Mumbai: the Infernal Megalopolis

Do you believe that you can compare Kolkata to Dhaka? The slums in Dharavi are perhaps the only place that can be likened to the conditions found in Dhaka.

Yes and compares VERY favorably. Kolkata people themselves say it. You won't know unless you visit both cities. But Kolkata people are our brothers in any case - I won't put them down.

Kolkata is uncrowded and lost half its people because they go to work in other states in India (richer states). Dhaka people have no such luxury. This is our Delhi, our Mumbai, Bangkok and S'pore. We have to make it better. This is it.

Not going to dick measure about real estate standards, about smoothness of roadways, about general cleanliness.

As Indian subcontinent desi people we all look beyond that - but should we?? Being selectively blind is a typical bhakt trait.

Before chest beating about India, aankh kholkey dekh what a dump some parts of India are - then try to better it.

The difference is - we are trying to do that in Bangladesh, and bhakts as usual are not.

People in Dhaka complain that their city is not as clean as KL or Bangkok, because they go to those places all the time.

No Bangladeshi ever says, I wish Dhaka was as clean as Delhi or Mumbai. Those cities are not our role models for urban spaces.

Navi Mumbai, Hyderabad's Hitech city, Chennai and Bengaluru and Gurgaon does not represent India as a whole. Those places were built with foreign money, mostly backoffice money.

A few Million backoffice jobs cannot sustain the development of a nation like India.

Please dont joke, Karachi is 20 years ahead of Dhaka
If Karachi is considered to be 20 years ahead of Dhaka in terms of development, then it can be said that Kathmandu is significantly more advanced than Dhaka, with a gap of 100 years separating the two cities in terms of progress.

Navi Mumbai, Hyderabad's Hitech city, Chennai and Bengaluru and Gurgaon does not represent India as a whole. Those places were built with foreign money, mostly backoffice money.
Kuch bhi boldeta hu kisko kya hi pata chalega:crazy:

A few Million backoffice jobs cannot sustain the development of a nation like India.
But a few million chaddi stitchers can make Bangladesh asian tiger?

Bangladesh generates a substantial annual income of 43 billion USD solely from exporting garments, which is quite impressive for a country with a population of 160 million. The textile industry, being labor-intensive, offers a greater number of low-end job opportunities.

i asked this Lungi why there is a swamp on both sides of the freeway he came up with big words like freeway design and what not :lol:

Bangladesh generates a substantial annual income of 43 billion USD solely from exporting garments, which is quite impressive for a country with a population of 160 million. The textile industry, being labor-intensive, offers a greater number of low-end job opportunities.

I am owner of BD made chaddi and not at all impressed by quality, I paid full one dollar for it, lungis should work harder and keep stitching.

i asked this Lungi why there is a swamp on both sides of the freeway he came up with big words like freeway design and what not :lol:

I am owner of BD made chaddi and not at all impressed by quality, I paid full one dollar for it, lungis should work harder and keep stitching.
Jokes aside, do you not think that earning 43 billion USD solely from exporting garments is a substantial amount of foreign exchange for Bangladesh?

Correct, its a lot. Indian bad politicies on textile manufacturing are giving Lungis a free ride. PLI scheme needs to be expanded to support textile sector which has been in decline for many years. Govt has made baby steps but a lot more needs to be done. Leave chaddi to the Lungis but we can focus on tshirts, sports apparel, shoes etc, Lungis also have the women advantage, Indian social conventions regarding women also prevent them from joining the labor force.

I concur that Bangladesh has excelled in the art of chaddi stitching and stands as a pioneer in this field. With their extensive experience and expertise, they have surpassed other countries in this particular domain.

All my chaddis are lungi made, whenever i buy chaddi i look for made in BD tag, no other nation comes close to manufacturing chaddi. But there is big room for improvement, they need to work harder for that dollar.

Do you imply that, much like France is renowned for its exquisite French wine and Russia for its exceptional Russian vodka, Bangladesh is renowned for its remarkable Bangladeshi chaddis?

Not so much, most people dont even know their chaddi is made in BD, unlike french wine or vodka. Lungis dont have any brain, although they are textile manufacturing powerhouse they dont have any of their own brands. They sell to western brand labels, so anyone buying BD chaddi from lets say marks and spencer or uniqlo has no idea it was made in BD, BD never gets the credit for chaddi manufacturing. If Lungis had half a brain they would be making their own brands, then that 43 billion would be more like 143 billion, but alas, its too bad. Some Indian Gujju needs to set up a company in Dhaka and export chaddi. Like there is victoria secret, he can call it lungi secrets.

Your business ideas are truly impressive. The concept of "lungi secret," drawing inspiration from the success of Victoria's Secret, is an exceptional and innovative business idea that surpasses even the visionary thinking of the greatest minds in entrepreneurship.

@WebMaster and @waz bhai - this thread has become the haven of Indian trolls with pointless off-topic comments of no value and lame jokes. The point of the thread was why Mumbai was infernal and how other cities in the subcontinent could escape that fate, taking a lesson from the mis-steps in Mumbai. Maybe we can delete some of the pointless comments and kindly clean up the thread.

Mumbai's slums have no infra or utilities to speak of, other than stolen electricity lines and unclean water. Approximately 6.5 million people, or 55% of Mumbai’s total population, reside in slums, according to estimates.
Not to be left behind, Delhi is no slouch in that dept. At least 350,000 families (3.5 lakh) and 2 million persons (20 lakhs) live in Delhi’s 750 large or small urban slum areas, which account for 28 per cent of the city’s population. There is 45 per cent of these homes with 4-5 people, 22 per cent with 6-8 members, and 5 per cent with over nine members.

1688802271372.png

No gas or electricity to cook with
1688802305405.png

Toilets are a luxury in Mumbai slums...
1688802333873.png

Mumbai contains Dharavi (world's largest slum) -whose population has grown exponentially due to influx of people from all over India
1688802441740.png

Indian foot dragging will ensure that Dharavi perpetually remains a blight on the face of Mumbai
1688802512588.png