Moon sighting Drama NWFP

shuakataftab

ANP leader hasim babar said NWFP wants one eid celebration as well and for that they have sent in proposal to the federation to celebrate eid with saudia arabia :lol:

I think if the people of masjid qasim ali khan want to celebrate eid with saudia arabia they stop making those claims that they have actually seen the moon. They should just celebrate their eid with saudia arabia.

Why this controversy always happens in ramzan why not rajab or rabiulawwal

:blah:

Its not unislamic my friend. If they see a moon then its eid. Whats un-islamic is National Ruel i Hilal of Mufti Munib, who is making it a secretariat issue and not believing in the shadat of NWFP people. Nearly all Muslim world including Malaysia in East and Turkey in west have eid on one day or hum niralay hain who do it the next day. So who is un-islamic???? Munib Committee or the Qasim Masjid

I am not saying that it is unislamic
every year even the zonal committees of NWFP cant see the moon through telescopes but mullahs of masjid qasim ali khan have got great vision

The whole concept of seeing the moon for every country is wrong.

The moon should be seen only in one place, for Muslims that can be Makkah, Saudi Arabia. The importance of one united Eid should be emphasized since its supposed to be a day of rejoicing, family reunions and thanking Allah for a Ramadan well spent.

Now imagine this. When humans colonize Mars (what in the next 50-100 years?), or say build up a moon base, How would they keep the Islamic calendar going? The whole concept would fail, unless we have a single Islamic calendar.

The moon should be seen only in one place, for Muslims that can be Makkah, Saudi Arabia. The importance of one united Eid should be emphasized since its supposed to be a day of rejoicing, family reunions and thanking Allah for a Ramadan well spent.

Now imagine this. When humans colonize Mars (what in the next 50-100 years?), or say build up a moon base, How would they keep the Islamic calendar going? The whole concept would fail, unless we have a single Islamic calendar.
But over there it will fail anyway single or not...:undecided::undecided:

I agree to that. Makkah or Medinah should be made centre and all Muslim world should do eid according to their moon sighting

Why do we in 2009 even have to rely on a physical sighting of the moon?
What's wrong with information gathered from mathematical equations and sattellite feed.
By using a lunar chart I could see that Eid el fitr is supposed to be on the 20th ages ago.

So far i know moon prediction is not possible, like in KSA they announce eid on 20th, according to moon chart, but in the end they came up finding moon.. and announced eid on 19th. May be moon chart needs more working.

@Topic

1st of all, there was around 34 shahadah all over the Pakhtonkhuwa.. where normal civilians (not any mullah) sited moon. Also, scientifically it wasn't impossible to find moon. But they said it is hard (not impossible) to see, since the difference to sun and moon was just 2-3 mins.

I agree to that. Makkah or Medinah should be made centre and all Muslim world should do eid according to their moon sighting

what an oxymoron??? Makkah or Madinah Should be made centre and all Muslim world should do eid according to their moon sighting????? Two opposite ideas:what:

If we have to make Saudi Arabia our centre, thats nice, no worries except you have to offer your Fajar Prayer at 8:00 in morning.:blah:

KIT Over n Out.

If we have to make Saudi Arabia our centre, thats nice, no worries except you have to offer your Fajar Prayer at 8:00 in morning.:blah:

Does this happen throughout the world, who follow Makkah and madinah as center for ramzan?

These comments come from those people who don't know about Islamic ruling.. Islamic ruling says prayers are according to sun (which don't requires any shahdah). while moon siting is depending moon visibility, and if you have 3 shahdah's then you must go for eid. Because of faster communication systems, it is possible to get Moon siting news throughout the world in no time, and Islamic ummah is one unity according to Quran. so 3 shahdah's are enough for islamic ummah. But it could be difference zones as well (but this requires ijmah or ijtihaad before it become a real practice, since i am not mufti, so at the moment i will become "Lakeer ka faqeer", 3 shahdahs are enough for whole ummah)

1d60d7d76df06ca4a039dc6f63ef5d6b.gif

Must look at it.... and the next article.

