Musharraf apology to Bangladesh

they will not live in islamabad sir like last time they will flood karachi

Karachi cant support that Population.

Its a mess that its Population is migrating too.

If we must since they face genocide.

They can be equally distributed based on provinces capacity.

Karachi cant support that Population.

Its a mess that its Population is migrating too.

If we must since they face genocide.

They can be equally distributed based on provinces capacity.
bhai then what is the issue

this was agreed before first few batch arrive but they never live in Punjab they left town made for them near khoshab and all went to Karachi .that is why sindh pulled out from formula . can you stop beharis not to flood karachi ?

bhai then what is the issue

this was agreed before first few batch arrive but they never live in Punjab they left town made for them near khoshab and all went to Karachi .that is why sindh pulled out from formula . can you stop beharis not to flood karachi ?

Only suicidal maniacs will chose Karachi sir

The figure of 3 million(30 lacs) killed by Pak Army is exaggerated and superfluous, not plausible at all, and so is the story of rapes and torture to quite an extent.

A figure of 50,000 to 1 lac killed in the 71 war is the figure quoted by Sarmilla Bose, a neutral perspective by her. Some excerpts from the article, the last para quotes the figure.

28sld7.jpg

BLOG

Sarmila Bose changes perspective on 71 war through Dead Reckoning

But recently I found the book of Ms Sarmila Bose, who is an American journalist and academic of Indian descent. She is presently a senior research associate at the Centre for International Studies in the Department of Politics and International Relations at the University of Oxford. The grandniece of Indian nationalist Subhas Chandra Bose and granddaughter of nationalist Sarat Chandra Bose, Bose is the daughter of former Trinamool Congress parliamentarian Krishna Bose. She was born in Boston, but grew up in Kolkata. This book has completely changed my perspective about the creation of Bangladesh.

An excerpt from the Dead Reckoning: Memories of the 1971 Bangladesh war

In the terrible violence of a fratricidal war the victims were from every ethnic and religious group and from both sides of the political divide, and so were the perpetrators. Humanity was just as normally distributed. Both sides had legitimate political arguments and their idealistic followers, along with those who indulged in opportunism, expediency and inhumanity. Many Bengalis, supposed to be fighting for freedom and dignity, committed appalling atrocities; many Pakistani Army officers, carrying out a military action against a political rebellion, turned out to be fine men doing their best to fight an unconventional war within the conventions of warfare.

The Bengalis splintered into many fragments, those who wanted an independent Bangladesh, those who supported a united Pakistan, those who desired autonomy but not secession, those who actively fought for whichever side they supported and those who like Doctor Zhivago wanted to ‘just live’ but got caught up in the upheaval nevertheless. There were combatants and non-combatants, victims of violence and its perpetrators.

A longstanding theme of the 1971 conflict is the state of denial in Pakistan: a refusal to confront what really happened in East Pakistan. However, the study revealed a greater state of denial in Bangladesh and to some extent in India. In many ways the subsequent political formations in Bangladesh have been fighting out the battle of 1971 ever since, each constructing its own version of history. Perhaps the most disturbing aspect of this trend is the tendency on the part of pro liberation Bangladeshis to deny, minimise or justify the brutalities committed by Bengali nationalists against non-Bengalis and non-nationalists during 1971. The culture of violence fomented by 1971 explains much of what happened in Bangladesh subsequently and the cultivated mythologies of all sides aim to bequeath the legacies of hatred to successive generations.

Within months of the creation of Bangladesh, Sheikh MujiburRehman and his party the Awami League, who had fought the war in the name of Democracy, turned the country into a personal autocracy formalised later as a one party state. In August 1975 Bengali Army officers who had supported the liberation movement assassinated Sheikh MujiburRehman and massacred his entire family except for two daughters who were away at the time. Several former freedom fighters and Mujib’s cabinet colleagues were imprisoned and then murdered in jail.

The year 1971 was marked by a bitter civil war within Pakistan and between India and Pakistan, backed respectively by the Soviet Union and the United States. It was fought over the territory of East Pakistan, which seceded to become Bangladesh.

The numbers mattered, and matter still, because they make the difference between seeing the war as a tragedy and seeing it as a terrible crime, indeed as a genocide. Sarmila Bose’s attempt to set the numerical record straight, when she concludes that fewer died than claimed, still we are dealing with murder, rape, unnatural deaths and the destruction of individuals and their families in a land that had joyously embraced the idea of Pakistan less than a generation before.Bose estimates that between 50,000 and 100,000 people died in 1971. One hundred thousand at most.

https://dailytimes.com.pk/175915/sarmila-bose-changes-perspective-71-war-through-dead-reckoning/

Only suicidal maniacs will chose Karachi sir
they choose it they have relatives there they have sea they have seafood and most of that they have muhajirs whom can they join ac community there .i think better you guys forget this story now . not gonna happen

Pakistan establishment thought that they would manage to scare us away from forming our government and tame us down by killing and raping our own people. Before 71 Most Bangladeshis were treated like second class citizens. So, when that second class citizen got into power through legal means, oppressive Pak force never managed to accept that from their heart.

