Nalanda - World's oldest university recreated

Absolute nonsense. Promoting ones country or heritage is fine but ignoring global facts and false claims are a crime!!

Fes in Moroco has the distinction of having the first university of the world.

Now don't ask for evidence just Google it.

False information?

University of Al-Karaouine of Fes, Morocco is world's oldest continuously operating university (that's the catch) which was established in 849 (9th century).

Whereas, Nalanda was established in 5th century CE. Almost 400 years before Al-Karaouine would even become Madrassah and then university.

What's the problem if Nalanda is first university? It is as much our university as it is of Indians'. Just because we embraced Islam doesn't mean we would disown our pre-Islamic history?

In medieval times : Madrassa = University ...

Atleast learn some facts , dumbo...

Other than religion- law-code , arts , history , and "scriptural criticism" was taught in Al-Karaouine ....

Plus : wikipedia stinks .... get elevated , bhartiye
Actually Madrasah is a broad word for any center of learning be it school,college or university or even religious center of learning.

Madrasah ammah-public school
Madrasah hassah-private school
Madrasah diniyyah-religious school
Madrasah Islamiyyah-Islamic school
Madrasah ǧamiah-university

Doesn't change the fact that Nalanda University is older than the Moroccon Madrassa.

Bullsh!t. World doesn't recognize it...

You can cry all you want.....

What sciences were taught in Nalanda? The university is an autonomous self-governing institution....Nalanda wasn't. Plus : We don't have any good records of Nalanda.... It you have them , kindly post it here (Oh yeah , wiki is sh!t...don't bother to post please)

Universities as an autonomous self-governing institutes of higher learning originated in Islamic World.

Top 10 Oldest Universities in the World: Ancient Colleges | College Stats.org

Read up ...reading is goooddd...

From the source :

The following list of ten oldest universities in the world shows, through their brief histories, a trend: The university as an autonomous self-governing institution first was developed as religious institutions (madrasahs) that originated in the medieval Islamic world. But, Europe did not fall far behind these Islamic developments, as Italy founded its first university approximately two centuries after the first university developed in Morocco. The last university on this list, the University of Padua in Italy, was founded in 1222 — 270 years before Columbus sailed the Ocean Blue in 1492.

:wave:

False information?

University of Al-Karaouine of Fes, Morocco is world's oldest continuously operating university (that's the catch) which was established in 849 (9th century).

Whereas, Nalanda was established in 5th century CE. Almost 400 years before Al-Karaouine would even become Madrassah and then university.

What's the problem if Nalanda is first university? It is as much our university as it is of Indians'. Just because we embraced Islam doesn't mean we would disown our pre-Islamic history?

YAhi to problem hai pakistanion ki. Anything non muslim is abhored by them. Thats what I have seen here on PDF. We Indians never denied credit to Pakistanis for pre 1947 achievements. Its just they refuse to own them just coz they are no more part of India and accepting pre partition history will somehow make them indirect part of India. Yaar, itta ignorance aur arrogance is too much.

What sciences were taught in Nalanda? The university is an autonomous self-governing institution....Nalanda wasn't.

Universities as an autonomous self-governing institutes of higher learning originated in Islamic World.

From the source :

Oh wow what a credible source:rofl:

Nalanda university: Ivory pagodas | The Economist

NALANDA is an unlovely place in the poorest state in India. Yet, as in much of Bihar, a prosaic present belies a poetic past. It is the site of one of the first great universities which, half a millennium before the founding of Oxford, flourished with some 10,000 students and monks from all over Asia. Mango groves and lotus pools circled its halls, and an 8th-century inscription touted its “row of pagodas the spires of which touched the clouds.”

http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1540-5842.2011.01252.x/abstract

For over 700 years, the great university in Nalanda was a center of learning for a wide range of subjects, including philosophy,science, mathematics and public health. Nalanda is an icon of the Asian renaissance in the 21st century and should draw students and scholars from everywhere, as it once did. It should be a center of civilizational dialogue and interfaith understanding, as it once was. It should again make available for the common betterment of all human beings knowledge already existing in the world. In this way, the Nalanda project is not only a celebration of the past but also an inspiration for the future of Asia and the world. In a messy multipolar world, the Nalanda spirit of man living in harmony with man, of man living in harmony with nature and of man living as part of nature should be our common spirit.

Don't embarrass yourself mate :disagree:

After doing my research, I found something really interesting.

World's oldest university is not Nalanda but, Taxila/Takshashila in Pakistan.

"Taxila or Takshashila, in modern-day Pakistan, was an early Buddhist centre of learning. According to scattered references which were only fixed a millennium later it may have dated back to at least the 5th century BC. Some scholars date Takshashila's existence back to the 6th century BC. The school consisted of several monasteries without large dormitories or lecture halls where the religious instruction was most likely still provided on an individualistic basis.

It became a noted centre of learning at least several centuries BC, and continued to attract students until the destruction of the city in the 5th century AD.

Generally, a student entered Takshashila at the age of sixteen. The Vedas and the Eighteen Arts, which included skills such as archery, hunting, and elephant lore, were taught, in addition to its law school, medical school, and school of military science."

What sciences were taught in Nalanda? The university is an autonomous self-governing institution....Nalanda wasn't. Plus : We don't have any good records of Nalanda.... It you have them , kindly post it here (Oh yeah , wiki is sh!t...don't bother to post please)

From the source :

Really? well I wont waste my time in even trying to entertain a person who is so myopic in vision. Beleive what you want to.

I would wait for our chinese members to reply on this. Nalanda University is as famous in china as in India due to works of scholars like Xuanzang.

After doing my research, I found something really interesting.

World's oldest university is not Nalanda but, Taxila/Takshashila in Pakistan.

"Taxila or Takshashila, in modern-day Pakistan, was an early Buddhist centre of learning. According to scattered references which were only fixed a millennium later it may have dated back to at least the 5th century BC. Some scholars date Takshashila's existence back to the 6th century BC. The school consisted of several monasteries without large dormitories or lecture halls where the religious instruction was most likely still provided on an individualistic basis.

It became a noted centre of learning at least several centuries BC, and continued to attract students until the destruction of the city in the 5th century AD.

Generally, a student entered Takshashila at the age of sixteen. The Vedas and the Eighteen Arts, which included skills such as archery, hunting, and elephant lore, were taught, in addition to its law school, medical school, and school of military science."

Indeed. Taxila was such a university where scholars from Greece, Babylon, Persia, etc use to interact. Taxila is also wellknown for our great thinktank, Chanakya.

The difference in both Nalanda and Taxila seems to be the international exposure it contained.

Taxila has most of its forex people from west whereas for Nalanda, most were from East and Southeast Asia.

It was destroyed coz destroyer couldnt even understand the high profile subjects like medicine manuscripts on cure of chikenpox through the cow pox etc are already preserved through centuries.Thats the most earliest example of process of vaccination in india.

From the source :

you can keep your BS your yourself

Glimpses of History - Xavier Pinto, E.G. Myall - Google Books

keep whining because it was not a madrassa and almost all known sciences were taught there:yahoo:

It was destroyed coz destroyer couldnt even understand the high profile subjects like medicine manuscripts on cure of chikenpox through the cow pox etc are already preserved through centuries.Thats the most earliest example of process of vaccination in india.

Yeah right, it was destroyed cause the uncouth invaders wanted to convert people to islam. Lets not mince words here.