days, will reassess the existing Vedic chronology accepted by a range of European scholars and Indian historians.

A bone of contention

Politically, the theme has been a bone of contention between Left and liberal historians and many among the Sangh Parivar.

Most Indian historians have held that the Harappan civilisation declined by 1800 BC and the Aryans appeared in north-west India around 1500 BC. Using philological evidence, the overlap between Vedic Sanskrit, old Persian and ancient European languages, most scholars have argued since the 19th century that the Rig Vedic Aryans came from outside.

Politically, this led to low-caste movements since the 19th century in western and southern India, where this theory was used to argue that Aryans had defeated “pre-Aryan” original inhabitants of India.

The Hindu Right has seen this theory as one that divides Hindus on caste lines. Significantly, the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh does not use the term Adivasis (“original” inhabitants) but Vanavasis (forest dwellers) for tribes, as all Hindus are “original” to India for it.

Any backward reassessment of Vedic chronology is useful for the Sangh, as it would imply that the Vedic and Harappan people were the same and there was no Aryan migration.

While accusing western, “Christian” scholars of distorting Sanskrit literature and disagreeing with the writings of eminent Indian Marxists, the university’s Sanskrit Department head, Ramesh Bhardwaj, denies any personal association with the Sangh Parivar.

Dating tools

“Many scholars have used archaeology to date the Vedas, and this does not take them before 3000 BC. But there are other dating tools that have been ignored or forgotten,” he says. “There are instances where Vedic literature offers the positions of stars and constellations at the moment it was composed. This can be calculated back mathematically to figure out the date when the positions actually corresponded to the description.” Mr. Bhardwaj says this can offer the latest possible date of the text, be it “5000 or 10,000 years back”.

He recalls that Lokmanya Tilak had used this method of calculation. Now, he adds, an Indian academic in the West has developed software to make accurate calculations.

The “method”, however, takes the Vedas as always representing a fact and never an imagination, though the latter is often part of all literature.

Mr. Bhardwaj has an answer for this. “Vedic culture was a yajna-based culture, and the exact auspicious hour is very important for yajnas. So, the descriptions must be factual.”

Veteran historian D.N. Jha told The Hindu: “People have come up with dates ranging from 1100 BC to 4000 BC from astronomical calculations. This shows that the evidence itself is dubious.” He added that for the Rig Veda, it was difficult to say whether what was being seen as a constellation was indeed a description of one.

Mr. Bhardwaj disapproves of the use of the word “classical” for Sanskrit by western writers, saying the term is used in the West to refer to a “dead” language while Sanskrit is still an “integral part” of our lives.

On scientific references

He is, however, not convinced with arguments by many that all scientific inventions, including, say, aviation, are contained in ancient texts. “To correlate ancient scientific references to modern science, one needs to be an expert in the terminology of both. Where the traditions are still alive, like maths or Ayurveda, one can make claims regarding ancient achievements. Any other claims may not yet have evidence to back them.”

Significantly, the University of Mumbai’s Sanskrit Department had in the last Indian Science Congress organised a session on ancient science, which included a paper on ancient aviation.

Indian Council of Historical Research Chairman Y.S. Rao has been invited for the Delhi University meet, which is part-funded by the Maharshi Sandipani Rashtriya Vedavidya Sansthan, an organisation under the Union Human Resource Development Ministry.

Tell these lagoons stop wasting time and start practicing the religion based on correct forum. It doesn't matter it 100 years old or 1 lac BC old. The matter is what is written in it.

Vice President's Secretariat
26-August, 2018 13:35 IST
Raksha Bandan is a symbol of care and protection: Vice President

Meets over 100 Children from various Schools

The Vice President of India, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu has said that Raksha Bandan is a symbol of care and protection. He was addressing more than 100 School Children from various Schools in Delhi who came to his residence to tie Rakhi on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, here today.

The Vice President said that it is an ancient Bharatheeya tradition and the festival of Raksha Bandhan, traditionally a celebration of human bonding between sisters and brothers, has a larger significance for contemporary times and probably for all times. It is celebration of solidarity, a celebration of unity and a celebration of humanism, he added.

The Vice President said that let us tie that Rakhi that binds us all together. Let us forget all the differences that tend to fragment our social fabric, he added.

The Vice President said that Raksha Bandhan signifies the invisible bond between brother and sister and it also reflects inherent implication of protection of a sister by the brother. He further said that let us all uphold the tradition of Raksha Bandhan by ensuring protection and respecting dignity of all women. Beti bachao, Beti Padhao and Beti Badaao should be the mantra of every Indian, he added.

The Minister for External Affairs, Smt. Sushma Swaraj visited the Vice President's residence and tied the Rakhi to him. The spouse of the Vice President, Smt. Usha Naidu was present on the occasion and exchanged warm greetings on Raksha Bandhan.

Prime Minister's Office
26-August, 2018 09:40 IST
PM greets people on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has greeted the people on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan.

“सभी देशवासियों को रक्षाबंधन के पावन पर्व की बहुत-बहुत शुभकामनाएं। Greetings on Raksha Bandhan", the Prime Minister said.

Children tying ‘Rakhi’ on the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi’s wrist, on the occasion of ‘Raksha Bandhan’, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652573.JPG

Children tying ‘Rakhi’ on the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi’s wrist, on the occasion of ‘Raksha Bandhan’, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652574.JPG

T2018082652575.JPG

T2018082652576.JPG

T2018082652577.JPG

T2018082652578.JPG

Women tying ‘Rakhi’ on the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi’s wrist, on the occasion of ‘Raksha Bandhan’, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652579.JPG

Women tying ‘Rakhi’ on the Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi’s wrist, on the occasion of ‘Raksha Bandhan’, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652580.JPG

Prime Minister's Office
26-August, 2018 11:34 IST
English rendering of PM’s address in 47th episode of Mann Ki Baat on 26.08.2018

My dear countrymen, Namaskar. Today, the entire country is celebrating Rakshabandhan. Heartiest greetings to all fellow citizens on this auspicious occasion. The festival of Rakshabandhan symbolizes the bond of love & trust between a brother & a sister. For centuries, this festival has proved to be a shining example of social harmony. In the nation’s history, there are innumerable accounts of this sacred thread, binding together people of distant lands, different religions, around a spindle of trust. In a few days from now, we shall celebrate the festive occasion of Janmashtami. The whole atmosphere will reverberate to the sonorous chants & calls of ‘Hathi, Ghoda, Palki’, ‘Jai KanhaiyaLalki’ and ‘Govinda-Govinda’. It is indeed an extremely joyous experience to imbue the essence of Bhagwan Krishna & revel blissfully. In other parts of the country, especially Maharashtra, our young friends must be busy with preparations of the ‘Dahi-Handi’…. the festive ritual of the human pyramid breaking the curd filled earthen pot. Heartiest greetings to all countrymen on the festive occasions of Rakshabandhanand Janmashtami.

BhaginiChinmayee, भवती संस्कृत –प्रश्न पृष्टवत्ती| Sister Chinmayee has asked a question in Sanskrit. Excellent, extraordinary. My salutations to you. On the occasion of Sanskrit week, I extend my best wishes to all countrymen.

I am extremely thankful to young Chinmayee for touching upon this subject. Friends, apart from Rakshabandhan, ShravanPoornima is also celebrated as Sanskrit Day.

I congratulate all those actively involved in preserving & conserving this glorious heritage, helping it to reach out to the masses. Every language has its own significance, sanctity. India takes great pride in the fact that Tamil is the most ancient of world languages. We Indians also feel proud that from Vedic times to the modern day, Sanskrit language has played a stellar role in the universal spread of knowledge.

Sanskrit language & literature encompasses a storehouse of knowledge pertaining to every facet of life. Science & technology, agriculture & health, Mathematics & Management, economy & environment, the entire spectrum has been touched upon. It is said that our Vedas have detailed reference on Mantras, onways & means to counter the challenges of global warming. You will be pleased to know that even today, residents of village Mattur in Shivamoga district of Karnataka use Sanskrit as their lingua franca.

You will be astonished to know that Sanskrit is a language that possesses the capacity for infinite word formation with two thousand verb roots, 200 suffixes & 22 prefixes; coupled with compounds, the possibility of word-creation is limitless. And that is why the minutest nuance of an expression or subject can be accurately described. This has been the core speciality of Sanskrit.Today, at times, in order to communicate more assertively, we tend to make use of English Quotations or even sher-o-shayari-urdu poetry. But those who are well acquainted with Sanskrit Subhashitas – epigrammatic verses, know very well that it is possible to make a crisp, precise statement, using very few words through the usage of subhashitas. And since there is a sense of geographical &cultural belonging, they are easy to understand & assimilate.

For example, in order to illustrate the significance of the Guru in one’s life, it has been said

एकमपि अक्षरमस्तु गुरु: शिष्यं प्रबोधयेr~|

प्रथिव्यां नास्ति तद- दृव्यं, यद – दत्त्वा ह्यu`.khHkosr~ ||

Thereby meaning, when a guru imparts even an iota of knowledge to the student, there is no material or wealth on the entire earth that the student can make use of, to repay the guru. We must abide by the same essence, the same spirit as we celebrate Teachers’ Day. Knowledge & the guru are incomparable, invaluable, priceless, On the occasion of Teachers’ Day, we remember the great philosopher, former President of India Dr. SarvapalliRadhakrishnanji. His birth anniversary is celebrated as Teacher’ Day across the country. I felicitate all the teachers in the country on this occasion. I also salute your sense of commitment towards science, education and students.

