Modi exploring breakup of Coal India, opening up sector - sources

thesolar65

NEW DELHI (Reuters) - Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi is exploring breaking up state behemoth Coal India Ltd and opening up the sector to foreign investment to boost output and cut imports, said two sources with knowledge of the matter.

Red tape, strikes, protests against land acquisition and delays in obtaining environmental approvals have kept coal output far below demand, making India the world's No.3 importer even though it sits on the fifth-largest reserves.

Modi wants to fix the coal sector quickly to ensure unbroken electricity supply across the country, as in his home state of Gujarat where manufacturing has flourished. Coal generates more than half of India's power and is the cheapest form of energy.

Any reform will begin with Coal India, as it accounts for 80 percent of India's total coal output, said a source at Modi's Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The world's largest coal mining company has failed to meet its output targets for years.

"The story is about Coal India, whose productivity as we all know has been poor," said the source, a member of the BJP's economic policy team.

"What we have in mind is bringing changes inside-out in the company within a stipulated time period."

There is a possibility of converting various units of Coal India into independent companies, and making respective state governments equity holders to help speed up land acquisition and other such processes, a top Coal India official said.

Credit Suisse analysts Neelkanth Mishra and Ravi Shankar wrote in a May 19 note that disappointing domestic coal output is one of the main reasons for the slowdown in India's investment cycle. Raising coal volumes is likely to be a top priority for the new government, they added.

"The only meaningful solution, though much harder to implement, is to either break Coal India up, and divide ownership of its subsidiaries among the states where they operate, or in some way introduce an incentive structure so that the respective state governments participate in the growth of coal mining in their states," they wrote.

Sources say that no big-bang steps should be expected immediately as lot of consultation is still going on. But the thumping victory for Modi will make decision making easier.

FOREIGN INVESTMENT

Apart from using modern mining technologies to boost efficiencies and convert "challenging mines into modern mines", the government will also explore international private-sector partnership in a significant way, said the BJP source.

Another idea under consideration would be to auction coal blocks through open tenders, as India already does for oil and gas deposits.

The officials from BJP and Coal India said that many global miners are keen to invest in India's coal sector.

"India is a coal superpower, both in terms of production and consumption - foreign interest is natural," the BJP official said.

India's coal production in the 11 months through February was 497.2 million tonnes, according to data from the Ministry of Mines. Output was 557.8 million in the whole of 2012/13.

Research firm OreTeam says that according to its data, India imported 158.8 million tonnes of coal in 2013/14.

The Ministry of Coal said in February that imports hit 145.8 million in 2012/13, with more than half of that coming from Indonesia. Australia, South Africa and the United States are India's other main suppliers.

@nair @Skull and Bones @DRAY @chak de INDIA @scorpionx @levina and others who are interested in financial matter discussion.

Now that the new govt. will make some important financial decision, can we have a single sticky thread to discuss financial matters (of modi govt.) and combine all the news (financial) in to that thread!! I do not know any mods, so help me.

Short of coal production is an issue. For the last one year or so many generating units have been forced to reduce generation due to shortage of supply which is inexcusable in this season of intolerable heat.

Land accquisition should be overseen by the government.if private companies are given free hand,they will use all means to displace tribals

NEW DELHI (Reuters) - Prime Minister-elect Narendra Modi is exploring breaking up state behemoth Coal India Ltd and opening up the sector to foreign investment to boost output and cut imports, said two sources with knowledge of the matter.

Red tape, strikes, protests against land acquisition and delays in obtaining environmental approvals have kept coal output far below demand, making India the world's No.3 importer even though it sits on the fifth-largest reserves.

Modi wants to fix the coal sector quickly to ensure unbroken electricity supply across the country, as in his home state of Gujarat where manufacturing has flourished. Coal generates more than half of India's power and is the cheapest form of energy.

Any reform will begin with Coal India, as it accounts for 80 percent of India's total coal output, said a source at Modi's Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). The world's largest coal mining company has failed to meet its output targets for years.

"The story is about Coal India, whose productivity as we all know has been poor," said the source, a member of the BJP's economic policy team.

"What we have in mind is bringing changes inside-out in the company within a stipulated time period."

There is a possibility of converting various units of Coal India into independent companies, and making respective state governments equity holders to help speed up land acquisition and other such processes, a top Coal India official said.

Credit Suisse analysts Neelkanth Mishra and Ravi Shankar wrote in a May 19 note that disappointing domestic coal output is one of the main reasons for the slowdown in India's investment cycle. Raising coal volumes is likely to be a top priority for the new government, they added.

"The only meaningful solution, though much harder to implement, is to either break Coal India up, and divide ownership of its subsidiaries among the states where they operate, or in some way introduce an incentive structure so that the respective state governments participate in the growth of coal mining in their states," they wrote.

Sources say that no big-bang steps should be expected immediately as lot of consultation is still going on. But the thumping victory for Modi will make decision making easier.

FOREIGN INVESTMENT

Apart from using modern mining technologies to boost efficiencies and convert "challenging mines into modern mines", the government will also explore international private-sector partnership in a significant way, said the BJP source.

Another idea under consideration would be to auction coal blocks through open tenders, as India already does for oil and gas deposits.

