Mushahid’s 3-point plan: How ice could thaw on Siachen dispute
By Qamar Zaman
Published: October 2, 2014

195e7eaa3c63fd37e97bd9b7485cad8e.jpg

A file photo of Siachen glacier. PHOTO: ISPR

ISLAMABAD:
A parliamentary panel on Wednesday proposed a three-point plan for peace in Siachen, saying that the three decade long conflict has been a waste of human and material resources.

The proposal was presented by Senator Mushahid Hussain Syed, who returned from a visit to the Siachen outpost along with members of the parliamentary panel on Defence.

Terming the perennial standoff between Pakistan and India as “a pointless conflict” the senator called for demilitarization of Siachen, adding that both sides should move towards defusing the confrontation.

bde55d2c4e6941475df707b764a36b31.jpg

For more than 30 years, Pakistan and India have maintained troops and battle positions in freezing cold temperatures on the Siachen glacier. The archrivals have had intermittent skirmishes since 1984 to claim what is known as the world’s highest battlefield.

The senator suggested that both sides should find a formula for pulling back their forces from positions in the icy mountain, adding that Siachen should be converted into a peace park where mountain tourism and expeditions could be encouraged under the supervision of the United Nations environmental Program [UNEP] and World Tourism Organisation [WTO].

He also recommended collaboration on preserving the environment to combat the consequences of climate change and global warming in the region.

“We should learn from the Gyari tragedy, which resulted in the loss of 140 lives,” the senator cautioned. Commenting on the altitude, Mushahid said that “the tallest post is at the height of 22,000 metres and it takes 21 days of slow climbing to reach the peak.”

“They are specially trained troops who can survive such harsh living conditions, with temperatures that dip to minus 50 degrees,” he added.

401688ae42fd8135de41d384324aeacb.jpg

He said that 90% of casualties are caused by the severe weather, which includes frostbite, lung and chest diseases, loss of memory and depressive episode.

“The most difficult moment is when a soldier falls sick and he has to be evacuated, which is a major logistical exercise,” he added.

Talking about previous efforts to resolve the issue, Mushahid said that they “were sabotaged on three different occasions by the Indian military establishment.”

“On all occasions Indian army chiefs have overruled the political leadership to sabotage any possibility of peace agreement between the two sides over Siachen,” he added.

He said an agreement on Siachen was almost reached in 1989 between then prime ministers Benazir Bhutto and her Indian counterpart Rajiv Gandhi but General V.N. Sharma overruled the agreement. Later in 2005, former Indian PM Dr. Manmohan Singh proclaimed the peak as a “mountain of peace” and publicly sought to convert Siachen into a peace park. However, General J.J. Singh opposed it, citing “security concerns” and termed it “against India’s national interest.”

The Pakistan Muslim League Quaid lawmaker also urged both countries to collaborate on environmental issues, climate change and global warming.

“We should approach issues with a big heart and even take pride in each other’s achievement.”

Praising India for its Mars mission, Mushahid said New Delhi should also take pride in Pakistan’s achievement in areas of science, technology, IT, arts, literature and culture.”

Published in The Express Tribune, October 2nd, 2014.

Mushahid’s 3-point plan: How ice could thaw on Siachen dispute – The Express Tribune

India criticised for sabotaging efforts for Siachen peace
By The Newspaper's Staff Reporter
Published Oct 01, 2014 06:42am
.— AP file photo
ISLAMABAD: The Chairman of the Senate Defence Committee, Mushahid Hussain Sayed, has criticised the Indian military establishment for sabotaging all efforts for peace in Siachen.

India, he said, had consistently rejected all proposals made by Pakistan for peace in Siachen, even in the aftermath of the Giyari tragedy.

He was addressing the troops during a visit to Siachen along with members of the committee.

About two and a half years ago, an avalanche had killed 140 soldiers and officers of the army in Giyari.

The delegation laid a wreath at the monument for the martyrs of Giyari.

According to a press release, Mr Hussain expressed concern over consequences of climate change and global warming which has adverse consequences in Siachen because of freak weather incidents like the Giyari avalanche.

He urged India to cooperate with Pakistan and other South Asian countries to jointly formulate a regional strategy to cope with the climate change threat.

Mr Hussain presented to army officials a media manual on climate change prepared by the committee.

The senators’ visit was for expressing solidarity, on behalf of parliament and political forces, with the valiant soldiers and officers defending the motherland on the world’s toughest terrain.

Mr Hussain lauded the valour, morale and determination of the troops in performing their duty under extremely difficult conditions when in the peak of winter temperature falls to minus 50 degrees centigrade.

He said the people of Pakistan were proud of their armed forces and could never forget their sacrifices in defending every inch of the country despite being outnumbered by an adversary superior in numbers and weaponry, but not in fighting spirit, morale and motivation.

He told the troops that members of the committee were their voice in parliament and would do their utmost to protect and promote the good name and image of the armed forces, especially their committed role in Siachen.

During their two-day visit, the senators first landed in Skardu where they were briefed army officials before flying to Giyari.