KIT Over

---------- Post added at 10:45 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:45 AM ----------

Sighting Reports
September 19, 2009 (Saturday):
M Shamim Ali (MCW member) Samabula Suva Fiji Islands reported: Not Seen
New moon was not sighted in Fiji Islands therefore Eid-ul-Fitr will Insha allah be celebrated on Monday 21/09/2009.

Engr Manzoor A Mian (MCW member) Melbourne Australia reported: Not Seen
I wish to inform you that Shawal crescent has not been sighted in Melbourne Sydney, and Brisbane of Australia so far on 19 Sep. 2009 Saturday evening. We are still waiting results from Darwin and Perth in next two hour. I shall update you again in 2 hrs.

Salah Sukkarieh (MCW member) Sydney Australia reported: Not Seen
It was too cloudy in Sydney to observe the moon.

Dr. Shabbir Ahmed (MCW member) Imam of Rooty Hill Mosque Sydney Australia reported: Seen
The Hilaal of SHAWWAAL 1430 has been sighted in Port Hedland and Perth. I have personally contacted those brothers who sighted the Moon. In the Eastern suburbs, the possibility of sighting the moon was not strong. However, in the Western suburbs, the age of the moon wasn’t sufficient enough for the moon to be sighted clearly but the thing that helped the moon to be sighted was the time difference between sunset and moonset which was of 40 minutes. Therefore after accepting the testimony of the brothers who saw the moon, the Moonsighting Committee and Majlisul Ulamaa’ of Australia declared that Eid would be celebrated on Sunday 20/09/09. EID MUBARAK to everyone!

Engr Manzoor A Mian (MCW member) from Australia reported: Seen in Western Australia
I wish to inform you again that Shawal crescent has been sighted in Australia, Port Hedland (Western Australia) Therefore there will be Eid in whole Australia tomorrow 20th sep 2009 Sunday InshaAllah.

Habeeb Mohamed-Hussain (MCW member) from Gold Coast Australia reported: Seen in Western Australia
The moon has been sighted. Insha-Allah Eid will be celebrated tomorrow, Sunday, Eid Mubaruk.

Furqan Abdussubhan Dadan from Hong Kong reported: Not Seen
I wish to inform you that Shawal crescent has not been sighted in Hong Kong today. Hence, Eid will be on Monday, 21st September 2009 (30 days completion)

Dr. Musa·Minhai (MCW member) Linxia, Gansu Province, China reported: Not Seen
In Linxia City on Sunday 20 Sep 2009 I could not see the crescent even with 10*50 binocular, becouse there is some cloudy and the Alt.@sunset is only 5°12?, it was hazy that the sun disck disappeared 15 minutes before our local sunset.( our moon lag was 15 minutes ). the Eid ul-fitri is on Sunday 20 Sep 2009 more muslim, some muslim will be on Monday 21 Sep. in China.

Mohd Aidil Sufian (MCW member) Brunei Darussalam reported: Not Seen
I wish to inform you that Shawal crescent has not been sighted in Brunei Darussalam. Eid will be on 21st September 2009 (30 days completion)

Ahmad I. Adjie (MCW member) Bandung Indonesia reported: Declared Eid
Ahmad I Adjie, MCW member from Bandung, Indonesia, reports that he is not in Indonesia for sighting but has advised to look for more easterly confirmed sightings. As such, as the Hilal was Sighted in Perth and Western Australia, those who follow moonisghting by maghrib ways in Indonesia have taken those sightings and has declared that the 1st of Shawwal is Sunday, 20 September 2009. Tabarakullah! We are also informing that the Indonesian government has set the same date and has publicly announced it today. Alhamdulillah this Ramadhan was indeed a rare one where the start and end of Ramdhan was the same as set by govt.

AR Sugeng Riyadi (MCW member) Surakarta, Java Indonesia reported: Not Seen
On Sep 19, we could not see the moon at Bela-Belu Hill, Bantul Yogykarta, Indonesia. It was cloudy.

