Minister Railways Saad Rafique - Performance check?

If media reveals others corruption, then acceptable to most. In case of the most corrupt 'GUNJA BROTHERS' with royal family type of governing style, it is not acceptable to some sick headed corruption supporters 'NOONIES'.

11207277_678672855567956_1428614530209788596_n.jpg

What happened to those tall claims to end corruption in railways and transforming it into profitable within no time? @SBD-3 @cb4 @Tameem @Muhammad Omar etc?

@Leader @Jzaib @NaMaloom @Norwegian @Shamain @Akheilos
Mere bhai jis mulk mai awaam aue hukumran douno 'dallay' houn wahan corruption kese nahi hogi.

Ulu ke pathay thule ko dekh ke helmet aur seat belt pahente hain ye pata nahi ke apni protection ke liay hain. Ye tou halat hai hamari. Khuaab dubai aur paris banane k hain.

It is in profit now, AND, most importantly private sector in investing in the raiways that is a good sign. Railway have also started freight car services after the PPP era that is a GREAT move. Also i was delighted to hear about the train service to Iran running ONCE AGAIN. These are all positive factors and must be appreciated. Also i hope we will start making engines for our trains again at Risalpur locomotive factor (there was a news about that) the passenger wagons are already being made in Islamabad and are of A+ quality.

All in all, the current Railway ministry and leadership have AT LEAST undone the horrendous work of PPP and we are back to where we were in Sheikh Rashid's time. Hope we can move forward from here, not in bullet trains but in norma train for now, lets stay within our resources and we will do just fine. Personally i am quite happy with Railways performance. Dont know about this corruption shit but you can never trust these jurnos now can you?

Well said.

Audit irregularities! Yes.
Corruption? No!

Our yellow (read $hitty) media wants to turn even ordinary run of the mill report into sensational topics.

No home work, no research. Just pick up the audit report, fudge the words and turn this into forking
"Breaking News".

No accountability, no check, no shame!
Terrible news media.

sometimes ppl from pti makes you wonder either their national interests are same as other Pakistanis...there is no end their hate for ppl who are working for this country...it's Ashamful enough if you have shame... the nasty blame game to drag others into this drity mass was never seen in this country... These self proclaimed champions of change has nothing else to offer other then whipping around on some conspiracy agendas...get out of politics or pls get out of this country ..

That news was broke by Express Tribune, not Dunya news. :lol:

Instead of defending it, you should have condemned it. Saad Rafiq is a corrupt politician, not different than PPP. Yes the scale of corruption has decreased, but corruption is still there and 100+ Arab is not a small amount.

i know 100 Arab is not small amount... But the whole railway budget is for 2015-16 is 40 billion which last year was 39 billion... and 2013-14 budget was 37.5 billion ok.... now 40+39+37.5 = 116.5 billion and Saad Rafique did 123 billion corruption... how? who is giving salaries to railway workers driver cleaners etc etc how trains are running ? how new engines and coaches are adding into railway system??

how they ordered 55 new Loco to General Electric? who's gonna pay all these? how railways is slowly earning profits?

i know 100 Arab is not small amount... But the whole railway budget is for 2015-16 is 40 billion which last year was 39 billion... and 2013-14 budget was 37.5 billion ok.... now 40+39+37.5 = 116.5 billion and Saad Rafique did 123 billion corruption... how? who is giving salaries to railway workers driver cleaners etc etc how trains are running ? how new engines and coaches are adding into railway system??

how they ordered 55 new Loco to General Electric? who's gonna pay all these? how railways is slowly earning profits?

Have you gone complete nuts? You are trying to say the only way to do corruption is via annual budget? What about the assets of Pak Railways which are in billions of $$$? Land grabbing, steal theft, engines and locomotives go missing and :blah:

Stop making a fool out of yourself by posting such cr@p.

Here is an old news for you, just for an idea how its done:

Corruption in Railways comes on surface

Islamabad: Audit has pointed out massive corruption of Rs 42 billion in the accounts of ministry of Railways, during the first year of Nawaz Sharif regime.

As per audit report, minister for railways Khawaja Saad Rafiq and secretary railways have not registered a case against the corrupt officers of railways, even after they were identified in audit report.

