Bangladesh

Manufacturing sector’s contribution to GDP keeps rising​

The sector now employs about 5.47 million workers

Jkk5ovlxif638timlhstjxfnp8j8dlhueuoilfs7 1555179987731

Workers busy at a battery manufacturing factory in Dhaka recently Collected
Tribune Report
March 8, 2022 10:52 PM
The contribution by the manufacturing sector to the GDP is rising, a survey by the Bangladesh Bureau of Statistics (BBS) shows.
The survey found that the manufacturing sector added Tk4,534.92 billion to the country’s GDP in the 2018-19 fiscal year, up from Tk1,562.94 billion seven years ago.
It also found that there are now about 5.47 million active workers in the four categories of the sector — small, very small, medium, and large. In FY11, that number had been about 50 million.
ADVERTISEMENT

So, in the span of seven years, employment in the sector has gone up by about 400,000 people.
BBS officials said that the manufacturing sector is now the main tool for GDP growth.
Analyzing the survey data, BBS found that besides Dhaka, small factories are being set up in the district towns as well, with little capital.
ADVERTISEMENT

Moreover, the number of medium and large industries are also gradually increasing in the country.
For example, from January 7 to February 7, some 57 new factories have been set up in Gazipur district alone.
However, the survey was conducted by BBS on the basis of data from FY19. According to BBS, they conducted the survey on 8,533 industries in the country on a random choice basis.
The survey also found that about 55% of the manufacturing factories have so far received loans from various financial institutions, and the remaining 45% are out of credit facilities.
The government agency also said that large industries dominate access to loans while the small businesses are deprived of credit.
According to the survey, there are now 46,110 manufacturing factories in Bangladesh.
ADVERTISEMENT

Among them, 2,856 are large factories, 3,178 are medium, 23,308 are small, and 16,070 are very small (micro) factories.
About 72% of the large industrial units have received loans while 62% of medium-sized factories have received loans from financial institutions.
However, only 48% of small enterprises have received financial assistance from the financial sector but 52% of them did not get any loan facility.
Meanwhile, a number of trade bodies, entrepreneurs, and experts said that the big industrial entrepreneurs got more loans from the government incentive package during the pandemic.
Even the FBCCI, the apex body of traders, has complained at various meetings and seminars that the small entrepreneurs did not get the required loans like the big ones.
The BBS survey also said that the small factories lag behind in getting regular loans, apart from the incentive packages.
The survey also focused on issues like industrial waste; it said 70% of large-scale factories have their own waste management.
In contrast, in the case of small and micro-factories, only 30% of them have waste management facilities.
According to the BBS survey, the total fixed assets of these four categories of factories amount to Tk244,904 crore.
Among them, large factories have the largest fixed assets worth a total of Tk172,000 crore.
The fixed assets of the medium sized factories amount to Tk30,236 crore, while that of small factories are worth Tk33,605 crore.
The fixed assets of very small factories amount to Tk875 crores, said the BBS survey.
The BBS said that the industry's fixed assets include machinery used in manufacturing, land, land development, buildings for setting up factories, vehicles, and other physical infrastructure.
Among the fixed assets, machinery holds the lion’s portion, followed by land.
According to the survey, the manufacturing sector paid corporate tax worth of Tk3,051 crore in FY19. Of these, the large-scale industrial units paid Tk2,275 crore, while medium factories and small factories paid Tk22 crore and Tk54 crore, respectively, as corporate tax.
The manufacturing sector also paid indirect taxes worth Tk28,270 crore in the same financial year.
Among them, large units paid the most indirect tax of Tk25,328 crore whereas medium and small units paid Tk1,046 crore and 1,634 crore, respectively.
According to the, people involved in the micro-factories said that 93% of them collect raw materials from local sources.
Among small enterprises, 83% collect raw materials from domestic sources whereas 63% and 44% of medium and large factories collect raw materials from domestic sources, respectively

Good news. BD has no choice, LDC facilities will end. Manufacturing will drive our economic growth at a national level. Hopefully these SME will graduate to becoming international exporters after satisfying national demand for our products.

We must get our people out of agriculture and into these sectors. I look forward to the day BD agriculture is primarily dominated by big players farming huge tracts of land using modern methods that increases our current yeilds.

Added benefit of developing these jobs would be to create a solid industrial base and giving our people stable careers. These will translate into greater productivity per worker, in this metrix BD ranks very low.

Give our worker stability and we will see population going down and BD transforming into a knowledge based economy climbing up the value chain.

This economic path has been emulated by every successful country and we will also travel this well trodden path in-sha-allah.

Bangladesh should take a page from Pakistan's experience in small business setup and operation. And any subsidies their govt. provides for this.

They have small business value addition better perfected than we do, and that too with local equipment, technology and skills.

Our BSIC is not as successful.

Take a look.

I mean how many ships do we break every year?? Probably a heck of a lot more than Pakistan. All going to the melting furnace and making TMT re-bar and rods.