Dr. Mansoor Limba (MCW member) Cotabato City, Philippines reported: Not Seen, but follow Saudi Arabia
Amidst cloudy weather since morning and occasional rain shower, Cotabato City-based Darul Ifta declared tomorrow (Sunday/September 20, 2009) as Eid al-Fitr. As announced in a nearby mosque at around Isha’ prayer time, the crescent is reportedly seen in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia (although at the time of the announcement, it’s still around 3:00 pm in Saudi Arabia given the 5-hour time difference between the two countries).

Keeper of Rulers Seal in Malaysia reported: Declared
As for Malaysia, the Keeper of Rulers Seal, simply says, it declares Eid to be on 20th without mentioning any moon or crescent or hilal or even saying any sighting ...

Engr. Azizul Huq (MCW member) Dhaka Bangladesh reported: Not Seen
Crescent moon was not visible from Bangladesh. Islamic foundation of Bangladesh requested to see Moon tomorrow. So there will be EID on Monday if Moon is visible within Bangladesh. But a good numbers of Muslims started Ramadan form 22nd Aug along with rest of the world. T

Mohammed Mohsin Khan (MCW member) Mumbai, India reported: Not Seen
Today Saturday 19 September 2009 / 28 Ramadaan 1430 in India. Here in Mumbai Sunset was at 06:38 pm LT and Moonset was at 06:52 pm LT. So there was only 14 mins difference. It was certain that the crescent would not be sighted anywhere in India today. I tried to sight the moon due to the 29th day according to the Ummul-Qura calendar but Shawwaal crescent has not been sighted in India.

Nular Bary (MCW member) Colombo, Sri Lanka reported: Not Seen
Today, 19th September 2009 (29th.Ramadan1430) I went to my normal observation point to try and sight the Hilal of Shawwaal the westen sky was very clear but couldn't see the New Moon, our sun set was at 6.09 Pm.I observed from 6.19 to 6.50 Pm.Neither reported seen from any where in the Island, hence Sri Lanka Jamiathululama declared to complete the month of Ramadan 30 days and celebrate Eid (1st of Shawwaal) on Monday the 21st.of September 2009 "Inshallah"

Haji Muhammad Suhail Omar Patel from Sri Lanka reported: Not Seen
As the new moon of Shawwal was not sighted in any part of Sri Lanka it has been decided by Colombo Grand Mosque and all Ceylon Jamiyyathul Ulama - Eid ul fitr will fall on 21st September, Monday

Provincial government of Sarhad, Pakistan reported: Declared
Provincial government of Sarhad (a province of Pakistan) has declared that tomorrow Sunday is Eid in Province Sarhad. It is to be noted here that Sunday is 29th Ramadhan in the rest of Pakistan.

Sultan Alam (MCW member) Karachi Pakistan reported: Not Seen
Today ( Saturday, September 19, 2009 = 28 Ramadhan 1430), on my request nearly one to two hundred persons (members of the moon-sighting committees of our institute "JAMIA-TUR-RASHEED" + my friends + their companions) tried to sight the moon at nearly 25 places all over Pakistan but the moon could not be sighted, as it was expected tonight. Weather was fully clear at all places except in Karachi and Aasiabad. They tried to sight at these places : Mardan, Malakand, Swabi, Bannu, Mansehra (2 places), Balakot, Deer, Battal, Mengora, Karachi (5 places), Ghotki, Jehlam, Tando-Ghulam-Ali, Faisalabad, Kehror-Pakka, Aasiabad, Turbat, Tando-Allah-yar, Jhang, Islamabad.

Dr. Shahid Qureshi (MCW member) Karachi Pakistan reported: Not Seen
In view of request recieved from various friends I was compelled to got on crescent hunt today Spetember 19, 2009. We failed to see the cresent. when tried using our telescope (6" code' refractor) and a field binocular (4") at Karachi University Observatory. We started our search 15 minutes before sunset (19:32 PST (+6 of UT)) and continued seacrhing crescent till the moonset (19:43). It was partly cloudly but we had moments of cloud gap. Humidity was around 50% and temperature around 30 deg C.