They flew to a strategic military post in Siachen, located at Bilafond-la, at a height of about 17,000 feet, not far from where the Indian army is based at the Line of Actual Contact.

After their return from Bilafond-la, they received another briefing at the brigade headquarters at Goma at a height of about 10,500 feet.

Sabir Ali Baloch, acting chairman of the Senate, and Haji Adeel also addressed the troops and expressed solidarity with and support for the armed forces.

Other members of the delegation were Mohsin Leghari, Abdur Rauf and Dr Saeeda Iqbal.

Published in Dawn, October 1st , 2014

India criticised for sabotaging efforts for Siachen peace - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

First resolve LoC and then lets think about "solving" siachen. Until then....keep quiet.

I believe we have the advantage in Siachen. A country one eight of our economy is spending one half of the resources we are spending, that too in a much lower and vulnerable altitude, without proper logistical support. Our generals must be very good in chess. :D

Your parliament and judiciary system is still not able to do justice to 26/11 victims, how could you ask India to trust you and vacate Siachen? Why you guys are not raising your voices for the 26/11 victims? Do that first, then we will think about other issues.

I believe we have the advantage in Siachen. A country one eight of our economy is spending one half of the resources we are spending, that too in a much lower and vulnerable altitude, without proper logistical support. Our generals must be very good in chess. :D

Don't cry over LOC than.

As we are almost into finishing TTP,putting our resource's on indian side is a matter of few years.as was forcing india into even considering the once integral part(Kashmir) as ready to consider LOC as IB.Don't be surprised tomorrow if we force you into even giving up pathankot and related territories

BABA,tujhe jeenay nahin denge theek se,hum bhi wo hain :D

Your parliament and judiciary system is still not able to do justice to 26/11 victims, how could you ask India to trust you and vacate Siachen? Why you guys are not raising your voices for the 26/11 victims? Do that first, then we will think about other issues.

So, is yours regarding Samjhoota Express false flag.

@ Topic There is no solution to Kashmir other than making it Independent country.

Don't cry over LOC than.

As we are almost into finishing TTP,putting our resource's on indian side is a matter of few years.as was forcing india into even considering the once integral part(Kashmir) as ready to consider LOC as IB.Don't be surprised tomorrow if we force you into even giving up pathankot and related territories

Even with your full resources you are only 1/9 th our size..there is not much you can do to us..without destroying yourself in the process..and the gap is only widening.

from when did pakistan be in Siachen..? they are only in down stream, why so much worried about India ever..?

Even with your full resources you are only 1/9 th our size..there is not much you can do to us..without destroying yourself in the process..and the gap is only widening.

it is rather about guts than size.

Don't cry over LOC than.

bhaisaab, peshawar mein bum phut rahein hain..al qaeda aapki nausena ka jahaj urakar le jaaney ke plans banatey hain...hinduon ko maar girane ke liye india mein. aap unhe maar gira rahein hain. raheel sharief ji uighyur musalmaano ko bina darr jannat pahuncha rahein hai china ki taraf se.

ghar par dhyaan de jara....

from what i see online..pre zia pakistan must have been truely different. or was it always the same about Kashmir ?

What good have your "guts" brought you till now. All you have managed is, to get yourself dismembered by picking a fight with a nation many times your size.

As i told you size might matter against even somalia but incase of india,Size is not even the question,

hum apka bhot khoob jante hain,

unchi awaaz se bhi bhaag jane wali qoam

As i told you size might matter against even somalia but incase of india,Size is not even the question,

hum apka bhot khoob jante hain,

unchi awaaz se bhi bhaag jane wali qoam

Thats is problem you people, you have been raised on BS like "1 Muslim = 10 Hindus" and "unchi awaaz se bhi bhaag jane wali qoam"..and in your false bravado, you pick a fight against the Indian Nation and get knocked out..and the worst part is..you never learn.

For all your rhetoric..have you ever managed to win even single war against India?

Don't cry over LOC than.

You are partially correct, I always considered that changing our 'unofficial' stance from "Whole of Kashmir is integral part of India" to "We may consider LOC as IB" was a big mistake, but that happened during a period of a softer government, I hope the unofficial stance will be changed to the original one soon.

Also, suddenly shutting down all our intelligence activities inside Pakistan during IK Gujral's rule was another big mistake, we need to kick-start it again if we haven't done so already.

Then, asking Pakistan for punishing the same terrorists that they themselves have created and sheltering in their country is stupidity, we should simple consider assassinating these terrorists inside Pakistan by all means possible, ethics don't count here.

Further, we need a policy of equal & prompt reciprocation, any terrorists activity by Pakistan need to be retaliated with a terrorist activity of equal or more intensity, there are people inside Pakistan who would be happy to do that if provided with sufficient funding.

Finally, we need to help all the separatist movements inside Pakistan by all means possible, be it Balochistan or Waziristan or FATA.

I think these strategies will be beneficial for us in the long run. :)

Btw, I have some interesting plans for the Indus Waters Treaty also. :)