My dear countrymen, the monsoon comes along, bringing a new ray of hope to our toiling farmers. It provided much needed succor to the scorched trees & shrubs, and to parched water bodies; on the other hand excessive rainfall causes devastating floods. It’s a vagary of Nature that some places have received higher rainfall compared to other places. We just saw how the terrible floods in Kerala have affected human lives. In today’s pressing, hard times, the entire Nation is with Kerala. Our sympathies are with those families who lost their loved ones. Loss of lives cannot be compensated, but I assure the grief-stricken families that in this moment of suffering& misery, a hundred & twenty five crore Indians stand by them, shoulder to shoulder. I earnestly pray for those injured in this natural disaster to get well soon. I firmly believe that the sheer grit and courage of the people of the state will see Kerala rise again.

Disasters, unfortunately leave behind a trail of destruction. But one gets to witness facets of humanity, humaneness during disasters. From Kutch to Kamrup, from Kashmir to Kanyakumari, everyone is endeavoring to contribute in some way or the other so that wherever a disaster strikes, be it Kerala or any other part of India, human life returns to normalcy. Irrespective of age group or area of work, people are contributing. Everyone is trying to ensure speedy mitigation of the sufferings people in Kerala are going through, in fact sharing their pain. We know that jawans of our armed forces are the vanguards of rescue & relief operations in Kerala. They have left no stone unturned as saviors of those trapped in the floods. The Air Force, Navy, Army, BSF, CISF, RAF, every agency has played an exemplary role in the rescue & relief operations. I would like to specially mention the arduous endeavors of the NDRF daredevils. At this moment of hardship&agony, their service stands out as a shining example. The capability, commitment & controlling situation through rapid decisions of the NDRF have made them a cynosure of every Indian’s eye, worthy of respect & admiration. Yesterday was the festival of Onam. We pray for Onam to provide strength to the country, especially Kerala so that it returns to normalcy on a newer journey of development. Once again on behalf of all Indians, I would like to re assure each & everyone in Kerala and other affected places that at this moment of calamity, the entire country stands by them.

My dear countrymen ! I was looking into the suggestions received for “Mann Ki Baat”. The subject about which most of the people from across the country have written is “Our revered AtalBehari Vajpayee”. Kirti from Ghaziabad, Swati Vats from Sonepat, brother Praveen from Kerala, Dr. Swapan Banerjee from West Bengal, Akhilesh Pandey from Katihar, Bihar and numerous others have written on Narendra Modi Mobile App and MyGov asking me to speak on various aspects of Atalji’s life. As soon as the people in our country and abroad heard of the demise of Atalji on 16th August, everyone drowned in sadness. He was a leader who gave up his position as Prime Minister fourteen years ago. In a way, he was cut-off from active politics for the last 10 years. He was neither seen in the news nor in public life. Ten years is a huge gap but on 16th August our country and the whole world witnessed that there was not a gap of even a single moment in the commonman’s heart. The wave of love and faith that spread across the nation is an indicator of his great personality. During these last days, many great aspects of Atalji came up to the fore. People remembered him as the best member of Parliament, sensitive writer, best orator and most popular Prime Minister and will continue to remember him. The country will ever remain grateful to Atalji for bringing good governance in the main stream. But, I just want to touch upon one more facet of Atalji’s legendary personality and that is the political culture which Atalji gave to India, his efforts in the direction of bringing about the changes in our political culture, his efforts to mould it into an organized framework and which proved very beneficial for India and a bigger benefit will accrue in days to come. This is certain. India will remain ever grateful to Atalji for bringing the 91st Amendment Act, 2003. This change brought about two important changes in India’s politics.

First one is that the size of the cabinet in states was restricted to 15% of the total seats in the state Assembly.

And the second one is that the limit under the Anti Defection Law was enhanced from one-thirds to two-thirds. Besides, clear guidelines were defined to disqualify the defector.

For many years in India, the political culture of forming a very large cabinet was being misused to constitute jumbo cabinets not only to create a divide but also to appease political leaders. Atalji changed it. This effort of his resulted in saving of money as well as of resources. This also helped in improving efficiency. It could only be a visionary like Atalji who brought in this transformation and as a result of this, healthy traditions blossomed in our polity.

Atalji was a true patriot. It was during his tenure that the timing of presenting the budget was changed. Earlier, as was the British tradition, the Budget used to be presented at 5 pm because in London, Parliament used to start working at that time. In the year 2001, Atalji changed the time of presenting the budget from 5 pm to 11 am. One more freedom-the Indian Flag Code was framed in Atalji’s tenure and it came into effect in 2002. A number of such rules have been included in this code which made it possible to unfurl the tricolor in public places. This provided a chance to more and more of our countrymen to unfurl our national flag. Thus, he brought our beloved tricolor closer to the commonman. You must have noticed how Atalji took bold steps to bring about fundamental reforms, whether in our election process or about the shortcomings concerning the people’s representatives. Similarly, you can see that presently efforts are afoot and discussions are being held about simultaneously holding the elections for Lok Sabha and for state assemblies. The Government and the opposition – both are putting forth their view points. This is a good development and a healthy sign for our democracy. I must say that developing healthy traditions for a sound democracy, making constant efforts to strengthen democracy, encouraging open-minded debates would also be aappropriate tribute to Atalji. Reiterating our resolve to fulfill his dream of a prosperous and developed India, I along with all of you pay tributes to Atalji.

My dear countrymen !whenever a discussion about Parliament is there nowadays, it is about hold-ups, noisy scenes and stalling the proceedings but when something good happens, it is not given much importance. The monsoon session of Parliament ended just a few days back. You will be glad to know that the productivity of Lok Sabha remained 118 percent and that of Rajya Sabha was 74 percent. All the members rose above party interests to make the Monsoon session most productive and this is why Lok Sabha passed 21 bills and in Rajya Sabha fourteen bills were passed. This Monsoon session of Parliament will always be remembered as a session for social justice and youth welfare. A number of importantbills beneficial to the youth and the backward classes were passed during this session. As you know, a demand to constitute an OBC Commission similar to SC/ST commission was long pending for decades. The country fulfilled its resolve this time to make an OBC Commission and also granted it Constitutional powers. This step will prove to be the one to move forward our march towards achieving the goal of social justice. An amendment bill to secure the rights of scheduled castes and scheduled tribes also were passed in this session. This Act will give more security to the interests of SC and ST communities. This will also forbid criminals from indulging in atrocities and will instill confidence among the dalit communities.

No civil society can tolerate any kind of injustice towards the woman-power of the country. The nation will not tolerate those committing rapes. With this point in view Parliament has made a provision of strictest punishment by passing the Criminal Act Amendment Bill. Those guilty of rape will get a minimum sentence of ten years and those found guilty of raping girls below the age of 12 years will be awarded the death sentence. Recently, you might have read in newspapers, that a court in Mandsaur in Madhya Pradesh, after a brief hearing of two months, pronounced the death sentence on two criminals found guilty of raping a minor girl. Earlier, a court in Katni in Madhya Pradesh awarded the death sentence to the guilty after a hearing of just five days. Courts in Rajasthan have also taken similar quick decisions. This Act will play an effective role in curbing crimes against women and girls. Economic growth will be incomplete without a social transformation. The Triple Talaq Bill has been passed by the Lok Sabha although it could not be passed in the Rajya Sabha, I assure the Muslim women that the whole country stands by them to provide them social justice. When we move ahead in the national interest, a change in the lives of the poor, the backward, the exploited and the deprived ones can also be brought about. In the Monsoon session, this time, everyone jointly presented an ideal approach. Today, I publicly express my heartfelt gratitude to all MP’s.

My dear countrymen! The attention of crores of Indians is focused on the Asian Games being held in Jakarta. Every morning, first of all, people look for newspapers, Television, News and Social Media to check Indian playerswinning medals. The Asian Games are going on. I wish to congratulate all players who have won medals for the country. I extend my best wishes to thoseplayers who are yet to compete. Indian players are performing exceedingly well in shooting and wrestling but our players are winning medals in those competitions too, in which our performance has not been so good earlier-like WUSHU and ROWING. These are not just medals but an evidence of the sky high spirits of the Indian players.

Among those winning medals for our country are a large number of our daughters which is a very positive sign; so much so, that youngsters of only 15-16 years of age have brought honour to our country by winning medals. This too is a very positive indication that most of the medal-winners hail from small towns and villages and these players have achieved this success by putting in sheer hard work.

We shall celebrate National Sports Day on 29th August and I extend my best wishes to all sport lovers and also pay my tributes to the legendary hockey wizard Shri Dhyanchandji.

I request every citizen to make it a point to play and take care of their fitness because only a healthy India will build a developed and prosperous India. When India will be fit, only then India’s future will be bright. Once again, I congratulate the medal winners at the Asian Games and also wish the remaining players perform well. Many good wishes to you all on the National Sports Day.