Dr Lukman Thalib (MCW member) Kuwait reported: Declared
Following the announcement of Saudi Arabia, Kuwait also announced the first day of Eid to be the Sunday, 20 September, to be the Eid ul Fitr of 2009.

Hussain Khushaish (MCW member) Kuwait reported: Declared
In Kuwait City on Sat 19 sep 2009 I could not see the crescent even with 20*60 binocular, it was hazy that the sun disck disappeared 9 minutes before our local sunset.( our moon lag was 9 minutes ).

Alireza Mehrani (MCW member) Esfahan Iran reported: Seen w/telescope
As it has been foreseen and expected before, the crescent of Shawal 1430 has been observed by 6 Iranian experienced observers on Saturday 19 Sept. by using telescope. I would like to emphasize that this observation was direct and it was not image-processing. Because of the rainy and cloudy weather in the northern part of Iran, other groups which were in this area were not able to observe the crescent.

Muhammad H Zulqarnain (MCW member) Riyadh, Saudi Arabia reported: Eid Announced
Eid announced in Saudi Arabia for Sunday 20 Sept. Hearty Eid Greetings to you all.

Some one from Riyadh, Saudi Arabia reported: Eid Announced
"By the Command of His Majesty the King after being consented by ALL the Rulers [9 sultans], I hereby proclaim the Eid ul-fitri to be tomorrow on Sunday 20th September, 2009."

Mrs. Lubna Shawly (MCW member) Jiddah, Saudi Arabia reported: Announced
Saudi Arabia will celebrate Eid tomorrow Sunday 20th of September 2009 as the first day of Eid Al Fitr for the year 1430.

Ahmad Abu Zaid (MCW member) Amman Jordan reported: Not Seen
On Sep 19, it was cloudy in Amman Jordan so it was not possible to observe the new crescent. However, it was announced that tomorrow, Sunday is the first day of Shawal. Thus Ramadan was of 29 days. The crescent was observed in a neighboring country.

Muhammad Yousuf Rajput (MCW member) Baghdad Iraq reported: Not Seen
Sighting of Moon on the west of Baghdad is very difficult due to bad weather condition through naked eye till Magrib, After that, dust completely cover the sky and start raining, I was not able to see Moon today 19th September 2009 in Victory base Camp Baghdad, Iraq.

Hamza Rijal (MCW member) Island of Zanzibar Tanzania reported: Seen
It has been declared by the Mufty Office taht Hilal has been sighted in Unguja island (Matewmwe, Mkwajuni and Kizimkazi) and in Micheweni in the sister island of Zanzibar and its officially decleared tomorrow 20 September will be the first day of Shawal.

Goolam Tegally (MCW member) Port Louis Mauritius reported: Seen w/Binoculars only
Hilal was sighted for a brief 1 minute with binoculars only between some clouds here in Mauritius at 14:31 (UT). However, local authorities have declared Eid to be on Monday 21st Sep.

Mahmood Essa (MCW member) Mombasa Kenya reported: Not Seen
It was cloudy in Mombasa so it was not possible to observe the new crecent. However, about 21.20 our local time, it was announced by the Chief Kadhi of Kenya that tomorrow, Sunday is the first day of Shawal. Thus Ramadhaan was of 29 days. Perhaps the crescent was observed in another part of the country or in a neighbouring country

Adamo A.C.Cassamo from Maputo, Mozambique reported: Seen
Moon was seen after Magrib salat on 19/09 in Maputo( capital of Mozambique). Eid-ul-fitr will be on Sunday 20/09 in Mozambique

Rashid Motala (MCW member) Durban S. Africa reported: Seen
The Hilaal was sighted this evening from many locations in S. Africa. I observed it in Durban at about 18:15. Eid Mubaruk to all.

Dr. Abdurrazak Ebrahim (MCW member) Cape Town S. Africa reported: Seen
Crescent was first seen by naked-eye at LT 19h05 until it disappeared into a bank of haze at 19h14.