You can add way more value in making things like semi-truck/trailer fifth wheels from ship plates...machinery for these low-tech workshops can be imported from Pakistan at excellent price points, and the skills required are already available in Bangladesh.

Our business people are not very bright I'm afraid and they don't know how to maximize value addition by using stuff already available at the ship-breaking yard. Ships are wonderful sources for cheap raw materials.

@bluesky bhai I posted some videos sometime ago where they use high strength ship plates like this to make Bike chain gear sprockets in Pakistan, it's a huge mfg. sector there. I don't know if you remember...

These products, where value addition needs minimal equipment/skills can make us far more money than selling rods. Actual usable items in great demand locally as well as for export...

@bluesky bhai I posted some videos sometime ago where they use high strength ship plates like this to make Bike chain gear sprockets in Pakistan, it's a huge mfg. sector there. I don't know if you remember..
Today, I tell one small story about Chandroghona Paper Mills. It was established by the GoP and was then sold to the Dawood group. The new private management asked the mechanical engineers there to survey the lathe machine shops to know which spare parts could be produced locally.

Till then, most spares were imported.

I heard from a mechanical engineer there. He told me they found almost all the mechanical parts could be produced by the lathe machine shops in Chittagong except that the qualities would be lower and the strength of steel also would be weaker. But, usable.

So, privatization helps if it is mechanical products. I think it is already happening in BD but the scale is much lower than it is in Pakistan.

Ship breaking primarily supports the construction industry by providing rods for building construction. Value addition is massive compared to investment necessary.

As BDs requirement increases so will investment. It will be a progression and on BDs term.

I do not really believe PK is an appropriate model to follow but in this I could be wrong.

Import first until you reach certain level of demand when indeginisation takes place. Off course policy support assist and accelerates this like we have seen for mobiles, motor cycles and white good area.

Volvo battery factory in BD

Kijo battery factory in BD

Made in Jinjira....

Ship breaking primarily supports the construction industry by providing rods for building construction. Value addition is massive compared to investment necessary.

As BDs requirement increases so will investment. It will be a progression and on BDs term.

I do not really believe PK is an appropriate model to follow but in this I could be wrong.

Import first until you reach certain level of demand when indeginisation takes place. Off course policy support assist and accelerates this like we have seen for mobiles, motor cycles and white good area.

Volvo battery factory in BD

Kijo battery factory in BD

Made in Jinjira....

Bd ppl are damm hard workers. Just need cheap and easy capital. jinjira businesses making things happen against all odds.

Don't expect loans for the small owners. The govt has already taken away most of the money from the banks as loans and then asked people to buy National Bonds.

I believe the govt has other wrong priorities. It wants BD to become another Germany by look, and so all the money is used for the beautification projects depriving the needy small-scale industrialists.

The govt wants people to buy national bonds. So, in order to lure them away from the traditional deposition of money in the banks, it has declared only 1 Lakh Taka govt guarantee in the case of a bank failure.

So, people are tempted to buy national bonds instead of depositing in the banks. Now, small companies cannot get loans because the banks have little money in their vaults.

Bhairab area was traditionally an industrialized corridor with light industry. Lately it has become a conurbation of shoe industries among other things.

As the following video will show, they have adopted modern technology i.e. laser cutters/punchers and robotic shoe sole-mating machines. Daily 15~20 crores worth of shoes are made here, all in small-scale concerns. A lot of the products are export-quality.

Agreed, I'm not questioning the talent or level of hard work.

All I'm saying is that ship plates can be turned into products with far more value addition (e.g. light or even heavy engg. items like fifth wheel plates, crane parts, construction/earth-mover machinery parts) rather than TMT rods.

Just to illustrate a point, the following steel motor cycle parts called

Steel Chain And Sprocket Kit

(easily made from ship plate) costs $70-$80 in the US. When you melt it you can get maximum $2 to $5 for TMT rod at best. We are wasting our ship plate and could make far more money with it. In Pakistan they are experts at making these engg. product items while we ARE NOT.

X001-Y001.jpg

All I'm saying is that ship plates can be turned into products with far more value addition (e.g. light or even heavy engg. items like fifth wheel plates, crane parts, construction/earth-mover machinery parts) rather than TMT rods.

(easily made from ship plate) costs $70-$80 in the US. When you melt it you can get maximum $2 to $5 for TMT rod at best. We are wasting our ship plate and could make far more money with it. In Pakistan they are experts at making these engg. product items while we ARE NOT.

X001-Y001.jpg
Fully agree. I dont know why bd wasting so much opportunities. Its fucking annoying.

X001-Y001.jpg

Sure... but the point is you need to invest probably $0.50 to realise $2 to $5 for TMT rods for which there is constant demand. There is no need to store it, the logistics are there to get it to customers, ect. Its a no risk investment.

On the other hand to produce the steel chain and sproket kit one would have to invest in machinery, create the logistics and marketing to get the product to consumer. This assumes there is enough demand to enable economies of scale to undercut price of import . The product might cost $70-$80 in US, but how much would such an import from china cost in BD.

