Lockheed Martin offers F-16 Block 70, for India, from India, exported to the world

Published August 7, 2016
SOURCE: SPUTNIK

1044006153.jpg

Indian Air Force may replace the Soviet MiG-21 aircraft with the US F-16 Fighting Falcon aircraft, according to an ex-wing commander at the Indian Air Force and former chief spokesperson for the Defense Ministry.Localized production of the US F-16 Fighting Falcon aircraft may help India substitute its obsolete fleet largely depending on the Soviet MiG-21 fighters as the long-awaited deal on the Rafale fighter jets between Paris and New Delhi is stalling, Praful Bakshi, an ex-wing commander at the Indian Air Force and former chief spokesperson for the Defense Ministry, told Sputnik on Saturday.

On Thursday, a vice president at the US defense contractor Lockheed Martin said that the company was willing to turn India into the sole producer of the F-16 aircraft by shutting the only active production line in Texas and shifting it to India.

“F-16 can be a nice replacement for the MiG-21 aircraft. Because when Rafale deal will materialize is not clear,” he said.Bakshi added that the technological transfer would be a crucial part of the deal.

“We have to see whether they are bringing their technology, we have to see that they should not make India just an assembly point. They must bring their technology here and fighter planes should be manufactured here. It will create employment opportunities here and foster our technological development,” he pointed out.

In January 2016, India and France signed an intergovernmental agreement on the purchase of the 36 Rafale fighter jets. The French Dassault aviation manufacturer first asked almost $12 billion for the aircraft, while New Delhi demanded a 30-percent cut to the price. In May, Paris has agreed to decrease the pricing by some 7-8 percent, thus the France’s current offer stands at some $8.6 billion.

## Like Turkey India also has the opportunity through this deal to get high technology know how from USA

what will Tejas replace?

Bajaj Chetak?

Lol.... Good question.... I had the same question in my mind when I read the title....

By the way Chetak's are already replaced....and most of them are lying in scrap yards
India is not in any position to replace all migs with Tajes in such a small time of there retirement due.

Also there is no doubt tajes is still going through some serious deficiencies, look at least 6-7 times FOC is postponed and still no much progress is shown towards its stated goals for FOC.

Also by getting F16 production line along with technological know how in India will give India kick start in aerospace by getting high local talent pool plus opportunity to export advance F16 B 70 to some other countries also to supply spares to currently flying thousand of flying F16s.
Last dont forget PAF main stay is F16 :D and recently how much they were jumping on the rumors of 8 F16 coming :rofl: .
Having only F 16 production line and spares source for our brother country Pakistan from India is WIN WIN solution $ .:enjoy:

Already posted
https://defence.pk/threads/f-16s-may-replace-indias-obsolete-fleet-as-rafale-deal-stalling.443042/

Published August 7, 2016
SOURCE: SPUTNIK

1044006153.jpg

Indian Air Force may replace the Soviet MiG-21 aircraft with the US F-16 Fighting Falcon aircraft, according to an ex-wing commander at the Indian Air Force and former chief spokesperson for the Defense Ministry.Localized production of the US F-16 Fighting Falcon aircraft may help India substitute its obsolete fleet largely depending on the Soviet MiG-21 fighters as the long-awaited deal on the Rafale fighter jets between Paris and New Delhi is stalling, Praful Bakshi, an ex-wing commander at the Indian Air Force and former chief spokesperson for the Defense Ministry, told Sputnik on Saturday.

On Thursday, a vice president at the US defense contractor Lockheed Martin said that the company was willing to turn India into the sole producer of the F-16 aircraft by shutting the only active production line in Texas and shifting it to India.

“F-16 can be a nice replacement for the MiG-21 aircraft. Because when Rafale deal will materialize is not clear,” he said.Bakshi added that the technological transfer would be a crucial part of the deal.

“We have to see whether they are bringing their technology, we have to see that they should not make India just an assembly point. They must bring their technology here and fighter planes should be manufactured here. It will create employment opportunities here and foster our technological development,” he pointed out.

In January 2016, India and France signed an intergovernmental agreement on the purchase of the 36 Rafale fighter jets. The French Dassault aviation manufacturer first asked almost $12 billion for the aircraft, while New Delhi demanded a 30-percent cut to the price. In May, Paris has agreed to decrease the pricing by some 7-8 percent, thus the France’s current offer stands at some $8.6 billion.

## Like Turkey India also has the opportunity through this deal to get high technology know how from USA

Having only F 16 production line and spares source for our brother country Pakistan from India is WIN WIN solution $ .:enjoy:
this is good for our F-16 fleet we can buy new F-16 from india much cheaoer than from USA..
and we can also sell our F-17 to india to fasten the replacement of Mig-21,mig-23,mig-27 etc..

what will Tejas replace?

Bajaj Chetak?

Technically speaking, SU-30MKIs, PAK-FAs, RAFALEs, F-16s & TEJAS' would all be replacing the 250+ MIG-21 & MIG-27s that are due for decommissioning in the next 3 years.

Also, there is need for 150+ additional fighters to help India move from the current 34 fighter jet squadrons strength to the approved 42 squadrons strength.

So India needs to add 400+ fighters in the next 3-5 years which would be a mix of SU-30MKIs, PAK-FAs, RAFALEs, F-16s & TEJAS'

This means that India needs to induct at least a squadron of each of these fighters every year for the next five years.

Believe it or Not India will get F-16's V and F-18 Hornets From US under Make in India..

150+ F-16's
120 F-18's
125 FGFA

Future IAF

India is looking at inducting SU-30MKIs, PAK-FAs, RAFALEs, F-16s & TEJAS' to replace 250+ MIG-21 & MIG-27s that are due for decommissioning in the next 3 years.

There is also requirement for 150+ additional fighters to help India move from the current 34 fighter jet squadrons strength to the approved 42 squadrons strength.

So India needs to add 400+ fighters in the next 3-5 years which would be a mix of SU-30MKIs, PAK-FAs, RAFALEs, F-16s & TEJAS'

This means that India needs to induct at least a squadron of each of these fighters every year for the next five years

Troll mode On

Bhai , what's the price of do dozen F solah..

Hain, when did it became so pricy...

Arrey no one buys this anymore.. it's old now.. tell me correct price...

Arrey I will not buy if you don't give me discount..

Chalo jao, we will buy something else.. keep it in your shop shelf for display only....

Accha do dozen F35, kya rate hain...

Troll Mode Off

India will never induct F-16...At the most F-18 but its possible only if its govmt to govmt deal as US companies are very bad in chasing and winning the deal based on global tenders!

Troll mode On

Bhai , what's the price of do dozen F solah..

Hain, when did it became so pricy...

Arrey no one buys this anymore.. it's old now.. tell me correct price...

Arrey I will not buy if you don't give me discount..

Chalo jao, we will buy something else.. keep it in your shop shelf for display only....

Accha do dozen F35, kya rate hain...

Troll Mode Off

Sir Ji F 35 ki LINE Bahut Lambi Hai

Abhi Booking karenge to 15 saal baad milega

The French Dassault aviation manufacturer first asked almost $12 billion for the aircraft, while New Delhi demanded a 30-percent cut to the price. In May, Paris has agreed to decrease the pricing by some 7-8 percent, thus the France’s current offer stands at some $8.6 billion.

How do you get 8,6 billion while 7-8 % from 12 billions ?

8.6 dosent include many things which will be billed separately :D, these 36 will cost even more then 12 billion if considered consolidated (everything).
This is the reason of delay.