Ahmed Mohamed Barakah (MCW member) Windhoek Namibia reported: Seen
Moon was sighted in Windhoek Namibia at about 19:25. Eid will be on Sunday 20th September.

Ibrahima Thierno LO (MCW member) Dakar Senegal reported: Announcement
Seeing the crescent by naked eyes was tried by our group, but it was not seen. The western horizon was cloudy in Dakar. The National Committee have accepted the claim of ordinary public of a sighting from some localities and announced Eid tomorrow, Sunday 20 September 2009.

Sheik A.A. Ishola (MCW member) Ikorodu, Lagos, Nigeria reported: Not Seen
I and my colleque Ustaz Monsuru Majolagbe tried searching the crescent of shawwal on 19-09-09 in front of Shamsudeen mosque Ojogbe Area of Ikorodu, Lagos along with us Ustaz Ishaq Hussein (Abu-Bushra) but the moon was not seen due to clouds, and Our member called me from Bauchi,Maiduguri,Kaduna reporting the same negative. we are waiting for Sultan to announce this night. Happy Eid fitr 1430.

Imam Majolagbe Monsuru (MCW member) Lagos Nigeria reported: Not Seen
I and my colleague shaekh abd azeez Ishola including ustas ishaq Husaen today 19 sept. 2009 attempted crescent sighting from sun set time till almost 19:20 but it was too cloudy and as such we were unable to sight the crescent

AbdulBariu Kareem (MCW member) Ikeja Lagos Nigeria reported: Not Seen
today 19th of September 2009 Ramadan 29th 1430 here in Lagos Nigeria the moon was not sighted due to cloud weather between hour of 18:50 to 19:20 LT while i was outside watching for the moon. i also called other members from another locations the situation was the same.

Imran Mushtaq (MCW member) Oslo Norway reported: Annoncement
Norway have 1st Shawwal on Sunday, 20.9.2009 according to the decision taken by Islamic Council of Norway based on conditions given by the Hijricalender agreement.

Anoushé Husain from Luxembourg reported: Declared
The Centre Cultural Islamic of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg and the Association Islamique have decided that the first day of the month of Shawal shall be Sunday 20 September 2009.

S. H. Wasty (MCW member) London UK reported: Sighting from South Africa
In the U.K. we go by Shahahdah. The Shahahdah from Australia and now from S. Africa is our criteria. Most kindly delete calculations as the reason for our Eid on Sep 20.

Dr. Muhammad Afifi al-Akiti (MCW member) Oxford UK reported: Not Seen
Negative sighting. A group of us attempted to perform the obligatory sighting of Shawwal after Iftar on Saturday 19 September (the 29th day of Ramadan in the UK). Although the horizon is clear, the crescent could not be sighted. Still, we received news of positive sightings to the East of the UK from Indonesia as well as South Africa. This news, despite not being able to sight locally, makes it sufficient for Eid al-Fitr to be tomorrow, on Sunday 20 September for those in the UK, by following the basic rule [dabit] in Islamic Law in this matter that whenever it is known that the crescent has been positively sighted in the East, local sighting inevitably follows, but not the other way round [mata hasalati r-ru'yatu fi l-sharqi lazima ru'yatuhu fi l-gharbi wa la-'aks]. Eid Mubarak!

Dr. Gabriel Jairodín Riaza from Spain reported: Declared
Islamic Commission of Spain declare the first day of Eid to be the Sunday, 20 September. Eid ul Fitr mubárak.

Temoor Shouib from Iguasu, Argentina reported: Seen
Tonight (Saturday September 19th) after maghrib I saw the moon in the eastern sky from the northern Argentinian city of Iguasu. I took this photo. I didnt have a tripod, so there is camera shake but the moon is visible.

