New taxes expected in coming budget

Why because A) this is not the government that was building metros and wasting tax payers money and B) This is not the way one should show its disappointment by not paying taxes. Taxes need to be kept separate. If we dont like the policies of the government dont vote for them. But considering how for the last 3 decades we kept seeing N league and PPP take turns, to me it seems people were satisfied by metros and loot mar and money laundering. Than they should pay tax as well. Paying taxes is not the responsibility of only salaried class but the entire nation who earns taxable income in a year.
People like you are the reason Pakistan is in such dire economic crises.
For your kind information I pay taxes on my income as well as whenever I buy a soap, shampoo, clothes, food, medicines, electricity, gas, water, property, and so on and so forth, I pay 17-18% GST on all these items as well.

Spot on.

Pakistani people should use an important acronym whenever some politician says "factories, assemblies etc"....they should enquire about the MVA (manufacturing value added).

MVA is the crucial thing w.r.t manufacturing broadly. You can have a large factory that looks good on brochure....but whats the real point if the country imports 99% of what goes in and adds just 1% in value of the final product (say final labour SKD assembly) before sold in Pakistan?

Pak people should put pressure for more MVA. Where it is 1%, push to get it to 5%. Where its 5%, push to get to 10% etc..

Start the incremental expansion backwards along the economic chain of MVA....rather than accept status quo sold to you by politicians and oligarchs...and their dirty lie that Pakistan just needs "more" factories and "more" loan-fuelled infra. Its a question of improving quality/depth of existing factories rather than going for more 1% addition (or even 0% addition) factories.

Every little bit of educated pressure will help mightily in creating genuine investment and more honest economy.

@Norwegian @VCheng @Indus Pakistan @That Guy @Oscar

What you say makes eminent sense, and is simple enough for just about anyone to understand. So why is Pakistan not able to implement such a simple step persistently, unless it is by design to create and maintain extractive monopolies by doing as little as possible while holding the entire nation back?

For your kind information I pay taxes on my income as well as whenever I buy a soap, shampoo, clothes, food, medicines, electricity, gas, water, property, and so on and so forth, I pay 17-18% GST on all these items as well.
So? You are not doing anyone any favor here.

Why are you trolling the discussion. My point people do not get due benefits of paying such huge taxes and government's spending should be open on internet

Me and trolling...where?
Huge taxes? Dude you have no idea about taxes at all. Pakistanis hardly pay any taxes at all. In fact our numbers in taxpayers is the lowest. At least get your facts right before accusing others of trolling.

Me and trolling...where?
Huge taxes? Dude you have no idea about taxes at all. Pakistanis hardly pay any taxes at all. In fact our numbers in taxpayers is the lowest. At least get your facts right before accusing others of trolling.
And please care to explain how is 18-40% direct taxes on each and every consumer item is a low number. And these taxes are unavoidable. Additionally the combined effect of all accumulated taxes may result in 50-70% taxes when a good reaches from raw material to consumer hands.

Nothing to restrict marriage halls, schools, parlours from passing on the burden of their income taxes to the end user?

I have a suggestion instead our youth wasting time on facebook, tiktok, video games and smart mobiles ... they should be made to assist filing returns for people who don't know or find it difficult to file their income tax returns. The CNIC should be for one year, expiring at same date for everyone (June 30 every year), and that should coincide with start of vacations for youth. So when you come for renewal of CNIC you get your return filed as well. Even I would say that our financial year should start Jan 1 and end Dec 31 instead this Jun-Jul. The whole idea is like when you had that mandatory NCC for college students why don't have this program introduced and extra marks / grades for students who file the most returns.

Nothing to restrict marriage halls, schools, parlours from passing on the burden of their income taxes to the end user?

Businesses can only recover the costs including taxation from their customers. The end users always bear the burden.

And please care to explain how is 18-40% direct taxes on each and every consumer item is a low number. And these taxes are unavoidable. Additionally the combined effect of all accumulated taxes may result in 50-70% taxes when a good reaches from raw material to consumer hands.
Oh Bhai i am not referring to the percentage of taxes here, but the number of actual people who pay income tax and file their wealth and income statements. We are the lowest as a nation. This is a fact.
Now coming to the percentage The reason these percentages are high because majority dont pay taxes and so the government keeps increasing percentage and as a result more burden on the already over burden salaried class whereas it should be to try to bring more people into the tax network and not increase percentage. This is what makes me come to my original post that i wrote on another thread about bringing everyone into the system even a laborer who appears to be poor on the outside but in reality he maybe earning more than say a salaried person who is earning on an average 35000/month fixed salary yet tax is deducted at source.

Businesses can only recover the costs including taxation from their customers. The end users always bear the burden.

We are not talking about the indirect taxation here (VAT / GST), businesses normally get allowance for deductible expenses and are taxed on their net profit (income tax), basically they should be paying their share of taxes from their savings. Now there is nothing to restrict them from grossing up their revenues to cover their income tax liability, actually they will conveniently pass it on to another person who may already be paying his income tax. This is where Mr Prime Minister of newly formed Riyasat e Madina seems to have no clue that his policies are adversely affecting the middle class (the salaried class that cannot escape any kind of taxes). Rising costs, taxes without any increments in salaries ...... well.

