Mother Teresa a noble soul: Kejriwal's reaction to Bhagwat's 'conversion' remarks

isupportaap

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi:Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh(RSS) chief Mohan Bhagwat's comments onMother Teresahave evoked a huge uproar across the political circle.

Bhagwat had on Sunday stoked a controversy by saying that the main objective behind Mother Teresa's service to the poor was conversion to Christianity.

Delhi Chief Minister and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) convenor Arvind Kejriwal on Tuesday strongly objected to Bhagwat's objectionable comments on Mother Teresa.

Kejriwal, the newly elected Delhi chief minister, who has worked with Mother Teresa in past, termed her as a 'noble soul' and urged the RSS top brass to spare her of such remarks.

I worked wid Mother Teresa for a few months at Nirmal Hriday ashram in Kolkata. She was a noble soul. Pl spare her.

— Arvind Kejriwal (@ArvindKejriwal)February 24, 2015

Meanwhile, RSS ideologue MG Vaidya justified Bhagwat's statement saying that missionaries, which serve people, undertake the services to convert them to Christianity.

Trinamool Congress leader Derek O'Brien took the opportunity to target Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The TMC leader tweeted:

Now what will the pinstripe suit say to the khaki shorts about his views on Mother Teresa#condemn

— Derek O'Brien (@quizderek)February 23, 2015

Congress leader Rajiv Shukla demanded BJP's apology and said that Mother Teresa shouldn't be insulted. Shukla further said that his party will raise the issue in the Parliament.

Speaking at a function organised by NGO 'Apna Ghar' near Bharatpur in Rajasthan, the RSS chief said, "Mother Teresa's service would have been good. But it used to have one objective, to convert the person, who was being served, into a Christian."

"The question is not about conversion but if this (conversion) is done in the name of service, then that service gets devalued," he said.

"But here (at the NGO), the objective is purely service of poor and helpless people," added Bhagwat.

Congress leader Sachin Pilot, while criticising the statement by Bhagwat, said: "By giving these kind of statements, they (the RSS) are trying to create a religious divide. Mother Teresa comes from which religion does not matter, what matters most is the service she provided to the poor."

The RSS Chief was addressing a function in village Bajhera, near 8 kms from here, where he inaugurated 'Mahila Sadan' and 'Sishu Bal Grah' in the NGO for helpless women and children.

Later, RSS said on its twitter handle that the media reported "wrongly" and Bhagwat had only replied to former BSF DG's comments.

Media reporting wrongly. At Bharatpur Ex DG BSF said that Mother Teresa did Seva with motive of conversion.

— RSS (@RSSorg)February 23, 2015

In reply, Bhagavat said, "let Mother Teresa know her motive for Seva, we do Seva without expecting any returns" Dr M Vaidya

— RSS (@RSSorg)February 23, 2015

Mother Teresa a noble soul: Kejriwal's reaction to Mohan Bhagwat's 'conversion' remarks | Zee News

Kejri's love for Mother Teresa stems from the fact that Christians voted in large numbers for him in Delhi elections.
And Bhagwath is not helpin BJP or Hindus in any way. Statements like these only makes Kejri and other seculars more appealing. He should shut up. period

LoL ... Dogma peddlers to each others rescue .... Teresa preaching divine healing and Kejru preaching divine utopia .... :lol:

@jaatram yaar ye to Krjriwaal to bade chalaak nikala ...

Bade Kisaan yaad aa rahe hain use ab !

Ye bill anti farmer hai wo bill anti-farmer hai ... ye sabse bada hiteshi hai bhai Kisano ka ?

LoL ... Dogma peddlers to each others rescue .... Teresa preaching divine healing and Kejru preaching divine utopia .... :lol:

As if Hindus don't believe in divine healing!!!

What about zillions of sadhu babas sitting in each and every nook and corner of country peddling 'divine' chamatkars from "grih-kalesh" aka family disharmony to sexual healing. From "vashikaran" mantra to seduce your fantasy girl to "Balaji Temple" for witch healing.

This thing is common in all religions.

@jaatram yaar ye to Krjriwaal to bade chalaak nikala ...

Bade Kisaan yaad aa rahe hain use ab !

Ye bill anti farmer hai wo bill anti-farmer hai ... ye sabse bada hiteshi hai bhai Kisano ka ?
kaam karna aata nahi isse ... time paas kar raha hai dharne pe.

What about zillions of sadhu babas sitting in each and every nook and corner of country peddling 'divine' chamatkars from "grih-kalesh" aka family disharmony to sexual healing. From "vashikaran" mantra to seduce your fantasy girl to "Balaji Temple" for witch healing.

Do they convert too?

This is superstition .... muslims go to peers to fulfill wishes etc .. all superstition ... also I have not heard balaji temple witch healing ...wtf is that ...

But none of these babas win nobel prizes and are backed by multi billion dollar genocide machines

There are too many seculars in this country, trying hard to expose those babas... but no one gives an ear to the secular preachers who claim to heal aids , cancer and has the power to stop rain too ... :lol::lol:

Here is the 'Loving Mother' hear it from the horses mouth

As a Christian missionary, do you adopt a position of neutrality between the Christian poor and other poor?

A. I am not neutral. I have my faith.

Can the Church do any wrong?

A. No, as long as it stands on the side of God.

Mother, if you were born in the Middle Ages, and were asked, at the time of Galileo's inquisition, to take sides, which would you have chosen - the Church or modern astronomy?

A. (Smiling) The Church.

And the source
India is my country, and I am an Indian: Mother Teresa : Cover Story - India Today

Here is the 'Loving Mother' hear it from the horses mouth

As a Christian missionary, do you adopt a position of neutrality between the Christian poor and other poor?

A. I am not neutral. I have my faith.

Can the Church do any wrong?

A. No, as long as it stands on the side of God.

Mother, if you were born in the Middle Ages, and were asked, at the time of Galileo's inquisition, to take sides, which would you have chosen - the Church or modern astronomy?

A. (Smiling) The Church.

And the source
India is my country, and I am an Indian: Mother Teresa : Cover Story - India Today

I find nothing wrong with theresa , she did her duty , I say hindus are stupid, we are so apologetic towards other faiths (Idk why are we apologetic in the first place) that we are ready to forgo the traditions and ridicule our own religion so that other religions can feel comfortable.. In my first yr of engg students from our college bus route formed an NGO, in order to support local orphanages by providing basic need through our pocket money . every month we used to visit a orphganage and help them by buying clothes or food material that they need. once we got to know about an orphanage being run by VHP, when we informed our bus Incharge about it he declined the idea of helping it, saying that it might hurt non-hindu students in our bus, and there were other hindu students who seconded his thoughts.. I was left there foolish defending that it is an orphanage and it is wrong to add religious color jst bcz it is being run by VHP. before thrashing theresa for her religious motives , we need to educate hindus to respect and stand for there religion.