Namaste Bhawnaji, I respect your sentiments. All of us have seen houses and buildings being constructed of bricks and stones but can you imagine that about twelve hundred years ago, a giant mountain which was a single stone mountain was give the shape of an elegant, huge and a unique –temple –this may be difficult to imagine, but this happened and that temple is KailashNathMandir in Ellora, Mahrashtra. Would you believe if someone tells you that about a thousand years ago, an over sixty metrestall pillar of granite was built and anothergranite rock weighing about 80 tonnes was placed over its top. But, Brihdeshwar temple of Thanjavur in Tamil Nadu is the place where this unbelievable combination of Engineering and Architecture can be seen. Anybody will feel overawed on seeing Rani Ki Vaav of the 11th Century in Patan in Gujarat. Our land has been an engineering laboratory. There have been several engineers in India who made the unimaginable possible and presented such marvels of engineering before the world. In this lineage of great engineers, we were blessed with a diamond whose work is still a source of wonder for all.He was Bharat Ratna Dr. M. Visvesvaraya. Lakhs of farmers and common people continue to benefit from the Krishna Raj Sagar Dam built by him. He is greatly revered in that part of our country and the whole nation remembers him with great respect and regard. In his memory, 15th September is observed as Engineers Day. Following his footsteps, our engineers have created their own identity in the world. When I talk of wonders in the Engineering world, I am reminded of an incident of 2001 when a devastating earth quake hit Kutch in Gujarat. I used to work as avolunteer there during those days, I got a chance to go to a village and had a chance to meet a lady of more than a hundred years of age. And she was looking at me and mockingly,saying, “Look at my house. It is called Bhoonga in Kutch.This house has faced three earthquakes. I myself have seen three in this house itself. But, you did not find any damage anywhere. These houses were built by our ancestors in sync with nature and surroundings of this place”.And she was saying all this with such a feeling of pride that it made me think that engineers in that era had constructed such structures according to the local situations which kept the commonman safe and secured. While observing Engineers Day, we should think of the future as well. Workshops should be held at different places. What are the things we need to learn in the changing times? What do we need to teach? What do we need to connect to? Nowadays, disaster management has assumed immense significance. The world is facing natural calamities. What then should be the new form of structural engineering? What courses should be designed to that end? What should be taught to the students? How do we keep construction eco friendly? How can we enhance the quality of construction by making value addition through local materials? How do we make zero waste our priority? All such points need to be pondered upon when we observe Engineers Day.

My dear countrymen! There is a mood of festivity and with this the preparations for Diwali also begin. We will keep meeting through Mann Ki Baat, and will keep sharing matters close to our hearts. We will join hands in taking our country forward with heartfelt vigor. With these feelings, I extend my best wishes to you all. Thanks. We shall meet.

The Union Minister for External Affairs, Smt. Sushma Swaraj tying a Rakhi to the Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018. The spouse of the Vice President, Smt. Usha Naidu is also seen.
T2018082652581.JPG

The Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu getting Rakhis tied by the School Children, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652582.JPG

The Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu getting Rakhis tied by the School Children, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652583.JPG

T2018082652584.JPG

Women from various segments of society tying ‘Rakhi’ on the Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu’s wrist, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652585.JPG

The Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu addressing the School Children, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652586.JPG

The Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu addressing the School Children, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652587.JPG

The President, Shri Ram Nath Kovind being tied a Rakhi by a student, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652588.JPG

The President, Shri Ram Nath Kovind being tied a Rakhi by a student, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652589.JPG

The President, Shri Ram Nath Kovind with the students and children from various Schools and Organisations, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, at Rashtrapati Bandhan, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652590.JPG

The President, Shri Ram Nath Kovind with the students and children from various Schools and Organisations, on the occasion of Raksha Bandhan, at Rashtrapati Bandhan, at Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi on August 26, 2018.
T2018082652591.JPG

28-August, 2018 16:58 IST
Bridging urban rural divide is crucial for uniform development & unity of the country: Vice President

Ancient Gurukula system has to be re-introduced across the country; Education has the power to transform Rural India; Attends 103rd birth Annyversary Celebrations of His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji

The Vice President of India, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu has said that bridging the urban rural divide is crucial for uniform development and unity of the country. He was addressing the gathering at the 103rd Birth Anniversary Celebrations of His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji, in Mysuru today. He also inaugurated the new building of Gurukula at the holy place of Suttur. The Chief Minister of Karnataka, Shri H.D. Kumaraswamy and other dignitaries were present on the occasion.

Calling his Holiness Dr. Rajendra Mahaswamiji’s a visionary beyond ordinary, the Vice President said that he was a Guru in the real sense of the term and thought ahead of his times and dreamt of India which is rich in its heritage but poor in material wellbeing.

The Vice President said that Maths like Suttur Srikshethra, Mysore are tirelessly working and contributing immensely to keep the spiritual torch burning. He also lauded the math for providing education & health for people in rural Karnataka and said that voluntary organizations and private sector must supplement the efforts of government in providing amenities and services.

The Vice President said that the Gurukula system symbolises the extraordinary relationship between Guru and student and no other culture accords such importance to Guru-Sishiya parampara as we do in India. It is one of the most unique and ancient traditions of India and a guru is considered as God in human form and accorded the highest respect in the social hierarchy next to parents, he added.

Saying that learning under a Guru is like a sacred act of penance, the Vice President said that the ancient Gurukula system has to be re-introduced across the country and the private sector and NGOs must come forward in a big way to set up such Gurukulas. Education has the power to transform Rural India and development must improve lives of people living in rural India, he added.

The Vice President said that agriculture is our basic culture and it is the backbone of our economy. We need to take steps to make it economically viable and we must make united efforts to improve lives of farmers, he added.

Following is the text of Vice President's address:

"It is indeed a moment of joy for all as we gather here for two important events—firstly, the celebrations of 103rd birth celebrations of His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji, the 23rd Pontiff of this renowned Math, a personification of service and sacrifice for the welfare of humanity, whose foresight and dedication have immensely enriched our society.

Secondly, Sri Suttur Math, as its wont, is laying its fine prints of service to nation by opening a new facility for the sadhaks and monks with state-of the-art facilities. I find immense joy in inaugurating the new building of Gurukula at this holy place of Suttur. It is indeed rare to find financial support of this magnitude exclusively for the training of sadhaks in spirituality. India being the spiritual hub of the world, Maths like this are tirelessly working and contributing immensely to keep the spiritual torch burning.

Sri Suttur Math with its unique history of thousand years has been a pioneer in many a fields of social service. Each of the 23 Pontiffs had his own vision towards building a society which will be free of grief and hunger. His Holiness Dr. Rajendra Mahaswamiji’s vision was beyond ordinary . He was a Guru in the real sense of the term.

His Holiness Swamiji thought beyond his times and dreamt of India which is rich in its heritage but poor in material wellbeing. He rightly believed that education alone can transform especially rural India. His compassion for the rural poor was unmatched and he took steps to establish schools and hostels for them in distant tiny villages in southern Karnataka. His mission continued with establishing hundreds of schools, colleges, hostels and hospitals across South India. With the motto of ‘Work is worship’, a new generation of committed citizenry is being created in the vast empire of JSS educational institutes in India and abroad.

With vast population suffering from poverty, illiteracy and diseases, India faced a formidable task at the time of Independence. The efforts of the Government alone were not adequate to provide education for education and healthcare for all. That was the time when many philanthropists, social workers, religious maths and industrialists came forward for building new India with all their might. Karnataka was unique in a way with hundreds of religious maths across the State focusing on education as a top priority. Taking it up as a mission, they provided free boarding and school education.

Literally, every veerashaiva math was running a free hostel for the poor irrespective of caste or creed. Sri Suttur Math was in the forefront along with other Maths in providing free education for the rural poor.

Sri Suttur Math opened hundreds of schools and colleges, including universities. Tens of thousands of students study and obtain unique educational training. Form crèche to post doctoral courses, JSS offers unique blend of learning experiences. Presently, JSS Mahavidyapeetha with more than 350 institutions of every hue, including two universities across the globe, is in its own league and carved out a niche for itself as a unique education provider.

Besides providing education for the poor at affordable cost, the Srimath under the guidance of Swamiji has embarked upon rural development programmes, especially for farming community. Krishivigyan Kendra at Suttur is an inclusive centre and helping farmers to adopt the latest techniques of agricultural farming. This indicates that the welfare of the rural poor was the foremost concern of His Holiness Swamiji. Hence hundreds of schools and hostels have been opened in rural areas for their benefit.

Devotion and realisation is not limited to any particular time, place or culture. Such a noble soul was His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji, the Seer who transformed the spiritual and educational landscape of Karnataka. He had nothing but compassion for the needy. Today, we have gathered here to pay respects and homage to this great seer on his 103rd Jayanthi who had the vision of transforming our lives through spirituality, societal upliftment and educational renaissance. We find in him the essence Indianness which lies in its unique philosophy of ‘all in one and one in all’ —the same is exemplified in Yajur Veda lucidly as follows:

O seeker, know the true nature of your soul, and identify yourself with it completely.

O Lord, (may we attain) the everlasting consciousness of Supreme Light and Joy.

May we resolve to dedicate our life to the service of humankind, and uplift them to Divinity.

One is surprised to see the array of institutions JSS Mahavidyapeetha administers. The true culture of India is reflected in its institutions. The schools for the poor located here are housing more than 4000 poorest of the poor students hailing from all over country. It is a reflection of un-diminished zeal of the Srimath under the leadership of present pontiff. The Srimath is also trying hard to perpetuate in its pristine the Gurukul system of education especially for young sanyasis and sadhaks.

This tradition of Gurukula is one of the most unique and ancient traditions of Hinduism. A guru is considered in Hinduism as God himself in human form and accorded the highest respect in the social hierarchy next to parents. A student is expected to pay utmost respect to his Guru and qualify himself to earn his grace and obtain spiritual knowledge.

The celebrated Sharane Akka Mahadevi in one of her vachanas elaborates the prime place of guru in one’s life as follows:

ಅರಸಿಮೊರೆವೊಕ್ಕಡೆ ಕಾವ ಗುರುವೆ,

ಜಯ ಜಯ ಗುರುವೆ,

ಆರೂ ಅರಿಯದ ಬಯಲೊಳಗೆ ಬಯಲಾಗಿ ನಿಂದ ನಿಲವ

ಹಿಡಿದೆನ್ನ ಕರದಲ್ಲಿ ತೋರದ ಗುರುವೆ,

ಚೆನ್ನಮಲ್ಲಿಕಾರ್ಜುನ ಗುರುವೆ, ಜಯ ಜಯ ಗುರುವೆ.