He and his immaturity is becoming a threat now, our economy is yet to recover from IK effect ..... what he immaturely did from start has shaken the confidence of many, the reason SBP had to inject money in Stock exchange. If you could, just imagine a new CEO enters the office for the first time and the very next day in town hall meeting he starts crying and whining "Oh company has no money left, the previous CEO and management have left no money in accounts, it is about to go bankrupt, we should sell assets, furniture, start cost cutting etc etc" ...... not once multiple times, in presence of, bankers, investors, shareholders, supporting businesses and competitors ........ just imagine how that would shake everyone including employees. This is what he (IK) has been doing all this time since he became the PM.

We are not talking about the indirect taxation here (VAT / GST), businesses normally get allowance for deductible expenses and are taxed on their net profit (income tax), basically they should be paying their share of taxes from their savings. Now there is nothing to restrict them from grossing up their revenues to cover their income tax liability, actually they will conveniently pass it on to another person who may already be paying his income tax. This is where Mr Prime Minister of newly formed Riyasat e Madina seems to have no clue that his policies are adversely affecting the middle class (the salaried class that cannot escape any kind of taxes). Rising costs, taxes without any increments in salaries ...... well.

He and his immaturity is becoming a threat now, our economy is yet to recover from IK effect ..... what he immaturely did from start has shaken the confidence of many, the reason SBP had to inject money in Stock exchange. If you could, just imagine a new CEO enters the office for the first time and the very next day in town hall meeting he starts crying and whining "Oh company has no money left, the previous CEO and management have left no money in accounts, it is about to go bankrupt, we should sell assets, furniture, start cost cutting etc etc" ...... not once multiple times, in presence of, bankers, investors, shareholders, supporting businesses and competitors ........ just imagine how that would shake everyone including employees. This is what he (IK) has been doing all this time since he became the PM.

Your points are valid, but I would still give PMIK the time remaining in his term to deliver the results he promised. May be he will be able to lead the country out of the present economic crisis successfully.

Dude govt accusing public, public accusinh govt. Why imran khan not focus on bringing money back? And if he cant ask army to do the job. Why burdening the poor more and more just saying u did this in past now suffer and not bringing any reforms.

One hand imran khan is placing in direct taxes increases everymonth on other hand he is placing more tax in direct income.

If purchashing power come down business will also come down all over Pakistan.

You have to understand, the govt hands are tied too. It is the people of Pakistan who have to stop using imported goods, no matter it is of 1 rupee or 1000 rupee. Most Pakistan's problems will dissappear once the import bills goes below the export income.

Your points are valid, but I would still give PMIK the time remaining in his term to deliver the results he promised. May be he will be able to lead the country out of the present economic crisis successfully.

He has backtracked ............ amnesty scheme ..... he will do it again many times more

Has succumbed to pressure ........... Mia Atif .......... he will do it again

He is biased and is fond of favoritism ...... this is not a secret, there are untouchables in his own party

He is wasting precious time .......... at this time jailing Nawaz and Zardari and related people doesn't serve anything, we need money back (formulate a plea deal, extract the max, make their entry into Pakistani politics hard) .... but his immature foolish public stand that I won't offer NROs ...... will lead again to make him eat his own words.

Yeh bai sahib kaan k itnay kachay hain kay kal kissi aur mohtarma say shadi k liay tayar ho jain gay. Naeem ul Haq nay keh dia hy to bus theak hy.

And dear mister Prime Minister has paid pennies in taxes (2015 thru 2017) .......... claiming major portion of his income under the head agriculture.

He has backtracked ............ amnesty scheme ..... he will do it again many times more

Has succumbed to pressure ........... Mia Atif .......... he will do it again

He is biased and is fond of favoritism ...... this is not a secret, there are untouchables in his own party

He is wasting precious time .......... at this time jailing Nawaz and Zardari and related people doesn't serve anything, we need money back (formulate a plea deal, extract the max, make their entry into Pakistani politics hard) .... but his immature foolish public stand that I won't offer NROs ...... will lead again to make him eat his own words.

Yeh bai sahib kaan k itnay kachay hain kay kal kissi aur mohtarma say shadi k liay tayar ho jain gay. Naeem ul Haq nay keh dia hy to bus theak hy.

And dear mister Prime Minister has paid pennies in taxes (2015 thru 2017) .......... claiming major portion of his income under the head agriculture.

Yes, and despite all that, PMIK still deserves his full term in office to deliver results he promised the nation.

I am in favor of his completing the full term, but that doesn't mean we should keep silent on his stupidity and immature handling of matters. He needs to understand that he is no more heading a dancing sit in, a lot is at stake here, he can make or break Pakistan .... so instead making false public claims and promises that he may not be able to achieve, he should stop with emotional speeches, and some serious materialistic thought needs to go into policy making, reviving institutions, revamping legal structure and some confidence building measures need to be adopted. I sense that relying on one ally policy is still in place.