What did they do to make sure that we Bengalis could never voice our opinion in future again and always remain at the feet of west Pakistan? Yes, they started indiscriminately killing and raping innocent Bengali civilians. Whats hilarious is most current generation Pakistanis here shade crocodiles tear for Kashmiri separatists and call them freedom fighters but at the same time call mukti bahini as terrorists. Lol. Hypocrisy much? :lol: :lol:

well they disagree in fact its bloody battle already whom migrated in 1947 . once again be realistic sir . sachai ka samna kareen . i will trigger civil war

bhutto was hanged by court not killed . assassination is ok for you with family even kids ? its unique Bangladeshi style then i will say .
Benazir Bhutto

Pakistan establishment thought that they would manage to scare us away from forming our government and tame us down by killing and raping our own people. Before 71 Most Bangladeshis were treated like second class citizens. So, when that second class citizen got into power through legal means, oppressive Pak force never managed to accept that from their heart.

What did they do to make sure that we Bengalis could never voice our opinion in future again and always remain at the feet of west Pakistan? Yes, they started indiscriminately killing and raping innocent Bengali civilians. Whats hilarious is most current generation Pakistanis here shade crocodiles tear for Kashmiri separatists and call them freedom fighters but at the same time call mukti bahini as terrorists. Lol. Hypocrisy much? :lol: :lol:

Benazir Bhutto
she was not ruling when she killed in fact her last rule was 15 years before she been killed . while here we are talking uniform men of Bangladesh army killed ruler of country with his whole family .

well they disagree in fact its bloody battle already whom migrated in 1947 . once again be realistic sir . sachai ka samna kareen . i will trigger civil war
Well the mother of all problems seems to be province system... Break down all province into independent districts directly controlled by the central govt and each district govt gets provincial powers. No district can deny any citizen of Pakistan from moving in or out and it is the job of the govt to provide security and ensure communal harmony while megacities with high density should be made quite expensive for the new immigrants to settle.

Pakistan government should either give a written formal apology and ask for forgiveness for their misdoings in 71 or shouldn't bother about apologising at all. Nobody appreciates these types of phony apology. We don't care about Pakistan.

If Pakistan army genuinely don't feel ashamed for killing and raping innocent civilians then let them be like that. It just shows their true aukat. They will surely be punished by God for their atrocity.

Why didn't God punish them evil Pakistanis when they were supposedly killing billions of Bengalis? Stop leaving everything on God, the Strong does what he wills while the weak cries victim. Just like USA can invade any weak countries while the rest of the world watches on, that's how its been since cave days when the stronger tribes either killed off or enslaved the weaker ones.

Oh man another one of these threads....

@Imran Khan ji, you started one just as things were quiet and settling down here haha, you naughty ...

Will you say sorry for what you did with non-Bengalis in 1971?

Let's get it clear. What Pakistani military did had direct backing from their govt. I am personally sorry for the incidents that harmed non-Bengalis in 1971. But it had nothing to do with the Bangladeshi govt(exiled in India) they didn't order any such thing. I personally think those who did that should be punished...but that ain't gonna happen.

That's the best you can get... I think it was magnanimous of him to offer being a COAS of army... and I also regret what happened without apportioning the blame or responsibility.. We 'regret' it and let's move forward. We recognised Bangladesh and let it become a member of UN unopposed. So we have already shown a lot of kindness. Bangladeshi govt at the time welcomed it. So it does not make sense to eat your own words.
Do you guys actually think we are dying to have good relation with you?

Musharraf apology to Bangladesh

By David Blair in Islamabad

12:01AM BST 31 Jul 2002

President Pervaiz Musharraf of Pakistan took a bold step yesterday when he implicitly apologised for the atrocities that scarred Bangladesh's war for independence from his country in 1971.

Gen Musharraf's expression of "regret", the first by a Pakistani military ruler, came during an official visit to Bangladesh.

His words received a mixed response, with the Bangladeshi government welcoming them but the country's opposition denouncing his gesture as inadequate.

Gen Musharraf visited a war memorial at Savar, near the capital, Dhaka, and left a handwritten note in the visitors' book.

"Your brothers and sisters in Pakistan share the pain of the events in 1971," he wrote. "The excesses committed during the unfortunate period are regretted. Let us bury the past in the spirit of magnanimity. Let not the light of the future be dimmed."

Related Articles
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/wo.../1403185/Musharraf-apology-to-Bangladesh.html

@WebMaster please make it sticky so not more threads ont his issue

If true, this filthy traitor should be disposed off

Whats the point of this apology? Did he killed many Bangladeshis or what?

President Pervaiz Musharraf of Pakistan took a bold step yesterday when he implicitly apologised for the atrocities that scarred Bangladesh's war for independence from his country in 1971.

Gen Musharraf's expression of "regret", the first by a Pakistani military ruler, came during an official visit to Bangladesh.
It was only a meaningless implicit apology. The President should have directly and explicitly apologized. Before this he should have the Parliament pass a resolution to apologize. So, it can be said that there was no formal apology from Pakistan. What Musharref said was only 'Baat ki Baat'.