Dr. Muhammad Hafiz (MCW member) Guyana reported: Seen
I tried to observe the Hilaal with the members of Rose Hall Town Masjid after sunset on Saturday, 19th September, 2009, unfortunately due to cloud on the horizon Shawwal Hilaal was made impossible. However, I spoke to Br. Hussein by cell phone who is working in the fields out of the residential areas. He stated after praying Magrib Salah he was able to see the Hilaal at around 6:15 PM under clear horizon. He is a member of the Fyrish, #2 Masjid. It was also reported that the Hialaal was also seen in Providence, Guyana.

Farid Ahmed Degia (MCW member) Barbados reported: Not Seen
On Sep 19, the moon has not been sighted in Barbados or anywhere else in the caribbean area, Although clear skys were reported in most islands, Barbados also had clear skys but in the area where the moon should have been sighted was infact hazy with some patchy cloud cover in the lower areas just above the horizon.

Farid Ahmed Degia (MCW member) also reported about Trinidad: Seen
On Sep 19, moon was sighted in Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago has accepted this sighting as was confirmed by Mufti Wasim of the Dar'ul Ulum there on the Trinidad Islamic Network Telivision this evening.

Muhammad Sohail (MCW member) Iquique Chile reported: Seen
I have seen the moon of first of Shawal omn 19/09/2009 at 18:45 almost in Iquique Chile,the conditions were very good and one can see the moon very easy.

Saleh Bhai Bhattay (MCW member) Panama reported: Seen
Aaj Sep 19, Saturday ko panama me chan ho gaya hey. Eid Mubarak. Dua mein yad rakhiye.

Javad Torabinejad (MCW member) Blacksburg Virginia reported: Not Seen
This evening (Saturday, September 19, 2009), I tried sighting the moon in Christiansburg, VA with no success. The western horizon was covered by clouds and thus I could not sight the moon. I was there before sunset (7:22) till moonset (7:35).

Dr. Hussain Dashti (MCW member) Gainesville, Florida reported: Not Seen
The Hilal was not seen from Gainesville, Florida. The sky was Cloudy. In addition, the crescent was difficult to sight from Florida anyways.

Salim Chishti (MCW member) New Lebanon, NY reported: Not Seen
The crescent moon for Shawwal 1430 was not sighted. We will wait for other reports from North America before making a decision about the day we will celebrate Eid, insha'allah.

Nuh ibn Zbigniew Gondek (MCW member) Ottawa, Ontario reported: Announced
29th Ramadan, 1430 (Saturday, September 19th, 2009). Except for a few minor patches of cloud, the sky was mostly clear in Ottawa, Canada. I arrived at my sighting location right after iftar (sunset: 7:06) and started scanning the horizon using binoculars and with the unaided eye. The moon was not sighted. I stayed at my location until 8:20. However, the local Hillel Committee has confirmed a sighting and Eid will be Sunday, September 20th

Jim Stamm (MCW member) Tucson Arizona reported: Seen w/telescope
I just got back from viewing the Hilaal on Sep 19. It was very difficult through the C8, acquiring the image just a few minutes before the crescent set behind some distant mountains. None of the other 6 observers could focus the image enough to see it. Of course each observer made it more difficult for the next. I don't think that it was possible for anyone in North America to see this new Moon crescent with the unaided eye.

Mohammed Yahya Shaikh (MCW member) Culver City California reported: Announcement
I along with 5 other borthers tried to look for the moon from Playa del Rey on Sept 19 from 18:45 to 19:05 but were not able to see the moon due excessive cloud cover. However there has been various sighting reports from various carribean locations and InshAllah Eid-ul-fitr will be tommorow Sept. 20. Eid Mubarak to all.

Muzzammil Dadabhoy (MCW member) Huntington Beach, California reported: Not Seen
Today, Sep 19, myself along with 2 other Muslims from 18:45 till 19:30 (Maghrib was at 7) were looking for the Shawwaal Hilaal. We were at the beach for the entire duration in the city of Huntington Beach, California. The skies were relatively clear, yet a tad-bit hazy towards the Western Horizon. No hilaal was sighted however. We only looked with the naked eye.

---------- Post added at 10:46 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:45 AM ----------

7ea6d3b194efcaa161cb039235a8a218.gif