అరసిమొరెవొక్కడె కావ గురువె,

జయ జయ గురువె,

ఆరూ అరియద బయలొళగె బయలాగి నింద నిలవ

హిడిదెన్న కరదల్లి తోరద గురువె,

చెన్నమల్లికార్జున గురువె, జయ జయ గురువె.

Guru, who savest those

Who, seeking Thee, surrender unto Thee,

O Guru, to Thee all hail !

Thou who hast manifested on my palm

Incorporating that void Being which

Abides in the unknowable Void,

O Guru, hail, O hail !

Cenna Makllikarjuna Lord !

The Gurukula which is dedicated today symbolises this extraordinary relationship between Guru and student. No other culture accords such importance to Guru-Sishiya parampara as we do in India. Learning under a Guru is like a sacred act of penance.

I feel the ancient Gurukula system has to be re-introduced across the country and the private sector and NGOs must come forward in a big way to set up such Gurukulas.

With accommodation for more than 250 sadhaks, JSS Gurukula is an ideal place for true learning and saadana.

Pranams to HH Swamiji and best wishes to you all."

The founding of the Math can be traced to a historical event linked with Sri Shivarathreeshwara Shivayogi Mahaswamigalu crusading for peace between two warring kingdoms. The hostility between Rachamalla IV of the Gangas of Talkad and Rajaraja of Cholas was about to break up into a large scale war. It was due to the timely intervention of Sri Shivarathreeshwara Swamigalu the hostility ended and the enemies became friends. Then it was on the request of Rajaraja, the Swamigalu graciously condescended to establish a Math on the banks of the river Kapila at Suttur near Mysore.

Suttur Mutt - This Mutt had a series of holy pontiffs going back to great antiquity and Pattada Sri Shivarathreeshwara Swamiji was prominent among them. Then came Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji. He was born on 29.8.1916 in Suttur. His father was Mallikarjunaswamy and mother Marammanni. Pattada Shivarathreeshwara Swamiji conveyed his wish that this boy should be allowed to become his disciple and ultimately take over the mantle as Jagadguru of Suttur Srikshetra.

Early period of Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Swamiji was spent in Suttur Mutt. His primary education took place in Suttur itself. The senior pontif ordained him to monkhood (Sanyasa) and announced that he would be the next (23rd) Jagadguru of Suttur Mutt. He was just twelve years then and this took place in 1928. People felt happy that Suttur Mutt had a worthy successor and the Mutt would develop by leaps and bounds and as we now see, it happened in ample measure.

The Suttur Math region grew up over the centuries with the contribution of each one of its illustrious Pontiffs. Each Pontiff choose his own route to further the advancement of society. The magnificient stature that the Sri Suttur Math enjoys today is thus the cumulative result of their initiatives, efforts and actions.

• Jagadguru Sri Shivarathreeshwara Shivayogi Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Eeshaneshwara Wodeyar Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Nijalinga Shivacharya Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Siddananja Deshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Kapininanjunda Deshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Channaveera Deshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Siddhamalla Shivacharya Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Parvathendra Shivacharya Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Bhandari Basappa Wodeyar Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Koogaluru Nanjunda Deshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Ghanalingadeva Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Immadi Shivarathreeshwara Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Channabasava Deshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Gurunanja Deshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Guruchannabasa Shivacharya Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Gurupanchakshara Deshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Chidghana Shivacharya Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Channaveera Deshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Mahanta Deshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Siddhamalla Shivacharya Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Dehshikendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Mantramaharshi Pattada Sri Shivarathreeshwara Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Dr Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji
  • Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Deshikendra Mahaswamiji

3057.jpg

The Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu at the 103rd Birth Anniversary Celebrations of His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji, in Mysuru, Karnataka on August 28, 2018. The Chief Minister of Karnataka, Shri H.D. Kumaraswamy and other dignitaries are also seen.
T2018082852700.JPG

The Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu unveiling the plaque to inaugurate the new Building, on the occasion of 103rd Birth Anniversary Celebrations of His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji, in Mysuru, Karnataka on August 28, 2018. The Chief Minister of Karnataka, Shri H.D. Kumaraswamy and other dignitaries are also seen.
T2018082852701.JPG

The Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu releasing the souvenir at the 103rd Birth Anniversary Celebrations of His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji, in Mysuru, Karnataka on August 28, 2018. The Chief Minister of Karnataka, Shri H.D. Kumaraswamy and other dignitaries are also seen.
T2018082852702.JPG

The Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu addressing the gathering at the 103rd Birth Anniversary Celebrations of His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji, in Mysuru, Karnataka on August 28, 2018. The Chief Minister of Karnataka, Shri H.D. Kumaraswamy and other dignitaries are also seen.
T2018082852703.JPG

The Vice President, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu addressing the gathering at the 103rd Birth Anniversary Celebrations of His Holiness Jagadguru Sri Shivarathri Rajendra Mahaswamiji, in Mysuru, Karnataka on August 28, 2018.
T2018082852704.JPG

pibimage.jpg

31-August, 2018 20:11 IST
We must integrate Art and Culture into our education system: Vice President

Environmental peace is a prerequisite for the development of the nation;

Private sector should propagate India’s culture, heritage and various art forms;

Gives away Legends of India Awards

The Vice President of India, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu has said that we must integrate Art and Culture into our education system. He was addressing the gathering after giving away Lifetime Achievement Awards to Painter and Sculptor, Shri Satish Gujral, renowned Violinist, Shri T.N. Krishnan and Theatre personality, Shri Ratan Thiyam, organized by the Legends of India, here today.

The Vice President said that culture plays an important role in improving the quality of our lives. He further said that it has a direct impact on every facet of our life - from education to tourism. The Sanskrit word for culture in ‘Sanskriti’ signifying a special creation and a transformative experience, he added.

The Vice President said that refinement, sublimation and the ability to see ‘extraordinariness’ in ‘ordinariness’ is at the root of art. We need to preserve this ability that brings a creative and artistic touch to our lives through music, dance, theater, sculpture and other arts, he added.

The Vice President said that the younger generation should be made aware of the importance of creative art forms and must be made sensitive to what is aesthetically good. We should at the same time focus on nurturing talent and providing enough opportunities for our youth to learn music, dance, sculpture, painting and other fine arts, he added.

The Vice President said that while the governments at the Centre and in various States have been promoting culture and different art forms, he urged the private sector to contribute its might in propagating India’s culture, heritage and various art forms.

The Vice President said that Share and Care is the core philosophy of our nation. Environmental peace is a prerequisite for the development of the nation and we should Love and Live with Nature, he added.

Following is the text of Vice President’s address:

“I am extremely pleased to be amongst some of the leading lights of Indian Music, Theater and Visual Arts.

The legendary artists we are honouring today - theater personality, Shri Ratan Thiyam, renowned violinist Shri T N Krishnan and painter and sculptor, Shri Satish Gujral have carved out a niche for themselves in their respective art forms and brought global recognition to India.

They have excelled in their respective fields and have become the shining stars in the firmament of Indian culture.

Very few countries in the world can match India’s diversity in culture and various art forms.

There have been a large number of creative artists over the last two millennia who have greatly enriched India’s cultural capital.

To that illustrious lineage belong the three iconic personages we are honoring today.

In the present era of fast-paced lifestyles and hectic schedules, the best way to rejuvenate one’s mind and soul is through attending a concert, a play, an exhibition or any artistic performance. Irrespective of whether a person is connoisseur or a commoner, good music, dance or a play elevates our lives to a different level.

Culture plays an important role in improving the quality of our lives.

It has a direct impact on every facet of our life - from education to tourism.

The Sanskrit word for culture in ‘Sanskriti’ signifying ‘a special creation’ and a ‘transformative experience’.

Refinement, sublimation and the ability to see ‘extraordinariness’ in ‘ordinariness’ is at the root of all art forms.

We need to preserve this ability that brings a creative and artistic touch to our lives through music, dance, theater, sculpture and other arts.

We must integrate art into our education system, effectively and seamlessly.

Unless our great art forms are recognised and made popular, particularly among the younger generation, they will become relics of the past and remain as mere showpieces. The younger generation should be made aware of the importance of creative art forms and must be made sensitive to what is aesthetically good.

It goes without saying that various art forms like Music, Theater and Visual arts transcend all barriers of language, religion, geographies and hierarchies. They speak and convey the message in the universal language that is understood by one and all.

Art unites hearts.

Art makes us more humane.

Art is the articulation of a civilization’s value system.

While the governments at the Centre and in various States have been promoting culture and different art forms, I urge the private sector to contribute its might in propagating India’s culture, heritage and various art forms.

I was told that Pt. Birju Maharaj, Zohra Sehgal, Habib Tanvir, Sitara Devi, Girija Devi, Paritosh Sen, Yamini Krishnamurthy to mention a few were among the recipients of ’Legends of India Lifetime Achievement Awards’.

These Lifetime Achievement Awards are tokens of appreciation for artists who have dedicated their lives in pursuit of fine arts, enthralled listeners, enraptured viewers and enchanted art lovers.

It should be remembered that an award presentation or felicitation to a person is meant to inspire and motivate others to achieve excellence.

We should at the same time focus on nurturing talent and providing enough opportunities for our youth to learn music, dance, sculpture, painting and other fine arts.

We should create greater awareness about India’s contribution to world culture and the uniqueness and the richness of Indian artistic expression from time immemorial.

We need to nurture culture, refine it and propagate it. Art should pervade national consciousness.

Environmental peace is a prerequisite for the development of the nation.

Share and Care is the core philosophy of our nation.

We should Love and Live with Nature.