As per documents available, railways had to suffer a loss of Rs 11 billion due to lack of timely repair of railway engines in workshops. Corruption amounting to Rs 30 million was committed in the name of journalists. Railways operational expenses have gone up by Rs 20 billion, while income has declined by Rs 30 billion. Massive loss of Rs 6 billion was inflicted owing to slackness shown in replacement of material. Financial malpractices amounting to Rs 10 billion took place in irregular purchases made by railway authorities.

Overall loss of Rs 15 billion occurred for not retrieving the railway lands from the illegal occupants. Stolen material worth Rs 6 billion was not recovered. Corrupt practices perpetrated in purchase of 202 railway coaches, took heavy toll on the budget of railways which led to pocketing of Rs 1.5 billion by corrupt officers. When contacted secretary railways Parveen Agha to seek her comments on the audit report, she kept mum over it.

Railway sources have confirmed such colossal corruption is in the knowledge of Khawaja Saad Rafiq, but he is using this report as tool of victimization of officers opposed to him in terms of political affiliations.

Well said.

Audit irregularities! Yes.
Corruption? No!

Our yellow (read $hitty) media wants to turn even ordinary run of the mill report into sensational topics.

No home work, no research. Just pick up the audit report, fudge the words and turn this into forking
"Breaking News".

No accountability, no check, no shame!
Terrible news media.
the media do so,, ALWAYS!!
stating that it was JUST audit irregularities at this point is also not fare i will say, we know what our politicians are capable of, even this team. All i am saying that rather then JUST criticizing railways and its current administration based on a news coming from HIGHLY UNRELIABLE source, that is, PAKISTANI MEDIA wont be fare either. You can keep your doubts but at least should appreciate the things that have IMPROVED or are IMPROVING.
You know what i am most pleased about this thread, @Jazzbot started this thread criticizing the government, and, he is a die hard PTI fan but when i stated the above things, the things that are improving and stuff, he was that first one to thank that post, recognizing what was being said. This is what we all want, our priority should be PAKISTAN as i always say. Now if good thing is done by any party that is good and vice versa, must learn to be a bit more flexible in our political views and affiliations and keep reminding our self that we support any particular party because we think that is the best leadership Pakistan can have, the day we find otherwise we will be ready to change our affiliations, for Pakistan. Thank you @Jazzbot , i am pleased and glad to have know you here mate :) (baki i too support PTI :P )

We all are Pakistani first, and that's the way everyone should behave. :)

The Army cannot make the politicians do their work. It must be able to convince them and do its part too, if anything is to get better.

Or, the human equivalent of this is likely to go on happening in Pakistan:

aw7KL8y_460s_v2.jpg
I am afraid for now the current political leadership is not committed dedicated and sincere enough. However in last eight years or so i have seen a lot of potential of improvement in this department, i hope if we can keep on it things will improve. Remember this is THE BIGGEST problem that we have faced, lack of sincere leadership, once sorted it will bring a lot of joy to the nation.

The potential has always been there in the country, its people and politicians and indeed its railways too. But "potential" is a loaded word, for what good is it if never realized? Leaders are important, but I still maintain that it is the nation that rises (or falls) for a a leader is but only a person. Leadership rises through the ranks and is created by systems developed over decades. Waiting for a miraculous Messiah to appear is always a false hope taken advantage of by demagogues that mislead the nation time and again. Didn't we another episode not that long ago?

Not waiting for a miraculous messiah,, was talking about leaders to rise from this very nation. :) I agree that it is the nation that rise and falls but cannot agree that Leader have NO role in that rise and/or fall of his nation, it is the leader that will get the potential or energy or individuals to work as an integrated force which will then shape the future of the nation as a whole.

Good point, but do we have any of the the systems that nurture such leadership?

no not really, but then again, if you look at things progressing for last 7 8 years it do gives you a good feeling. People are realizing the ACTUAL problems, and are starting to work solution. I hope if things can be kept on the same track they are on right now we will eventually start yielding benefits in a few years time. AS you said, no point is waiting for a miracle, things will take time to improve and we just need to play our part.

the media do so,, ALWAYS!!
stating that it was JUST audit irregularities at this point is also not fare i will say, we know what our politicians are capable of, even this team. All i am saying that rather then JUST criticizing railways and its current administration based on a news coming from HIGHLY UNRELIABLE source, that is, PAKISTANI MEDIA wont be fare either. You can keep your doubts but at least should appreciate the things that have IMPROVED or are IMPROVING.

Just curious if you watched a full interview / documentary

Capital Talk airs Program on the Improvement of Railways