Lt General (Retd.) Syed Arif Hasan failed as President Pakistan National Olympic Committee

Strip him of all the benefits he reaped all those years
Leave him with nothing but his pension

Utterly disgraceful what we see.
It's time for a complete change of guard at the POC and have people in there who have either competed themselves or shown a keen interest over the years.

Why on God's earth are we still hearing accounts of athletes not have even decent training facilities e.g. makeshift weights, no wrestling mats etc.
Even without the basics we have athletes placing in respectable positions, just through sheer will and individual hard work.

This is an utter disgrace and need so be brought to public attention through social media, the press and so on.
India's success should at least spur people into action, but I won't hold my breath.

With Arshad Nadeem failing to win a medal at Tokyo olympics javelin throw all hopes of Pakistan winning even a single medal at Tokyo Olympics have come to an end

With this General Arif Hassn sahab has successfully defended his own personal record of Pakistan not winning shit at Olympics in last 17 years of his tenure as President Pakistan National Olympic Committee

General sahab dropping consistent performance for past 17 years

Respect. Salute
He's untouchable. There was a mega mega corruption scandal in Punjab Public Service Commission. Allah hayati kre general ko, kisi kisam ki gherat ka muzahira nahi kia.

@Areesh

Areesh mian,

Given the power structure in Pakistan, only an army personnel can have the requisite authority over a National Sports Mission of sorts to turn around the sporting scenario. Isnt there any honest and committed general to be found (serving or retired) who can man this post?

Regards

I was hoping that IK kuch karay na karay sports tu sahi kar dai ga afterall that's where he is coming from, the thing is that sitting on the opposite side of the chair and doing mu kai fire is one thing and when you actually come and sit on that chair you realize kai babu itna asaan nahin.

So his first tenure (5 years) we can forgive him in name of learning ... i hope in his next tenure he is able to deliver. Sirf sports hi sahi kar du Immi

The Pakistan Olympics committee needs to resign enmasse. This Naseem guy it seems was trained only in Pakistan and sometime in China last year. Once India identified Neeraj as a special talent, they sent him abroad to Europe where he trained in Sweden under a bio mechanical expert and a trainer. Naseem should have been sent to Europe or US. Neeraj and the German guy Vittel or something trained together for sometime as well.

Again the problem in India is identification of talent through school and colleges system. However once an talent is identified, some support is being provided. Developing grassroot infra is the challenge for us to identify talents.

Sharam ker k aap resign kernay ka rewaj waisay hi nahi hay

When you know how to keep everyone happy whether it's in dictatorship or democracy.

He is ambassador for Olympics only not Asian games

He is responsible for representation of Pakistan in all games including Asian games, Olympics, saarc, common wealth games etc
@Areesh

Areesh mian,

Given the power structure in Pakistan, only an army personnel can have the requisite authority over a National Sports Mission of sorts to turn around the sporting scenario. Isnt there any honest and committed general to be found (serving or retired) who can man this post?

Regards

Sports are never given priority in Pakistan or else even in military there are many capable and competent individuals who can turn it around for Pakistan

But since sports has no priority anywhere so people General Arif Hasan continue to hold their positions even after 17 years of no show

You all may pass the buck onto the committee but the bitter fact is that our sportsmen are equally responsible in this fiasco. Going to Olympics, is like going on an excursion or any other trip. Most of them are found at discos at night and they also try to slip in the host country. Pathetic performance on behalf of everyone. I swear, there are player in the streets and in the local playgrounds who can perform much better than the squad that they select for international events.