On the auspicious occasion of Lifetime Achievement Awards Ceremony, 2018, it is a matter of pride that Sri Dipayan Mazumdar as an individual has done yeomen service in not only promoting our cultural heritage but also helped and encouraged many young talents to find a true meaning in pursuing music, art and theater. I understand that ‘Legends of India’ is also working on a unique project for the skill development of trained musicians.

There are many corporate organisations who have been working towards the promotion of art and culture but Sri Dipayan Mazumdar is a rare example of an individual who has been rendering such a meritorious service for almost two decades.

I once again convey my hearty congratulations to the awardees — Shri Ratan Thiyam, the Doyen of “Theatre of Roots” movement, Padma Bhushan Shri T.N.Krishnan the Master Violinist and Padma Vibhushan Shri. Satish Gujral, the man with many faces – Painter and sculptor par excellence, muralist, architect, graphic and interior designer.

As the ancient Indian sages have said, “Saraswathi Shrutimahathi Maheeyathaam” (Let the glory of Goddess Saraswathi, the Goddess of learning and fine arts, spread far and wide).

Let great exponents of art continue to spread the message of harmony, beauty and peace.

JAI HIND!”

New Delhi, September 01, 2018 11:11 IST
Updated: September 01, 2018 11:11 IST
https://www.thehindu.com/news/natio...ious-leader-tarun-maharaj/article24839248.ece
Prime Minister Narendra Modi Saturday condoled the demise of Jain religious leader Tarun Maharaj, noting his contribution to society.

“Deeply pained by the untimely demise of Muni Tarun Sagar Ji Maharaj. We will always remember him for his rich ideals, compassion and contribution to society,” the prime minister tweeted.

Mr. Modi said the Jain monk’s noble teachings will continue to inspire people.

“My thoughts are with the Jain community and his countless disciples,” he said. PTI

pibimage.jpg

President's Secretariat
02-September, 2018 16:21 IST
President of India’s Greetings on the Eve of Janmashtami

The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind in his message on the eve of Janmashtami has said:-

“On the joyous occasion of Janmashtami, I convey greetings and best wishes to all my fellow citizens in India and abroad.

The life and teachings of Lord Krishna have a universal message- Nishkam Karma. Lord Krishna in his message has preached duty without thought of reward. May this festival inspire us to follow the path of virtue and righteousness in thought, word and deed”.

pibimage.jpg

02-September, 2018 16:53 IST
Vice President Greets People on the eve of Janmashtami

The Vice President of India, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu has greeted the people on the auspicious occasion of Janmashtami. In a message, he said that the eternal message bestowed by Lord Krishna in the Bhagwad Geeta to perform our duties with sincerity without attachment to results has been a source of inspiration for entire humanity. May this festival bring peace, amity, harmony and prosperity in our country, he added.

Following is the text of Vice President’s message:

“I extend my warm greetings and good wishes to the people of our country on the auspicious occasion of Janmashtami. Janmashtami marks the birth of Lord Krishna has a special religious importance in our country.

Celebrated with traditional fervour and enthusiasm, Janmashtami festival reminds us of the divine life of Lord Krishna and signifies the victory of good over evil. The eternal message bestowed by Lord Krishna in the Bhagwad Geeta to perform our duties with sincerity without attachment to results has been a source of inspiration for entire humanity.

May this festival bring peace, amity, harmony and prosperity in our country.”

pibimage.jpg

Prime Minister's Office03-September, 2018 09:01 IST
PM greets people on the occasion of Janmashtami

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has greeted people on the occasion of Janmashtami.

The Prime Minister said, “Janmashtami greetings to everyone. श्रीकृष्ण जन्माष्टमी के पावन अवसर पर सभी को हार्दिक शुभकामनाएं। जय श्रीकृष्ण!”.

AKT/KP

T2018091153577.JPG

The Minister of State for Tourism (I/C), Shri Alphons Kannanthanam reviewing the reconstruction of Triveni Sangam, en route to the hill shrine of Sabarimala, which was devastated in the recent floods in River Pampa, in Pathanamthitta district, Kerala on September 11, 2018.

pibimage.jpg

President's Secretariat
12-September, 2018 16:25 IST
President of India’s Greetings on the eve of Ganesh Chaturthi

The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind in his message on the eve of Ganesh Chaturthi has said:-

“On the auspicious occasion of Ganesh Chaturthi, I convey greetings and best wishes to all my fellow citizens in India and abroad.

The celebration of this festival brings together people from all walks of life. May Lord Ganesha guide us all towards a path of progress, peace, happiness and prosperity.”

Click here for message in Hindi
pibimage.jpg

12-September, 2018 20:36 IST
Vice President Greets People on the eve of Ganesh Chaturthi

The Vice President of India, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu has greeted the people on the auspicious occasion of Ganesh Chaturthi. In a message, he said that Lord Ganesh is revered as an embodiment of wisdom, prosperity and good fortune. Starting a good work in the auspicious name of Lord Ganesh is always considered lucky and propitious, he added.

“I extend my warm greetings and good wishes to the people of our country on the auspicious occasion of ‘Ganesh Chaturthi’.

Lord Ganesh is revered as an embodiment of wisdom, prosperity and good fortune in our country. Starting a good work in the auspicious name of Lord Ganesh is always considered lucky and propitious by people of our country.

May this festival bring peace, prosperity and harmony in our country.”

13-September, 2018 14:29 IST
Ganesh Chaturthi is a symbol of our national and cultural unity: Vice President

Performs Ganesh Chaturthi puja

The Vice President of India, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu has said that Ganesh Chaturthi is a symbol of our national and cultural unity. He was addressing the gathering at the Ganesh Chaturthi puja, performed along with the other family members at his residence today.

The Vice President extended his warm greetings and good wishes to the people of the country on this auspicious occasion of ‘Ganesh Chaturthi’. May this festival bring peace, prosperity and harmony in our country, he added.

The Vice President said that Lord Ganesh is revered as an embodiment of wisdom, prosperity and good fortune in our country. Starting a good work in the auspicious name of Lord Ganesh is always considered lucky and propitious by people of our country, he added.

The Governor of Haryana, Shri Satyadev Narayan Arya and the Union Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment, Shri Thaawar Chand Gehlot and other dignitaries were present on the occasion.

pibimage.jpg

Ministry of Culture
12-September, 2018 17:37 IST
ASI discovers 254 copper coins belonging to the medieval period in the premises of Khirki Mosque in New Delhi

The Archaeological Survey of India (Delhi Circle) of Ministry of Culture has discovered a hoard of 254 Copper Coins in the premises of Khirki Mosque during the course of conservation of the monument. This mosque lies on the southern periphery of the village Khirki. The mosque was built by Khan-i-Jahan Junan Shah, the Prime Minister of Firoz Shah Tughluq (1351-88), and is believed to be one of the seven mosques built by him.

Archaeological Survey of India had taken up the task of cleaning of the area to initiate conservation of Khirki Mosque and during the cleaning, a hoard of 254 Coins of medieval period were found near entrance of the monument. Immediately, a team of archaeologist, consternation assistant and photographers rushed to the site and took the hoard of coins under their possession. Few coins got cleaned by the experts of Science of Branch of Archaeological Survey of India and on the basis of preliminary observation, it can be said that some of the coins belong to the reign of Shershah Suri and his successors.

It is pertinent to mention that in the year 2003 a hoard of 63 Coins was found from the same premises during cleaning and conservation. Delhi Circle has started scientific clearance of the area under technical supervision of archaeologists. After cleaning of the coins process to decipher the same will be initiated with the help of experts.

Built with rubble stone, and thickly plastered, the Khirki Mosque is double-storeyed, The lower storey consisting only of a series of basement cells. Battered bastions occupy its four corners, imparting it the look of a fortified building. Gateways project from its three sides, except on the west, each flanked by tapering minarets, the main entrance being from the east. Corresponding with the openings of cells on the lower storey, the upper storey contains perforated windows (khirkis), which have given it its present name. The pillared courtyard is divided into twenty- five squares, five on each side, each square consisting of nine smaller squares. Among the larger squares, three on each side, two on the corners and one in the middle, together with the square in the centre of the courtyard, are each covered with a cluster of nine small low domes of Tughluq pattern. Among the remaining squares, four on the diagonals are left uncovered to admit light, while the others are covered with flat roofs. This ingenious way of covering the courtyard is repeated only in one other mosque erected by the same builder. These two are the only examples of closed mosques in northern India.

image001ZTWU.jpg

image002Q4S9.jpg

image003WKNF.jpg

Sebuktegin grew up in the court circles of Alptigin, until Alptigin's death in 975, Upon Alptigin's death, both Sebuktegin and Alptigin went to Bukhara to mend fences with the Samanids

Sultan Mahmud Sabuktagin had attacked the country of Hindustan with thirty thousand horse and had established his own servants as rulers of that region. the Shahi King Jayapala to launch an attack on Ghazna, The Hindu Shahi and Khiljies who resided among the mountains having taken the oath of allegiance, many of them were enlisted in his army, after which returned in triumph to Ghazni.

Sultan Mahmud Sabuktagin
Mahmud_in_robe_from_the_caliph.jpg

13823710.jpg

Ghori's Expeditions to India
:

Ghori lead nine expeditions to India and was victorious except two times. The treasures he got from India was incredible. Ghori in 1175, marched to Multan and after subduing that place, captured Uch. In 1178, Ghori again marched to Hindustan and advanced to Gujarat. Rai Bhim Dev of Gujarat gave a crushing blow and the Ghori suffered many hardships in their retreat. III. In 1179, Ghori marched to Peshawar and captured it.

The Delhi Sultanate was a Muslim kingdom based mostly in Delhi that stretched over large parts of the Indian subcontinent for 320 years (1206–1526). Five Dynasties ruled over Delhi over this period starting from Mamluk(Slave) Dynasty.The sultanate is noted for being one of the few states to repel an attack by the Mongol Empire.

