Majority Muslims want Sharia law in their countries: Study

then why all muslims send childerens to christan schools for better education . why all young muslims wanna go western countries for higher education .

All Muslims ???? Who told you this ?? You can say some Muslims ..........

Dear Poster,

He is correct. Majority Muslims will opt for Western style life and education given a chance.

peace

I'm not sure about sharia, but I think there are something's which would be nice if they were implemented.

Non muslims should pay Jaziya to Muslim government, it would be used to buy weapons for Muslims.

Anyone who steals or robs, his hands should be cut off.

Anyone who rapes, ought to be killed ASAP.

Anyone who commits murder, ought to be killed or pay blood money.

People who assault another person, need to be punished physically. That also includes people who beat children in school for not doing their homework, that is assault against a child, and the child should be provided justice.

No interest in banking or money lending.

Also alcohol should be banned, anyone who drinks it, should be beaten up according to law.

Dear Poster,

He is correct. Majority Muslims will opt for Western style life and education given a chance.

peace

Sirf pait ki khatir .... But I object the word all Muslims ... We can say some Muslims or majority of Muslims but not all ... I don't want to go western countries nor want to get studied to my kids in missionary schools ... While I like Islamic schools for kids education ..................

A majority of Muslims around the world want Sharia law to be implemented in their countries but are split on how it should be applied, a Pew Research Center study has found.
A comprehensive study titled “The World’s Muslims: Religion, Politics and Society” conducted between 2008 and 2012 focused on 38,000 people in 39 countries and territories drawn from a global Muslim community of 2.2 billion people.
A solid majority of Muslims, notably in Asia, Africa and the Middle East, were in favor of Sharia — traditional Islamic law — being adopted as the law of the land.
The percentage of those in favor of Sharia being implemented as their country’s law varied from eight percent in Azerbaijan to 99 percent in Afghanistan.
The study revealed many Muslims were in favour of applying Sharia in the private sphere to settle family or property disputes.
However, in most countries surveyed, there was less support for severe punishments, such as cutting off the hands of thieves or executing people who convert from Islam to another faith.
A majority of Muslims are also in favour of freedom of religion, even while backing Sharia. In Pakistan, for example, 84 percent of Muslims want Sharia enshrined as official law but 75 percent believe non-Muslims are free to practice their religion.
Around half of Muslims in the survey expressed concerns about religious extremism, particularly in Egypt, Iraq and Tunisia.
In most countries, a majority of Muslims said a wife must obey her husband, although a majority also said a woman should decide whether or not to wear a veil.
Most Muslims said they do not feel tension between their religion and modern life, prefer a democratic regime, enjoy music or Western movies, even if such pastimes are sometimes regarded as undermining morality.
An overwhelming majority viewed prostitution, homosexuality, suicide or alcohol consumption as immoral but there are sharp differences on issues such as polygamy.
Only four percent polled in Bosnia and Herzegovina considered polygamy morally acceptable, against 87 percent in Niger.
A strong majority surveyed said so-called honour killings could never be justified. The only exceptions came in Afghanistan and Iraq, where majorities condoned executions of women deemed to have shamed their families by engaging in premarital sex or adultery.
Violence carried out in the name of Islam was also widely rejected.
In the United States, 81 percent of Muslims said such violence can “never” be justified against a global median of 73 percent.
Substantial minorities in Bangladesh, Egypt, Afghanistan and the Palestinian territories said violence was permissible.

Most Muslims want Sharia law: study | Pakistan Today | Latest news | Breaking news | Pakistan News | World news | Business | Sport and Multimedia
sir Muslims want shariah and shariah is from Allah and his prophet saw which has to be implemented otherwise their will chaos and war in Muslim world

That's is not true. The constitution considers them a separate faith and the wording is very clear though some trouble makers have tried to use the legalese to create confusion. This is the part of the constitution that is misconstrued, whereas its VERY clear Sikh religion is a separate religion in the wording itself.

Article 25 of the Constitution of India describes Sikhism, Jainism and Buddhism as parts of the Hindu religion.

Lets not spread misinformation.

Well why dont you take the lead and stop spreading misinformation about the indian Constitution that it does not describes Sikhism, Jainism and Buddhism as parts of the Hindu religion.

Talking abt ahmadis BTW, they are not even considered a separate religion in Pakistan as they are not allowed to preach.