As with other sectors, if there is enough local demand, BD private sector is absolutely ready and able to take advantage and does all the time.

The basic economic facts do not lie. Pakistan manufacturing exists to support its market. This factors would not be replicated in BD. Demand in BD market is for rods, not sprokets (just saying for the purposes of this conversation only) and this is the reason why rods are being produced. We do not have iron ore and are relient on ship breaking for out steel. This has driven the economy to where it is. You go step by step, pakistan probably has comparitive advantage in making sproket, BD in making rods... both are fine.... value addition does not happen in a vacuum... the market needs to enable it.

Sure... but the point is you need to invest probably $0.50 to realise $2 to $5 for TMT rods for which there is constant demand. There is no need to store it, the logistics are there to get it to customers, ect. Its a no risk investment.

On the other hand to produce the steel chain and sproket kit one would have to invest in machinery, create the logistics and marketing to get the product to consumer. This assumes there is enough demand to enable economies of scale to undercut price of import . The product might cost $70-$80 in US, but how much would such an import from china cost in BD.

As with other sectors, if there is enough local demand, BD private sector is absolutely ready and able to take advantage and does all the time.

The basic economic facts do not lie. Pakistan manufacturing exists to support its market. This factors would not be replicated in BD. Demand in BD market is for rods, not sprokets (just saying for the purposes of this conversation only) and this is the reason why rods are being produced. We do not have iron ore and are relient on ship breaking for out steel. This has driven the economy to where it is. You go step by step, pakistan probably has comparitive advantage in making sproket, BD in making rods... both are fine.... value addition does not happen in a vacuum... the market needs to enable it.

I agree with you but just to educate yourself please watch the 2nd and 3rd videos in post #3 to get some idea that you can produce sprockets in jhupri patty's with minimal investments from ship plate (using cheap Pakistani or Indian lathe/punch/broaching/gearcutting/milling machineries). The skills required are minimal.

There could be 1000 of these roadside sprocket workshops set up (and 10,000 jobs created for value addition purposes) for exporting these motorcycle sprocket/gear sets to India in addition to supplying to Bangladeshi motorcycle assembly factories owned by Runner/Hero/Bajaj/Honda/Kawasaki etc. Bangladeshi motorcycle ownership has grown 30 to 35 percent year-on-year the last three years and is only poised to increase further in the future. This happens when GDP per capita on PPP terms exceeds $4000.

An Electric Arc Furnace with quantum technology set up in Chittagong at GPH Ispat recently (Primetal/Siemens/Mitsubishi) technology needed the following steel making inputs in addition to hundreds of millions of dollars in investments.

YearMonthThermal Coal
$/tonne
Steel scrap
$/tonne
Natural Gas
$/BTU m
Electricity
c/kWh
20222n/a142.827.23n/a

"Elahi Karbar" in other words. We need billets and re-bars (TMT rods) - but that does not mean we give up high-value ship plates to melt into low-value billets (which are made from imported scrap steel anyhow).

High strength ship plates can be readily converted to items like gear and sprocket sets using machining (or semi-truck fifth wheel plates) with minimal hydraulic press/welding processing and that processing (machining/pressing/welding) can be done in jhuprees, just like in Pakistan (which is done with cheap local machines). We need to expand dholaikhal/Jinjira situation and improve quality to supply our local parts needs for light engg. industries like motorcycles. Something myself and @bluesky bhai have been advocating forever.

This is how Japan developed, using small scale industries using minimal mechanization. @bluesky bhai would you agree?

@PoondolotoPandalum can motorcycle sprockets and gear sets machined in roadside shops (given proper Q/A is maintained) be sold to motorcycle mfrs. in Bangladesh and India? I know you are a proponent of laser CNC machining probably - but got to look at value addition employing people Dholaikhal style (bottom up development) in Bangladesh. :-)

Please watch the two photographs below. The top one is that of billets, and the lower one is that of round bars. Many years ago, only round bars were used in the construction and now mostly it is deformed bars. Deformed bars stick more to the concrete comparing to the round bars.

However, billets are formed after the first melting of steel scraps or ship scraps. Its strengths (tensile/ bending) depends upon the mixing of carbon in the furnace where steel scraps are melt.

Anyway, this is what I know, may be wrong. I am not very familiar with metallurgy. Please check more and send here. People can learn this way.

1647423978574.png

1647424006305.png

Congratulations to the Bangladeshis. You are on the right path and you have a bright future.
I believe Bangladesh will soon become the richest country in South Asia.

Congratulations to the Bangladeshis. You are on the right path and you have a bright future.
I believe Bangladesh will soon become the richest country in South Asia.

Thank you but BD is far behind Sri Lanka.

In terms of GDP per capita, Sri Lanka is at $4,000 US dollars while BD is at only $2,600.

Even if the current rates of growth are maintained it would take till maybe 2035-2040 for BD to catch up with Sri Lanka.

BD interest is for the whole of S Asia to grow better than it has been doing since independence.

A thriving and prosperous region will allow BD to grow even quicker than it is doing now.