The Tughlaq dynasty reign started in 1320 in Delhi when Ghazi Malik assumed the throne under the title of Ghiyath al-Din Tughluq. The dynasty ended in 1413. The dynasty came after the Khilji Dynasty and preceded the Sayyid dynasty of the Delhi Sultanate.

Malik Maqbul or Khan-i-Jahan Maqbul was the Wazir or Prime Minister of the Delhi Sultanate, Initially, he was the commander of [URL='https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Warangal_Fort']Warangal Fort (Kataka paludu) located in the state of Telangana, south India[/URL]

Initially, he was the commander of Warangal Fort (Kataka paludu) located in the state of Telangana, south India embraced Islam and given the name Malik Maqbul.Sultan Firoz Shah Tughlaq heavily depended on [URL='https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malik_Maqbul']Malik Maqbul[/URL]

Malik Maqbul was initially made the governor of Multan and sent to administer Punjab, Kamma king [URL='https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Musunuri_Kapaya_Nayaka']Musunuri Kapaya Nayaka was made the [URL='https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Governor']governor of Eastern Telangana.[/URL][/URL]

Harihara Raya and Bukkaraya, treasurers in the court of Warangal were also embraced Islam.

After the death of Maqbul in 1369 CE, his son Jauna Khan became the Wazir, Also known as Junan Shah, he built seven large mosques in and around Delhi of which Khirki Masjid is very well known

The seven Mosques are:

• Khirki Mosque.
  • Begampur Mosque.
  • Masjid Kalu Sarai.
  • Kalan Masjid (Hazrat Nizamuddin).
  • Masjid Firoz Shah Kotla.
  • Masjid Wakya (Lahori gate).
  • Kalan Masjid (Turkaman gate).

Ten years after his death, Timur's invasion devastated Delhi. His tomb is located in Hauz Khas (New Delhi), close to the tank built by Alauddin Khalji. Attached to the tomb is a madrasa built by Firoz Shah in 1352-53.

pibimage.jpg

Prime Minister's Office
19-October, 2018 18:47 IST
PM attends Dussehra Celebrations at 15 August Park, Lal Qila Maidan

Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi attended Dussehra Celebrations at 15 August Park at Lal Qila Maidan in New Delhi, today.

The Prime Minister watched the Ramleela organized by the Lav-Kush Ramleela committee. Hea lso witnessed the burning of giant effigies of Ravan, Kumbhakarn and Meghnad signifying the triumph of good over evil, during the event

The event was attended by the Hon’ble President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind.

President's Secretariat
21-October, 2018 16:16 IST
President of India to Visit Maharashtra on October 22 and 23

The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind, will visit Maharashtra on October 22 and 23, 2018.

On October 22, 2018, the President will inaugurate the Vishwashanti Ahimsa Sammelan being organised by the Bhagwan Shri Rishabhdev 108 Feet Vishalkai Digambar Jain Murti Nirman Committee at Mangi Tungi, Nasik.

On October 23, 2018, the President will grace the convocation ceremony of the Symbiosis International University in Pune.

pibimage.jpg

Ministry of Culture
12-September, 2018 17:37 IST
ASI discovers 254 copper coins belonging to the medieval period in the premises of Khirki Mosque in New Delhi

The Archaeological Survey of India (Delhi Circle) of Ministry of Culture has discovered a hoard of 254 Copper Coins in the premises of Khirki Mosque during the course of conservation of the monument. This mosque lies on the southern periphery of the village Khirki. The mosque was built by Khan-i-Jahan Junan Shah, the Prime Minister of Firoz Shah Tughluq (1351-88), and is believed to be one of the seven mosques built by him.

Archaeological Survey of India had taken up the task of cleaning of the area to initiate conservation of Khirki Mosque and during the cleaning, a hoard of 254 Coins of medieval period were found near entrance of the monument. Immediately, a team of archaeologist, consternation assistant and photographers rushed to the site and took the hoard of coins under their possession. Few coins got cleaned by the experts of Science of Branch of Archaeological Survey of India and on the basis of preliminary observation, it can be said that some of the coins belong to the reign of Shershah Suri and his successors.

It is pertinent to mention that in the year 2003 a hoard of 63 Coins was found from the same premises during cleaning and conservation. Delhi Circle has started scientific clearance of the area under technical supervision of archaeologists. After cleaning of the coins process to decipher the same will be initiated with the help of experts.

Built with rubble stone, and thickly plastered, the Khirki Mosque is double-storeyed, The lower storey consisting only of a series of basement cells. Battered bastions occupy its four corners, imparting it the look of a fortified building. Gateways project from its three sides, except on the west, each flanked by tapering minarets, the main entrance being from the east. Corresponding with the openings of cells on the lower storey, the upper storey contains perforated windows (khirkis), which have given it its present name. The pillared courtyard is divided into twenty- five squares, five on each side, each square consisting of nine smaller squares. Among the larger squares, three on each side, two on the corners and one in the middle, together with the square in the centre of the courtyard, are each covered with a cluster of nine small low domes of Tughluq pattern. Among the remaining squares, four on the diagonals are left uncovered to admit light, while the others are covered with flat roofs. This ingenious way of covering the courtyard is repeated only in one other mosque erected by the same builder. These two are the only examples of closed mosques in northern India.

image001ZTWU.jpg

image002Q4S9.jpg

image003WKNF.jpg

Sebuktegin grew up in the court circles of Alptigin, until Alptigin's death in 975, Upon Alptigin's death, both Sebuktegin and Alptigin went to Bukhara to mend fences with the Samanids

Sultan Mahmud Sabuktagin had attacked the country of Hindustan with thirty thousand horse and had established his own servants as rulers of that region. the Shahi King Jayapala to launch an attack on Ghazna, The Hindu Shahi and Khiljies who resided among the mountains having taken the oath of allegiance, many of them were enlisted in his army, after which returned in triumph to Ghazni.

Sultan Mahmud Sabuktagin
Mahmud_in_robe_from_the_caliph.jpg

13823710.jpg

Ghori's Expeditions to India
:

Ghori lead nine expeditions to India and was victorious except two times. The treasures he got from India was incredible. Ghori in 1175, marched to Multan and after subduing that place, captured Uch. In 1178, Ghori again marched to Hindustan and advanced to Gujarat. Rai Bhim Dev of Gujarat gave a crushing blow and the Ghori suffered many hardships in their retreat. III. In 1179, Ghori marched to Peshawar and captured it.

The Delhi Sultanate was a Muslim kingdom based mostly in Delhi that stretched over large parts of the Indian subcontinent for 320 years (1206–1526). Five Dynasties ruled over Delhi over this period starting from Mamluk(Slave) Dynasty.The sultanate is noted for being one of the few states to repel an attack by the Mongol Empire.

The Tughlaq dynasty reign started in 1320 in Delhi when Ghazi Malik assumed the throne under the title of Ghiyath al-Din Tughluq. The dynasty ended in 1413. The dynasty came after the Khilji Dynasty and preceded the Sayyid dynasty of the Delhi Sultanate.

Malik Maqbul or Khan-i-Jahan Maqbul was the Wazir or Prime Minister of the Delhi Sultanate, Initially, he was the commander of Warangal Fort (Kataka paludu) located in the state of Telangana, south India

Initially, he was the commander of Warangal Fort (Kataka paludu) located in the state of Telangana, south India embraced Islam and given the name Malik Maqbul.Sultan Firoz Shah Tughlaq heavily depended on Malik Maqbul

Malik Maqbul was initially made the governor of Multan and sent to administer Punjab, Kamma king Musunuri Kapaya Nayaka was made the governor of Eastern Telangana.

Harihara Raya and Bukkaraya, treasurers in the court of Warangal were also embraced Islam.

After the death of Maqbul in 1369 CE, his son Jauna Khan became the Wazir, Also known as Junan Shah, he built seven large mosques in and around Delhi of which Khirki Masjid is very well known

The seven Mosques are:

• Khirki Mosque.
  • Begampur Mosque.
  • Masjid Kalu Sarai.
  • Kalan Masjid (Hazrat Nizamuddin).
  • Masjid Firoz Shah Kotla.
  • Masjid Wakya (Lahori gate).
  • Kalan Masjid (Turkaman gate).

Ten years after his death, Timur's invasion devastated Delhi. His tomb is located in Hauz Khas (New Delhi), close to the tank built by Alauddin Khalji. Attached to the tomb is a madrasa built by Firoz Shah in 1352-53.
The stage is set for the conduct of the State festival, ‘Rottela panduga’, amid tight security from Friday.

The ‘Rotiyaan-ki-Eid’ at the Bara Shaheed Dargah, a mausoleum of 12 tombs of martyred warriors, who had sacrificed their lives fighting against the British forces.

The saints here are known to preach communal harmony to devotees from across all communities. In fact, it is claimed that the saints of the shrine are the descendants of the Holy Messenger Hazrat Muhammad S.A.W.S. The masjid is believed to have been constructed in 1683.

The then-Nawab of Sidhout Taluk, Nawab Nek nam Khan, had even changed the name of the area to Neknamabaad, on the advice of Perullah Hussaini. Neknamabaad eventually became Kadapa.

But in A. D, 1309 came the invasion by the mongols during the reign of the Khilji Emperor AllahHid-din., Pratāparudra (r. c. 1289-1323), also known as Rudradeva II, was the ruler of the Kakatiya dynasty of India, In 1310, Rudradeva II faced Mongol invasion from the Muslim Delhi Sultanate.