The officials from BJP and Coal India said that many global miners are keen to invest in India's coal sector.

"India is a coal superpower, both in terms of production and consumption - foreign interest is natural," the BJP official said.

India's coal production in the 11 months through February was 497.2 million tonnes, according to data from the Ministry of Mines. Output was 557.8 million in the whole of 2012/13.

Research firm OreTeam says that according to its data, India imported 158.8 million tonnes of coal in 2013/14.

The Ministry of Coal said in February that imports hit 145.8 million in 2012/13, with more than half of that coming from Indonesia. Australia, South Africa and the United States are India's other main suppliers.

@nair @Skull and Bones @DRAY @chak de INDIA @scorpionx @levina and others who are interested in financial matter discussion.

Now that the new govt. will make some important financial decision, can we have a single sticky thread to discuss financial matters (of modi govt.) and combine all the news (financial) in to that thread!! I do not know any mods, so help me.

Interesting information.

But the part in green sounds better option, its better to have one large company with stake of several sates to look after coal sector than many smaller ones.

But Coal India and coal sector need reforms for sure.

@thesolar65
The very mention of CIL reminds me of Naveen Jindal,Aditya Birla and Darda who were caught with their hands inside the cookie jar when CIG report had come out.
Market is abuzz that Modi is gonna keep Coal ministry to himself and ergo the coal India shares have soared a good 7% .
I am not sure how good privatization would be but going by Gujarat model,Modi would be seriously considering it.
Though I think its high time government encouraged alternate sources of energy for electricity production.Mumbai was supposed to have compulsory solar panels for high rises. Dont know how well it has been executed.
He should have started with by selling off Air India to any private entity, the present state of Air India makes me cry.

Exactly!!
Air India is a leech of the poor in gulf region.The service is so bad that i think even the economic domestic flights/ATRs in India have a better service than AI.

thesolar65 said:
@nair @Skull and Bones @DRAY@chak de INDIA @scorpionx @levina and others who are interested in financial matter discussion
Now that the new govt. will make some important financial decision, can we have a single sticky thread to discuss financial matters (of modi govt.) and combine all the news (financial) in to that thread!! I do not know any mods, so help me

okay let me try mentioning a few here :-)

FYI- @WebMaster @Aeronaut @Oscar @Emmie

@levina - Cough up the truth....you've got shares in the Indian Coal Industry - Stop masking your desire to earn more money by talking about betterment for the Indian Coal Industry ! :p:

You are a cut-throat Capitalist ! :o:

I will stand by @Ayush my Socialist Brother till the very end in preventing privatization in such a way that the rich become richer whilst the poor coal miners remain poor ! :smokin:

Wait...did I just call @Ayush as my Brother ? :unsure:

I meant my Butler.....can't be Brothers with the Enemy ! :bunny:

@levina - Cough up the truth....you've got shares in the Indian Coal Industry - Stop masking your desire to earn more money by talking about betterment for the Indian Coal Industry ! :p:

You are a cut-throat Capitalist ! :o:

I will stand by @Ayush my Socialist Brother till the very end in preventing privatization in such a way that the rich become richer whilst the poor coal miners remain poor ! :smokin:

Wait...did I just call @Ayush as my Brother ? :unsure:

I meant my Butler.....can't be Brothers with the Enemy ! :bunny:
you are my brahmin brother :D

btw,i took some online political test and this was the result-
10273504_891277230889804_2301630253202279179_n.jpg

Hahahahahaha... The Armstrong-Ayush bonding continues... It is fun to be back at PDF and see you both showing public affection...

On topic: Guys, give it a few days. Merging Coal and Power into Energy Ministry does not really make difference to anyone's life, except top 5 beaurocrats of one company losing their job.

What is clear is that Land Laws for Coal extraction are cleared and finally India starts rolling out and exporting Coal... There is too much of that Black Gold in our soil... We are just inefficiently twating on it and the 'latest IGCC' technology is already available in India with GE's help... We just need to muster up the courage to cough up 2Bn for a mega project to see it really work!

Yaar hamari coal sar rahi hai sindh mein, modi ko kaho ke invest kare wahan.

The very mention of CIL reminds me of Naveen Jindal,Aditya Birla and Darda who were caught with their hands inside the cookie jar when CIG report had come out.

I do not know about the rest, but this man, right here, has done things that a very few politicians have the audacity to do, including the expose of Zee News' demand of Rs 100 crores in exchange of an agreement to stop display of exaggeratedly negative news about him. (I have the CD of that very sting operation in case you're interested) What you see in the mainstream media is what you want to see, news that sell quickly but do not communicate the real stuff.

I wish I could tell more. Having had exclusive access to the documents of his political office, I'm as much sorry to see him lose the election from his constituency as I'm happy to see Modi become the PM.

Coal Thar mein hai Karachi nai. Zardari ki permission kafi hai

we should request Zardari-Nawaz to export coal to India
it would be cheaper to import coal from Pakistan than Australia

As to the OP, it is certainly why I would have voted for BJP and Modi if I were Indian, even if I were still a Christian. Hopefully, he can introduce more market forces to India's economy and get rid of the state controlled industries, corruption and "red tape".