We dont try to hide behind the cloak of "tolerance" like indian..... who's word never match its actions.
We call a spade a spade......i dont know much about ahmadis but i find it weird that they dont accept the prophet mohammed as the last prophet and call themself muslims.
Its a bit like a jew accepting jesus as a prophet......becomes a christian.
If you dont accept the prophet mohammed as the last prophet you cant call yourself a muslim.

a few months under sharia will be enough for these sharia lover pakistanis. Alas once implemented there wont be any roll over ;)

A majority of Muslims around the world want Sharia law to be implemented in their countries but are split on how it should be applied, a Pew Research Center study has found.
A comprehensive study titled “The World’s Muslims: Religion, Politics and Society” conducted between 2008 and 2012 focused on 38,000 people in 39 countries and territories drawn from a global Muslim community of 2.2 billion people.
A solid majority of Muslims, notably in Asia, Africa and the Middle East, were in favor of Sharia — traditional Islamic law — being adopted as the law of the land.
The percentage of those in favor of Sharia being implemented as their country’s law varied from eight percent in Azerbaijan to 99 percent in Afghanistan.
The study revealed many Muslims were in favour of applying Sharia in the private sphere to settle family or property disputes.
However, in most countries surveyed, there was less support for severe punishments, such as cutting off the hands of thieves or executing people who convert from Islam to another faith.
A majority of Muslims are also in favour of freedom of religion, even while backing Sharia. In Pakistan, for example, 84 percent of Muslims want Sharia enshrined as official law but 75 percent believe non-Muslims are free to practice their religion.
Around half of Muslims in the survey expressed concerns about religious extremism, particularly in Egypt, Iraq and Tunisia.
In most countries, a majority of Muslims said a wife must obey her husband, although a majority also said a woman should decide whether or not to wear a veil.
Most Muslims said they do not feel tension between their religion and modern life, prefer a democratic regime, enjoy music or Western movies, even if such pastimes are sometimes regarded as undermining morality.
An overwhelming majority viewed prostitution, homosexuality, suicide or alcohol consumption as immoral but there are sharp differences on issues such as polygamy.
Only four percent polled in Bosnia and Herzegovina considered polygamy morally acceptable, against 87 percent in Niger.
A strong majority surveyed said so-called honour killings could never be justified. The only exceptions came in Afghanistan and Iraq, where majorities condoned executions of women deemed to have shamed their families by engaging in premarital sex or adultery.
Violence carried out in the name of Islam was also widely rejected.
In the United States, 81 percent of Muslims said such violence can “never” be justified against a global median of 73 percent.
Substantial minorities in Bangladesh, Egypt, Afghanistan and the Palestinian territories said violence was permissible.

Most Muslims want Sharia law: study | Pakistan Today | Latest news | Breaking news | Pakistan News | World news | Business | Sport and Multimedia

Here is the original report:
http://www.pewforum.org/uploadedFil...ims-religion-politics-society-full-report.pdf

As a professional or someone with experience in social science research I would like to point out the limitations of the study. Please, check the last section of the study named: Methodology of the survey; now, here one must realise that the survey conducted through interviews and questionnaire did not probe the individuals into what exactly do they mean when key words were used like: 'Sharia' or 'Democracy'. See, social construction of these words in the Muslim world are extremely sensitive to the 'social desirability effect' (changing one's real answers to answers that conform the the expectations of the researcher or the cultural norms of the dominant/ societal pressures). Thus, a deeper look into how the Muslims construct their interpretation of the words is extremely important. For example, 'democracy' in Pakistan is seen to be a Western inception which is against Pakistan and if you use this word most people see a negative image; if, however, you say 'jahmooriat' or Islamic democracy people happily respond with enthusiasm. Notice that 'jahmooriat' (democracy in Urdu) does not necessarily mean Islamic democracy, it is merely the connotations of the words.

Similarly, if you ask people 'what is sharaiat' they would answer 'Islamic law' if, however, one probes then a large disagreement occurs; based on sectarian or philosophical orientations of school of thoughts there is no consensus as to what 'sharait' is. An example, in a research funded by ZEF, Bonn University, we had a focus group on 'Globalisation and its impact', the shariat debate rose up and all of the particiapants stated that Shariat MUST be implemented in the Muslim world. Once asked what would it do several disagreements rose: some participants wanted Sufi shrines to be destroyed as they are Shirk, others stated that cabel and internet should be eradicated by law as they spread indecency others stated that this is impossible because shariat holds a person's privacy to be protected and so on. In the end no one was clear as to what exactly sharait is.

Thus, one finds vigorous nods when asked about Islamic implementations but on papers and in law it is extremely difficult due to the internal disagreements to the exact social implementations.

Article 25 of the Constitution of India describes Sikhism, Jainism and Buddhism as parts of the Hindu religion.

Well why dont you take the lead and stop spreading misinformation about the indian Constitution that it does not describes Sikhism, Jainism and Buddhism as parts of the Hindu religion.

You are mistaken. The article doesn't describes other religions as Hinduism. It says:

Explanation II. In sub-clause (b) of clause (2), the reference to Hindus shall be construed as including a reference to persons professing the Sikh, Jaina or Buddhist religion, and the reference to Hindu religious institutions shall be construed accordingly.