Around 1308, Alauddin sent his general Malik Kafur to Devagiri, after Ramachandra discontinued the tribute payments promised in 1296. Malik Kafur returned to Delhi after forcing Ramachandra to become Alauddin's vassal. Prataparudra determined that the mongol forces were likely to invade Deccan again, and therefore, he reorganized his defence set-up. He is said to have raised an army of 900,000 archers, 20,000 horses and 100 elephants. Despite these preparations, when Malik Kafur was in Warangal in 1310, Prataparudra was forced to negotiate a truce. He surrender a substantial amount of wealth to the mongol invaders, and agreed to become a tributary to Alauddin. Subsequently, he maintained friendly relations with Alauddin.

Malik Kafur also known as Taj al-Din Izz al-Dawla, In 1306, Alauddin sent an army led by Kafur to Punjab to repulse a Mongol invasion from the Chagatai Khanate. The Mongol army had advanced up to the Ravi River, ransacking the territories along the way. This army included three contingents, led by Kopek, Iqbalmand, and Tai-Bu. Malik Kafur completely routed the Mongol army, with support from other commanders such as Malik Tughluq.

The 16th-century chronicler `Abd al-Qadir Bada'uni also credits Kafur with leading Alauddin's army in the 1305 Battle of Amroha, but this claim is based on the erroneous identification of another officer called Malik Nayak (a.k.a. Malik Nanak) with Malik Kafur.

After Alauddin's death in 1318 mongol invasion forced him to pay tribute to Alauddin's son Mubarak Shah.

The day after Alauddin's death, Kafur convened a meeting of important officers and nobles in the palace, read out a will of the late sultan that named Shihabuddin as his successor while disinheriting Khizr Khan, and then seated Shihabuddin on the throne as the new Sultan.

Tomb of Malik Taj-ul-Mulk Kafur, the great wazir of Sultan Ala-ud-din. He was a most wise and intelligent minister, and acquired many countries, on which the horses of former sovereigns had never placed their hoofs, and he caused the Khutba of Sultan Ala-ud-din to be repeated there. He had 52,000 horsemen. His grave had been levelled with the ground, and his tomb laid low. I caused his tomb to be entirely renewed, for he was a devoted and faithful subject.

The inscriptions in the temple belong to the Chola, Pandya, Hoysala and Vijayanagar dynasties who ruled over the region. These inscriptions range in date between the 9th and 16th centuries

During the period of invasion and plunder by the mongol forces , the Ala ud Din Khilji's Muslim general Malik Kafur and his Delhi Sultanate forces in 1311 , the Arabic texts of the period stated that mongol forces raided a "golden temple" on river, destroyed the temple and took the plunder with the golden idol of the deity. The Tamil texts that followed offer various inconsistent legends on how the temple regained the Vishnu idol. According to one found in Koil Oluku, a young girl had vowed to fast till she had seen the idol.She followed the Delhi army as it returned with the loot back to Delhi.The Delhi Army Commander bring the idol from Delhi to Srirangam on a horse, symbolizing that love brought back the icon after war had taken it away by Mongol Forces.

In the early 14th Century, India was subjected to repeated invasions by mongol armies, in 1311 CE was led by Malik Kafur, Following this there were two more expeditions from the Delhi Sultanate - the second in 1314 CE, the third in 1323 CE

These invasions shattered the Pandyan empire beyond revival. While the previous invasions were content with plunder, Ulugh Khan annexed the former Pandyan dominions, India came under the Delhi's rule and military was deployed from five provinces - Devagiri, Tiling, Kampili, Dorasamudra and Ma'bar against the Mongol Forces.

The Chagatay Khan (whom Ibn Battuta visited on his way to India) had invaded India and threatened Delhi, the new capital city about 1323. But the armies of the feisty Sultan Muhammad Tughluq in Delhi had chased them back across the Indus River.

Director of Centre of Scientific Society, Acharya Nagarjuna University, Guntur, Andhra Pradesh, on Sunday argued that the very idea of Hinduism as a religious faith was a colonial construction that the British floated as part of their bid to create and expand a common market for European capitalists in India. Director of Centre of Scientific Society said that though the word Hindu was found in many texts such as Kalhana’s Rajatarangini, it is nowhere referred to as a religion.

Director of Centre of Scientific Society was delivering the inaugural address at the 100th birth anniversary of philosopher Debiprasad Chattopadhyaya in the auditorium of Hyderabad Karnataka Chamber of Commerce and Industry here.

“Different religious groups such as Muslims are clearly defined. But the British defined all those people who were not following any other religions such as Islam, as Hindus. They began to list such people as Hindus in all official records, even right from the first Census of India held in 1872. The effort was clearly intended to project the majority of Indian population as Hindus, their land as Hindustan and their language Hindi and create and expand their market. So much so that even the Constitution too continued the colonial legacy of calling the majority of Indian population having diverse social, and religious traditions, as Hindus. Now, we have reached a point where one who refuses to accept this colonial construction is termed as anti-national,” he said.

Referring to a survey report, he added that of the 85 % of Indian population that was labelled as Hindus, over 61 % follow family deities and over 31% follow clan deities and they have nothing to do with Brahminical Hinduism. Director of Centre of Scientific Society also pointed to the recent movement for religion status to Lingayat, to say that the original independent status of Lingayat that emerged in its fight against was obliterated during the British period.

Terming the way that the Indian traditional past was divided into three major parts — the Hindu India of ancient time, the middle-age of Aryan/Muslim India and modern British India which was in limited territories, as an oriental perspective, Director of Centre of Scientific Society said that it was also a notion constructed by market-driven colonialism.

“It should be noted here that only the first two parts are made on the basis of religion and the third one was called as modern British India as well as Christian India,” he observed.

He stressed on the need to revisit Debiprasad Chattopadhyaya’s works on the philosophical front with a critical outlook to make them more relevant today and use them as instruments to deconstruct colonial notions.

Rajatarangini (Rājataraṃgiṇī, "The River of Kings") is a historical chronicle of the north-western Indian, particularly the kings of Kashmir. Rajatarangini (Rājataraṃgiṇī, "The River of Kings") was written in Sanskrit by Kashmiri historian Kalhana, work consists of 7826 verses, which are divided into eight books called Tarangas ("waves").

Kalhana was born to a Kashmiri minister, Chanpaka, who probably served king Harsa of the Lohara dynasty. Kalhana wrote the work in Sanskrit between 1148 and 1149, It is possible that his birthplace was Parihaspore and his birth would have been very early in the 12th century. It is extremely likely that he was of the Hindu Brahmin caste, suggested in particular by his knowledge of Sanskrit.

Lohara dynasty were Hindu rulers of Kashmir between 1003 and approximately 1320.The seat of the Lohara dynasty was a hill-fortress called Loharakotta, Pir Panjal range of mountains, on a trade route between western Punjab and Kashmir.

A daughter of the king of Lohara called Simharāja, had married the king of Kashmir, Ksemgupta, thus uniting the two areas. Compared to other societies of the period, women in Kashmir were held in high regard and when Ksemgupta died in 958, Upon the death of Abhimanyu II in 972, his sons, Nandigupta, Tribhuvanagupta and Bhimagupta, with the killing by torture of Bhimagupta in 980, a nephew, Samgrāmarāja 980 , to be heir in Kashmir but left the rule of Lohara to Vigraharāja, who was either another nephew.

Samgrāmarāja was able to repulse several attacks of a mongol King Mahmud of Ghazni against Kashmir, and Samgrāmarāja also supported ruler Sahi Trilocanapala against Mongol attacks.

The reign of Samgrāmarāja between 1003 and June or July 1028 with Prime minister Tunga. Samgrāmarāja's son, Harirāja, succeeded him but reigned for only 22 days before dying and being succeeded in turn by another son, Ananta. It is possible that Harirāja was killed, It was around this time that Vigraharāja attempted once more to take control of Kashmir, taking an army to do battle near to the capital at Srinagar and being killed in defeat.

The period of rule by Ananta was characterised by royal profligacy;his queen, Sūryamatī, intervened the situation was improved. In 1063, Ananta to abdicate in favour of their son, Kalaśa, Kalaśa was king until 1089. Effective rule in 1076, causing Ananta to leave the capital along with many loyal courtiers and then laying siege to them in their new abode at Vijayesvara. Ananta committed suicide in 1081 by fighting the enemies.

Kalaśa experienced difficulties with his oldest son Harsa. Kalaśa and Harsa were found out and eventually imprisoned. His younger brother, Utkarsa, who was already ruler of Lohara. Utkarsa succeeded and that Harsa remained in prison. With the accession of Utkarsa to the throne of Kashmir came the reunification of that kingdom with Lohara. Harsa became king in 1089. Utkarsa was disliked and soon deposed, with a half-brother called Vijayamalla.

Two of the statues of Buddha in his kingdom were destroyed during his rule, his iconoclasm was influenced by the ingress of the Mongols in areas surrounding Kashmir. Even in 1099, when his kingdom was ravaged by mongol invasion as well as by lawlessness on a large scale, Harsa continued to plunder the wealth of his subjects which was Raj Dharma. Harsa faced numerous challenges to his reign and many of his relatives were executed by the Mongols, some but not all of whom had been among the challengers. Harsa conducted campaigns in the east of the valley to wrest control of land back , who were known as dāmaras, and in 1101 they murdered him.

It was in part as a consequence of their many disputes with the kings of the Lohara dynasty, during a prolonged period of corruption, internecine fighting and misrule, that the region eventually passed into control by Mongols.

Kashmiri society was organised somewhat differently from other areas of India in which Hinduism flourished, this being due to the influence that Buddhism came to have from the time of the reign of Asoka around the third century BC.

The Dãmaras or feudal chiefs grew powerful, defied royal authority, and by their constant revolts plunged the country into confusion. Life and property were not safe, agriculture declined, and there were periods when trade came to a standstill. Socially and morally too the court and the country had sunk to the depths of degradations.

Uccala, who was from a side-branch of the Lohara royal line, succeeded to the throne and reigned for a decade. He and his younger brother, Sussala, had been spotted by Harsa as pretenders to his crown during the unrest and in 1100 had been forced to flee.Uccala was able to mount armed attacks on dāmaras as in 1101, which although initially unsuccessful did eventually achieve their aim as those closest to Harsa deserted him as they were martyred in the wars with Mongols.

At the time of Uccala's accession, with Uccala ceding rule over Lohara to Sussala, and in particular the fact that the power of the dāmaras which had caused the downfall of Harsa was also a strength that could now be turned on him.

Downfall of Uccala came in December 1111, Sussala was not in the vicinity at the time that Uccala was murdered but within days had attempted a hazardous winter crossing over the mountains to Srinagar, Sussala was able a few months later to venture once more and Sussala proceeded to take control of Kashmir from a half-brother, Salhana. As part of their alliance, Gargacandra arranged the marriage of two of his daughters, one to Sussala and one to Sussala's son, Jayasimha.

A potential candidate for the throne in Bhikşācara, a grandson of Harsa. and managed to install him briefly in 1120. The restoration of Harsa's dynastic line did not last for long: a fightback by Sussala, who had decamped in defeat from Srinagar to Lohar, resulted in the pretender being deposed around six months later in early 1121.

In 1123, during a period of intense pressure from besieging dāmaras and while mourning the death of one of his wives, Sussala abdicated in favour of his son, Jayasimha, He soon changed his mind and although Jayasimha was formally crowned as king it was Sussala who continued to govern.

Jayasimha succeeded his father in 1128 during a period when there was open rebellion. A plot intended to assert authority had backfired on Sussala and caused his death. Jayasimha was not a forceful character but he did nonetheless manage to bring about both peace and a degree of economic well-being during his reign, which lasted until 1155. Bhikşācara mounted further attempts to regain the throne during the first two years and no sooner had he been killed than another challenger, Lothana, a brother of Salhana, succeeded in taking control of Lohara. That territory was subsequently recaptured but challenges continued from Lothana and two others who sought the throne, Mallājuna and Bhoja, the latter being a son of Salhana.

Peace came after 1145 and Jayasimha was able to employ his methods of kingship, which relied on diplomacy for the greater good of his kingdom. In particular, Kalhana refers to the piety of Jayasimha, who rebuilt or constructed many temples which had been destroyed during the long years of war. His success has led to describe him as "the last great Hindu ruler of Kashmir."

An example of Jayasimha's vision can be found in his decision to enthrone his oldest son, Gulhana, as king of Lohara even though Gulhana was a child and Jayasimha was still alive. The reason for this appears to have been better to ensure the succession would not suffer any disturbance.

From the end of the rule of Jayasimha in 1155 and until the accession of Jagadeva in 1198, his successors reverted to type. Jayasimha was followed by his son Paramanuka, and then his grandson Vantideva (ruled 1165-72), who his often described as the last king of the Lohara dynasty.

With the end of the Loharas, Vantideva was replaced by a new ruler named Vuppadeva. Vuppadeva was succeeded in 1181 CE by his brother Jassaka, who then was succeeded by his son Jagadeva, in 1199 CE.

His death came by poison in 1212 or 1213 and his successors met with no more success; his son, Rājadeva, survived until 1235 but any power that he may have had was shackled by the nobility; his grandson, Samgrāmadeva, who ruled from 1235 to 1252, was forced out of the kingdom just as Jagadeva had been and then killed soon after his return.

Another son of Rājadeva became king in 1252. This was Rāmadeva, who had no children and appointed Laksmandadeva, the son of a Brahmin, to be his heir. Although the period of Rāmadeva's reign was calm, that of Laksmandadeva saw deterioration in the situation once more. In this reign, which began in 1273, the troubles were caused not only by the fractious nobility but also by the territorial encroachment of mongols.

By 1286, when Laksmandadeva'a son, Simhadeva, came to the throne, the kingdom was a much smaller place. Simhadeva survived until 1301, a largely ineffective ruler who was dominated by his advisers. He was killed by a man whom he had cuckolded.

The last of the dynasty was Sūhadeva, the brother of Simhadeva. He was a strong ruler.

The widow of Sūhadeva, queen Kotā took his place but was usurped by Shah Mir, a Muslim who had moved into the area from the south.

During the reign of Suhadeva, a Tatar chief Dulucha invaded Kashmir and ravaged it.King Suhadeva and his general Ramachandra occupied the throne(reigned 1320–23).

The Ladhaki prince organized an internal rising and seized the throne. He married Kota Rani, the daughter of Ramachandra. The Hindu religious leaders of the time refused to admit into their fold. Rinchan embraced Islam and took Muslim name of Sultan Sadruddin. He was attacked by rebels and was badly wounded and died in 1323 A.D. Just before his death Sultan Sadruddin (Rinchan) summoned his trusted minister, Shah Mir, and entrusted his son, Hyder, and wife, Kotarani, to his care. He had a son, Haidar by his queen Kota Rani. After the death of Rinchan, who was assassinated after ruling for three years., Kotarani married the brother of Suhadeva.

The last Hindu ruler of Kashmir was Udyanadeva. It was his chief Queen Kota Rani,The Kashmir Valley was again invaded by a Mongol invader Achalla. But the Queen defeated (killed) Achalla and drove away all the foreign troops.

pibimage.jpg

Prime Minister's Office
05-November, 2018 12:00 IST
PM greets the nation on Dhanteras

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has greeted the Nation on the occasion of Dhanteras.

Prime Minister said, “धनतेरस के पावन अवसर पर सभी देशवासियों को हार्दिक शुभकामनाएं। भगवान धन्वंतरि हम सबको जीवन में सुख, समृद्धि एवं उत्तम स्वास्थ्य प्रदान करें।

Greetings on the auspicious occasion of Dhanteras. May this special day enhance the spirit of peace and prosperity in our society”.

AKT/KP

pibimage.jpg

President's Secretariat
06-November, 2018 17:09 IST
President’s Deepawali Greetings

The President of India, Shri Ram Nath Kovind has sent his greetings to fellow citizens on the eve of Deepawali.

In his message, the President has said, “On the auspicious occasion of Deepawali, I extend warm greetings and good wishes to all my fellow citizens in India and around the world.

This festival is an opportunity to foster fraternity and unity among all citizens. Deepawali guides us from darkness towards light. On this occasion let us spread and share our happiness with those who are less fortunate than us.

I also urge all citizens to commit themselves to celebrating a pollution-free and safe Deepawali”.

Please click here for Hindi Greeting.

pibimage.jpg

06-November, 2018 17:21 IST
Vice President Greets People on the eve of Deepawali

The Vice President of India, Shri M. Venkaiah Naidu has greeted the people of our country on the auspicious occasion of Deepawali. In a message, he said that Deepawali signifies the victory of Good over Evil and reaffirms our faith in the noble qualities that Bhagwan Shree Rama embodied. May this festival bring illumination, peace, prosperity and happiness in our lives, he added.

“I extend my warm greetings and good wishes to the people of our country on the auspicious occasion of Deepawali, the festival of lights.

Celebrated with traditional fervor and zeal, Deepawali signifies the victory of Good over Evil and reaffirms our faith in the noble qualities that Bhagwan Shree Rama embodied. Also associated with Goddess Lakshmi - the harbinger of wealth, grace and prosperity - Deepawali is celebrated on a grand scale not only in India but all over the world by the people of Indian origin.

May this festival bring illumination, peace, prosperity and happiness in our lives.”

AKT/BK/RK

pibimage.jpg

Prime Minister's Office
07-November, 2018 09:54 IST
PM greets nation on the auspicious occasion of Diwali

Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has greeted the nation on the auspicious occasion of Diwali.

“Happy Diwali! May this festival bring happiness, good health and prosperity in everyone’s lives. May the power of good and brightness always prevail,” the Prime Minister said.

pibimage.jpg

Prime Minister's Office
07-November, 2018 10:05 IST
PM celebrates Diwali with jawans in Harsil, Uttarakhand

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi, today celebrated Diwali with jawans of the Indian Army and ITBP, at Harsil in Uttarakhand.

Greeting the jawans on the occasion, the Prime Minister said that their devotion to duty in the remote icy heights, is enabling the strength of the nation, and securing the future and the dreams of 125 crore Indians. He said that Diwali is the festival of lights; it spreads the light of goodness and dispels fear. He said that the jawans, through their commitment and discipline, are also helping to spread the sense of security and fearlessness among the people.

The Prime Minister recalled that he has been visiting soldiers on Diwali, ever since he was the Chief Minister of Gujarat. He also spoke of his interactions with the jawans of ITBP, years ago when he was part of the Kailash Mansarovar Yatra.

The Prime Minister said India is taking great strides forward in the defence sector. He spoke of various measures being taken for welfare of ex-servicemen, including OROP (One Rank, One Pension).

The Prime Minister said that the Indian Armed Forces draw admiration and appreciation across the world, in UN peacekeeping operations.

The Prime Minister offered sweets to the jawans. He also interacted with people from nearby areas who had gathered to greet him on Diwali.

AKT/SH/VK

T2018110757540.JPG

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi celebrating Diwali with the jawans of the Indian Army and ITBP, at Harsil, in Uttarakhand on November 07, 2018.

T2018110757541.JPG

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi celebrating Diwali with the jawans of the Indian Army and ITBP, at Harsil, in Uttarakhand on November 07, 2018.

T2018110757542.JPG

T2018110757544.JPG