That is simply for the sake of simplicity, to avoid redundancy. It means that when a reference to Hindus is made, it would also be a reference to Sikh, Jain or Buddhists. That is different from accepting them as part of Hindu religion.

a few months under sharia will be enough for these sharia lover pakistanis. Alas once implemented there wont be any roll over ;)

Forget the whole sharia, just consider some of these laws below.

Thieves and robber should have their hands cut off.

Rapists should be killed ASAP.

Anyone who assaults another person should be punished physically to the same degree as his assault by the law.
It also includes people who beat children in school for not doing their homework.

Now is this all bad?

You are mistaken. The article doesn't describes other religions as Hinduism. It says:

Its seems your are mistaken

That is simply for the sake of simplicity, to avoid redundancy. It means that when a reference to Hindus is made, it would also be a reference to Sikh, Jain or Buddhists. That is different from accepting them as part of Hindu religion.

he reference to Hindus shall be construed as including a reference to persons professing the Sikh, Jaina or Buddhist religion, and the reference to Hindu religious institutions shall be construed accordingly.

Seems pretty clear to me that you include sikhs as hindus.......the excuse of "to avoid redundancy" is very weak and not at all acceptable...even the sikhs who are trying to overturn the clause.
Maybe you should tell the sikh community to stop there movement towards getting rid of this clause and being accepted as a religion on there own.

he reference to Hindus shall be construed as including a reference to persons professing the Sikh, Jaina or Buddhist religion, and the reference to Hindu religious institutions shall be construed accordingly.

Seems pretty clear to me that you include sikhs as hindus.......the excuse of "to avoid redundancy" is very weak and not at all acceptable...even the sikhs who are trying to overturn the clause.
Maybe you should tell the sikh community to stop there movement towards getting rid of this clause and being accepted as a religion on there own.

including a reference, can you comprehend this part? When it is written Hinduism, it also has a reference to Sikhism, Jainism, and Buddhism. That is, the laws applying on Hinduism shall also apply on other three.

I'm not sure about sharia, but I think there are something's which would be nice if they were implemented.

1. Non muslims should pay Jaziya to Muslim government, it would be used to buy weapons for Muslims.

2. Anyone who steals or robs, his hands should be cut off.

3. Anyone who rapes, ought to be killed ASAP.

4. Anyone who commits murder, ought to be killed or pay blood money.

5. People who assault another person, need to be punished physically. That also includes people who beat children in school for not doing their homework, that is assault against a child, and the child should be provided justice.

6. No interest in banking or money lending.

7. Also alcohol should be banned, anyone who drinks it, should be beaten up according to law.

My dear poster,

your post unfortunately is a living proof that Islamists are stuck in the cave ages. or perhaps a bit modern stone age.

Wake up and see that now-a-days aka in modern economy every citizen pays taxes regardless of their religion. Please stop using stone age traditions.

2. - 5. These suggestions again bring so much bad name to our beautiful religion because you are associating all of us to bunch of beduins hell bent on chopping hands and feet.

People now have moved forward, way beyond stone age. We now have practices such as "rule of law", "Innocent until proven guilty", and "little or no capital" punishment.

Your examples are so limited and so outdated in the general sense of modern jurisprudence, that I urge you to study some modern law before putting stuff on paper.

6. there were no banks and financial system was practically limited to barter trade. So please don't poke your head into something you have no idea.

7. If you don't like particular food or drink item, don't eat or drink it. In this age of global tourism and global culture, let others eat or drink what they want.

In summary my dear,

try to live in 21st century instead of pushing everyone into riding camels and living in sand and bug infested tents.

These are precisely the utterings that bring so much bad name to our beautiful religion and lumps all of us to bunch of moronic Mullahs and Aytaullahs.

Muslims have already suffered so much in the hands of Mullahs and Ayatullahs, so please stop pushing us further into the depths of poverty, ignorance, and jahiliyya. This is what hypocrites used to do to early Muslims. Quit doing the work of munafiqs.

Thank you

TTP men are not serving for Islam ... Those are peccant, pervert & black sheeps in Muslims ... Kindly don't mix to them with Muslims ... But you should not ridicule Islamic laws ... If something is mention in Quran & Hadith than we should follow it ... Verna Allah k samney jaza or saza ka zimedar har insan khud ho ga :)

Where is it written in Quran about Hijab ?

Please quote me Suraa and ayah ?

Most people talk about Islamic law when they don't know squat about the issues.

As for the highlighted part of your statement, that part is something I agree with 100%. Allah kay samney hum sub nay KHUD Jawabdey hona hai. Aap sey koi meray Aamaal ka hisab nahi layga aur nahi mujhe sey koi aap kay aamaal ka hisab layga. So we should all worry about our own character and actions and stop trying to reform others. This is the trouble with Islamic Thakedars. They want to reform the world without looking into the mirror and correcting themselves.